Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post here every time you get something new!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I still carry around my Gundam pilots card. I played the game once in an arcade, decided it cost too much, and went and got obsessed with Taiko no Tatsujin instead.

5f59xh.jpg

Still, the giant Gundam is easily in the top two giant robot related things I've ever stood next to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,415 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Still, the giant Gundam is easily in the top two giant robot related things I've ever stood next to.

If the other one was this, I may have to kill you.

Studio_Ghibli_Museum_image_Japan-slice.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,584 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

o1s1n wrote: »
    If the other one was this, I may have to kill you.

I've only stood beside the Laputa robot twice :P The pilgrimage to the Ghibli museum is a must for any Japan travellers.

The giant EVA-01 bust was up there too. In fact, I seem have spent an awful lot of my time in Japan standing beside giant robots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

...if it was this I'm raking your nostrils and unplugging your bowels tonight while you sleep! :mad:

gigantor.jpg

No. 1 with a bullet (that weird glowing eye thing in the front is me):

166212_1422226250258_1670785410_859903_5507160_n.jpg

In sheer scale terms though Gundam brought the epicness:

5412_1059464621444_1670785410_124033_2501514_n.jpg

6452_1047586924509_1670785410_95831_1660272_n.jpg

I have tears in my eyes. That Gundam was beautiful. Such a shame they had to take it down.

You were truly priviledged. :(

Yeah it's a damn shame, we were super lucky we just happened to be there when it was up! Crowds were mad though. We went before the 'official' opening and it wasn't too bad but went back a few weeks later when it was turned on and making noises and **** and the crowds were just mental.

Ah, if only they built giant robots in Ireland. We can dream, though, we can dream :(

Linda Martin and her jiggly, sagging neck skin doesn't count then? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Pyongyang wrote: »
    ...if it was this I'm raking your nostrils and unplugging your bowels tonight while you sleep! :mad:

gigantor.jpg

I love Gigantor. I believe this is a permanent fixture?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

We are all living in the wrong country!
    I wonder if they need Clinical Nurse Managers in Japan?
    How long would it take to learn japanese from scratch?
    Would playing Cho Aniki give me a start?

And re The Bouncer, it was to be the big killer app on the PS2 and turned out to be pants.
    The tech demo that turned into a game was Fantavision, and I love it whatever you say!
    Virtual On, I have it on Saturn and DC, and it is all a bit peculiar, I'm sure with the twin sticks it all makes more sense, as the 360 demonstrates, but on a Saturn pad I don't think so.
    It's simply stafe here, run there, hack lumps with the melee weapon before retiring at a distance and pounding the target with a ranged weapon, repeat 'til someones dead!
    I was spoiled with a proper mech game in the form of Mechawarrior 3 on the PC, the west's approach to mecha always appealed to me more for some reason.

Forgot to mention I picked up:

Kingdom Hearts
    Capcom Classics
    The Simpsons Game
    Ace Combat: The Belkan War
    Armored Core 3
    Robotech Battlecry

From Gamestop in The Pav. Buy 2 get 1 free offer and all super cheap anyway! :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,753 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Picked up the non retro but still great fun Sonic & Sega Allstars Racing for the 360, it's by Sumo and rather good, the young fella loves it so at only 17.99 in HMV it was a steal.
    Also, 360's seem to be back up in HMV too, I got my brand new 250gb Slim for 190 and now the pre-owned console is 200 notes, so happy I got in early.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,276 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Picked up the non retro but still great fun Sonic & Sega Allstars Racing for the 360, it's by Sumo and rather good, the young fella loves it so at only 17.99 in HMV it was a steal.

Been playing it recently myself and it's fantastic. It's like mario kart but with Outrun 2's drift mechanic. The DS game is apparently even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Relikk

Finally a Mega CD to add to the collection.

img20110706132133.jpg

Congrats, that setup looks beautiful, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

Relikk wrote: »

img20110706132133.jpg

Liking the 50/60Hz & ENG/JAP switches on the side. Just did that mod myself over the weekend ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Mr.Saturn

Liking the 50/60Hz & ENG/JAP switches on the side. Just did that mod myself over the weekend ;)

Hey man, might seem like an odd question, but what's your favourite genre of music?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

Mr.Saturn wrote: »
    Hey man, might seem like an odd question, but what's your favourite genre of music?

why... obscure Belgian techno of course!

