Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louth V Meath

• 13-06-2011 8:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭

Never mind the All Ireland this will be the match of the Summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

I can see Meath winning this comfortably, hopefully I'm wrong and it will be a cracker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

A bit early for a match thread don't you think? It's two weeks away yet.

Meath will be up for this no question about it. They'll be out give Louth a good beating and Louth will be up for revenge. Perfect game for both teams after disappointing exits from the championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

I can see Meath winning this comfortably, hopefully I'm wrong and it will be a cracker.
    Agree 100%, Louth needed to draw Meath like a hole in the head this early in the qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

meath should win, but i cant believe anyone would say they will win comfortably. Breffni park will be full 30,000 plus at least 20000 routing for louth and i dont think the louth players need any more of a reason to beat them than what happened last year.
    Meath are doubting themselves and i dont think the hunger to win is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭Long Term Louth

mossyc123 wrote: »

Is this for definite? Only according to the bold RTE, Brefni Park is in Monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

so what's the odds that meath run away with it from early on and then ill discipline takes over... at least 3 red cards if not more especially later on in the game... and lots and lots of yellow cards...

don't envy the referee at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

f** the hype...Louth and Meath leinster ambitions are over so NON EVENT. If Louth win what will they prove exactly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I think you might be right. Louth will find it very difficult to get over the way they lost yesterday, but I guess if they can't motivate themselves for a crack against Meath, then they might as well be out of the championship.

johnmcdnl wrote: »
    so what's the odds that meath run away with it from early on and then ill discipline takes over... at least 3 red cards if not more especially later on in the game... and lots and lots of yellow cards...

A normal Sunday match so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭looseygoosey

how the hell is this a non event Ash? that is a very naive statement. I fthis was an obyrne cup semi final it would still have the same hype.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

how the hell is this a non event Ash? that is a very naive statement. I fthis was an obyrne cup semi final it would still have the same hype.
    I just feel bad for Louth last year, beating them then would have gained them a place in history!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭mossyc123

Is this for definite? Only according to the bold RTE, Brefni Park is in Monaghan.

I'd venture that a lot of the lads and lassies working in RTE Sport have only a passing interest in Sport, nevermind the GAA itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

Cant believe Louth don't have a ground suitable for the match!

Meath will win easy against a team that couldn't Carlow.

There will definately be a few red cards when Meath start to walk away with it.

haydar wrote: »

Meath are 1/2, if I was as sure as you are, the mortgage would be on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Never knew St Tiernachs Park changed to Kingspan Breffni park:confused:

It's in Kyavan (Cavan;))

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Browney7 wrote: »
    Never knew St Tiernachs Park changed to Kingspan Breffni park:confused:

It's in Kyavan (Cavan;))
    I think he realises that :-P
    Bit early for a match thread but what the hell. Both teams have something to prove but if we can't put in a performance for this game after the tripe that spilled out from all angles last year then quite frankly we don't deserve to stay in the championship. Hopefully whoever referees it calls everything as he sees it and doesn't let anyone get to him. Also don't understand where all the confidence that Meath will win easily is coming from. This is the same team that was humiliated by Antrim and Donegal during the league. I'd say it'll be close.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

johnmcdnl wrote: »

I'd honestly be slightly worried about ill discipline off the pitch also.While the real Louth supporters are grand,there's a dodgy element with no real interest in the sport, who would go to cause trouble.

Hopefully there won't be,but myself and quite a few other meath fans are not going because of this.

It was shameful that meath reg cars had windows broken after last year.

Think louth will be up for this one though,will be close at half time,then meath will put a few (legal!) goals in the net to pull away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 BaltimoreJack

This game will go to the wire....local derbies always do. Louth are not as bad as they showed against Carlow yesterday (but fair play to the carlow boys) and Meath are not patch on teams gone by, especially midfield and defence. All the hype around this has been generated due to the biggest amateurly run organisation in the world....how it ever came down to being Meath's decision to offer a replay last year is beyond me. It would never have happened in any other sport. Now Meath are Public Enemy number 1 and were obviously rode 12/7 by a ref the last day...lets hope its a fair result whoever comes through and both teams & fans move on from this. Wonder who'll ref it...probably need to be Pat McEaneany or Marty Duffy

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

IIRC, Louth normally use Navan for home games, but that would basically be giving Meath home advantage - Louths home ground only holds about 15K, was reduced a few years ago due to health and safety concerns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

IIRC, Louth normally use Navan for home games, but that would basically be giving Meath home advantage - Louths home ground only holds about 15K, was reduced a few years ago due to health and safety concerns

Is Louth's grounds not in Drogheda? Which only holds 4000.

