Who is the most famous person who ever got you a drink

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

whatswhat wrote: »
    Spider off Coronation Street.

Your pulling our legs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

zuroph wrote: »
    huey fun lovin criminals bought me a pizza
    Saw him getting money out of an AIB ATM on Patrick Street in Cork! :pac:
    (Colossal bodyguard beside him).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Zach Braff got me and 2 mates Bud Lights when we met him a few years back at the Live Earth gig in Giants Stadium, New Jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Hangballlouie

I bought Paul McGrath a pint of guinness last year. Was a genuinely nice man

I worked in a pub in city centre just beside Trinity and the owner was best friends with Curtis Fleming(ex-Ireland and Middlesborough footballer) so we used to get a lot of footballers in, including Vinny Jones, Gazza and a few other players that played with Middlesborough.

I have a good Gazza story but I will tell you the McGrath one first cos I have to log off (apprentice)

He was my idol growing up so when he staggered in at 11pm one Tuesday night, it made my day. However Paul being Paul was supposed to be on the dry so he had his driver for the night get him large Jack Daniels with the instructions that the customers were to believe it was coke.

Myself and the other barman cleared the pub a while after and it was just us and Paul and his driver left. McGrath was locked at this stage and as he tried to talk to us, he informed us he was only after coming back from an after-dinner speech, and he proceeded to take out an envelope out with 2000 punts in it(late 90's)

So after a couple more drinks, Paul wanted to play poker, so we obliged, and took about 800 of his after-dinner money off him and probably would have won the lot if it wasn't for his pesky driver.:D

Idol or not, I was taking the money off him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,331 ✭✭✭RichieC

Niel Morrison kept begging drinks of me and the lads in some bint infested dive in london..

The bouncer threw him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Dudess wrote: »
    Saw him getting money out of an AIB ATM on Patrick Street in Cork! :pac:
    (Colossal bodyguard beside him).

another time he was DJing in trinity rooms in Limerick and it was a tenner in, my mate went up in the courtyard before and said "man i'm after paying a ****ing tenner, you better be good!" and he replied "ah come on, stop busting my balls!"

He's a sound lad to be fair, spent a good few hours with him in dublin that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

Chris O'Donnell in a bar in Chicago. He was a numpty!Joined myself and a buddy for an evenings libation only to pi$$ off when a couple of birds were climbing all over him.
    Chris Farley, the legend, same bar in Chicago the summer he died. Funny Funny man. Eventually punch a little italian guy after making fun of him and his bald head for about 3 hours. Was asked to leave so we went with. Ended up in a cigar bar drinking whiskey on his tab! Class!!
    Woody Harrelson in O'Connells in Galway. He was staying in the Park house. Sat with us reading the paper and asked could he buy us a drink. Then got into our conversation and spent the evening with us, then thanked us and toddled back to the hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭policarp

Bob Hoskins.
    Martin McGuinness.
    Mary McAleese (President)
    Brian Cowan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

phasers wrote: »
    Marty Whelan.

Beat that!

Marty Morissey

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Ronnie Wood.

Didn't actaully buy me a drink but I stood at the bar with him for a while, he had the Russian cocktail waitress with him.. Just before the story of his affair with her broke.. I thought she was his grandaughter..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

Chris Kamara gave myself and the lads a free round on the house in his bar in tenerife.

Some american basketball player was in the vip in pacha in Ibiza last year when I was there at the next table. He was ordering bottle after bottle of vodka and let us have some.......no idea what his name was but apaprently i was talking ****e to him for a good ten minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

phasers wrote: »
    Marty Whelan.

Beat that!

I would with a baseball bat the baldy shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭bijapos

...........So after a couple more drinks, Paul wanted to play poker, so we obliged, and took about 800 of his after-dinner money off him and probably would have won the lot if it wasn't for his pesky driver.:D

Not something you can be really proud of is it? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Baz Ashmawy bought a couple of rounds of shots for me and the lads when he saw me in my George Best jersey after the 2008 Champions' League final.

