Alcohol Free Nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Confab wrote: »
    It's basically a nightclub for vegetarians.

I know Vegetarians who go out and get hammered all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I can imagine girls smuggling in flasks of tea in their handbags..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

I can understand people hazing non drinkers,but the nothing wrong with being a "pill head" get with the times people!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

anyone done the
    ******* FREE BEER ***** :eek:

ALCOHOL-FREE BEER ***** :eek::eek:

ALCOHOL-FREE BEER --- $6 :eek::eek::eek::eek:
    joke yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Gonna have to do more pre drinking than usual before going in..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 178 ✭✭DirtyLeeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

D wrote: »
    Its a bit behind the times, Seomra Spraoi has already being doing this for a while.

Isn't that more of a BYOB thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

What about pills, are they allowed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Mickjg

*Alcohol, free nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    What about pills, are they allowed?

Of course, it'll be just like Hamsterdam in The Wire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Would it not make more sense to open a 24 hour coffee shop, hire a band or dj after 10pm and let people mill around for a chat?

Niteclubs are specifically for people who want to drink and go mad. End of. Charging a tenner in? WTF like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

mconigol wrote: »
    Would it not make more sense to open a 24 hour coffee shop, hire a band or dj after 10pm and let people mill around for a chat?

Niteclubs are specifically for people who want to drink and go mad. End of. Charging a tenner in? WTF like!

Agreed. Charging in to drink coffee is frankly insane in this economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭jemser

i tend to find alot of non drinkers are pretty boring and very self righteous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

time for my pub/disco bar to open.

It will be called "the barred bar"

Basically open for scumbags that can't get into other bars, it would be simple enough and only require mimimum staff. Basically it will be a room with hard wearing tables and chairs, the drink will be administered via vending machine, the dj/bar man will be behind bullet proof glass and wouldn't have to enter the main area. They can refill the vending machines from the back and take requests from punters via a microfone like they have in some filling stations at night.

Still looking for funding, but its a dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

jemser wrote: »

They also love recalling the previous nights entertainment in exquisite detail. If I'm out and not drinking I would never take the piss out of people the next day (unless something really odd happened), the full time non-drinkers seem to love it though.

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    time for my pub/disco bar to open.

It will be called "the barred bar"

Basically open for scumbags that can't get into other bars, it would be simple enough and only require mimimum staff. Basically it will be a room with hard wearing tables and chairs, the drink will be administered via vending machine, the dj/bar man will be behind bullet proof glass and wouldn't have to enter the main area. They can refill the vending machines from the back and take requests from punters via a microfone like they have in some filling stations at night.

Still looking for funding, but its a dream.

I was in a place like that in Cardiff. Only beer available was stella in plastic longnecks you couldn't smash or slash people with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Seanbeag1 wrote: »

Clearly you've never bought a coke in a pub. Massive markup and only a small amount goes to the taxman. Add in the reduced cost of security staff and cleaning bills and you have profit.

Yeah cokes and the like are expensive and have a high mark up. But who drinks coke after coke in bars? The only people that do that are people buying vodka or something with it. Also when people are sober they'll most likely have better control of their cash and be more conscious of what they spend.

From a business perspective it would be great if you had 300 plus people in drinking soft drinks all night. That ain't gonna happen though. They'll struggle to make the rent on this place.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

From a business perspective it would be great if you had 300 plus people in drinking soft drinks all night. That ain't gonna happen though. They'll struggle to make the rent on this place.

You might be suprised. I don't drink and it could be a place I'd check out as I find it hard to stay out past 12 when everyone else is hammered. Would be great to have atleast one night out where a load of drunks aren't falling about the place, boxing the heads off each other or talking shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

jemser wrote: »

I tend to find that a lot of drinkers are obnoxious and annoying when they've had a few.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Seanbeag1 wrote: »
    I tend to find that a lot of drinkers are obnoxious and annoying when they've had a few.

As alcohol has a tendency to uninhibit there true personality. So if you want to know what someone is really like, get them twisted.

Would be great to have atleast one night out where a load of drunks aren't falling about the place, boxing the heads off each other or talking shíte.

Maybe try somewhere other than Athlone.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

in vino veritas
    “in wine... truth"

It's right most of the time.
    Not always though.

Don't worry, I have Jim and the effects of alcohol are universal all over the world.

Preaching to the choir here. I've worked in pubs for years so I've seen people at their best and worst from drink. I still have no intention to give it up though as I like drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

stevejr wrote: »
    Toiltets will probably be worse than an ordinary nightclub,...even more drinking and drug-taking goin on.
    Why would anybody pay €10 into a non-alco club to knacker drink in the jacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,027 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

So its gonna be a noisy room with loud music that you can't talk over, with a dance floor nobody will dance on, serving over-priced soft-drinks, but no alcohol, slap bang in the middle of stag/hen city??

I can imagine everyone just standing around sober, unable to talk, afraid to dance. Sounds awesome!

Preaching to the choir here. I've worked in pubs for years so I've seen people at their best and worst from drink. I still have no intention to give it up though as I like drinking.

No where in my comments did I ask ye to quit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Finally, a place where this forum have their first Beers 7-UPs and go clubbing.

Is that some weird cult you linked us to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

No where in my comments did I ask ye to quit?

Nowhere in my comments did I say you did.