I've a Reactivate compilation that includes a disc of Belgian House, hmm...
    lots and lots of pianos for some reason..

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I've a Reactivate compilation that includes a disc of Belgian House, hmm...
    lots and lots of pianos for some reason..

Joey Beltram, Mentasm, R&S, Ken Ishii, Jeff Mills, Matsuri, Axis etc were all and still are part of my audio library. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

img20110706132133.jpg

I remember the day my cousins got a Mega CD, I was hardcore SNES back then and was waaaay unimpressed. that looks like a sweet one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

I'm not sure if RAGE is worth the trip up from Dublin, but if you're ever nearby it's worth having a look into to pick up the odd bargain or rarity. Actively seeking it out could lead to disappointment. Indeed, my best purchases there have been the times I've merely wandered in to kill time or was passing by as opposed to the times I've actively gone in to buy something specific.

Bit saddened to see this chaps... we were all moaning and bitching before The RAGE opened, and now we've our own bricks and mortar store in Dublin, we continue to moan.

The prices really aren't THAT bad, I'm happier paying a few quid extra to the gents in there than to some nameless person on eBay. Plus you only miss things like this when it's gone.

I think the point is correct to a certain extent but draw a fine line in agreement with you also. Of course we all want to buy at bricks and mortar and keep folk in work, especially today. However the stock selection can be had for far less, and in far better condition, online. Not just eBay but elsewhere.

Nobody seemed to complain before the store got some cop on and boosted prices. Problem is there seems to be no real RRP to actual value equals New RRP with small retailer profit margin mathematics going on. The pricing method seems to be 'that's NTSC-J, let's make it expensive' or 'that looks rare. Price it at xyz Euro'. Put a proper valuation and pricing system in place and it won't feel that way.

Seriously, €40 for a PS2 fat covered in tippex and missing pieces is not acceptable. Neither is €15 for a copy of Dangerous Seed in poor nick.

The old adage applies though, never buy retail if you don't want to pay over the odds. Therein lies the balance between success and failure of such a niche business as people won't pay the prices.

I wish them no harm or failure of course. They just need to get some sensibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭safetyboy

5911208403_6b70bf30c8_z.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

img20110706132133.jpg

Notice the correct MD1 to 32X Stereo link method, nice touch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I got my MVS 1 Slot the other day.
    Comes with the very nice unibios (universe) bios chip.

dsc4434p.jpg
    dsc4435.jpg
    dsc4438w.jpg

Also got a few misc arcade bits and pieces:

dsc4440s.jpg

Well done on the MVS, I also have a 1-slot although mine is a lot bigger, also including two Neogeo controller ports, so I can plug in my lovely AES stick, which is nice!
    The other stick is my butchered DC Arcade stick wired into the Supergun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Joy of joy, My Nomad has arrived.

The screen is actually not as faded or blurry as I've seem most of them.
    But I've got the new screen on the way from DealExtreme to mod it anyway.

The case itself is in very decent condition and will only need a light cleaning.

dsc4441.jpg
    dsc4442e.jpg
    dsc4445n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,415 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

That Sega Nomad looks to be in amazing condition. I've never seen one so nice. Fair play man. Should make a great base for your screen upgrade!

Got my hands on this beauty today. It's really solidly built. Can't use it yet, as once again, my Saturn is still in my Grandparents attic. But I can sure look at it and drool!

SaturnVirtuastick.jpg

Saturnstick2.jpg

Shmup arcade stick Pr0n. Seimitsus in both! :)

DreamcastandSaturn.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Not so much new, more rebuilt neatly
    My PC to Jamma MAME board
    2vcc5u8.jpg