Was drinking with Kelly Jones from the Stereophonics after a gig in New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭barbarians

Anyone else find that buying a known alcoholic pints is not something to be proud of ? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Poutbutton

Clannad back in the 80's - they were at my brothers 21st & most of them handed me cocktails all evening (I was 16 & smiled gratefully)

Dave McSavage - We got talking at a Jason Byrne gig in Vicar Street that my friend had bought us tickets to, I never made it back to her when the 2nd half started & so we sat on the floor at the back of the seats & continued our chat & drinks.....weird

Craig Fairbrass was at a wedding I was at once and he bought me 2 drinks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭rossit

I worked in a pub in city centre just beside Trinity and the owner was best friends with Curtis Fleming(ex-Ireland and Middlesborough footballer) so we used to get a lot of footballers in, including Vinny Jones, Gazza and a few other players that played with Middlesborough.

I have a good Gazza story but I will tell you the McGrath one first cos I have to log off (apprentice)

He was my idol growing up so when he staggered in at 11pm one Tuesday night, it made my day. However Paul being Paul was supposed to be on the dry so he had his driver for the night get him large Jack Daniels with the instructions that the customers were to believe it was coke.

Myself and the other barman cleared the pub a while after and it was just us and Paul and his driver left. McGrath was locked at this stage and as he tried to talk to us, he informed us he was only after coming back from an after-dinner speech, and he proceeded to take out an envelope out with 2000 punts in it(late 90's)

So after a couple more drinks, Paul wanted to play poker, so we obliged, and took about 800 of his after-dinner money off him and probably would have won the lot if it wasn't for his pesky driver.:D

sad story told by a sad person if he is proud of it taking money off a drunk guy well done you .the sort of bar man i think you need to count your change after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Eh Bruce Jones I think it is, used to be Les off Coronation St. Was with a mate in a pub in DUblin and we got him one and then started taking the mick.

He got us one back in a huff and refused to talk to us from then on the sour git. Later heard of his drink problem, that probably had something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Poutbutton wrote: »
    Craig Fairbrass was at a wedding I was at once and he bought me 2 drinks :D

ha, did you call him Ghost?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Mine would be the Belfast comedian Jimeoin who has lived in Australia for years and years.

Saw him at a gig in Galway many years ago and got chatting to him at the bar briefly afterwards. I reminded him of seeing his very early shows in worker's clubs in Australia. He looked pretty shocked and I said I had grounded him :D

He laughed and invited my friend and I to join himself and his friends for a few drinks. When the pub closed we went back to his hotel to the residence bar for a few more drinks.

No scandal though. Promise.He was genuinely sound and wouldn't let us pay for a round no matter how much we protested :)

ETA: Oh and Crowded House at lillies in Dublin. Got into the VIP bar and they were there so I had to go introduce myself. Cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

I find those Paul McGrath stories very depressing. Everyone who knows him knows that he is an alcoholic. Why would anyone buy him drink?
    Even worse is the poker story.
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

W.B. Yeats wrote: »
    I find those Paul McGrath stories very depressing. Everyone who knows him knows that he is an alcoholic. Why would anyone buy him drink?
    Even worse is the poker story.
    Why?

I'm waiting for his Gazza story, that should be even better/worse!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Cardynal

Went on the lash with Mike Scott and the Waterboys in Kilkenny in the late 80's , also had a pint one night after a gig with John Martyn in Flannerys , very funny guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ronan Keating.

We didn't date or anything now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Drank a crate of heineken with slayer's roadies on their tour bus. Kerry King popped his head around the door and ordered me off the bus because he was trying to sleep! ..Pussy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ian Brown from Stone Roses...

Oliver Reed was another...

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 271 ✭✭JimiWonderDoor 92

barbarians wrote: »
    Anyone else find that buying a known alcoholic pints is not something to be proud of ? :rolleyes:

Whenever you hear McGrath interviewed that comes across as a major problem. People insist on buying him a pint for the novelty value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Ian Brown from Stone Roses...

You lucky caaaaaaaant! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Packie Bonner and Colm Murray drinking together in a pub in Donegal.Two utter gentlemen .I have great respect for them.Not quite sure who actually paid for our drinks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Poutbutton

krudler wrote: »
    ha, did you call him Ghost?

LoL Twas a few years before Ghost was but an idea in some future gazzillionaires head!