Alcohol Free Nightclub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

anyone heard of this lot, they sound painful http://dancefree.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

i hope there is plenty of parking for the dry sh1tes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Rabies wrote: »
    How is it going to make money?

The door charge wont cover it.

Non drinkers drink sweet feck all low/non alcoholic drinks

Place will go under unless it serves decent food early to try claw some money back.

The bouncers only let in their own drug dealers and the owners charge them a cut for the arrangement?

Ye know, the same way the rest of the clubs do it... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Rabies wrote: »
    How is it going to make money?

The door charge wont cover it.

Non drinkers drink sweet feck all low/non alcoholic drinks

Place will go under unless it serves decent food early to try claw some money back.

Clearly you've never bought a coke in a pub. Massive markup and only a small amount goes to the taxman. Add in the reduced cost of security staff and cleaning bills and you have profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

Nobody will have the courage to talk to someone they don't already know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

They should open something like this in Ardoyne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

i hope there is plenty of parking for the dry sh1tes

Dry shites me hole. Bit of a sad attitude that anyone who's not a drinker is a dry shite, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Toiltets will probably be worse than an ordinary nightclub,...even more drinking and drug-taking goin on.

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

What I'd prefer to see is a place that stays open late and does food, coffee, ice-cream and has a bar for a universally enjoyable night out. Its very popular in southern Italy and I'd love the option in Dublin. I like a few drinks, but I'd also like a burger or pasta, a seat and a table, a coffee at the end of it and an opportunity to talk to the nice girls without having cotton eye joe roaring in my ear (lots of time in culchy dishcos). I'd also like to stay out as late as I want, smoking outside at a table sobering up while I'm still having craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

What I'd prefer to see is a place that stays open late and does food, coffee, ice-cream and has a bar for a universally enjoyable night out. Its very popular in southern Italy and I'd love the option in Dublin. I like a few drinks, but I'd also like a burger or pasta, a seat and a table, a coffee at the end of it and an opportunity to talk to the nice girls without having cotton eye joe roaring in my ear (lots of time in culchy dishcos). I'd also like to stay out as late as I want, smoking outside at a table sobering up while I'm still having craic.

Yeah but they've the weather for it, any time I'm abroad, the main thing I notice is people drink, eat and socialise outdoors, with good food.

This fúcking country never stops raining to the point that RTE/weather now uses the "mixed bag" for there forcast these days, try to plan around that..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Presumably be full of pilled up raver types

"we don't need drink" yeah but you're still a f***ing knacker :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Not going to happen, our drinking style is geared around getting hammered early to cheapen the night. Drink prices are too high due to government and club owner greed and also the shaming lobby groups like meas and the Legion of Mary (they're like a Roman legion only with rosary beads instead of swords) making the government curtail promotions, advertising and raise duty. If the bars and clubs have later opening hours a lot of people are not going to have the drinking stamina for a night out.

Go to Kilorglin for puck fair next month where the pubs barely close over the few days and you'll see what I mean.

Bambi wrote: »
    Presumably be full of pilled up raver types

"we don't need drink" yeah but you're still a f***ing knacker :)

Only if it's trance or techno, NO raver would go to a normal night club and do pills to have the worst come down ever......that's why there would be fcuk all at a stupid non alcoholic "disco".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

It's basically a nightclub for vegetarians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

What I'd prefer to see is a place that stays open late and does food, coffee, ice-cream and has a bar for a universally enjoyable night out. Its very popular in southern Italy and I'd love the option in Dublin. I like a few drinks, but I'd also like a burger or pasta, a seat and a table, a coffee at the end .

Sounds like Supermacs to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Confab wrote: »

I get where you're coming from, it's a bit like going to a brothel for a hug. Always worth a visit once though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

There'll be no canoodling in corners of THAT discotheque! No sirrrr.

Imagine a night cub for vegans ,they can't eat anything that cast's a shadow.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Can you imagine the war the first time an English stag accidentally ends up in there?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Any teetotaller who isn't a dry ****e will go to a normal pub or club and still have a fair bit of craic so long as they have mates who aren't cunts.

Therefore, place will be 50% dry ****es, 50% people who are pilled out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Alcohol Free Nightclub......... can't wait to go to this.
    Then after, a visit to the orange light district to get myself a hugger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Most of the replies here are so typically Irish. Whenever I go out and don't drink, I get asked why, the look of horror/confusion on people's faces is palpable when I say that I just don't want to. As long as this place doesn't fill up with pill heads, it could be good fun, and can stay open as late as it likes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Does alcohol free mean that the place will be drug free as well ? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

tolosenc wrote: »
    As long as this place doesn't fill up with pill heads, it could be good fun, and can stay open as late as it likes!

It will though, sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Does alcohol free mean that the place will be drug free as well ? :eek:
    Nope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

mikom wrote: »
    Alcohol Free Nightclub......... can't wait to go to this.
    Then after, a visit to the orange light district to get myself a hugger.

I suppose a cuddleparty would be too intense for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

tolosenc wrote: »
    Most of the replies here are so typically Irish. Whenever I go out and don't drink, I get asked why, the look of horror/confusion on people's faces is palpable when I say that I just don't want to. As long as this place doesn't fill up with pill heads, it could be good fun, and can stay open as late as it likes!

80+ replies with maybe two calling teatotallers dry shites but you go ahead and see what you want to see.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Hmmm as they wouldn't be selling alcohol, would would their door policy be with regards to ages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭Gandalph

The Vegiclub
    A club thats famous for its corn on the cob.

So if theres no alcohol can there be no age restrictions into the club? coz like if thats were all the underage girls go....you've got yourself a pretty bangin nightclub right there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

Ah c'mon, even us vegetarians love a good oul session now and again!