Who is the most famous person who ever got you a drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

barbarians wrote: »
    Anyone else find that buying a known alcoholic pints is not something to be proud of ? :rolleyes:

Not really no, it's up to them to drink it or avoid situations where they might be tempted.

That said I probably wouldn't do it, but if I met someone famous I admired and they were already drinking, sure, I'd love to join them for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Paddy Casey bought me a pint waaaaay back when I was in college in UCC in 2003.

Then in 2007, he appeared in a pub I used to work in and got taling to the manager (who I used to live with) and ended up coming back to our gaff with his girlfriend at 3 in the morning. He ate all our ham and complained that he didn't like our butter. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Joe Roff and i had a guinness drinking race - he was an Aussie Rugby international.

I also had a pint with Michael Dubarry, the ex chelsea and reading defender.

I also fingered a ladies European kickboxing finalist outside supermacs in athlone a good few years back, but thats a different thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Joe Strummer bought me a pint in 99 in an Irish bar in Kunstpark Ost in Munich. He was after playing with Silverchair and the Offspring earlier that day.
    I just randomly got chatting to him in the bar and at the time didnt know how famous he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

efb wrote: »
    I bought Padraig Nally a drink after he told me he'd murder a fat frog...

Logged on to thank that post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Ian Brown from Stone Roses...

Oliver Reed was another...

Jesus you drank with Olly Reed, that must have been some experience. Any funny stories to tell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

barbarians wrote: »
    Anyone else find that buying a known alcoholic pints is not something to be proud of ? :rolleyes:

Its not like they'd buy pints anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

DonJose wrote: »
    Logged on to thank that post :)

Thanks, hope it was worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Matt Damon bought me about 4 mates each a pint of Guinness. Have drank with a few rappers and also with some of the San Diego Chargers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

One I recall with affection; Dennis Hopper. Good guy. Very sound. We talked about all sorts of shíte for the night. Art, fishing, travel, history, philosophy, women, drugs, music etc.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm waiting for his Gazza story, that should be even better/worse!!! :eek:

He probably introduced him to Raoul Moat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Jesus you drank with Olly Reed, that must have been some experience. Any funny stories to tell?

No afraid not he was very sound bloke, it was not till he died that I realised how big and popular he was.

My dad drank with him few times and he said it was like giving fish water... But one thing I will always say about him was he never came across as a "do you know who I am" type just down to earth guy.

EVENFLOW

I drank with Cher, or it could have been a blow up doll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

I got a drink from Laurence dallaglio and phil vickery a few years back after vickery tapped a fag off me. In fairness he needed it Munster dumped them out of the heineken cup earlier in the day. Sound lads was chattin to them for a good half hour.

Out of respect i insisted Ian McGeechan take a drink from me which he did indeed take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

I've drank with both of the Gallagher brothers (separately), had a drink with James May off TG (before he was famous) and a few other car journos like Vicky Butler Henderson, and been to a lap dancing bar with Dennis Rodman...which was one of the more interesting nights of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

I was staying with some biker friends in Las Vegas in 1986 and found myself at a loose end one evening and decided I was going to meet up with Sinatra or one of the rat pack and have a good time, at that age we think we can do anything....:rolleyes:

I made my way to the Stardust, it had made the headlines when it was sold on the year before so it was attracting the big names. I was half pissed watchin out for 'the boys' chatting away with one of the guys at one of the bars, he was looking for celebs for me as well.

We were drinkin away, but no sign of anyone famous, until I couldn't even see anymore, the fella I was drinkin with dropped me back to the clubhouse and poured me out at the step. Tiny was doing the rounds and found me a couch to kip on. It was only the next morning that he told me it was Burt Reynolds who had dropped me off the night before.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

John Delaney bought us a few after our football league awards night at the end of last season,some stories out of him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Gillington wrote: »
    John Delaney bought us a few after our football league awards night at the end of last season,some stories out of him!

do tell

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Got bought £100 worth of pints by Shane McGowan in the form of a tip whilst working as a night porter in a hotel in Galway which he obviously didn't realise was famous for lock ins (presume he thought he was buying one).

Also threatened to throw Kris Marshall (off the BT ads) out of that same hotel but that's a different story...

Sleepy wrote: »
    Got bought £100 worth of pints by Shane McGowan in the form of a tip whilst working as a night porter in a hotel in Galway which he obviously didn't realise was famous for lock ins (presume he thought he was buying one).

