Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Affected accents!

• 29-06-2011 2:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Jaysus,

The D4 one is bad enough, but where the fook does an accent like Rachel Allen's come from? :confused:

Are there any other shockers out there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Jaysus,

The D4 one is bad enough, but where the fook does an accent like Rachel Allen's come from? :confused:

Are there any other shockers out there?

Who is Rachel Allen?.

(Honest question).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭alexjk

All accents are affected. You don't come out of the womb speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The only thing worse than people actually from D4 speaking that way is when people from other parts of the country put the accent on. You hear it all the time in Galway.

My favourite affected accent is this though: Former England football manager Steve McLaren shortly after joining Dutch club FC Twente as manager :D:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭Slaygal

Lisa Fitzpatrick ( The fiancee of Gerald 'Celebrity Solicitor' Kean) sounds very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Who is Rachel Allen?.

(Honest question).

Count your blessings you don't know who she is.

She's Darina Allens daughter in law (I think), and she has the most dreadful
    pseudo posh accent. Everything is "just Goorge-oouuss"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

RachaelVO wrote: »

i still wouldn't mind a go on her funbags all the same :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Cheers, I was going to google her but I won't bother my arse now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭coco_lola

Cheers, I was going to google her but I won't bother my arse now.

Don't bother. She's in all those "O'Briens" ads, her signature sandwiches. Terrible accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

kfallon wrote: »
    i still wouldn't mind a go on her funbags all the same :pac:

I bet ya wouldn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

Where did it honestly all start??? Your from Dublin, but speak with a beverly hills/royal accent?

Whats wrong with an actual Dublin accent, people seem to associate it to the stereotypes of "scumbags" and the like.

I've known so many people who changed their accents to fit in, either in college or work..... makes me sick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Who is Rachel Allen?.

(Honest question).

She's a TV chef Mak, who bakes, on RTE.

She has the wierdest accent I've ever heard. It's like a Longford woman, trying to hide an affected D4 accent, while sucking one of those sour apple sweets y'used to be able to buy by the quarter. (The one that had a bit of brown paper still stuck to it.)

Choco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Graeme McDowell.

Northern Irish/American accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Harley in Treme! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

You should hear what the posh Waterford accent sounds like!!

I bet ya wouldn't!

I'd leave them looking like a painters radio ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

vangoz wrote: »
    Where did it honestly all start??? Your from Dublin, but speak with a beverly hills/royal accent?

Whats wrong with an actual Dublin accent, people seem to associate it to the stereotypes of "scumbags" and the like.

I've known so many people who changed their accents to fit in, either in college or work..... makes me sick :)

I think it's a generational thing. I know a couple of people from D4, quite a few from Dalkey/Killiney, and I grew up in D14 myself, and I can honestly say that I don't know a person, over the age of thirty, who calls the Dart "the Dort" or calls a pint of Heineken a "point of Hoineken" never mind a "point of ken".:confused:

Kids. Fookin wierd.

*grumbles. And shakes The Irish Times*:pac:

Oirish Toimes, Granddad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Everyone thats not from D4 has an awful affected accent .

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭major deegan

Nadine Coyle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Who's the traffic reporter on Spin or something who goes "Red Cew Reowndabeowt is chocka"...

*head explodes*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Gay men's accents (well, some of them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Slaygal wrote: »
    Lisa Fitzpatrick ( The fiancee of Gerald 'Celebrity Solicitor' Kean) sounds very odd.
    I agree her accent is awful, but her name is Lisa Murphy (soon to be Mrs. Kean :D:D:D) Lisa Fitzpatrick is a stylist on TV3 her accent is a little strange too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I happen to have such an accent and what of it.

Your threads can be a right ruiners sometimes Choco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

You should hear what the posh Waterford accent sounds like!!

Waterford people sound like Dubs to me.

I think Michael and Jackie Healy Rae have possibly the funniest accents I've ever heard.

