If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 2009-2011

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

deiseach wrote: »
    Damn right. Remember the oul one in Youghal who covered her whole house in white and blue whenever Waterford were playing? The noise in the Jack Lynch tunnel on the way home? The people of Youghal not begrudging us our day in the sun? Getting all misty-eyed here . . .

Edit: God, I'd almost forgotten what it was like that day. If I can be so knobby as to quote myself:

I thought I'd never be made miserable by Waterford again. I was wrong, of course. But feck it, it was the good kind of wrong

One of the greatest days of my life and definitely the highlight from a sporting POV. Some things are worth the wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Ah 2002, living in Limerick and stuck in Charleville show traffic. Alight out of car amongst Tipp folk to wave the flag to much laughter.

Stopped by Gardai in Limerick city as i drove home. They all came out of the car to congratulate me and say well done. I'll remember that day always.

However Pairc Ui C is still a terrible venue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Actually deiseach how do i access Parts 1-3 of your 2002 Final write up? I can't seem to find them on the site? Brilliant read, I got an aul lump in the throat reading it.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

And also in 2002, the Waterford team stopping at youghal bridge and walking across the bridge into the Waterford border, what a day!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

The old women in Youghal wont have her flags and buntings out anymore as she died awhile back, she will be one of many of the Waterford supporters looking down from above. Looking forward to the minor game on Saturday. Limerick are favourites for one but I think we have a great chance of making it to another Munster final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,716 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

What time is throw in Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

alllcounty wrote: »
    Would be good to see Shane Fives play at full back. He has done well for WIT in 2010 and would have a good understanding playing with his brother in the corner. He also did well in the league match's earlier this year at full back before he got injured. Can't see why he was positioned in the forwards in challange match's this year when he plays as a defender. Options for full back are Fives, Brick or Lawler. Opposing teams know where our week point is and with our best shot stopper sitting on the bench we are badly in need of a good full back if we are to make any inroads this year.
    look everyone getting excited about full back kevin moran.w hutchingson.liam lawlor.mark o brien.ken mc grath.declan prendergast prob numerous others played there some players them and the one common denominator yes you guessed it clinton hennessy not one for making saves poor puck outs turns his arse to shots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

look everyone getting excited about full back kevin moran.w hutchingson.liam lawlor.mark o brien.ken mc grath.declan prendergast prob numerous others played there some players them and the one common denominator yes you guessed it clinton hennessy not one for making saves poor puck outs turns his arse to shots

Read below please
    I must learn how to manipulate videos because I've heard this a few times.

Decisive/quality saves Clinton has made;

2007-

League final v Kilkenny, flicked the ball off Shefflin's hurley.

Munster Final V Limerick, early save to deny Begley

All-Ireland quater final reply v Cork, many people have convieniently forgotten (ok in fairness if your from Tipp you'd hardly remember) the two early saves he made when our full back line was blitzed, imagine if Cork had scored two early goals? And both were one on ones.

All-ireland semi final v Limerick, on a day he couldn't to much and a year he did very well in and was unlucky to have a full back line that got torn to shreds at times, he made one good save from Seanie O Connor (believe that was his name)

2008-munster quarter final vs Clare, this save featured 20-30 in the recent top 50 saves of all time show on TG4, and although it wasn't decisive by any means it was quality.

2009-All ireland semi final v Kilkenny, a good save to deny Taggy Fogarty

These are only ones I can remember, I will compile a comprehensive list of any I see on the Waterford Chasing Glory dvd in a couple of weeks time. He isn't Brendan Cummins-granted. That's not why we haven't won an all-ireland and he's a damn side better than anything we had before him for a very long time. Power is possibly the best young shot stopper in Ireland (in fact he probably is) but until he is safer around the house or Clinton retires he doesn't merit starting.

I'd also just like to clarify how hard it is to save shots on the ground. I'm not a keeper, but I played in goal against Brian O'Halloran (against Clashmore, obviously). He scored three goals, but I remember making two saves, one in particular. He drilled it head height but straight at my head. They played me again there against Abbeyside. I was beaten by a ground shot, not hit particularly hard. I noticed it was incredibly hard to get down to it. People don't realise how hard it is to save ground shots or one on ones. Sure great keepers make great saves, but more often than not if a keeper saves a one on one, the forward has messed up.

