What is the Most You've Ever Put on a Bet?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

a fiver once at the dogs. im not a betting man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭piobhan

Had 150ew on john higgins a few years back to win the snooker world championship which he did. got back around €3500,

Proceeded to put 2000 of this on man utd to win champions league final outright in 2009 which they lost 2-0
    Each year since I have a big bet each year on champions league final

2010 I had 2k on inter milan which returned 4800 or so

2011 I had 2k on barcelona at evens to beat utd(i learned from 2009)

So Ive had 3 bets of 2 thousand each, where two of them have won! ;)

Throughout the year I have the odd bet here and there but not much more than 100euro if i really fancy something :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

150 on kauto star
    1600 buying into a poker event.I finished three places of the money aswell:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Most i ever bet on 1 bet was 2,000 Eur and yes it did win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

€2 at the dogs.
    I won €8. :)
    Betting is all a bit boring really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I stuck 50 on Man U at half time 12-1 when they were 2-0 down at West Ham. It seemed obvious at the time. My next biggest bet was 20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭autonomy

300 yokes on mcdowell to win sports personality..BAMMMM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭easyeason3

The most I have put on would be around €50.

I do know a good few in racing that will get a few lads to place large bets in different bookies if they have a horse fit to win. At one stage there was 8 or 10 lads dispatched to hit a few different towns to put on large bets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,299 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Most I've ever bet was €300 (several times) but on "sure things" @ ~1.35.

Luckily they all won, but each bet was only given a return of a tonne or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Stuck a hundred quid on Germany to win the world cup. With no Ireland, it was the only way to get involved. Was very smug after they hammered Australia, knocked out England... Ah well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Max Power1 wrote: »
    €50

On a bad tip for the next ireland manager after brian kerr

(pat dolan :p)

Dolan probably missed the interview due to a last minute stop at the chipper, I'm from Inchicore, back in the days when he managed St. Pats I saw him, "hunger's mother", ordering 3 snack boxes, 2 kebabs and some battered sausages one night!!!

Toni's Take Away btw if anyone knows it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I only lay:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

One day about 2 years ago I'd 100 quid on a horse called Denton @ 3/1. Backed into 6/4 andwon that night. Proceeded to stick the 400 quid on Mastercraftsman in a group 3 at Dundalk at 2/7 was a sure thing,it was a warm up for the Breeders Cup.

Lost nearly all of it the next day. 200 quid on Goldikova at 1/2 when she raced over 6 furlongs. Olivier Peslier the jockey blames himself for losing that race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭jacko1

in my youth I'd regularly put €500 on Aidan O'Brien 2yo's in maidens when he only had one runner - more reliable than a bank at the time !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

€0