Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accepted Work Attire? Fcuk it!

• 27-06-2011 2:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭

So, I'm stuck in an Italian office which, in the afternoon undergoes the transition from place of work to Sauna. The rest of my colleagues (all being Italians) are relatively used to the heat...

Recently I was told that my services were no longer needed in the Company and that I should start seeking employment elsewhere. Now it goes w/o saying that I will be referring to certain proposals from here upon departure but in the meantime? Well, the company has an accepted code of attire, this morning I threw on a pair of shorts and sauntered into work, not a bother in the World. Just had the CEO of the Company walk in and stare in shock at my 100% Guaranteed Irish Legs :D

Anybody else have a strict code of dress in the workplace that they'd like to give a big 2 fingered salute to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

go starkers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

zeusnero wrote: »
    So, I'm stuck in an Italian office which, in the afternoon undergoes the transition from place of work to Sauna. The rest of my colleagues (all being Italians) are relatively used to the heat...

Recently I was told that my services were no longer needed in the Company and that I should start seeking employment elsewhere. Now it goes w/o saying that I will be referring to certain proposals from here upon departure but in the meantime? Well, the company has an accepted code of attire, this morning I threw on a pair of shorts and sauntered into work, not a bother in the World. Just had the CEO of the Company walk in and stare in shock at my 100% Guaranteed Irish Legs :D

Anybody else have a strict code of dress in the workplace that they'd like to give a big 2 fingered salute to?

I am supposed to be doing on the road sales, hence suit needed every day. Car never materialised and I've been stuck in the office for 18 months. Took about 2 months for me to just ignore the dress code. Here now in jeans, runners and a hoody. Fcuk em I'm leaving anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

"Rebel without his clothes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Used to work in a very uppity man's clothes shop, and I would have loved to went in wearing jeans and a nice top, but nope, we had to wear black trousers and a black top. The air con never worked either and the place was like a fishbowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

so what do the hot italian wimmins wear there? pics or gtfo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

phill106 wrote: »
    so what do the hot italian wimmins wear there? pics or gtfo...

No don't look for pics, they'll be of a stream of sweat rolling off his chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

throw on a dress and a turban OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I have to admire those people who don't give a sh1t about getting a reference when they leave a job, and the yarns they come up with to cover the CV gap.:pac:

"I was in a coma for 18 months and was woken up by Crystal Swing on a CD player, and I'm now fit for work"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭zeusnero

I do give a **** about a reference but hey, I have a permanent contract - If they want rid of me, they have no choice but to talk me up to high heavens!

AND

I would so love to be in a situation where supplying fapping materials to boardsies meant that the women in question worked in my office. Sadly however, they do not :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

nope no dress code in my work. one time i forgot my jeans and had to wear motorcycle trousers for the day. that was a sweaty day.

phasers wrote: »
    throw on a dress and a turban OP

I would but that might, just might, exasturbate the situation. Unfortunately I don't think anyone here really wants me exasturbating all over the office :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Is this you?

I'd say burn the place to the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

No dress code for me either. I got interviewed by a guy wear shorts and flip flops in November.

We dont have dress down Fridays because for many of us, there is no-where to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

I used to be able to wear whatever I wanted in previous jobs. I prefer having to wear work clothes. Don't have to think about what to wear, and feels good to get out of them after work!

You should work in a fast food establishment, they have a uniform!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Suit pants and a shirt or jumper, not to formal really so cant complain.

Friday is casual day so when its warm out come the 3/4 lengths, sadly this been Ireland there has been limited opportunity for 3/4 lengths on a friday. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Jeans, t-shirt, sturdy boots and a compass is all i need. Oh and my trusty dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I have to admire those people who don't give a sh1t about getting a reference when they leave a job, and the yarns they come up with to cover the CV gap.:pac:

Employers are not aloud give bad work references

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I know a burglar who refuses to wear the stripey top & zorro mask.... he insists on polka dots & a Groucho get-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

I once seen wally without his stripes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Tarzan_man

Gandalph wrote: »
    I once seen wally without his stripes

way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

gavredking wrote: »
    3/4 lengths

have teh ghey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Well you're in Italy so wear a pair of concrete galoshes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

The way to go in an Italian office is like this Then tell them they'll be hearing from your people about the "contract", capiche?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

our office is "business casual" whatever the fcuk that means. I've been ignoring it for months, jeans and casual shirts/tops all the time, most people do now as well, its a call centre, the customers cant see us ffs. I got pulled on it once for not wearing shoes and I pointed out that there were a few women wearing sandals, and one girl wearing ugg boots, was never mentioned again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

krudler wrote: »
    our office is "business casual" whatever the fcuk that means. I've been ignoring it for months, jeans and casual shirts/tops all the time, most people do now as well, its a call centre, the customers cant see us ffs. I got pulled on it once for not wearing shoes and I pointed out that there were a few women wearing sandals, and one girl wearing ugg boots, was never mentioned again

Were you barefoot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Just the term "business casual" makes me retch...