Anyway if Meath cant beat a team that lost to Carlow then we may forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

4k now according to des cahill on the sunday game.meath have only won 1 game in competitve football since the start of the league so im really hoping it comes down to law of averages that we win.i might be wrong but i got the feeling wed have pushed kildare right to the wire only for the red card the last day and im hoping the louth backs are as loose as they were against carlow!!!

meath football really needs a big performance from the team and in an ideal world id love to stuff louth by 10 or 12 points and that would put all the s**te talk to bed about bad luck and karma and all.in the real world though i wouldnt be suprised if they turned us over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Cummybaby

I cant wait for this match. The grudge match of the decade. The fighting on the terraces will be immense. It will be like Millwall v. Chelsea. People glassing each other in the face. Mass brawls on street corners. :-) Peter "We were wobbed" Fitzpatrick against Seamus "Sure you just have to get on with it" McEnaney. Clash of the Titans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

yeahimhere wrote: »
    I'd honestly be slightly worried about ill discipline off the pitch also.While the real Louth supporters are grand,there's a dodgy element with no real interest in the sport, who would go to cause trouble.

Hopefully there won't be,but myself and quite a few other meath fans are not going because of this.

Think louth will be up for this one though,will be close at half time,then meath will put a few (legal!) goals in the net to pull away.

if fitzer can do one thing, its get lads motivated. he needs to start the correct team though, which means mcdonnell and carroll both starting and here's hoping o brien is able to play.

think meath will have too much though

Why cant you believe Louth dont have a ground suitable for the match? Could it be that Louth has little success in the last forty years? Or that gaelic has taken a back seat to soccer in the county? Or maybe its because of all the new "supporters" who jumped on the bandwagon just in time for the Leinster Final last year. Beats me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

event wrote: »

May i ask you what exactly in my post made you roll your eyes?

Was it the point that a few meath people are avoiding the match due to unsavory louth "fans"? If so,why don't you believe it.

Or my thoughts on how the match will go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

yes cos there no scumbags from Meath you'll always get the people who will only support a team when theres a big match on and who use the game as an excuse to start hassle or get pissed but dont care the rest of the year.

Im from Meath and Im not to confident about this.both teams are fairly useless at the minute Meath have the better team but they'll go in half arsed expecting a handy game but Louth will put up a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bogman Billy

Louth county board should be ashamed of themselves not having a ground fit to hold a championship match, what were they at this last 20 years when most other counties were upgrading their grounds.....even our lovely Leitrim could host a connaught semi final on Sunday :D
    Supporters can do very little about it but they must be fed up of it at this stage

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Imvho the Louth county board should be applauded for not wasting money in a ground which they wouldn't need, if more counties were to invest their money in teams rather than grounds we'd have a lot more top class teams.

Clareman wrote: »
    Imvho the Louth county board should be applauded for not wasting money in a ground which they wouldn't need, if more counties were to invest their money in teams rather than grounds we'd have a lot more top class teams.

They didn't even do that, as far as I know they spent millions on land and turned it into a kind of big training camp, 4-5 pitches etc don't know what can be gained from this, every county is full of pitches.

What exactly do you mean when you say investing their money in teams, where would the money go etc

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Teams need places to train, county ground can't be used for training all year round, by investing in grounds further out it should mean that teams can prepare for the big day rather than having some lovely white elephant stadiums around the place.

Having a big training camp sound ideal to me, get all the underage teams used to the proper setup. A lot of people would argue that the reason Manchester United are as successful as they are is due to The Cliff.

Teams need places to train, county ground can't be used for training all year round, by investing in grounds further out it should mean that teams can prepare for the big day rather than having some lovely white elephant stadiums around the place.

Having a big training camp sound ideal to me, get all the underage teams used to the proper setup. A lot of people would argue that the reason Manchester United are as successful as they are is due to The Cliff.

Why does a GAA team need anything more than a pitch to train? A gym excluded. Only other thing I can think of is a swimming pool, doubt many counties have 1 of there own. Preperations for 'the big day' are predominantly carried out on a football pitch

The game is evolving so much and every team is trying something different to give their team an edge, hurling and football are very simple games, but people are trying everything to get the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭buckwheat

United moved from the Cliff about ten years ago. New state of the art facility at Carrington.

