What noise drives you crazy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 boreduser

Saw a documentary on this "misophonia" disorder recently, in my opinion the "expert" that was describing the neurophysiology behind the disorder was talking a lot of BS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭kkdela6

drunk emotional young wans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Scraping a knife or fork off a plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Sound of markers / colouring pens, gives me shivers :(

People chewing with their mouth open and smacking their lips.

Noise of dentist's drill, Jaysus help me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Forever Hopeful

boreduser wrote: »
    Saw a documentary on this "misophonia" disorder recently, in my opinion the "expert" that was describing the neurophysiology behind the disorder was talking a lot of BS!

I only heard the term misophonia yesterday. I lose patience with sounds and I do react in a not so pleasant way. I have to listen to my ipod when I can't escape or move seats on buses/trains if someone is making those noises. Maybe I'm getting crankier now I'm getting older :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 PrincessPixie

Mens burps you know the really deep long ones

The word "absolutely" being used instead of a simple yes.

That horrible never ending sniffling of someone with a cold

Frank Spencers voice in some mothers do 'ave em.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

That noise of a spoon against a cereal bowl...

The emergency whine that a Dublin Bus makes to gain attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Here's another vote for babies bawling their heads off. It's even worse when their mothers (or whoever is unfortunate enough to be looking after them) make no attempt to comfort them or silence them. If I'm in a shop and a baby starts wailing, I feel an immense urge to yell, "Aargh! Get that little f***er out of here!!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just watching the Veronica Guerin movie, and it drives me wild when I hear posh actors trying to sound like working class Dub's or skangers - it doesn't work.

They tried it on 'Love Hate' too - made a bollox of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

The strange bird that squawks like a banshee outside my window and wakes me up every morning at about 6am.

My neighbour who squawks like the strange bird that squawks like banshee outside my window while canoodling with her boyfriend at about 6.05 am every morning.

The cacophony of alarm clocks that go off in my housemate's bedroom from 6.05-7.15 am every morning as she continously presses "snooze".

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭madmammy

the "drip, drip, drip" of a tap that won't turn off properly
    people biting their nails
    snoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I hate the sound of kid's laughter!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Velcro....it makes me shudder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭CorsetIsTight

The noise of scraping knives or forks against the plate is the bad enough, but far worse is when someone is eating and they use their teeth to scrape the food off the fork into their mouth.

Shuddering just thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

chin_grin wrote: »
    Babies crying.

/thread.

This without a doubt. Babies, and just children in general.

I can feel my blood pressure rise, and probably visably twitch when they are screaming / screeching / babbling / crying / breathing, that kind of thing. Due to family birthdays I've found myself in a playcentre to many, my idea of hell. I have no tolerance whatsoever for most noises that comes out of them. High-pitched voiced little midget terrorists :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

The noise of people farting or grunting in the jacks annoys the hell out of me. Why the fúck can they not be a bit quieter with their noises....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

D4 accent, roysh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

Fucking ticking clocks :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Ciano35

Those f**king high frequency things you plug into a socket that supposedly gets rid of pests :mad:

Destroys my f**king ears :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Fucking ticking clocks :mad:

Don't do that then :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭shinikins

Currently, the sound of my boyfriend playing poker on his mobile is driving me bat**** fcuking crazy! He's not tired so I get to listen to fake chips and fake cards being dealt somewhere close to my right ear.

And stupid chungfellas rallying their sh!tboxes up and down the road. Its a Micra, not a bloody racecar!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

The muffled sound of music, a TV or people talking through a wall.

Or the sound of The Angelus - hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

The muffled sound of music, a TV or people talking through a wall.

Or the sound of The Angelus - hate it!

You're not supposed to like the Angelus, you're supposed to stop whatever you're doing and stare in awe. At what, I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭dannyboymed

Yerman's voice from Come Dine with Me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

People on the atheism forum, exhausting themselves to convince each other they're right in their logic!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

what dive me c5razy a bunch ojh of aeesjoles you are stucj in the mus why ont ye go funck off

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

passing out see ye late honho sihgning out:D:D:D:D:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Turpentine

what dive me c5razy a bunch ojh of aeesjoles you are stucj in the mus why ont ye go funck off
    passing out see ye late honho sihgning outbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.giftongue.gif

Off to work I suppose?