What do you hate/love about Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

pconn062 wrote: »
    But your suggesting that the troubles are over?? Dissident republican activity is at a ten year high. I quote this again

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-n...y-2806038.html

I live in Louth so its close to home

OK I'm going to leave now. Not the thread for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

Superbus wrote: »
    OK I'm going to leave now. Not the thread for that.

Deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Love: The people.
    Hate: The inferiority complex we have as a collective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

This is probably the most peaceful time in this island's history.

What about the nightly murders in Dublin ?

This is probably the most peaceful time in this island's history.
    Easily the most peaceful time.

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Nightly murders? Even at the height of the troubles there wasnt nightly murders in Belfast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

The drug related ones is it?

hondasam wrote: »
    The drug related ones is it?

That's a cops attitude if ever there was one. No wonder most of them are never solved. It's absolutely disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

That's a cops attitude if ever there was one. No wonder most of them are never solved. It's absolutely disgusting

As long as it's scumbags murdering scumbags who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭whatswhat

This Country has some of the most breath taking views, landscapes, mountains, lakes or lochs, whatever you want to call them, dramatic weather and climates, to me, its beautiful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I love Guinness.

my heart bleeds for them.

kfallon wrote: »

You're enjoying your pint in peace in a pub in Inchicore. Next thing two masked men walk in and massacre the two men sitting beside you. Shots to the head. Shouting and screaming. Blood everywhere. It's evil beyond belief. Then you read that nauseating "known to Gardai" comment in the paper the following day. It's garda/media code for "he was a drug dealer so no need for any undue concern". It's a reprehensible attitude

kfallon wrote: »

I suppose someone has to care about the scumbags. Not me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭The Jman

I love gaa Sundays in the pub :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭Sweatynutsack

England has one thing over Ireland.......Slappers

otherwise i loves this little country:D

I suppose someone has to care about the scumbags. Not me.

So you're happy for Dublin to turn into the Wild West then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

You're enjoying your pint in peace in a pub in Inchicore. Next thing two masked men walk in and massacre the two men sitting beside you. Shots to the head. Shouting and screaming. Blood everywhere. It's evil beyond belief. Then you read that nauseating "known to Gardai" comment in the paper the following day. It's garda/media code for "he was a drug dealer so no need for any undue concern". It's a reprehensible attitude

And the two men who were shot are scumbags and drg dealers I presume? If so, they won't be missed

So you're happy for Dublin to turn into the Wild West then ?

you are over reacting, it's hardly the wild west.

Nightly murders in public places ???

I have no interest in continuing this silly debate with you.

Think what you like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

cats.life wrote: »
    dont worry ,ive myself deleted. happy now?

It's terrible that you have cancer, it really is, and I genuinely hope you beat it and live happily ever after.

However, coming on here and using it as a stick to beat guilt into people is pretty unfair.

I have no interest in continuing this silly debate with you.

Think what you like.

I never knew there was segregation between normal people and "scumbags" in Irish society. It's not silly. It's very serious. Out of control murders is extremely serious

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

i love how the economy makes the news headlines in ireland...everyday. and still most people (including me) dont know what the fcuk theyre talking about

the economy never affected me when i was unemployed and certainly doesnt affect me now so stop reporting it d.ickheads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭jugger0

I never knew there was segregation between normal people and "scumbags" in Irish society. It's not silly. It's very serious. Out of control murders is extremely serious
    Im glad scumbags are killin each other, i just wish the guards would do it themselves, bring them to a nice secluded field and shoot them.

When you think about it, the justice system is so awful over here that if the bad lads werent killing each other they'd be having a great time altogether, nice short sentences,cosy jail cells, if they werent wasting each other we'd be fooked!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

It's terrible that you have cancer, it really is, and I genuinely hope you beat it and live happily ever after.

However, coming on here and using it as a stick to beat guilt into people is pretty unfair.

How could you be as hard as a rock. i wouldn't care what a person who is not well says to me, i would just hope it makes them feel better. How would anyone be who had a disease.

It's not surprising they are upset look at the mess the health care system is here, its all about money before the human right of health and saving lives!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Needler

ah another thing I don't like. Our unnatural obsession with "scumbags" and how we should go about getting rid of them no matter what the cost yet always seem to end up doing the wrong thing and end up with more "scumbags".

There are no scumbags where I live except me of course. There are scumbags about a mile away from me but I leave them alone and they leave me alone. Yet everyone on here seems to be obsessed with scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭JuneBug29

I hate the way that since the global recession (granted we're in a worse situation than other countries) has arrived that everyone dismisses the good about Ireland. A thread started recently about what was good with Ireland and it was truly refreshing. We're in a bad situation, we have some clowns in the dail (we have our vote by the way) and there are people financially in dire straits but that isn't localised to Ireland. A lot of what is happening here is happening elsewhere and, in many ways, we have a lot to be thankful for. I wish people realised that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 444 ✭✭RainbowRose81

I like most places in Ireland apart from Dublin. The scenery is great. Its a peaceful in rural areas and a good country to be born in. Many people have chances of a good education and career opportunities. Most people have independence and freedom

I hate the dishonesty, greed and dysfunction of the government affecting the people on the margins of it's society. The vulnerable should be protected, that goes without saying ..basic and they do not know that much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,029 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

How could you be as hard as a rock.

I am not as hard as rock.
    i wouldn't care what a person who is not well says to me, i would just hope it makes them feel better.

Um... okay. I wouldn't allow someone to use their illness to abuse me personally, but hey, that's just me.
    It's not surprising they are upset look at the mess the health care system is here, its all about money before the human right of health and saving lives!!!!

That's not what this thread is about.