Four burglars enter, three burglars leave... Householder arrested for murder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,790 ✭✭✭tvnutz

As has been said a lot:
    If the person killed was attempting to attack an occupant (or there was that threat), and the occupant killed him in self defense, that's justified.
    If the occupant went beyond self defence, and killed the person intentionally, knowing there was no threat to him, that's murder.

I really don't buy this,I think it's total bullshit. How are you going to distinguish between both of your situations you mentioned? As far as I am concerened if someone breaks into your house,invades a place where you are supposed to feel safe,that is the threat right there.

What are you supposed to do? Ask the thief when you encounter him "Hi there,do you plan on attacking me? These are my things and I would really rather you not steal them so if I try prevent that will you attack me or not?"

Someone comes into your house,you would be scared out of your mind and that right there is the threat because you have no idea what this person is thinking or whether this person is off his/her head on something. You do what you need to do to protect what's yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

hondasam wrote: »
    He got five years for manslaughter.

He was released after serving three years of his five-year sentence,the maximum period for which he could be held following good behaviour.

When he became eligible for parole and early release they refused and described him as "a very dangerous man" who may still believe his action had been right.
    his was a life sentence [ its mandatory under english law] i and a lot of other people believe he was right,,a 65 year old man living in a isolated farmhouse on his own ,being terrorized by burglars so often that he had to sit up at night with his shotgun,i think many of those on the committee who refused to release him would have felt very different if it had been them in that farm house.i do know lots of people who have come home and found someone has been into their house,like the mod says to older ladies its like rape,some people after that are never the same, they stay a home and lock the doors,have mental illness, if as we are told there will be a cutback in the UK police,then maybe more people will have to take the law into their own hands.best answer is to get a big dog,burglars will always take the softest option,for 50years i have always had a dog and so far no problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

getz wrote: »
    best answer is to get a big dog,burglars will always take the softest option,for 50years i have always had a dog and so far no problem

+1.

I've two dogs and they'd go through walls and rip the life from an intruder before I could get to my gun, load it, level it and fire.

I'll shake the hand and fill the belly with beer any man who kills an intruder in his home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

+1.

I've two dogs and they'd go through walls and rip the life from an intruder before I could get to my gun, load it, level it and fire.

I'll shake the hand and fill the belly with beer any man who kills an intruder in his home.
    My home is my castle and God help any poor fool who enters uninvited with plans to rip me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Show Time wrote: »
    My home is my castle and God help any poor fool who enters uninvited with plans to rip me off.

Yup, its something I too am very black & white about.

Break into someone's home and get killed, don't expect me to go crying about it.

I'm very firm in my belief that you should have the right to take the life of a thief in your home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

tvnutz wrote: »
    I really don't buy this,I think it's total bullshit. How are you going to distinguish between both of your situations you mentioned? As far as I am concerened if someone breaks into your house,invades a place where you are supposed to feel safe,that is the threat right there.

What are you supposed to do? Ask the thief when you encounter him "Hi there,do you plan on attacking me? These are my things and I would really rather you not steal them so if I try prevent that will you attack me or not?"

Someone comes into your house,you would be scared out of your mind and that right there is the threat because you have no idea what this person is thinking or whether this person is off his/her head on something. You do what you need to do to protect what's yours.
    Distinguish it based on the evidence really; if someone dies or is seriously injured, there'll be an investigation and maybe a court case, and it'll be up to the court/jury to weigh all the circumstances/evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Yup, its something I too am very black & white about.

Break into someone's home and get killed, don't expect me to go crying about it.

I'm very firm in my belief that you should have the right to take the life of a thief in your home.
    It is nice to know that someone else shares my views on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭tmcw

I'm fairly black and white about it too. When you see what a waste of space those fcukers are, it's easy to see what public service someone like Padraig Nally has done for us. Pity he didn't get to do it before the frog got to spread his spawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

tmcw wrote: »
    I'm fairly black and white about it too. When you see what a waste of space those fcukers are, it's easy to see what public service someone like Padraig Nally has done for us. Pity he didn't get to do it before the frog got to spread his spawn.

what has it cost Padraig Nally ?

