Whats the most horrible wake-up you've ever had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Whats the nastiest, scariest, most shocking etc. wake-up from your sleep you've ever had?

As far as nasty goes, it'd be last weekend, a day of BBQ and beer for a party at a friends house, didn't get to sleep til about 5am.

Everyone evacuated the room quickly and crashed out in the back garden.

hmmm, this wasn't in celbridge by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Woke up back in October 97 to the sounds of giggling and the smell of freshly cut grass. Was a tad confused so opened up the old peepers and lo and behold Pighead was lying on his mattress in the middle of the gaelic pitch in GMIT.

We had been out for a drink or two the night before and unbeknownst to an intoxicated Pighead his flatmates had carried him from the house up to the pitch circa 5AM that morning. Lay there pretending to still be asleep until everybody had gone into class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

aahhh Teabag or a ""Teabag!""

A "Teabag!" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My mother waking me up when I was younger to get dressed quick that there was complications with my fathers surgery and showing up to a priest over by his bed giving him the last rights

Being woken up another time to be told my cousin was found dead.

Or more like After Hours. I once woke up after somehow sleeping with both of my legs full weight on my balls. Once I moved my leg I got a shot of the worst pain I've ever felt..it lasted for about 15 minutes and felt awful..still have flashbacks over 10 years on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Was away with the lads in the England last year, staying in a room with two single beds and a bunk bed. I grabbed the top bunk not knowing there was a fire alarm about a foot and a half above my head. On the first night, after not sleeping for about 18 hours or so, I fell into a pretty deep sleep.

I woke up to the most horrible sound ever. The bloody fire alarm had gone off. I was so shocked, I woke up screaming, only to see my mate jump out of bed running towards me screaming as well. He hadn't a clue what was going on. My other mate started grumbling something like "ah lads leave us alone, will ya?..." without waking up. I eventually calmed down long enough to flick the lights on. Needless to say the lads were laughing their arses off, while I debated whether a change of boxers was needed!

Have never felt so scared in my life! Needed about an hour to properly calm down after that. Deep sleep can really feck ya up. Surprisingly, no one else in the hotel checked on the two screaming lads at four in the morning! Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Tyler MacDurden

I woke suddenly one night with a violently painful cramp in my calf muscle. Jumped out of bed and bent down to grab it all in one motion.... and smashed the bridge of my nose off the mahogany bedside locker. Lay there dazed and bleeding, heart thumping and leg spasming. Give me demonic nightmares or anal-probing aliens any day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Jagera

I've had 3 different ones

1 - When I was living in Sydney I played an early game of rugby, finishing up at around 11. We all started drinking and watching the other grades play throughout the day. Back to the clubhouse, more beers, and then a walk to the local nightclub at around 10pm. I didn't make it to the nightclub. I don't remember walking off, but I woke up about 3 hours later, asleep in the mud, pissing rain and right next to a 20 foot sheer drop to the Pacific Highway going north of Sydney. Had I rolled the wrong way, I would be in a spot of bother. I dusted myself off and got a taxi home.

2 - Like a previous poster, I've had sleep paralysis. I was in Galway with some friends, after having been out sightseeing by day and drinking, fairly heavily, for the previous 4-5 evenings. I had to stop early one night because my head was spinning a bit, and when I fell asleep I started dreaming that someone was in the room kneeling over me looking at me like I was dead. My mouth was numbed and I couldn't move or speak. It felt more real than any normal dream. I finally woke up and went out and wandered around Eyre Square for a while to get some fresh air and clear the head. Back on the drink the next night.. no further problems........

3 - I was dreaming one night that my son was standing on a large furnace and as I tried frantically to grab him, he slipped into it. At that moment I woke up and my heart was thumping so much I actually thought it was a heart attack.