So the first goal, he did as much as he could, and nearly managed to save it. Would have been a great save. Now, I will say I was disapointed with him for the third goal and undecided about the second. For the third, as someone mentioned already, he did a stupid dive. He needed to stand big and narrow the angle. I'd be suprised if he'd saved it but he gave himself no chance in that occasion, but it wouldn't have been his fault of we'd lost that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

flahavaj wrote: »
    Actually deiseach how do i access Parts 1-3 of your 2002 Final write up? I can't seem to find them on the site? Brilliant read, I got an aul lump in the throat reading it.:o
    Ah nuts. I was looking at it today and thought "people won't be able to work their way backwards." How right I was. Start here. Make sure you have a coffee beforehand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Cake Man

KevIRL wrote: »
    What time is throw in Saturday?

7.30pm. Absolutely sickened that I probably won't make this game, have a party to attend at 8 Sat night, am even really considering heading in for the first half then heading off! :o Was looking forward to this game for ages but got aright kick in the stones when I heard they put it back 24 hours due to players doing the LC, was raging but could understand it! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Clano

Cake Man wrote: »
    7.30pm. Absolutely sickened that I probably won't make this game, have a party to attend at 8 Sat night, am even really considering heading in for the first half then heading off! :o Was looking forward to this game for ages but got aright kick in the stones when I heard they put it back 24 hours due to players doing the LC, was raging but could understand it! :(

Ah sure go to the match im sure she wont mind ;)

I presume it's the Ard Scoil Rís contingent that are making Limerick favourites? Looking forward to the game, proper Championship fare

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship Phase II Fixtures 02.07.2011 (Sat)

Pearse Stadium 7.00pm
    Gaillimh v An Clár RTE
    Referee: TBC
    (E.T. if Necessary)
    [FONT=Times New Roman, serif] [/FONT]
    Gaelic Grounds 5.00pm
    Luimneach v Loch Garman
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Winners to play the Phase I winners and the winners of these games will play the beaten finalists in Munster and Leinster in the quarter finals.

Cake Man wrote: »
    It's only a 60 minute match, could you not turn up fashionably late?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

no word on this?

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=150051

Hutchinson out of Munster final

22 June 2011

Waterford's Wayne Hutchinson will miss the Munster hurling final after breaking a bone in his hand.

The Ballygunner clubman will be sidelined for up to six weeks after sustaining the fracture during his club's SHC victory over Passage at Walsh Park on Sunday.

This rules him out of contention for the July 10th meeting with All-Ireland champions Tipp at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Hutchinson made his senior intercounty championship debut at full back in the thrilling semi-final win over Limerick.

Davy Fitzgerald will probably start either Michael 'Brick' Walsh, Darragh Fives or the fit-again Liam Lawlor in the No.3 shirt on Sunday fortnight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

why are the winners of their two initial game playing each other in the minor? it means one of these teams will be penalised for winning and is absolutely absurd!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

Anymore news on the so called arrangement between Waterford and Tipperary to have the Munster Final in Thurles?
    I didnt see anything on the local papers about it today.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

O Riain wrote: »
    why are the winners of their two initial game playing each other in the minor? it means one of these teams will be penalised for winning and is absolutely absurd!!!!

Because its a semi final, they dont let losers into semi finals(unless you go through the back door and win 2 other matches) :)

Also link for Limerick being favourites? I coulda sworn I saw on paddypower before that Waterford were favourites..