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭davetherave

Throw on an auld gaa jersey and a pair of Hawaiian shorts. It will either start a new fashion trend in Milan, or get you fired for lack of fashion sense :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Turn up dressed like this chap, he clearly has his finger on the sartorial pulse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

cargo shorts and teeshirts.. (in my dreams)

But I chicken out and just go with chinos & shirt or grey / navy slacks & shirt in winter.

I like having a "work wardrobe" and "non work wardrobe"

Consequently I hate chinos and grey/navy slacks outside the office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

I work in a hotel and have to wear a shirt (with top button fastened) ,tie and waistcoat.

Duties include lifting beer kegs, serving breakfast at a roasting hot buffet and clearing the dirty dishes afterwards and all sorts of other crap which I don't want to talk about.

I rip off my uniform after work and often beat it with a hurley.

The way to go in an Italian office is like this Then tell them they'll be hearing from your people about the "contract", capiche?

that is seriously tempting & I might just do it for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

krudler wrote: »

Fair play to ya, I used to work for an insurance company years ago, I remember getting hauled in to the office as I was wearing a pair of black chinos, boss (severe laserbeam) was giving out to me for not wearing office attire, had to shut her mush when I asked why most of the girls in the office were wearing runners :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

We have to wear a burka at work - it gets a bit chilly in the winter, but its worth it to appease our fundamentalist overlords.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

I can wear what I like which means shorts and flip flops with a hoodie near at hand for the days the locals turn the air-con to the 'f*cking Baltic' setting.

As casual Fridays are not needed, there has been discussion about starting an over-the-top-fancy Fridays tradition with tuxes/suits/ballgowns etc. it would probably not be appreciated though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Sibylla

We have to wear office attire at work which is desperately boring. One of the major pluses of college is being able to wear what you want. Whoever came up with the idea for these ridiculous dress codes. I have a friend who works in a hardware shop and has to wear a bright green uniform...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Just the term "business casual" makes me retch...

:mad:

Now shorten 'casual' to one syllable. Ewe

In US Multinational land everything is business ca..

Doug=Bob=Rick=Rob=Sanjay=Vinay=Vijay=Chinos, leather slip ons, ralph lauren shirts, hairspray and viagra.

Kill me. Please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

I once worked in a pub where we had to wear white pharmacists overcoats.. Saturday night place is jammed, sweating like Michael J Fox playing Operation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I once worked in a pub where we had to wear white pharmacists overcoats.. Saturday night place is jammed, sweating like Michael J Fox playing Operation.

Morrisseys in Abbeyleix?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Gandalph wrote: »
    Employers are not aloud give bad work references

What, they whisper them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Fair play to ya, I used to work for an insurance company years ago, I remember getting hauled in to the office as I was wearing a pair of black chinos, boss (severe laserbeam) was giving out to me for not wearing office attire, had to shut her mush when I asked why most of the girls in the office were wearing runners :D

its pretty sexist towards men as we have a lot less choice of what can be classed as acceptable office attire as well, I've hear plenty of guys complaining they got pulled for wearing something casual on a roasting hot day, yet women can stroll in wearing sun dresses, sandals and vest tops and nothing is ever said to them. Im not sitting there in a stuffy shirt and slacks on a day when despite it being 20 odd degrees outside they wont open the windows cos "its chilly" another joy of working in a mostly female environment, why are Irish women always cold?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,993 ✭✭✭Soups123

tell them its there choice shorts or its a dress, see how there clients like the look of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

zeusnero wrote: »
    Well, the company has an accepted code of attire, this morning I threw on a pair of shorts and sauntered into work, not a bother in the World.

Note to other workers in the same company: that isn't a earthquake, it's the corporate power structure shaking in terror to its very foundations.

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭michelledoh

Hate hate hate the dress code where I work. It's an accountants and I find it incredibly difficult to stick to! Black, grey and white, with nothing above the knee or showing cleavage is the norm! Roasting on days like today.

sweating like Michael J Fox playing Operation.

So wrong and yet so good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

stovelid wrote: »
    So wrong and yet so good.

Similar to sweating like a pikey in a library. but cleaner. in more ways than one.

gatecrash wrote: »
    Similar to sweating like a pikey in a library. but cleaner. in more ways than one.

The other one is better as it couples cruel mirth at disability, disrespect for minor celebrities with a deft nod to obscure retro family games.

showing cleavage is the norm!
    i376ut.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

I have to wear Wu Wear, Ecko Unlimited, Phat Pharm. Casual Friday, is Sean John gear.

I work for a brokerage that specifically deals with insuring Gangsta Rappers against Internecine black on black violence, bling theft, beef insurance, thug cover, hustler coverage and baller protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

I once got stopped by the HR manager while he read the back of my t-shirt aloud. "If you can't run with the big dogs, don't piss up the tall trees" Then he says "Haha, very good!" I thought he was going to freak.