Affected accents!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I find it really amusing when I meet someone and they tell me they don't have an accent or it's "neutral". Yeah, sure thing guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I have a strange sort of accent, a bit of Dublin because my dad is from Crumlin, a bit of Laois because I've lived here for a long time (hate the accent though so I try to avoid it), but really I have a neutral sort of accent because I did a lot of speech and drama growing up. It's hard to pinpoint what kind of accent I have really, I just say stuff how it's spelt without any change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Waterford people sound like Dubs to me.

You've probably only spoke to people from the Dunmore rd area,because they think they are Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I would rather listen to Rachel Allens ( cold whipped cream dripping from a freshly baked warm apple pie ) accent than any of the Healy Reas’ ( cow farting against silage bales ) accent any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,593 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Count your blessings you don't know who she is.

She's Darina Allens daughter in law (I think), and she has the most dreadful
    pseudo posh accent. Everything is "just Goorge-oouuss"

/googles Darina Allen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I have a d4 accent.
    I personally don't think it's that bad, but people, especially from the country say that it is.

I hate it!
    I don't 'put it on', if anything, I try to hide it.
    I don't want to speak like a gombeen, but I do.
    Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I'm from Laois but also have most of my relations in Kerry which I visit for a few weeks every year since was little so I have a terrible mish mash of a thick bogger accent and a few kerryism's aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

RachaelVO wrote: »
    I bet ya wouldn't!

Is that you Rachael Allen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I've always prided myself on sounding like a "salt of the earth, de fil-ims, Today Bread...Today, ah sure jeeeaysus, you're like lego, you're in bitssss, True Blue" Dub but I was chatted up by a guy in a club in Dublin when I was visiting last year and the guy asked me was I from Louth? I spent 3 days in a hospital there when I was born and I've somehow held onto the accent? Imagine not even realising your whole life you sound like you're from Louth! Mad!

Needless to say, the guy didn't get jiggy with THIS that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I've always prided myself on sounding like a "salt of the earth, de fil-ims, Today Bread...Today, ah sure jeeeaysus, you're like lego, you're in bitssss, True Blue" Dub but I was chatted up by a guy in a club in Dublin when I was visiting last year and the guy asked me was I from Louth? I spent 3 days in a hospital there when I was born and I've somehow held onto the accent? Imagine not even realising your whole life you sound like you're from Louth! Mad!

Needless to say, the guy didn't get jiggy with THIS that night!

Lucky him:pac:

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

I find it really amusing when I meet someone and they tell me they don't have an accent or it's "neutral". Yeah, sure thing guy.

Funny that, I thought that I had a neutral South Dublin accent that was getting a bit more "Recieved Pronounciation" with age, then I heard the mail-box message I recorded on my Mum's home phone 15 years ago, and,I have to say, it's a bit BBC meets Kielys.

It is now more BBC than Kielys.

Accents aside, the real issue is Irish people's appaling command of the English language. Just not bothering to pronounce simple words clearly or thinking before they open their mouths. If you are inarticualte and have poor diction, your accent is irrelevant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,449 ✭✭✭krd

The south east has a pretty neutral accent. That is in comparison to places like Cork and Kerry, and Norn Ireland.

Yeah and I know about the blahs in Watafood bouy.

There can be good reasons for changing your accent. A friend from Scotland moved to California when she was a teenager. They couldn't understand a word she said. So she virtually had to remove every last trace of the Scottish accent just to be understood.

Similarly, if you're Irish and you have to deal with lots of different people from different countries, talking in convoluted culchie or muck savage does not aid clear communication.

Without pin pointing where I'm from. When they have the locals from my place on RTE, they always run subtitles, because they have such an odd and confusing way of talking. Substituting words like what for that. It might be more authentic to talk like that, but no one will understand you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'm from Dublin but some people say I have a bogger accent. :(

I always do things arseways. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 does not compute

Accents aside, the real issue is Irish people's appaling command of the English language. Just not bothering to pronounce simple words clearly or thinking before they open their mouths. If you are inarticualte and have poor diction, your accent is irrelevant.