Talk isn't cheap as Michael knows, that was one whooper of a phone bill he received :D:D

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I think Michael and Jackie Healy Rae have possibly the funniest accents I've ever heard.

Talk isn't cheap as Michael knows, that was one whooper of a phone bill he received :D:D

Ah good afternoon Mrs Tesco :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

The D4 accent is not the worst. And I know a lot of people fake it and exaggerate, it is actually a real accent.

I lived in a town in Kerry a few years ago, and I was surprised, the kids from better off families affected D4 accents to distinguish themselves from the less well off. It was pretty weird.

But the affected accents that really get my back up.

The pompous Irish businessman accent: It's haughty and little horse. And the choice of language is to say, I'm a no nonsense man from a good family. I'm a little backward and behind the times in pop music. I like rugby and golf. It's very superficial. But it is the lingua franc of the Irish business world - if you don't speak it forget about a career in corporate Ireland.

The one I really hate - that nearly drives me to violence.

The exaggerated bogger accent: It's a fake over egged country accent. It's to say, I'm ignorant and proud of my ignorance. It's often spoken by people who are from the big farm and the pub families. Who've been educated at Ireland's most exclusive boarding schools.

Dublin TD's for Fianna Fail are notorious for speaking in fake bogger accents. Often with any trace of a Dublin accent. How can someone who grew up in urban Dublin not have a Dublin accent? And speak with some kind of mid-Ireland culchie accent. Even in rural county Dublin they have Dublin accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭vangoz

I think it's a generational thing. I know a couple of people from D4, quite a few from Dalkey/Killiney, and I grew up in D14 myself, and I can honestly say that I don't know a person, over the age of thirty, who calls the Dart "the Dort" or calls a pint of Heineken a "point of Hoineken" never mind a "point of ken".:confused:

Kids. Fookin wierd.

*grumbles. And shakes The Irish Times*:pac:

Oirish Toimes, Granddad.

Thats it, I work with a few people from said areas who are all in their 40's and 50's and do not talk like that at all. Happen to be real nice and not snobish in the slightest. Yet the younger generation * shakes fist and IT with you *

I hate when people visit the States for about 3 days and then come back with the accent :rolleyes:

Btw I thought this thread would be about stutters etc :o :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Johner wrote: »
    Graeme McDowell.

Northern Irish/American accent.

]
    He's from northern Ireland and has lived in America for the last 10 years, what's the problem with his accent?

It might sound strange but its not affected

MrsD007 wrote: »

It's a put on accent.

Healy-Rae's are South Kerry old money. They've always been about fakery. It's real horrible exaggeration of a Kerry accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I find it really amusing when I meet someone and they tell me they don't have an accent or it's "neutral". Yeah, sure thing guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

I have a strange sort of accent, a bit of Dublin because my dad is from Crumlin, a bit of Laois because I've lived here for a long time (hate the accent though so I try to avoid it), but really I have a neutral sort of accent because I did a lot of speech and drama growing up. It's hard to pinpoint what kind of accent I have really, I just say stuff how it's spelt without any change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Waterford people sound like Dubs to me.

You've probably only spoke to people from the Dunmore rd area,because they think they are Dubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I would rather listen to Rachel Allens ( cold whipped cream dripping from a freshly baked warm apple pie ) accent than any of the Healy Reas’ ( cow farting against silage bales ) accent any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

/googles Darina Allen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I have a d4 accent.
    I personally don't think it's that bad, but people, especially from the country say that it is.

I hate it!
    I don't 'put it on', if anything, I try to hide it.
    I don't want to speak like a gombeen, but I do.
    Deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

I'm from Laois but also have most of my relations in Kerry which I visit for a few weeks every year since was little so I have a terrible mish mash of a thick bogger accent and a few kerryism's aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I bet ya wouldn't!

