What do you hate/love about Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 The_Consumer

Dislikes:
    •People here aren't as friendly as other non-European countries, then again most of Europe has se horrible people.
    •A lot of people are living by tradition, which is good and bad.
    •It is way too quiet in some places.

•We can vote
    •We don't realise how lucky we are
    •It has lovely countryside...
    •It is slowly moving outwards and forwards

I don't think much of that made sense but anywayy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

I am not as hard as rock.

Um... okay. I wouldn't allow someone to use their illness to abuse me personally, but hey, that's just me.

That's not what this thread is about.

Yes you are hard! That is another thing that's radically wrong with this country, there are a lot of sad and hard hearted people here who forgotten how to be human and to see the higher scale of things. Always trying to be a victim, get even and revenge over completely nothing absolutely nothing but a few words from a stranger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭steve9859

Beautiful country. But incredibly unfriendly and cliquey by the standards of other European countries I have lived in (and the USA). Great at putting on a show of friendliness for tourists, but a difficult place to move to and settle in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Yes you are hard! That is another thing that's radically wrong with this country, there are a lot of sad and hard hearted people here who forgotten how to be human and to see the higher scale of things. Always trying to be a victim, get even and revenge over completely nothing absolutely nothing but a few words from a stranger.

I think it's a little unfair of you to question my compassion for my fellow man (women too, easy now). You don't know me. I'm quite sure that anyone I know irl would describe me as a helpful considerate person.

I don't want to get into an argument with you. You have your opinion on the matter and I mine.

Peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I love the people, love the women and love the lads. I love the scenery and love the fact that when the sun does shine no pace could look better, and the fact that this is a little rare makes it al the more special

I hate the way that people can assume that because you are from a different town, and all Ireland has is towns in the grand scheme of things, that you are somehow less educated/less well informed/ignorant/a snob/married to your cousin/a scumbag
    But you can easily avoid such people :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I hate Ireland, I've always hated it, and I long for a day I can leave this place.

Literally the only thing I like about it is the fact that there are some amazing views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

I hate Ireland, I've always hated it, and I long for a day I can leave this place.

Literally the only thing I like about it is the fact that there are some amazing views.

...and it's when you have finally left, you will soon realise all the great things you miss about the place.

Seriously though, your post sounded like a Harry Enfield sketch!

rebel10 wrote: »
    ...and it's when you have finally left, you will soon realise all the great things you miss about the place.

Seriously though, your post sounded like a Harry Enfield sketch!

How so?

Your post sounded condescending and rude.

Grass is always greener...

Seriously, any place is what you make of it, if you can't enjoy a place then 90% of the time it is your own problem (completely made up statistic that prves my point entirely)

Grass is always greener...

Seriously, any place is what you make of it, if you can't enjoy a place then 90% of the time it is your own problem (completely made up statistic that prves my point entirely)

No, I quite like the greeness of Ireland.

I just do not like it here.
    It has never felt like home, I have no attachment to it, I don't fit here.

I know me. No-one else knows me.
    Therefore cannot tell me how I feel, or will feel.

Why does it bother people that someone does not like it here?
    I'm not patriotic - So fcuking what?!

How so?

Your post sounded condescending and rude.

Sorry if you felt it was rude, but honestly it sounded like quite an immature post. :o Didn't mean to sound condescending either, but I just know from experience that when you do finally leave the place for a considerable length of time, you will realise that the country is actually pretty special in comparison to many others.

I never said it wasn't.
    I do not wish to go live in Haiti or Somalia.
    Obviously, we have it a hell of a lot better than a huge portion of the world.

Does not alter the fact that I do not like it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

I hate the lack of backbone in people here. They really are sheep.

Although xy and Z has been proved, they won't believe it unless Anne Doyle tells them so on the 6' o' clock news.

I hate how they still worship the catholic religion, and excuse the property they have, and the torture of rape that a 6 year old boy endures.

I love the renegades who say how it is, but those people who make excuses and support the church or corrupt political systems make me vomit, and I can trace my ancestory over 1500 yrs in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭annascott

Love the unspoiled beaches.
    Love the wonderful friends that I have made here.
    Hate the small minded parish mentality of some who seem to run the towns.
    Hate the lack of customer care in hotels etc (Donegal)
    Hate the lack of respect that a high number of country people have for animals
    Hate the lack of good roads with overtaking lanes
    Hate the lack of things to do apart from alcohol and outdoor stuff.

I never said it wasn't.
    I do not wish to go live in Haiti or Somalia.
    Obviously, we have it a hell of a lot better than a huge portion of the world.

Does not alter the fact that I do not like it!

That's fine, and I must say when I was young, in many ways i felt like that too, but after spending a good deal of my adult life living in other parts of the world, I can now say that actually this country is pretty spectacular.
    Anyway, hope you end up somewhere where you do feel like you fit in.:)

That's fine, and I must say when I was young, in many ways i felt like that too, but after spending a good deal of my adult life living in other parts of the world, I can now say that actually this country is pretty spectacular.
    Anyway, hope you end up somewhere where you do feel like you fit in.:)

I'm in my late 20's btw, and am married with two kids.
    Just in case you were under some illusions that I were some 17 year old with no experience of life, or the outside world!

Thank you for your well wishes! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I hate the mediocracy, I hate the gombeenism, I hate the BMW culture that passes for implied competence, I hate the false modesty that is literally hanging out of every person in Ireland with an "investment property", (it wasn't me it was your man over there, Seanie what's his name?!?), I hate the "for the file" pathethic mentality that is behind every decision that get's made in the public sector, I hate the begrudgery.

