Head of the IMF arrested on sexual assault charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

If you read the new york times article you will see that her story was full of holes and the conclusion is now that the sex was consensual. At the time it did seem quite strange, for example she claimed she was forced to perform oral sex even though he was unarmed and she had teeth.

Now today the militant feminists are'nt admitting they were wrong rather they are saying this as the reason why women don’t report rape, and continue to get raped, and raped their rape rape rape, when in fact by condeming him in the first place and by putting pressure on law enforcement to make arrests without cause in rape cases they are making it harder for rape convictions to occur.

Is there a prize for how many times you can say "rape" in the same sentence?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,298 ✭✭✭✭later12

Biggins wrote: »
    Fcuk him - His and his mate Sarkosy (who supports him) are two sides of the same coin.
    Out to screw others if they like it or not, for their own gain and pleasure.

I hope the bollocks get a good jail term.
    This is why it is wrong to pre-judge, or proclaim guilt without giving heed to due process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

later10 wrote: »
    This is why it is wrong to pre-judge, or proclaim guilt without giving heed to due process.

It's also something I loathe about the American justice system's relationship with the media. The "perp-walk" and the release of reams of information before charges are even brought I often wonder how they kind find a non-prejudiced jury.

Add the political circumstances and I'm amazed anyone jumped to the "guilty" conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

amacachi wrote: »
    It's also something I loathe about the American justice system's relationship with the media. The "perp-walk" and the release of reams of information before charges are even brought I often wonder how they kind find a non-prejudiced jury.

Add the political circumstances and I'm amazed anyone jumped to the "guilty" conclusion.

And the outcome? Any idea?

Spread wrote: »
    And the outcome? Any idea?

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

I think this is the biggest issue here. The bar for pressing charges is relatively low - they only need enough evidence to reasonably believe that something has happened - so they should not release the names of the accuser or the accused until the case actually goes to trial or until the trial is over. This would help to protect both victims and the falsely accused.

Of course, these cases get even more complicated (and the media frenzy is even bigger) where there is a race, class, or power dynamic between the accuser and the accused; the Duke Lacrosse case is a perfect example.

The perp walk is one thing that so many Irish people have been calling for since the beginning of the Irish banking crisis, so I am afraid you are possibly in the minority.

Couldn't care less tbh, it adds nothing to the justice process and just adds to the media BS that surrounds most cases where it's "worth" using.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I think most would have been happy with knowing that a perp had been walked.....

I think this is the biggest issue here. The bar for pressing charges is relatively low - they only need enough evidence to reasonably believe that something has happened - so they should not release the names of the accuser or the accused until the case actually goes to trial or until the trial is over. This would help to protect both victims and the falsely accused.

Of course, these cases get even more complicated (and the media frenzy is even bigger) where there is a race, class, or power dynamic between the accuser and the accused; the Duke Lacrosse case is a perfect example.

Hey southsiderosie! Any update on how the lawsuits by the students against the various bodies went?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

