How good is formula 1 these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

walshb wrote: »
    As for Schumacher. When with Ferrari (ridiculously dominant team) during team orders he was King, but there were many times that Irvine was as good as him, and faster, but due to team orders he could not capitalise.....

I think you are forgetting that he joined Ferrari when they were terrible, and help rebuild that team around him. Also with all respect to Eddie, Schuey was in a different league. Its not enough to be fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

bring back Nigel Mansell and get Murray walker back commentating :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

yupyup7up wrote: »
    bring back Nigel Mansell and Murray walker commentating :D

Bring back the commentary dream team of an aging Murray Walker and Martin Brundle.

Murray: Oh! Oh! Schumacher! Schumacher has hit the wall!
    Martin: No, that's Jos Verstappen, Murray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Peter Collins is easily the worst motorsport presenter of all time. "Oh the looks like a wheel has fallen off the car" Eh well spotted there peter!

*Shudders at the Irish coverage*

Yeah, and Murray Walker is a British institution :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Peter Collins is easily the worst motorsport presenter of all time. "Oh the looks like a wheel has fallen off the car" Eh well spotted there peter!

*Shudders at the Irish coverage*

Peter Collins wasn't that bad. What he lacked in knowledge he made up for in enthusiasm for the sport. RTE's coverage wasn't that bad either. They usually only had one commercial break.

I hated ITV's coverage with at least 4 or 5 breaks during the race.

BBC coverage is miles ahead of ITV and I hope they keep the rights for years to come.

We have been spoilt in the last few years with very close championships. This year has been pretty boring with Vettel dominating. It's really a fight for second place unless Vettel does not finish a few of the next few races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

me@ucd wrote: »
    theres a lie in there somewhere isnt there ;)

No there isn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

KungPao wrote: »
    Bring back the commentary dream team of an aging Murray Walker and Martin Brundle.

Murray: Oh! Oh! Schumacher! Schumacher has hit the wall!
    Martin: No, that's Jos Verstappen, Murray.

F1 '97 for the ps1 ..

''HE'S JUST HIT... williams number 1''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭dpe

F1 has been on the up for about three years now. I'd reached the point a few years back when I was giving up on it, and I was an avid fan (I went to my first GP as a wee nipper in 1979, and have been to dozens of races since), but it had just gotten too tedious (the Schumacher years) and too damn expensive. But the rule changes have brought the sport back to life, and there's also a broader group of potential race winners; Vettel is on top, but there are 5-6 drivers who are his equal even if their cars aren't. I was massively cynical about KERS and DRS, but I've had to eat my words. Great stuff (and well done Jenson yesterday, awesome drive).

NB. Ireland will never get a GP, its actually pretty rare to get any new GPs in Europe at all, the money is all in Asia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Funny that reminds me, when he came in the top ten he was classed as british, and the union jack appeared by his name. When he came lower than 10th he was Irish with an Irish Flag.

Not how I remember it, sounds like a story.
    The production team hardly have a little rule setup for this

He got on the podium at the Argentinian Grand Prix and the tricolour was used.
    His parents in Down got threats over that.
    The union flag was used after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

mike65 wrote: »
    Yesterdays race (or rather the last hour) was the first time I'd watched F1 in some years and while it was a thriller the weather and the knock on effects of the safety car was why it was exciting. Wet races are usually the best to watch. As for Ireland, no chance of it ever happening a venue would cost about 300-400 million to build and the supporting transport infrastructure wouldn't be cheap either (I'd doubt they'd get permission to build just off a motorway near Dublin).

There was talk of an inner city street circuit about 15 year ago (see what I did there). The quays and O'Connell were seen as the perfect centre piece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

recyclebin wrote: »

I hated ITV's coverage with at least 4 or 5 breaks during the race.

ITV had a lot of breaks, but they did great things to develop F1 coverage.
    Original BBC coverage, aside from Murray Walker, was piss poor.

Some say ITV had a lovefest with their golden boy Lewis Hamilton

But their bias was nothing compared to RTÉ.

Fischella in his Jordan took the lead one year in Hockenheim and Peter Collins nearly blew the speakers off my TV, I thought he was having an orgasm.

RTÉ was great if you were a Jordan fan, not so good if you were not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 813 ✭✭✭wiger toods

MrStuffins wrote: »
    His brother Ralph? Always?

His brother Ralph never won a bloody thing! he won a total of 6 races in his entire career! Piss poor!

F1 shold only really have 3-4 drivers each year! The rest are just decoration!
    I was thinking the same thing when i read the same post. Just didnt want to seem like i was having a go though, asthat happens a lot on boards ive noticed.
    Ralph still lays in bed at night wishing he had been half as successful as his brother i bet!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I stopped watching F1 shortly after Ayrton Senna died at Imola. It is hard to believe he is dead over 17 years now. I remember Senna's battles on and off the track with Alain Prost, they were both legends though. While Schumacher experienced more success than Senna, I always felt that he never displayed the same passion or provided the same level of entertainment IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

Ralph still lays in bed at night wishing he had been half as successful as his brother i bet!:pac:

Wasn't it David kennedy that said "how can Ralph expect to be the fastest in the world when he's not even the fastest in his own house?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I was thinking the same thing when i read the same post. Just didnt want to seem like i was having a go though, asthat happens a lot on boards ive noticed.