He went to jail and now lives in fear. That's no way to live.

I would be in favour of protecting my home but I'm not prepared to go to jail for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Best news I've heard all week, pity the property owner didn't take out the rest of them while they were at it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 406 ✭✭FesterBeatty

You take the risk, you die with the consequences.

End of.

hondasam wrote: »
    what has it cost Padraig Nally ?

He went to jail and now lives in fear. That's no way to live.

I would be in favour of protecting my home but I'm not prepared to go to jail for it.

Padraig Nally should be asked to put himself up for the presidency of this country, look at the state of the absolute wasters that are going for the job so far, here is a man who could represent us properly, here's a man who know's what everyone know's, which is that you can't rely on the Gardai when dealing with crime in this country. Everything short of a fúcking murder is now a petty crime in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

I would have defecated on the dying corpse of the burglar. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Padraig Nally should be asked to put himself up for the presidency of this country, look at the state of the absolute wasters that are going for the job so far, here is a man who could represent us properly, here's a man who know's what everyone know's, which is that you can't rely on the Gardai when dealing with crime in this country. Everything short of a fúcking murder is now a petty crime in this country.

I hardly think he is a candidate for the presidency. I'm not so sure he would get many votes even in Mayo. He definitely would not get mine.

I'd rather be tried by 12 of my peers than carried by six of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

But then you might have some lawyer claim that the dogs were used as weapons to kill the intruder. The law just does not favour the occupant.

You should be entitled to employ all necessary force to protect your family from intruders. Why did it take 4 of them to break in? Seems like overkill. Was there a more sinister reason for travelling in such numbers. You hear horror stories of husbands being held down as their wife is rapped in front of them.

+1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

+1.

*Runs off to find quote about how friendly Staffies are* :pac:
    I'm not going to run to a conclusion about this one just yet as it strikes me as a little dodgy but in general terms I completely agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭fuerte1976

Show Time wrote: »

Yep you've got it in one . Me an all ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭alex73

Well if somebody entered MY house, I can tell you don't expect to leave alive. What should I turn on the lights, see if they are armed then try and kill them? Thiefs have to understand, private property is private. Pathetic the house owner was arrested. arrested for killing a person on their property without their permission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Haha, bit ironic dying on Hospital Street. You'd think he'd be grand there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,730 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

jiltloop wrote: »
    Haha, bit ironic dying on Hospital Street. You'd think he'd be grand there.

No health insurance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭temply

I look forward to the day your house is entered illegally by 4 masked men in the middle of the night.

me too

all those self rightous pious liberal bleeding hearts can jog on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

dillo2k10 wrote: »
    If someone broke into my home and they had a weapon then I would stab them, but I wouldn't be able to stop. I would be too afraid, I wouldn't stop stabbing until they stopped moving, but only if I felt I was in danger or someone else in the house was in danger.

I also believe that they deserve to be severely punished if they don't die. They broke into someone's home, the place where you are supposed to feel safe. They took that away and they would never be able to feel safe again in their home.

If you were to be brought to court could you not claim temporary insanity due to the shock and fear?

That's the problem with the idea of reasonable force: it's incredibly difficult to determine, particularly with the need to factor the burglary victim's mental state into the equation.
    I also admit to being a little surprised at how resilient the human body can be, as some here have pointed out. I realise now that it's not so easy to determine when someone has tried to incapacitate the burglar, and when they've deliberately tried to kill them.
    Ideally it'd be great to determine these things clearly, but I think the area of defending oneself against intruders is always going to be a murky one, and judges need to use common sense and all the evidence available to reach fair decisions.

It's interesting you say you would be too scared to stop stabbing. I can't say exactly how I'd react, I may react the same way, but I still think no matter my mental state, if I reached a point where it was clear that the burglar was incapacitated that I would stop myself. I think it would take a lot for me to try to kill someone, especially if they were trying to rob me and not kill me, but again I can't say how I'd react.

Anyway, there's something fishy about this case to me, it doesn't seem like a burglary, so I'm not going to pass judgement on it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

I am all for protecting yourself and your property, but equally I don't believe in killing indiscriminatly either.