I hate the way if you dare comment or challenge all of the above, then you are obviously by default, a begrudger.

In fact I hate every fúcking thing about this backwater kip, I'm Irish for at least 10 generations but I'm deeply deeply ashamed of my nationality and the country where I was born. Please God, we have a long way to fall yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Darlughda wrote: »
    I hate the lack of backbone in people here. They really are sheep.

Although xy and Z has been proved, they won't believe it unless Anne Doyle tells them so on the 6' o' clock news.

I hate how they still worship the catholic religion, and excuse the property they have, and the torture of rape that a 6 year old boy endures.

I love the renegades who say how it is, but those people who make excuses and support the church or corrupt political systems make me vomit, and I can trace my ancestory over 1500 yrs in Ireland.
    Not good enough. Unless you can trace it back 2000 years, you're a blow in and your opinion is invalid.

No, I quite like the greeness of Ireland.

I just do not like it here.
    It has never felt like home, I have no attachment to it, I don't fit here.

I know me. No-one else knows me.
    Therefore cannot tell me how I feel, or will feel.

Why does it bother people that someone does not like it here?
    I'm not patriotic - So fcuking what?!

Ah well I'm not patriotic either, it's a funny notion to me, but that said I enjoy getting behind the country or a local team for a game. It's just a laugh that way and you can get a buzz off the excitement

I'm just saying that maybe things won't be better elsewhere, I honstly dont think anyone really 'knows' you unless you get close enough to them
    Whoch I dont either btw, but I've been to a few places and tbh it doesn't matter where you go, people are genrally sound and how you interact with them is pretty much down to your own personality

I'm in my late 20's btw, and am married with two kids.
    Just in case you were under some illusions that I were some 17 year old with no experience of life, or the outside world!

Thank you for your well wishes! :)

No, I had no guesses as to what age you are. I was only talking about my experience, as in when I was younger. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

I hate the people - Insular, shallow, thoughtless, difficult to make real friendships.
    I love the Irish sense of humour, cant be beaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I love the landscape of Ireland, it's a beautiful place, however. I hate the Irish mentalitity that everyone should feel sorry for us and love our music.

Irish people have a happy knack of assuming that everyone loves us... they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

i love how this place looks pretty damn special in the right light, and even on the worst days, there is still a savage beauty to the landscape.

I love the GAA, and its amateur ethos. I also love gaelic football in general.

I love days spent sitting outside with good friends, enjoying a drink, and some twisted Irish Humour.

I love the background of great writers and singers, songwriters and musicians we have to enjoy. we have really punched above our weight in terms of the arts.

I love the pride that we all get from seeing an irish man or woman succeed in sport.

But

I hate the begrudgery, and small mindedness that exists in a lot of communities.

I hate the catholic church and the hold it has on a large amount of people here.

I hate the fact that RTE is capable of doing sterling work such as reeling in the years, and indeed, in times gone past, the comic dramas of pure mule and love is teh drug, and yet, they now peddle muck, and prosecute people who dont want to pay for said muck.

typing this post surprised me, as i have always felt that i was not overly fond of this place, but when you think on it, Ireland has a lot going for it, and it really is a beautiful place and there is more to love than to hate/

above all else, i love some of the people here, because there really are some good uns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I love the landscape of Ireland, it's a beautiful place, however. I hate the Irish mentalitity that everyone should feel sorry for us and love our music.

Irish people have a happy knack of assuming that everyone loves us... they don't.
    Agree with ya on the everyone loves us craic. Does my fcukin head in hearing that. The height of arrogance it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I love a semi-busy Dublin pub of a Sunday afternoon for pints and ****etalking.

I love the views of Dublin and the islands from Howth.

I love Galway City, so many friendly people, always fun to be had.

I love most of the people on this benighted isle, we differ a hell of a lot but most of us have a decent sense of the ridiculous.

Ah well I'm not patriotic either, it's a funny notion to me, but that said I enjoy getting behind the country or a local team for a game. It's just a laugh that way and you can get a buzz off the excitement

I'm just saying that maybe things won't be better elsewhere, I honstly dont think anyone really 'knows' you unless you get close enough to them
    Whoch I dont either btw, but I've been to a few places and tbh it doesn't matter where you go, people are genrally sound and how you interact with them is pretty much down to your own personality

I think you misunderstood alot of what I was saying.

Nevermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭20260622

White pudding & Irish sausages...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Agree with ya on the everyone loves us craic. Does my fcukin head in hearing that. The height of arrogance it is.

I really genuinely think that being born Irish is a good start in life.

We have no colonial past.

Our colonial out-posts are Irish bars.

Our way of sharing our culture is through music and dance rather than violence.

We have a fairly strong cultural identity.

We like people who are up for a bit of craic.

I dunno.. maybe I have green tinted spectacles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Tubsandtiles

I love how we have some habit to always comment on the weather in a conversation or how "Christmas is only around the corner in August"
    I love the majority of music we make
    I love how some countries undermine us and stereotype us while we take the p1ss out of them on here :)
    I love been able to say "fcuk off" after someone explains something and it not being an insult- Irish dialect

I hate the constant news on the recession and politics
    Knackers
    Tourists being harassed by junkies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭shakencat

i love how we can say 'i will yeah'

and nothing ever be done!!