Is that you Rachael Allen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I've always prided myself on sounding like a "salt of the earth, de fil-ims, Today Bread...Today, ah sure jeeeaysus, you're like lego, you're in bitssss, True Blue" Dub but I was chatted up by a guy in a club in Dublin when I was visiting last year and the guy asked me was I from Louth? I spent 3 days in a hospital there when I was born and I've somehow held onto the accent? Imagine not even realising your whole life you sound like you're from Louth! Mad!

Needless to say, the guy didn't get jiggy with THIS that night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭stevejr

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I've always prided myself on sounding like a "salt of the earth, de fil-ims, Today Bread...Today, ah sure jeeeaysus, you're like lego, you're in bitssss, True Blue" Dub but I was chatted up by a guy in a club in Dublin when I was visiting last year and the guy asked me was I from Louth? I spent 3 days in a hospital there when I was born and I've somehow held onto the accent? Imagine not even realising your whole life you sound like you're from Louth! Mad!

Needless to say, the guy didn't get jiggy with THIS that night!

Lucky him:pac:

What's the reason for being reasonable?

Is that an unreasonable question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

I find it really amusing when I meet someone and they tell me they don't have an accent or it's "neutral". Yeah, sure thing guy.

Funny that, I thought that I had a neutral South Dublin accent that was getting a bit more "Recieved Pronounciation" with age, then I heard the mail-box message I recorded on my Mum's home phone 15 years ago, and,I have to say, it's a bit BBC meets Kielys.

It is now more BBC than Kielys.

Accents aside, the real issue is Irish people's appaling command of the English language. Just not bothering to pronounce simple words clearly or thinking before they open their mouths. If you are inarticualte and have poor diction, your accent is irrelevant.

The south east has a pretty neutral accent. That is in comparison to places like Cork and Kerry, and Norn Ireland.

Yeah and I know about the blahs in Watafood bouy.

There can be good reasons for changing your accent. A friend from Scotland moved to California when she was a teenager. They couldn't understand a word she said. So she virtually had to remove every last trace of the Scottish accent just to be understood.

Similarly, if you're Irish and you have to deal with lots of different people from different countries, talking in convoluted culchie or muck savage does not aid clear communication.

Without pin pointing where I'm from. When they have the locals from my place on RTE, they always run subtitles, because they have such an odd and confusing way of talking. Substituting words like what for that. It might be more authentic to talk like that, but no one will understand you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I'm from Dublin but some people say I have a bogger accent. :(

I always do things arseways. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 does not compute

Accents aside, the real issue is Irish people's appaling command of the English language. Just not bothering to pronounce simple words clearly or thinking before they open their mouths. If you are inarticualte and have poor diction, your accent is irrelevant.

Speak for yourself!
    In my experience as a teacher who has taught in both Irish and English schools, the Irish people have a much better command of the English language than the English themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

The strangest Ballinteer accent I've ever heard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

David Norris has an Awwfully annoying accent Daahling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Nadine Coyles fake yankee twang added to her Derry accent is the funniest I have heard in years .It made me laugh out loud .

kfallon wrote: »
    Ah good afternoon Mrs Tesco :pac:
    Jaysus Fallon :eek: :eek: :eek: didn't the judge warn you about stalking me?

PS: The Tesco Man is holidays this week so it's the SuperValu Man this week :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Speak for yourself!
    In my experience as a teacher who has taught in both Irish and English schools, the Irish people have a much better command of the English language than the English themselves.

Agreed,

But generally, the standard amongst "ahem" certain demographics, is appalling.... especially in south east England....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 ITguy2

I think it’s only a natural process. Most of us spend a lot of our free time growing up watching US/ UK/ Australian programmes, so it is no surprise that our accents are been influenced, particularly from the US. That and most people don’t know their neighbours like they used to.

The breakdown in community probably has a lot do to with it, as community would probably have been one of the predominant factors in people acquiring their accents in the past. People basically have more contact with accents from the far reaches of the planet, as opposed to their neighbours next door.