EDIT:
    I woke suddenly one night with a violently painful cramp in my calf muscle.
    I've had this too.. that cramp lasted for a week. Sat up like a bolt in agony, and calf muscle was tight as anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

I was awoken on Sunday morning @ 2.30am by some feuding travellers.
    Twas the best entertainment i've had in a long time, looking out the top window as the firemen tried to put out a burning d4d avensis !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭careca11

I've had a couple of incidents
    was woke up one morning to the sounds of screaming fire engine siren's , I was covered in puke , turns out I fell into the bushes outside the fire station (mainly becuase I was sh1tfaced).

again woke up in a prison cell (in Prague)with not a stitch of clothes on me , no glasses , bruises all over my face stomach in bits and smelling of pee ,
    as it turns out , the cops found me asleep in the nip on park bench ( i was totally transmunglafied) they though I was a homeless person as I had no ID etc on me , while asleep ,I was mugged even my fechin socks where robbed , and obviously whoever robbed me , throw a few thumps and pissed all over me ...............dirrrrrrrrrrty bas'tards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

Slightly off topic, but the most horrible wake-up my father never had was when he slept through a fire alarm, thankfully it was only a false alarm!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

1. Woke up on the couch wrapped up in the rug from the hall, sweat pouring off me. Crawled to my room where I found the bed ransacked, sick everywhere and what looked like the remains of a subway roll in the middle of it all. Took 2 hours to clean it all and then climb back into a fresh bed, where I was promptly woken up again by the dog barking.

2. Session in the middle of nowhere in Kilkenny. Nearly got lost in the fog while going for a piss the night before, then woke up on the couch in the kitchen, sun blaring in the window and the sweat once again pouring off me. There were no blinds or curtains in the kitchen, so at 7am I got a full blast of the morning sun. Then had to get a lift back to Waterford, taking the bumpiest road I've ever seen, and trying not to get sick out the window once we hit the main road.

3. The Night After Druids/ The Time I got some sort of hardcore flu. Woke up in my bed, naked, no idea how I got there and no clothes on the floor in my room. Bunch of builders next door woke me up. Kept hallucinating and thinking there was a dog in the corner of the room. Bathroom looked like something from Jackass stunt gone wrong. Found my clothes in the kitchen, and then had to walk to the shop to get panadol and bog roll. It was hot out again. To this day, I'm still not entirely sure what exactly happened.

I think any of these would have been easier to manage if I woke up and felt cold.

Edit: The only bad one I've had not to result from a hangover, was the gunk you get around your eyes while you sleep. There was like 5 times as much and it had formed a crust over my eyes, As much as I tried to rub it away I couldn't see for about two hours. Scared the hell out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Woke up one morning, starkers in a strange bed, no recollection of how i'd got there. I could vaquely remember meeting up with my girlfriend at some point in the proceedings, but she was nowhere to be seen. Thought fúck this i'm out of here - this can't be good, got dressed and sneaked down the stairs and, quitely as i could, creeped out the front door without being seen....only for my girlfriend to tap me on the shoulder and say "where the fúck are you sneaking off to?"
    Apparently, she was minding a friends dog while they were away and we'd gone back and stayed in the house - she was none too pleased that i'd obviously assumed i'd pulled a randomer and was doing a runner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

In a strange car, in a strange place. With the owner banging on the window roaring that I was trying to steal his car and he was calling the police. I got out of the car and he started chasing me up the street, me stumbling, stuttering and still half-cut.

Scared the byjasus out of me. Found out later yer man was in on it, he was one of the people who put me in there the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Needler wrote: »
    I switch off my phone at night for that reason. It's not like i'll be able to stop them from dieing anyway

Now if I had some special skill that could keep these people alive I'd leave the phone on but until then its better to face the bad news after a good night's sleep

Ha, that's weird: normally I leave my phone on silent, yet on this particular night I forgot to. And, yeah, my taking the call didn't prevent the death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

I remember waking up one night when I was about ten years old or so. My face was wet, sticky and cold. Got up and turned on the lights and the bed was covered in blood, I didn't know what had happened. I thought someone had been attacked or something. Turned out I had had a violent nosebleed and lost about a pint of blood.

I do remember other wake up calls in the middle of the night about dying relatives. These days a phone ringing after 11pm I'm not and I'm not expecting a call makes the blood run cold.