If the intruder does not actually threaten you with violence I see no reason to attack him.

If you are threatened I feel you should try to subdue the intruder without killing him/her if you can help it.

20.52 Okay Mr Householder we're just breaking in now it's ok honest.

20.55 Okay we're now in your kitchen but were not going to hurt you honest

21.00 Ok 2 of us are now upstairs and taking your money and valuables while us 2 will tie you all up in a friendly way maybe we'll talk about the weather :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Kingpin187

Why are people giving tips on what to do and what not to do in this situation?

"You should try and subdue them if possible"

Get a grip. If you had your young family in the house, next minute 4 masked men come through the door, you are not going to ask them to hold on while you think of your next move.. adrenaline and instinct would take over immediately, and you wouldnt know what happened til it was over.

No sympathy for the deceased in this case

4 masked men arent there for supper. F them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭whiteley91

If you break into someones house your asking for it like! your on their property when your not welcome trying to steal their stuff why shouldn't someone defend themselves and their possessions that they worked hard for, for them to just take it?
    but when is reasonable force to much?
    lets say if you had a gun nearby by chance, could you threaten them and keep them under the gun until the guards arrive? is that too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Does that thread title remind anyone else of Mad Max: Beyond the Thunderdome?

Or is it just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

I find it really hard to get all worked up about how we're not allowed chase and kill people who try to rob us. Having actually studied the law on self defence in Ireland, it's actually pretty reasonable. The law does not leave you without a means to protect yourself and the benefit of the doubt often goes to the person defending himself. I don't see Irish law as particularly out of touch in that sense.

The law is generally quite reasonable, as long as you *actually* stick to self-defence and don't go further. Chasing a man out of your house and down your road and shooting him twice in the back is not self defence. People here are complaining about not being able to defend themselves, but that's not what they really want. If a man enters your property you just want to be able to kill him, whether or not he's a threat, to prove your manhood or vent your anger with the state of society or whatever. Of course that's not allowed, no reasonable legal system would allow that.

Some people here need to grow up. Saying you would shake the hand of any man who killed an intruder to his home is just juvenile. Tell that to the family of the intruder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

My parents in law were broken into twice in 3 weeks. Once during the day, nobody home, bold as brass they pulled up outside the house and strolled in as if visiting. They were disturbed by a knock from a neighbour and ran out the back, through the gardens and away. The next was at night time, and my brother in law coming in from the pub disturbed them. When he walked in one said "who the f**k is that" - they had been watching the house and obviously thought it was just two older people living there. We were blessed they ran because I have no doubt he would have ended up injured (or injuring) trying to protect his family.

Makikomi - on the subject of dogs, I've heard of two people with large dogs who were poisoned in their back garden prior to a break in. It was only after the house was robbed that they realised that the dog hadn't found something in their garden, rather was given something. If someone wants to rob your house they will know your dogs are there and they will have a plan to deal with them.

If we had a break in, (I'd firstly worry about my dog who would be downstairs,) I think I'd have a hard time stopping my husband going down. My instinct would be to lock my bedroom door and quietly call the guards I think. I would also call the house phone in the hope that if they think we will soon be awake they might leave. I would prefer for them to take everything in my house than to worry even for a minute that my husband could be murdered by a robber.

Take my things, but leave my husband and dogs alone. In saying that, if I was forced into a situation where it was kill or potentially be killed, or if I was protecting the life of someone else, if I could manage it (all 5ft of me) I'd have no remorse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Burglary is not a capital offense. Unless your own life or the life of someone else is being directly threatened, there is no excuse for killing another human being. Even if lives are at risk, it's still not an excuse unless you have absolutely no choice.

It astounds me how many people seem to think that you can override the law if you own a place. We're not effing cavemen anymore, the law still applies regardless of whose house you're in. One of the laws is that you are not allowed to kill another person. Their breaking of the law, does not give you automatic license to break it yourself.

If you want to live in that kind of society you could always move to America where "Get off my lawn! *bang*" is considered a reasonable reaction to trespassers...