Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro-Millions

• 11-07-2011 1:48pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I know it's been done to death at this stage here in AH, but the Euromillions is approaching 200 million. An individual winner could potentially wipe their hole with €500 notes for life. So what would ye do with that sort of cash?

I'd disappear to a private island for a few years until I get bored and come back. Then I'd possibly indulge myself in a classic car collection. That doesn't include the BYOB parties I'd throw :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

I'd wipe my hole with fivers and then lodge them to the bank to pay my car loan with it's ridiculous interest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I'd jump on a private jet to Vegas and I would leave until I was utterly disgusted with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Tis capped at 185mil

There's already a thread somewhere in AH

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Well you could drink the interest on that sort of money and blast it with píss if yore ma isn't quite doing it for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I'd invest it all in the banks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Honestly? I'd build a mutha****in' Batcave and save mutha****in' lives!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

I'd invest it all in the banks.

At that rate, you'd probably end up owning 2 or 3 of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭UsernameInUse

I'd go to Africa and bribe officials in government to allow extensive trade agreements with the world so that the people can live in somewhat acceptable conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Prize Bonds !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

cookers and hoke !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Skunkle wrote: »
    I'd jump on a private jet to Vegas and I wouldn't leave until I was utterly disgusted with myself.

You wouldn't even leave the jet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

I'd buy the the Force India Formula 1 team. Bring Eddie Jordan in as team boss. Give the cars a yellow make-over. Bring back the Jordan team name. Give Adrian Sutil the sack. Hire Adam Carroll. And then spend 8 months of the year each year travelling to some of the world's most glamouous locations for Grand Prix. Lovely Jubbly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

spend it all on lottery tickets

McBauer wrote: »
    I'd buy the the Force India Formula 1 team. Bring Eddie Jordan in as team boss. Give the cars a yellow make-over. Bring back the Jordan team name. Give Adrian Sutil the sack. Hire Adam Carroll. And then spend 8 months of the year each year travelling to some of the world's most glamouous locations for Grand Prix. Lovely Jubbly.

Yes, and of course after that 8 months it'll all be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I'm a sucker for the begging letters and sob stories.
    Send me to Lourdes/world leading hospital/holiday before I die :(

I'd need a secretary or I'd be writing cheques all over the place

mikemac wrote: »

Dear Mikemac,

I am a Nigerian prince who needs a deposit in order to...........

McBauer wrote: »

Not yellow, green!

Look gorgeous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Not yellow, green!

Look gorgeous

True. The green 191 was a gorgeous car. But yellow just became tradition. And the Jordan 199 was a beauty too.

http://images-mediawiki-sites.thefullwiki.org/08/3/3/3/1691300399540812.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ah nuts

So am I, but at least if I won I could pay a journalist to write these letters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd probably wipe me hole with those as well as the €500 notes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Gilda Fortune

I would build a huge oppulant mansion from solid gold. and fashion gold suits for myself and my partner. i would also buy my home town and lord around it.

Don't forget the armour-plated limo, to protect yourself from the begrudging peasants and their ample supplies of concrete blocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Gilda Fortune

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Don't forget the armour-plated limo, to protect yourself from the begrudging peasants and their ample supplies of concrete blocks.
    You sound like a thinker - your the kind of man i could do with in my utopian gold society. I would start you off on 100k a year to be my vice president. Your first project to erect as many statues of me around my town as possible.

I've a lot of relations including first cousins I've not seen in years and years

Oh if I win they'll be around clapping my on the back with one hand and congratulating me......and their other hand out in front of me

Missing relations in your family? Don't ask the gardaí, just announce you've won the euromillions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

An individual winner could potentially wipe their hole with €500 notes for life.
    ...and that still be used as legal tender???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

I honestly wouldn't know where to start with €185million , Like who could you trust, where would you put the money , every single lawyer, Accountant etc would be out to screw you

I'd probably give about €50m various Charities ,
    Take care of my family/friends

I've done the whole Vegas (over rated IMO), round the world trips etc

( I'd perhaps emigrate to Bali ) Build a big house , Adopt a couple of kids , and make sure that those kids plus my son, want, for absolutely nothing the rest of their lives.

as a hobby I'd buy Dundalk football with the goal being to become the first Irish team to rest the group stages of the champions league .
    also buy endless amounts of lego and Model trains ,subbuteo , and build to my hearts content (and would have an exhibition of all the model's made)

...and that still be used as legal tender???

Definately. Just wipe it off on someone and hand it in, who'll know any different. To be honest, I'd love nothing more than to annoy people with that sort of money. Pay for small amounts with large notes and large amounts with 1 cent coins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I'd have a ****

I've a lot of relations including first cousins I've not seen in years and years

Oh if I win they'll be around clapping my on the back with one hand and congratulating me......and their other hand out in front of me

Missing relations in your family? Don't ask the gardaí, just announce you've won the euromillions

..and you'll have more friends than you ever thought possible, including me.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's capped at €185m

At this stage, all of the "extra" profits start spilling down to the lower tier. So this is probably the best time to play as you are more likely to land a bigger prize for a 5 + 1 ticket. In fact, the odds of winning the 5 + 1 are better than the Irish lotto, and the prize fund is bigger at the moment.