Fair play to the county board for keeping Louth GAA at a mediocre level for so long. Other county boards have the problem of investing in pitch development to cater for large numbers of supporters. Supporters who follow successful teams.

Thank God Louth does not have this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

fair enough they dont need a gaelic grounds or thurles sized ground but something like carrick on shannon or newry or armagh wouldve been ideal for them.im 15 minutes from drogheda and id rather be travelling there for an away game than trekking up to cavan

May i ask you what exactly in my post made you roll your eyes?

Was it the point that a few meath people are avoiding the match due to unsavory louth "fans"? If so,why don't you believe it.

Or my thoughts on how the match will go?

because you have absolutely no idea if it was louth "fans" that broke windows on meath registered cars

In Ardee. On the night of last years Leinster Final. Who was it then? Course it was Louth "fans"

Who really gives a toss? Meath are poop these days and Louth were always poop. Louth were robbed last year but their post match antics lost them any remaining sympathy or respect. This game amounts to a challenge match because the winner is going nowhere in the Championship.

Cummybaby wrote: »
    Who really gives a toss? Meath are poop these days and Louth were always poop. Louth were robbed last year but their post match antics lost them any remaining sympathy or respect. This game amounts to a challenge match because the winner is going nowhere in the Championship.

You're absolutely right, all games involving teams who are unlikely to win Sam should be disregarded as challenge matches. Someone should let all the teams involved know that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭holuc

Does anyone know if this will be an all ticket game or can you pay at the gate!?

Cummybaby wrote: »

You're fairly on the button: Meath's unpredicatble performances are partly due to having a few decent match winners on certain days and can still put it up to any team on their day....but that's the problem. It's usually only the odd day. They've been so inconsistent that some teams have been caught on the hop by them. As for Louth, last years hype has given them a false perspective of where they stand. Either way, the winner out in Breffni on Saturday week will hardly be playing football in August.

holuc wrote: »
    Does anyone know if this will be an all ticket game or can you pay at the gate!?

As far as I am aware its:
    covered stand - all ticket....you should be able to get through your club
    open stand - pay on the day
    terrace - pay on the day

Presume its €15....but you never know for this double header

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Ging Ging

Stand (Covered) €20 - Limited Availability - Available From County Board ONLY
    Stand (Uncovered) Seating Adult €20 - Unreserved Seating - Available from Clubs OR pay at stiles on the day
    Stand (Uncovered) Seating Juvenile €5 - Unreserved Seating - Available from Clubs OR pay at stiles on the day
    Senior Citizens Stand (Covered) €10 - Limited Availability - Available From Clubs ONLY
    Senior Citizens Stand (Uncovered) €10 - Unreserved Seating - Available from Clubs OR pay at stiles on the day
    No student concessions on Stand
    Terrace €10 - Available from Clubs OR pay at stiles on the day
    Terrace Juveniles FREE
    Season Tickets - Please use their Season Ticket card to gain access via the Season Stile.
    I did a bit of moaning about ticket prices last year but €10 for this is great value!

buckwheat wrote: »
    In Ardee. On the night of last years Leinster Final. Who was it then? Course it was Louth "fans"

you should join the guards. with those powers of deduction, you'd have all the criminals off the streets in no time

Might do that. You could be my assistant. Always wanted a pet monkey. I think I'll call you Timmy

This thread is to discuss this match, not to have pot shots at each other. I was very close to banning the past 2 posters, but I'll leave it at a warning for now, other mods might take a different opinion.

buckwheat wrote: »
    You're absolutely right, all games involving teams who are unlikely to win Sam should be disregarded as challenge matches. Someone should let all the teams involved know that

Glad we are on the same level. :D:D:D. Seriously the point I was trying to make is that this game is being hyped up to the max ("Battle of the Boyne 2", etc.) but the reality is that both teams are in serious trouble in relation to strength and performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

It will probably end up bein a sh1te match 0-9 to 0-7 or something like that on a ****ty, windy and wet day and whoever wins (Meath hopefully) will probably get hammered in the next round

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Think there will alot of hype about this game but the game itself could be a flop in comparison. I don't think either team are upto much and Meath should pull through as Louth had their day in the sun last year and probably won't reach those heights again.