Accepted Work Attire? Fcuk it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I work in a hotel and have to wear a shirt (with top button fastened) ,tie and waistcoat.

Duties include lifting beer kegs, serving breakfast at a roasting hot buffet and clearing the dirty dishes afterwards and all sorts of other crap which I don't want to talk about.

I rip off my uniform after work and often beat it with a hurley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

The way to go in an Italian office is like this Then tell them they'll be hearing from your people about the "contract", capiche?

that is seriously tempting & I might just do it for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

krudler wrote: »
    our office is "business casual" whatever the fcuk that means. I've been ignoring it for months, jeans and casual shirts/tops all the time, most people do now as well, its a call centre, the customers cant see us ffs. I got pulled on it once for not wearing shoes and I pointed out that there were a few women wearing sandals, and one girl wearing ugg boots, was never mentioned again

Fair play to ya, I used to work for an insurance company years ago, I remember getting hauled in to the office as I was wearing a pair of black chinos, boss (severe laserbeam) was giving out to me for not wearing office attire, had to shut her mush when I asked why most of the girls in the office were wearing runners :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

We have to wear a burka at work - it gets a bit chilly in the winter, but its worth it to appease our fundamentalist overlords.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I can wear what I like which means shorts and flip flops with a hoodie near at hand for the days the locals turn the air-con to the 'f*cking Baltic' setting.

As casual Fridays are not needed, there has been discussion about starting an over-the-top-fancy Fridays tradition with tuxes/suits/ballgowns etc. it would probably not be appreciated though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Sibylla

We have to wear office attire at work which is desperately boring. One of the major pluses of college is being able to wear what you want. Whoever came up with the idea for these ridiculous dress codes. I have a friend who works in a hardware shop and has to wear a bright green uniform...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Just the term "business casual" makes me retch...

:mad:

Now shorten 'casual' to one syllable. Ewe

In US Multinational land everything is business ca..

Doug=Bob=Rick=Rob=Sanjay=Vinay=Vijay=Chinos, leather slip ons, ralph lauren shirts, hairspray and viagra.

Kill me. Please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

I once worked in a pub where we had to wear white pharmacists overcoats.. Saturday night place is jammed, sweating like Michael J Fox playing Operation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I once worked in a pub where we had to wear white pharmacists overcoats.. Saturday night place is jammed, sweating like Michael J Fox playing Operation.

Morrisseys in Abbeyleix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Gandalph wrote: »
    Employers are not aloud give bad work references

What, they whisper them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Fair play to ya, I used to work for an insurance company years ago, I remember getting hauled in to the office as I was wearing a pair of black chinos, boss (severe laserbeam) was giving out to me for not wearing office attire, had to shut her mush when I asked why most of the girls in the office were wearing runners :D

its pretty sexist towards men as we have a lot less choice of what can be classed as acceptable office attire as well, I've hear plenty of guys complaining they got pulled for wearing something casual on a roasting hot day, yet women can stroll in wearing sun dresses, sandals and vest tops and nothing is ever said to them. Im not sitting there in a stuffy shirt and slacks on a day when despite it being 20 odd degrees outside they wont open the windows cos "its chilly" another joy of working in a mostly female environment, why are Irish women always cold?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,098 ✭✭✭Soups123

tell them its there choice shorts or its a dress, see how there clients like the look of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

zeusnero wrote: »
    Well, the company has an accepted code of attire, this morning I threw on a pair of shorts and sauntered into work, not a bother in the World.

Note to other workers in the same company: that isn't a earthquake, it's the corporate power structure shaking in terror to its very foundations.

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

Hate hate hate the dress code where I work. It's an accountants and I find it incredibly difficult to stick to! Black, grey and white, with nothing above the knee or showing cleavage is the norm! Roasting on days like today.

sweating like Michael J Fox playing Operation.

So wrong and yet so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

stovelid wrote: »
    So wrong and yet so good.

Similar to sweating like a pikey in a library. but cleaner. in more ways than one.

gatecrash wrote: »
    Similar to sweating like a pikey in a library. but cleaner. in more ways than one.

The other one is better as it couples cruel mirth at disability, disrespect for minor celebrities with a deft nod to obscure retro family games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭phill106

showing cleavage is the norm!
    i376ut.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I have to wear Wu Wear, Ecko Unlimited, Phat Pharm. Casual Friday, is Sean John gear.

I work for a brokerage that specifically deals with insuring Gangsta Rappers against Internecine black on black violence, bling theft, beef insurance, thug cover, hustler coverage and baller protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

I once got stopped by the HR manager while he read the back of my t-shirt aloud. "If you can't run with the big dogs, don't piss up the tall trees" Then he says "Haha, very good!" I thought he was going to freak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

or get you fired for lack of fashion sense

I imagine in Milan thats probably a crime.