If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Louth V Meath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Do'nt forget Ward hit the cross-bar and had a shot saved in the first have so he could have had 6 goals:eek:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 35,726 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Really impressed with the amount of times Finnegan has brought the ball out of defence - has put in a great shift.

Nice pen from Keenan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭BQQ

Abject stuff from louth.

If they can't get up for this match, what can they get up for. :confused:

Performance drop-off from last year is massive, and it looks like no-one cares.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

That was a nice penalty though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I know right well that Louth had no chance from pretty early in the second half but something needs to be done about time-wasting in general and allow more quick free kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

If Meath don't keep a margin of 4 or more I'll fcukin lose it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Really impressed with the amount of times Finnegan has brought the ball out of defence - has put in a great shift.
    Yeah he's been great, he didn't give up, others did I think

^^^ Haha how much have you on the -4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

^^^ Haha how much have you on the -4?

Well it was -3 but it's the last in an accum i did today including Wicklow, Longford -1 and Antrim hurlers -5 with a tenner on. No worries now though so happy days! :D

shrewdness wrote: »
    Well it was -3 but it's the last in an accum i did today including Wicklow, Longford -1 and Antrim hurlers -5 with a tenner on. No worries now though so happy days! :D
    London fooked my accum up:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,445 ✭✭✭naughto

London louth fooked my accum up:(
    :(:(:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,227 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

just home and like i said earlier i wasn't optimistic , our midfield didn't win one ball and it was terrible to watch from a Louth point of view :-(

well done Meath

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Little Pea wrote: »
    just home and like i said earlier i wasn't optimistic , our midfield didn't win one ball and it was terrible to watch from a Louth point of view :-(

well done Meath

Shane O Rourke made a big difference in midfield for Meath.

There were some awful wides by both sides though especially Meath in 2nd half.

Cian Ward nearly scored a goal everytime he got the ball....Louths defense was poor especially the full back line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,227 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

when John o brien went off for Louth and then that donkey mcauley was brought on i knew we were fecked , he was then at cause for the two goals and was taken off again after 10 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭roy rodgers

London fooked my accum up:(

offaly fooked mine up.. 7 out of 8 not bad.

poor louth were sh!t tonight but roll on the lillies tommorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Little Pea wrote: »
    when John o brien went off for Louth and then that donkey mcauley was brought on i knew we were fecked , he was then at cause for the two goals and was taken off again after 10 minutes.

No need for that. The lad has been low on confidence this year and was thrown into a cauldron there. One of our best players last year, just didn't go for this year.

Best team won. You can't concede 5 goals and expect to win a championship match. Not sure Paddy was over his injury. Thought Ray Finnegan was superb throughout, some savage carrying of the ball. Darren Clarke has to be a regular starter for Louth next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Meath seemed in charge since the HT when they went in a goal up after playing against a strong. However, I dont think Meath will get much further, 8 points is a poor return and Ward's performance very much flattered them.
    It must have been very disheartening for the Louth players to see their fans leaving with 15 minutes to go, thats no way to support a team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

Yea was tough on mcauley being taken off like that, fitzer didn't have a good day tactics or selection wise.

O Rourke was excellent in the middle and we picked up all the breaks.
    Ward showed what he's capable of on his day, he's a serious heavy scorer.
    McAnarney was outstanding considering he was marking an all star, cleaned up the breaks, centre back suited him alot more than man marking a nippy corner forward.
    The draw will be interesting. Banty got it right today but there will be tougher tests ahead.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Just wondering was one of our boardsie members doing linesman for this game?

Why?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

royaler83 wrote: »
    Why?
    I know Blackbelt is a ref and it looked like it could have been him from my position behind the goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Good win for Meath last night, but Louth were very poor. They only had 1 scorer up until the penalty in the 65th minute. At championship level, that is simply not good enough.

Meath looked impressive, but as Spillane said on the tele, I'll reserve judgement on them for another while. The corner back for Louth was very naieve and had let Ward score 2 goals inside the first half hour. I was surprised that the management hadn't made a change earlier as Ward had another chance that came off the crossbar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

true, plus the keeper was not great on the day. It's amazing that Ward was brought back into the team, who was better than him? who thought they had 6 better players than him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

I see that a lot of the Meath haters on here have quietened down considerably..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭rpurfield

surely im not the only one that seen the body of work seamus kenny got through last night yet again?hes brilliant at doing all the donkey work throwing himself in for breaks closing lads down setting up attacks.

caoimhin king done pretty well too considering hes not normally a full back and shane o rourke has the makings of a good midfielder if hes left at it he could solve a few problems for us there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Cummybaby

Match went pretty much as expected. Ward's tally mask what is a pretty poor Meath team.

2 issues I want to address:
    The soccer-like antics of both Meath Supporters and players is annoying and unneeded.

Why was this game in Cavan town? The worst bottle necked town in the country. I sat in traffic for 1hr 10mins before i got out of the town.

Cummybaby wrote: »
    Match went pretty much as expected. Ward's tally mask what is a pretty poor Meath team.

2 issues I want to address:
    The soccer-like antics of both Meath Supporters and players is annoying and unneeded.

Why was this game in Cavan town? The worst bottle necked town in the country. I sat in traffic for 1hr 10mins before i got out of the town.

Go on, humour me :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Calm down please.

I dont want to dish out the infraction and ban stick.

I'm locking this thread for an hour. Just so people can calm down. It'll re-open in 12.15.

Mod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Re-opened. Play nice please.