The sexual assault case against former International Monetary Fund Managing Director Dominique Strauss-Kahn is nearing collapse, the New York Times has reported.
    The 62-year-old may now be freed from house arrest as soon as today, the paper said.
    A source familiar with the case said the credibility of the maid who accused him has come into question.
    'The credibility is in question,' the source, speaking on condition of anonymity, told Reuters.
    Mr Strauss-Kahn was a leading candidate for the French presidency when he was arrested on 14 May.
    The New York Times said prosecutors had met Mr Strauss-Kahn's lawyers and the parties were discussing whether to dismiss the charges.
    Mr Strauss-Kahn's lawyer Benjamin Brafman said yesterday that his client would go back to court in New York today to seek changes to his bail conditions.
    'Indeed, Mr Strauss-Kahn could be released on his own recognisance, and freed from house arrest, reflecting the likelihood that the serious criminal charges against him will not be sustained,' the paper said.
    'The district attorney's office may try to require Mr Strauss-Kahn to plead guilty to a misdemeanour, but his lawyers are likely to contest such a move.'
    Mr Strauss-Kahn resigned from the IMF on 19 May and pleaded not guilty on 6 June, vehemently denying the allegations. He faces up to 25 years in prison if convicted.
    The New York Times quoted what it said were two well-placed law enforcement officials as saying that although forensic evidence showed there had been a sexual encounter between the French politician and the maid, the accuser had repeatedly lied.
    It said that prosecutors had discovered issues involving the asylum application of the 32-year-old housekeeper, who is Guinean, and possible links to criminal activities, including drug dealing and money laundering.
    The paper added that prosecutors' investigators had discovered the woman had had a phone conversation with an incarcerated man within a day of her encounter with Mr Strauss-Kahn in which she discussed the possible benefits of pursuing the charges against him. The conversation was recorded.
    It added that the man, who had been arrested on charges of possessing 180kg of marijuana, was among a number of individuals who had made multiple cash deposits, totalling around $100,000, into the woman's bank account over the last two years.
    From the start, the case hinged on the purported victim - a Guinean immigrant and hotel maid who cleaned the $3,000-a-night suite at the Sofitel hotel.
    Prosecutors presented her case before a grand jury, confident in the women's story that Mr Strauss-Kahn sprang naked from the bathroom, chased her down the hall and tried to force her to perform oral sex on him. He was indicted.
    Now 'prosecutors do not believe much of what the accuser has told them about the circumstances or about herself,' the paper reported.

I hate to be extremely cynical here, but when is a maid ever going to win a case against the head of the IMF.

Who has power and money, who has influence over media to get them to report whatever they want. Who knows if any of that background stuff on the maid is true, we're told it's true. No matter who accused him of sexual assault, their (the lady's) reputation was going to be dragged through the bushes.

When has anyone that high up in power ever been convicted of anything. Power and money rule the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭amjon.

I hate to be extremely cynical here, but when is a maid ever going to win a case against the head of the IMF.

Who has power and money, who has influence over media to get them to report whatever they want. Who knows if any of that background stuff on the maid is true, we're told it's true. No matter who accused him of sexual assault, their (the lady's) reputation was going to be dragged through the bushes.

When has anyone that high up in power ever been convicted of anything. Power and money rule the world.

His power and money didn't save his job or stop him spending time in Rikers or stop the world media crucifying him. This time yesterday the vast majority of people on this site would have been quite happy to brand him as a filthy perverted rapist. We now know he is innocent. His reputation and career have been destroyed by this manipulative, morally bankrupt maid.
    Any damage to the maids "reputation" is completely justifiable. Given that the media have allowed the maid a stay of execution of almost two months I would be far more inclined to believe what they report about her and her disgusting backround rather than the knee jerk garbage that the popular media spewed out regarding DSK.

Two US presidents have been impeached, several Illinois and Louisiana governors have been tried and jailed (along with some Congressional officials), the list goes on and on...French officials are far more shielded by their political system and the media than American officials are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Well, not before she starts telling the truth. I#m pretty sure the New York police, when taking him off the airplance and handcuffing him had little or no respect for his power or money.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

When her story is consistent and not full of holes.

amjon. wrote: »
    His power and money didn't save his job or stop him spending time in Rikers or stop the world media crucifying him. This time yesterday the vast majority of people on this site would have been quite happy to brand him as a filthy perverted rapist. We now know he is innocent. His reputation and career have been destroyed by this manipulative, morally bankrupt maid.
    Any damage to the maids "reputation" is completely justifiable. Given that the media have allowed the maid a stay of execution of almost two months I would be far more inclined to believe what they report about her and her disgusting backround rather than the knee jerk garbage that the popular media spewed out regarding DSK.

No we don't know anything right now, other than the case looks shaky. The fact that a case doesn't go to trial does not mean that there was not wrongdoing.