Speak for yourself!
    In my experience as a teacher who has taught in both Irish and English schools, the Irish people have a much better command of the English language than the English themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

The strangest Ballinteer accent I've ever heard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

David Norris has an Awwfully annoying accent Daahling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Nadine Coyles fake yankee twang added to her Derry accent is the funniest I have heard in years .It made me laugh out loud .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

kfallon wrote: »
    Ah good afternoon Mrs Tesco :pac:
    Jaysus Fallon :eek: :eek: :eek: didn't the judge warn you about stalking me?

PS: The Tesco Man is holidays this week so it's the SuperValu Man this week :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Speak for yourself!
    In my experience as a teacher who has taught in both Irish and English schools, the Irish people have a much better command of the English language than the English themselves.

Agreed,

But generally, the standard amongst "ahem" certain demographics, is appalling.... especially in south east England....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 ITguy2

I think it’s only a natural process. Most of us spend a lot of our free time growing up watching US/ UK/ Australian programmes, so it is no surprise that our accents are been influenced, particularly from the US. That and most people don’t know their neighbours like they used to.

The breakdown in community probably has a lot do to with it, as community would probably have been one of the predominant factors in people acquiring their accents in the past. People basically have more contact with accents from the far reaches of the planet, as opposed to their neighbours next door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭kazzdee

Who is Rachel Allen?.

(Honest question).

She is married to Darina Allens son I think... hmmm... *googles* ..yup, Im right...was gonna put the cool emoticon, but, maybe not for knowing that fact! :rolleyes:
    She pronounces the word food, as feud! :mad: Highly irritating as she is a "celebrity" chef, she tends to say that word a lot, goes with the territory. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

kazzdee wrote: »
    She is married to Darina Allens son I think... hmmm... *googles* ..yup, Im right...was gonna put the cool emoticon, but, maybe not for knowing that fact! :rolleyes:
    She pronounces the word food, as feud! :mad: Highly irritating as she is a "celebrity" chef, she tends to say that word a lot, goes with the territory. ;)
    its the way she pronounces oven that makes me crack up each time . And again say it alot! Of Enn

Larianne wrote: »
    I'm from Dublin but some people say I have a bogger accent. :(

I always do things arseways. :o

I'm also from North COUNTY Dublin...not quite Dub, not quite cuilche...the Limbo Land of Ireland. Identity crisis-arama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

You should hear what the posh Waterford accent sounds like!!

Oh! Doint boi si jealos Chros Pi Bykon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I'm also from North COUNTY Dublin...not quite Dub, not quite cuilche...the Limbo Land of Ireland. Identity crisis-arama.

Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've been asked by two people on separate occasions if I was from Roscommon! :eek:

But then one of my bogger friends says I have a D4 accent but then he doesn't get out much so his opinion doesn't really count. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

alexjk wrote: »
    All accents are affected. You don't come out of the womb speaking.

ZOMG! Loike easiest Yore Ma joke eeveerrrr!

/Please don't tell her about this post.

Larianne wrote: »
    Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've been asked by two people on separate occasions if I was from Roscommon! :eek:

But then one of my bogger friends says I have a D4 accent but then he doesn't get out much so his opinion doesn't really count. :pac:

Samezees only I get mistaken for Louth...which I suppose makes a bit more sense considering where I'm from but still...

Never been "accused" of having a D4 accent though...was called a knackery scumbag in jest on occasion though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Oh! Doint boi si jealos Chros Pi Bykon!

Ha ha i can assure you im far from posh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Irish people that soften the letter R so it sounds British. Alan Shatter does this a lot and sounds horribly intentional. I think Rachel Allen Does that too. Rachel Allen's husband also has a bizarre accent but it's completely different from his wife.

Also I've been noticing a lot of English people who've lived here a long time and adopted a few Irish ways of saying things. It sounds very mishmash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Ha ha i can assure you im far from posh :)

Should be a peaked cap instead of a top hat on your avatar so :)