Also threatened to throw Kris Marshall (off the BT ads) out of that same hotel but that's a different story...

The contention issues arent his fault...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Had a drink with Graham Linehan and Matt Berry once. WHISKEEEEYYYY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,362 ✭✭✭Cork Lass

Many (and I really mean many) Years ago I was out with a friend in a night club when we met Woody Harrelson. He bought us drinks and ended up snogging my mate. True.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Cork Lass wrote: »
    Many (and I really mean many) Years ago I was out with a friend in a night club when we met Woody Harrelson. He bought us drinks and ended up snogging my mate. True.

He was a lush and a rabid rider of young beurs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭mickos

I got a pint from Paul McGrath as well. Was living in Enniscorthy at the time. Went into the local to watch Man Utd in a champions league match. Walked in there was 1 seat available at the bar, asked the guy next to it if anyone was sitting there. He said no, work away. Sat down, ordered a pint and looked around, noticed McGrath a couple of seats up. The guy I had asked for the seat is a mate of his, a celtic scout or something. Watched the match, chatted to the 2 of them for the night. Paul told a few stories about Italia 90 and all. A true gentleman. I know he's an alcoholic or whatever but that night he was just having a few pints like the rest of us. He bought me 1 after the match but wouldn't take 1 in return.
    Oh and the guy that took the money off him, what a hero! you should be so proud:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

rossit wrote: »
    sad story told by a sad person if he is proud of it taking money off a drunk guy well done you .the sort of bar man i think you need to count your change after

What the fu#k has happened to AH, Jesus get off you high horses people. The amount of kiddie-fiddling jokes on this everyday and yet a lot of you are upset at my McGrath story.

Let me clarify for you please.

1. I didn't buy McGrath a drink, he bought for himself and his driver.
    2. I was drunk myself and was/is an alcoholic who is recovering the past 6 years and when the story happened I was 18, but yes I was in the throngs of addiction.
    3. It was my choice to drink the way I did, in much the same way as it was Paul's.
    4. About 6 years after, I went to a treatment centre in Wexford and while I was there, Paul came in as a patient too. I told him the story as although he remembered me, he didn't remember much of the night. We laughed about it, which shows the measure of the man.
    5. From stalking your posts Rossit it seems you are a bit obsessed with gambling, so if you say you wouldn't have played cards that night with him then your a liar mate.

The weekend I spent with Gazza was quality, which would have made a great AH story, but you have ruined it for the rest of the children with your bull**** moral compass. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

mickos wrote: »
    I got a pint from Paul McGrath as well. Was living in Enniscorthy at the time. Went into the local to watch Man Utd in a champions league match. Walked in there was 1 seat available at the bar, asked the guy next to it if anyone was sitting there. He said no, work away. Sat down, ordered a pint and looked around, noticed McGrath a couple of seats up. The guy I had asked for the seat is a mate of his, a celtic scout or something. Watched the match, chatted to the 2 of them for the night. Paul told a few stories about Italia 90 and all. A true gentleman. I know he's an alcoholic or whatever but that night he was just having a few pints like the rest of us. He bought me 1 after the match but wouldn't take 1 in return.
    Oh and the guy that took the money off him, what a hero! you should be so proud:rolleyes:

Are you been serious?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭nice_very

Bono ;)

also, Fito (of the group - Fito y los Fitapaldi) quite famous in spain, actually that was quite cool cos it was in an Irish bar that he regularly goes to, the 2008 All Ireland was on (my team lost :( ) and I explained all about hurling to him, sound fella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

policarp wrote: »
    Bob Hoskins.

:eek: Blimey! I can offer ye Frankie McRowan ....? But, Frankie was a Real Life nutter. Sort of bloke Bob could portray well.

I love Bob Hoskins, as an actor. But, I've only known some of the, real life, " Harold Shand / Long Good Friday " types. Bloody nice blokes, actually.

Lewis Collins; Another nice bloke. As I s'pose " Bodie " would be ~ unless ye set him off! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

paul mcgrath gave me a tip one night when i was working at a dinner dance, he wasnt drinking at it, was there with his son and a few friends and he was the guest of honor! he also signed my Irish jersey from italia 90! very nice man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Had a drink with the lads from We Are Scientist in 2008. Very very cool night.