Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you hate/love about Ireland?

• 25-06-2011 8:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭

I love the way it rains more in summer than it does in winter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I love the way we are a positive and forward thinking nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,838 ✭✭✭theboss80

I like the shape of the country. It looks like a teddy bear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

I don't love much about this country anymore, I hate how violent this country is becoming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I love the Irish sense of humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

pconn062 wrote: »
    I don't love much about this country anymore, I hate how violent this country is becoming.

This is probably the most peaceful time in this island's history.

cats.life wrote: »
    hate the way i get looked at when i dont have hair cos of chemo', ive breast cancer. its not my fault, i didnt ask for it.

That is hardly an Irish thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Nothing and Nothing. I'm indifferent to the whole affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

hondasam wrote: »
    That is hardly an Irish thing.
    really . i live in ireland,its an irish thing.

Is it just Irish people that look at you ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

red menace wrote: »
    I love the way we are a positive and forward thinking nation

Post of the day IMO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Well isn't this thread a joy to read.

I like getting chips and walking along the pier at Dun Laoghaire on those nice evenings in August/September when it's warm but not roasting and the sky is clear.

Superbus wrote: »

I don't get your point??

It's very difficult to reply to your posts in this thread without coming across as insensitive. Would that be an Irish thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I hate the way cynicism and the "oh-we're-fu**ed"-ism has almost become a religion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

I don't get your point??

A stabbing in a pub or the like isn't a patch on the level of violence that was prevalent here for much of the last millennium, and in particular the last century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I love the way everybody says "top of the mornin" all the time :)

Isn't it so awkward when someone starts talking about dead relatives or cancer in a thread that has nothing to do with it, and nobody knows how to reply?

A stabbing in a pub or the like isn't a patch on the level of violence that was prevalent here for much of the last millennium, and in particular the last century.

But your suggesting that the troubles are over?? Dissident republican activity is at a ten year high. I quote this again

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-n...y-2806038.html

I live in Louth so its close to home

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭peterk675

I love the way Ireland is the only place that you can ask the question " Whats the craic " and to which the answer will always be a "no" !

phasers wrote: »
    Isn't it so awkward when someone starts talking about dead relatives or cancer in a thread that has nothing to do with it, and nobody knows how to reply?

maybe sensitive subjects should not be mentioned.

Dreadful weather out there today, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

It's very difficult to reply to your posts in this thread without coming across as insensitive. Would that be an Irish thing?
    dont worry ,ive myself deleted. happy now?

Supposed to be fierce warm tomorrow, up to 23 degrees according to me Ma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

I love seeing how disappointed the tourists look walking around!

got soaked while I was going for a walk.

Supposed to be fierce warm tomorrow, up to 23 degrees according to me Ma

we all know your Ma is never wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Nolanger wrote: »
    I love seeing how disappointed the tourists look walking around!
    In Dublin only, not in the rest of Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

I hate the whole notion of "oh we`re just a backward little nation so inferior we couldn't possibly think for ourselves" and the need to blatantly copy and cling on to as our own the culture, laws, shops, everything from a select few countries we look up to. Constantly trying to be the best boy in the EU and look where that got us.

I do like the Irish countryside and that whole culchie way of life, tractors, TDI engines, beours, etc., how nice it can be when the weather is good although it might only be one day a year. People here are generally friendly although there's a fair few pricks around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

But your suggesting that the troubles are over?? Dissident republican activity is at a ten year high. I quote this again

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-n...y-2806038.html

I live in Louth so its close to home

OK I'm going to leave now. Not the thread for that.

Deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Love: The people.
    Hate: The inferiority complex we have as a collective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

What about the nightly murders in Dublin ?

Easily the most peaceful time.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Nightly murders? Even at the height of the troubles there wasnt nightly murders in Belfast.

The drug related ones is it?

That's a cops attitude if ever there was one. No wonder most of them are never solved. It's absolutely disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

That's a cops attitude if ever there was one. No wonder most of them are never solved. It's absolutely disgusting

As long as it's scumbags murdering scumbags who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

This Country has some of the most breath taking views, landscapes, mountains, lakes or lochs, whatever you want to call them, dramatic weather and climates, to me, its beautiful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I love Guinness.

my heart bleeds for them.

kfallon wrote: »

You're enjoying your pint in peace in a pub in Inchicore. Next thing two masked men walk in and massacre the two men sitting beside you. Shots to the head. Shouting and screaming. Blood everywhere. It's evil beyond belief. Then you read that nauseating "known to Gardai" comment in the paper the following day. It's garda/media code for "he was a drug dealer so no need for any undue concern". It's a reprehensible attitude

kfallon wrote: »

I suppose someone has to care about the scumbags. Not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭The Jman

I love gaa Sundays in the pub :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

England has one thing over Ireland.......Slappers

otherwise i loves this little country:D

I suppose someone has to care about the scumbags. Not me.

So you're happy for Dublin to turn into the Wild West then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You're enjoying your pint in peace in a pub in Inchicore. Next thing two masked men walk in and massacre the two men sitting beside you. Shots to the head. Shouting and screaming. Blood everywhere. It's evil beyond belief. Then you read that nauseating "known to Gardai" comment in the paper the following day. It's garda/media code for "he was a drug dealer so no need for any undue concern". It's a reprehensible attitude

And the two men who were shot are scumbags and drg dealers I presume? If so, they won't be missed

So you're happy for Dublin to turn into the Wild West then ?

you are over reacting, it's hardly the wild west.

Nightly murders in public places ???