Considering this is his missus, he probably has better things to think about while laying in bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

mikemac wrote: »
    Some say ITV had a lovefest with their golden boy Lewis Hamilton

But their bias was nothing compared to RTÉ.

Fischella in his Jordan took the lead one year in Hockenheim and Peter Collins nearly blew the speakers off my TV, I thought he was having an orgasm.

RTÉ was great if you were a Jordan fan, not so good if you were not.
    The BBC are the same with their British lads. They get to claim McLaren and red bull though which may seem to make it seem like they've slightly broader tastes, but they don't. I'd take a wild guess that in Spain all you hear about is Alonso and in Germany they focus mainly of Vettle.

Considering this is his missus, he probably has better things to think about while laying in bed
    You see him a lot in the background at all sort of motor sport events. He is still one of the top drivers in the world, not making it in F1 is little against the skill of any particular driver, you do need to be one of the top 20 drivers in the world to make it.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The BBC are the same with their British lads. They get to claim McLaren and red bull though

Red Bull are Austrian, no?

Now I'm only getting back into F1, after a few years break. Was never the same for me once Jordan left

But I always figured Red Bull Racing was Austrian. Sure they're based in the midlands in England but so are most teams.
    A quick look on wikipedia shows them as Austrian

Hands off BBC!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Schumacher won twice in a Benneton, and at least twice in a Ferrari that wasn't the best car on the grid. And when it was the best car on the grid, it was that way because of the work himself and Brawn put into the team to rebuild it.
    When people took off their rose tinted glasses, they saw that Irvine was actually mediocre at best, who couldn't even win when Schumacher was lying up with a broken leg, despite Schu coming back in an end race and helping Irvine out.
    The conspiracy theorists will insist that Irvine was in a specially made inferior Ferrari though!

I remember when Ferrari screwed up that pitstop that blew Irvines chances of winning the championship. Theres no doubt in my mind it was a deliberate sabotage because Jean Todt couldn't stand the thought of Irvine winning it. Todt despised Irvine for his outspoken nature. I'd say Todt would rather have topped himself then see Irvine win a championship.

But I always figured Red Bull Racing was Austrian. Sure they're based in the midlands in England but so are most teams.
    They have their base in the UK and use a lot of UK staff, I think that's their British link as far as I can tell but the BBC have latched onto them and Red Bull don't mind at all if the BBC say they're British.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Antikythera

She looks like Pete Burns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

DRS is a load of bollox - it effectively cost Schumacher 2nd place yesterday.

If a chap is quick enough to get with a second of you then surely he is able to muster up enough to try overtake without the need for the unfair advantage.

I mean looking at it yesterday it was a complete farce - Schumacher didnt stand a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Formula one is slowly but surely getting back to what it used to be like, it still has its flaws but its far better than it was in the early 2000s. Plently of overtaking, no driver aids such as traction etc, decent tracks and some excellent talented drivers (apart from that twat Hamiliton).

First of all, Im a Button fan so I was absolutely delighted with the result in Canada. For me, that was the best Grand Prix since Spa 98. But what I dont get is this hate towards Hamilton that some supposed Motorsport enthusiasts seem to have. Sure he makes a few to many mistakes. But he always tries for the overtake, always racing and pushing his car to the absolute limit. Having seen the Senna movie a few days ago (highly recommend it) one quote by Ayrton stood out; "And if you no longer go for a gap that exists, you are no longer a racing driver because we are competing, competing to win". This is the attitude Lewis races with and to me Formula 1 would be a much lesser sport without Hamilton competing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Red Bull are Austrian, no?

Now I'm only getting back into F1, after a few years break. Was never the same for me once Jordan left

A quick look on wikipedia shows them as Austrian

Hands off BBC!
    They were originally the Stewart team, and then Jaguar, before being bought by Red Bull. So there is a genuine English lineage there. At least until they stop winning, I'm pretty sure they'll be Austrian then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Hamilton comes across as having a huge attitude/ego problem IMO. Its not that unusual in F1, but I'd say thats why a lot don't warm to him. I'd agree it seems to come with the "win at any cost" mindset that some have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 dillane11

bring back schumacher, hakkinen, and all them.. was so much better like 10/12 years ago...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Haven't watched an F1 race in years. It's just god awful boring stuff. I think the only thing that would get me back would be if all the racers were given cars with identical specs and then you'd actually see who the best racer is.

The way it currently is is like having Lionel Messi as the best footballer in the world but that he might not look as good if he had to play with Exeter every week rather than Barcelona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Hamilton is a bit of a twat alright but there's no denying his talent. There's talk of him joining Vettel at red bull next year. How good would that be, two of the greatest drivers ever in the same team, imagine the battles they'd have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,037 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

dillane11 wrote: »
    bring back schumacher, hakkinen, and all them.. was so much better like 10/12 years ago...

Have you watched it lately. Schumacher is back this season and last. Pretty much driver of the race last time out although he is struggling most of the time in a poor mercedes car.