And what 'popular media' are you talking about? The New York Times ran most of the coverage around the indictment, and now they have broken the story of the weak case.

Either way, nobody's name should have been published before the trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

We now know he is innocent. His reputation and career have been destroyed by this manipulative, morally bankrupt maid.
    Any damage to the maids "reputation" is completely justifiable.
    Have I missed something? Has it been proven that she made it up? Or is this another case of people jumping on a bandwagon, trying, convicting and hanging a person without having any evidence?

A woman accuses a man of rape. Nobody knows the evidence. The mob says: burn him! The woman is discredited. No proof she lied. The same mob says: burn her! Let's just burn everyone and to hell with the consequences eh? It's a bad business but everyone calm the fcuk down, please. Let the emotion drain from your brain before you make up your mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭jackal

Have I missed something? Has it been proven that she made it up? Or is this another case of people jumping on a bandwagon, trying, convicting and hanging a person without having any evidence?

A woman accuses a man of rape. Nobody knows the evidence. The mob says: burn him! The woman is discredited. No proof she lied. The same mob says: burn her! Let's just burn everyone and to hell with the consequences eh? It's a bad business but everyone calm the fcuk down, please. Let the emotion drain from your brain before you make up your mind

BURN LeeHoffmann!!!!!!!!!!

Two US presidents have been impeached, several Illinois and Louisiana governors have been tried and jailed (along with some Congressional officials), the list goes on and on...French officials are far more shielded by their political system and the media than American officials are.
    What do you mean shielded by their political system? What has that got to do with criminal charges? Examples?

http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2011/07/01/nyregion/20110701-Strauss-Kahn-letter.html

The truth about the lies, at last. This lady was a serious criminal and should do serious time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Made-up in Manhattan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

Strauss Kahn will be heading home soon then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

syklops wrote: »
    Made-up in Manhattan?

Would Maid-up in Manhattan not be better, but excellent punnage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Just released.

wow. that letter from the District Attorney states that she admitted to lying about being persecuted in her homeland, she admitted to lying about being gang raped in her home country, she changed her story re: what happened that day in the hotel saying that she cleaned 2 rooms before reporting the assault to her supervisor....

I think the woman should be prosecuted for a good length of time. Not only has she damaged a man´s career and reputation and had him placed under house arrest for the last 6 weeks, she has also cast suspicion on real rape victims in general. She should receive the same kind of prison sentence a convicted rapist would get. In Ireland, it wouldn´t be much- don´t know about the US.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

wow. that letter from the District Attorney states that she admitted to lying about being persecuted in her homeland, she admitted to lying about being gang raped in her home country, she changed her story re: what happened that day in the hotel saying that she cleaned 2 rooms before reporting the assault to her supervisor....

I think the woman should be prosecuted for a good length of time. Not only has she damaged a man´s career and reputation and had him placed under house arrest for the last 6 weeks, she has also cast suspicion on real rape victims in general. She should receive the same kind of prison sentence a convicted rapist would get. In Ireland, it wouldn´t be much- don´t know about the US.
    that is enough for me, once a person is caught lying, and she seems to have done more than enough, i would not beleive a word from her now

Maid up in Manhattan, an IMF Sarkozy Production
    Starring Kiefer Sutherland as Andrew Struass Khan and Consuela from Family Guy as the woman he never loved. Christine LaGarde is portrayed by Helen Mirran

Breffney Morgan guest stars as Irish PM Enda Kenny- "I want my fecking interest reduction rate so I do..."

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Merge.
    Lets try and keep discussion to the one thread please.

Mister Khan, I need Lemon Pledge...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

efb wrote: »
    Maid up in Manhattan, an IMF Sarkozy Production
    Starring Kiefer Sutherland as Andrew Struass Khan and Consuela from Family Guy as the woman he never loved. Christine LaGarde is portrayed by Helen Mirran

Breffney Morgan guest stars as Irish PM Enda Kenny- "I want my fecking interest reduction rate so I do..."

Dont try so hard