STIG83 wrote: »
    Anymore news on the so called arrangement between Waterford and Tipperary to have the Munster Final in Thurles?
    You sound sceptical ;)

deise_girl wrote: »
    Also link for Limerick being favourites? I coulda sworn I saw on paddypower before that Waterford were favourites..
    Good point, PP have Limerick at 6/1 to win the competition! I sense the GAA fetish with giving the favourites tag to the opposition

Two of the first round winners had to meet. Its waterford's luck, or lack of that they did not get drawn against the winner of the first round loosers competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭deisedude

Deise Tom wrote: »
    GAA Hurling All Ireland Senior Championship Phase II Fixtures 02.07.2011 (Sat)

Pearse Stadium 7.00pm
    Gaillimh v An Clár RTE
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Gaelic Grounds 5.00pm
    Luimneach v Loch Garman
    (E.T. if Necessary)

Winners to play the Phase I winners and the winners of these games will play the beaten finalists in Munster and Leinster in the quarter finals.

Might pop along to the Galway Clare game. Should be interesting

Eithe way they were gonna have to play Clare or Tipp, so no easy games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

STIG83 wrote: »

Munster Council announced this morning that despite an approach from Tipp and Waterford to play the game in Thurles the game will go ahead in Cork :mad: So its off to that deathtrap for us all :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

Im happy the game is in Cork, I like the bowl shaped design, think it improves the atmosphere...... not really bothered about the stadium condition, lets be honest we've put up with the messy grassy banks of Walsh Park, I'm sure we'll survive.....I have fond memories of the place and nice to have a change of scenery,I enjoys a few bottles in the rowing club or Cork Con before and after and looking forward to the buzz in the tunnel and coming through Killeagh and Castlemartyr afterwards when we're celebrating another Munster Cup on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Cake Man

deiseach wrote: »
    It's only a 60 minute match, could you not turn up fashionably late?

Seriously considering it deiseach!

Am not too fussed with it being down in Cork, probably would have preferred Thurles but either way I'll still be going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Read below please

jesus boy thats a fair amount of saves but sure he had 2 stop something but id admire your loyalty 2 him is he your son

He'd more likely be my father :D

But no, no realtion. Nor do I know him in fact. I just think he's under-rated. As my comment said, I wasn't overly impressed with him against Limerick, and maybe that's a sign he's in decline, but then again it was just one game. I think people expect to much from keepers. It's very hard in hurling. Clinton is unbelievable under a high ball, I've only seen him drop one that I can remember.

(People often seem to forget the man who went before, whose name I dare not utter for it will bring back memories which will send shivers down my spine!)

Power, on the other hand, isn't so assured under high balls. Saw him get a chance in the league against Kilkenny last year and he was very dodgy. I saw him in there this year and he made a great save but again wan't assured under the high ball. People think that because he's such a good shot stopper that won't matter...it most certainly will. If he irons that out, he has the potetial to be the best keeper Waterford ever had, but until he does he is rightly seated on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭egpower

Can't believe I didn't think of it before now. We need two goalies, one for the high balls and one for the shot stopping. Just to comply with GAA regulations, let's play one of them at FB. Kill two birds with one stone.

QED

1. C Hennessey
    2. D Fives
    3. A Power :D
    4. N Connors

Sorted...

He'd more likely be my father :D

But no, no realtion. Nor do I know him in fact. I just think he's under-rated. As my comment said, I wasn't overly impressed with him against Limerick, and maybe that's a sign he's in decline, but then again it was just one game. I think people expect to much from keepers. It's very hard in hurling. Clinton is unbelievable under a high ball, I've only seen him drop one that I can remember.

(People often seem to forget the man who went before, whose name I dare not utter for it will bring back memories which will send shivers down my spine!)

Power, on the other hand, isn't so assured under high balls. Saw him get a chance in the league against Kilkenny last year and he was very dodgy. I saw him in there this year and he made a great save but again wan't assured under the high ball. People think that because he's such a good shot stopper that won't matter...it most certainly will. If he irons that out, he has the potetial to be the best keeper Waterford ever had, but until he does he is rightly seated on the bench.

A question for those that want a change in goals for the Munster Final, If Clinton is as poor as some are making him out to be, how come he was nominated for an All-Star last year. Full marks to Davy for sticking with him. Davy was one of the best keepers in recent years, and obviously knows about goal keeping and sees something in Clinton.