Some tragic stories in this thread :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Last year in Las Vegas it was around 7am and I went off to sleep at around 3am so was wrecked tired, I awoke to the sound of a text message I looked at the sender and knew straight it meant only one thing; Kerry were beat, it was from a Cork langer gloating, I went off to sleep confident out Kerry would destroy Down. Man that was one upsetting wake up if ever there was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭mystique150

Fell asleep in the back of a friends car and am jolted awake with him shouting "Oh my God, Noooooo". I jumped up and grabbed the seat in front of me thinking we were heading for a head on collision. The fecker laughs uncontrollably and says "I always wanted to try that". I literally wasn't in the better of it and to this day, fail to see the humor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭celj

Fell asleep in the back of a friends car and am jolted awake with him shouting "Oh my God, Noooooo". I jumped up and grabbed the seat in front of me thinking we were heading for a head on collision. The fecker laughs uncontrollably and says "I always wanted to try that". I literally wasn't in the better of it and to this day, fail to see the humor.

Yeah,I liked that Youtube video too!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭mystique150

celj wrote: »
    Yeah,I liked that Youtube video too!;)

Where he got the idea. It's not the first thing you think of though when it is actually happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭_pure_mule_

woke up to my dad telling me a close friend had died tragically during the night! :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

the sitting room had went up on fire because we had a wooden fireplace
    Hang on, I think I can see what the problem was :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 ererer

i woke up in a tree in a council estate in Mullingar once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not sure but it was something crazy to do with not being able to hold my drink like a grown man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,450 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

ererer wrote: »
    i woke up in a tree in a council estate in Mullingar once.

Really??!.........Mullingar?!?!..............Poor bastard :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Dead-heat finish between waking up in a ditch on the road to Naas outside Oxegen, and rousing from a peaceful slumber in a Garda cell, soaked in my own urine.

On both occasions, I had no recollection how I'd got there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 ererer

Dean09 wrote: »
    Really??!.........Mullingar?!?!..............Poor bastard :(

yep but i woke up in time for a Mcdonald's breakfast, every cloud etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

trying to remember some of my classic ones. but the whole locked in type thing i have a sort of play on that.

i do be lying there staring at my wall or whatever, i can see it, the shelf, all the things on the shelf, AND THE MASSIVE SPIDER COMING TOWARDS ME! i have a complete coniption, leap up across the room flinging on the main light, to realise i was actually alseep the whole time (eyes open etc) and had dreamed the whole damn thing :( cue me not being able to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

I remember waking the morning after I spent most of the day before at my dying grandmother's bedside in the local hospital. The walk to the kitchen to find my dad or one of my brothers felt like one of the longest walks of my life. It sounds so stupid, but having "Do I have a nana anymore?" running through your head a hundred times a second is very disturbing even at 22. She had survived the night. I took over from my mother and my uncle and about twenty minutes later she passed away - just enough time for them to get home and doze off. Then I had to be the horrible waker-upper to them. :-(

A bit of a funnier one; being woken by your dad coming into your room on a Sunday morning when you're 18 and hungover with all your clothes that he had found thrown all over the kitchen table. The strangest part was that while half-asleep I said something along the lines of "Sorry" and the reply I got was "Don't worry, sure we've all done it." I really hope he just meant about the getting plastered part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

+1 on the being woken up to hear a relative is dead/dying:(

Other than that I had two really terrifying experiences with sleep paralysis.

Both times I woke up but couldn't move, even to open/move my eyes.

I thought that there were loads of sinister people/evil presences all around me and I could hear them whispering but I couldn't quite catch what they were saying.

It felt like it lasted for an hour but I'd say in reality it only lasted a minute or two.

I can see why some people confuse this with being abducted by aliens etc!:eek: It feels so real.

It's horrible, especially the first time as I had never even heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,572 ✭✭✭Canard

Woke up at 14, to my dad crying and telling me my mam had died after being hit by a car. Nothing will ever be worse than that.

On a lighter note, summer 2007 (I was only 12ish so not much freedom), one month of my summer was spent going to work with my mam and the other month was spent being woken by the builders. No sleep ever that year. :o

Oh, and sleep paralysis once. I could see a black figure beside my bed (as far as I knew anyway) moving towards me. Shat bricks, couldnt move, sweated a lot in those few seconds, didnt go back asleep. :eek:

OH and one more. A few months ago waking up to my first asthma attack, in a friend's house, with no inhalers. I didnt know what was going on, couldnt speak, all I could think was "I'm going to die". Scariest thing ever. :(