You still haven't a fncking hope of getting 5 + 1, of course.

seamus wrote: »
    It's capped at €185m

At this stage, all of the "extra" profits start spilling down to the lower tier. So this is probably the best time to play as you are more likely to land a bigger prize for a 5 + 1 ticket. In fact, the odds of winning the 5 + 1 are better than the Irish lotto, and the prize fund is bigger at the moment.

You have a hope. Its a statistical improbability but you have a hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Tell that to the person that wins it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭Tazz T

I'd lend it to the government at 0.5% less interest than the IMF. They're suckers for this type of thing.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

It would ruin your life. I know two high net worth people and there's no popping down to the local for a quiet few. They live in fine houses behind huge walls and with security never far away. Add the media spotlight to that and zero knowledge of what to do with the cash, second prize would be far more beneficial.

Tabnabs wrote: »
    It would ruin your life. I know two high net worth people and there's no popping down to the local for a quiet few. They live in fine houses behind huge walls and with security never far away. Add the media spotlight to that and zero knowledge of what to do with the cash, second prize would be far more beneficial.

I'd love to have my life ruined by €185 million

If you buy drinks for all in the local, they think you're showing off. If you don't buy drinks you're tight
    If you buy a new car you're a flash git. If you don't buy a new car you're mean and it's a pity someone who would enjoy the money didn't get it.
    Stay in the area the money was wasted on you. Head off to Monaco and who do you think you are? Better then us?

If you're employed it's a shame a hard up unemployed person didn't get it
    If you're an ordinary worker in a bank lodging cheques, the paper will headline "Banker will millions" and everyone will hate you though you're an ordinary worker

And everyone in your area remembers you growing up, you were nothing special and a terrible hurler

Small town Ireland :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭Soby

When is it tomorrow ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

I'd buy Galway United and make them the dominant force in LOI, While I'm at it might throw a proposal Scarlett Johanson's way ;)

astonaidan wrote: »
    I'd buy Galway United and make them the dominant force in LOI, While I'm at it might throw a proposal Scarlett Johanson's way ;)

€185 million wouldnt make Galway a dominant force in LOI football

Soby wrote: »
    When is it tomorrow ?

Every Tuesday and Friday

So best to enter today if you want to get in for tomorrow, people leave it last minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

more than likely end up in either rehab or dead after going absolutely ape**** for the first six months or so. then buy a house with a indoor pool and gym and cinema, and just spend my days doing what ever the feck i like!

I'd stash the cheque in the bank on the wednesday and book a f*ck off holiday on the saturday or sunday to vegas for about a month.

After partying hard for the month i'd probably start thinking about how the money should be spent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Soby wrote: »
    When is it tomorrow ?

The day after today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

I would do a 1 Million euro quickpick for the Irish Lotto.............................cause I can.

Then when I have all those little slips of paper I would paper cut Kerry Katona and Tubridy to within an inch of their lives.

Then I would go on holiday!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What would I do if I won?

1. Buy a home in Nice, southern France, over looking the bay there.
    2. Donate a massive amount to Crumlins Childrens Hospital (at least a couple of million)
    3. Take care of a brother I have who has brain damage and bad epilepsy by providing my parents (whom I would also look after) with around the clock full-time professional carers, to easy their minding of him.
    4. College funds for all my kids and relatives kids.
    5. World cruise.
    6. One MASSIVE open bar party for all members of Boards.ie in a Dublin nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭CHealy

leviathon wrote: »
    Someone is gonna say it so I might as well get it over with..

YORE MA!!!!

I doubt anyone was gonna say it seeing as it lost its charm as a humorous post about the winter of 09'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Biggins wrote: »
    What would I do if I won?

1. Buy a home in Nice, southern France, over looking the bay there.
    Have to say I wouldn't be rushing to move abroad. I'm too Irish I guess.

I'd probably buy a large plot (10-20 acres) somewhere in the Dublin mountains and build an obscence piece of property on it with ten million bedrooms, a serious view of the city and an actual luxury guesthouse and indoor heated swimming pool and all that nonsense. Could easily stick it together for less than 10 mill in today's prices.

I can see the vast bulk of cash being spent taking up a silent majority ownership in various charities, probably animal rescue for the most part, and giving them the resources to better generate funding for themselves (185 mill isn't an endless pot).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Have to say I wouldn't be rushing to move abroad. I'm too Irish I guess.
    I'd be popping over there at weekend for the night-life and meals.
    Both are out of this world. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

If I won €185 million.... I'd be giving away €125 million to various good causes and keep me occupied full time say €5 mill a year for the next 25 years, €30 million to family and friends, €15 million to buy a few dream properties, €15 million on deposit in the bank to provide income for retirement, an army of kids and what not.

It's a ridiculous pot. Should have been divided up and spread around a lot of winners tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I'd buy a new pair of green trousers and throw away the pair I've just used to staples to fix.