Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How good is formula 1 these days

• 13-06-2011 4:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭

Its gone from being one of the most boring sports to watch to being possibly the best. Those new rule changes have made it exciting from start to finish. They are looking to increase the number of grand prixs in a year, why doesn't Ireland throw its name in the hat? Considering wet weather grand prixs are usually the most exciting an Irish GP could be really good. Or would it not be financially viable to hold a GP here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭Kinky Slinky

Formula one reminds me of a washing machine spinning , it's the same thing over and over again yet there's something magical about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

It used to be so boring because Michael Schumacher or his brother Ralph were always in the lead, always. You could predict with reasonable certainty who was going to win, which took all the fun out of it.
    They are looking to increase the number of grand prixs in a year, why doesn't Ireland throw its name in the hat? Considering wet weather grand prixs are usually the most exciting an Irish GP could be really good. Or would it not be financially viable to hold a GP here?

I don't think Ireland has any circuits that are suitable for F1.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

It was great until they changed the rules just because one guy was too good for everyone else.

F1 94-01 was epic...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Bring back fuel stops, and get rid of the DRS. DRS is too artificial, and can prevent passing.

NTM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

It used to be so boring because Michael Schumacher or his brother Ralph were always in the lead, always.

His brother Ralph? Always?

His brother Ralph never won a bloody thing! he won a total of 6 races in his entire career! Piss poor!

F1 shold only really have 3-4 drivers each year! The rest are just decoration!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Antikythera

Was watching GP yesterday for the first time in years. Seemed like more of a parade than a race. Is this typical?

I switched off when the 'safety car' came on for the umpteenth time.

What a joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Hey you guys!
    Does anybody think that, like, sports and IQ are related????????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

They are looking to increase the number of grand prixs in a year,
    Grands prix OP, it's grands prix

Agree with the poster who the said the 90's were great.. Lost interest after that. MotoGP is way better imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

What changes have they made that made it better? I haven't watched in 10 years+ since they slowed it down and made it dull as dishwater.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

What's DRS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

hasn't been as good since the schumacher-hakkinen days. and that's not ralf schumacher.
    it was better before that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

DRS = Deutscher Rechnungslegungs Standard, basically a German accountancy term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

later10 wrote: »
    DRS = Deutscher Rechnungslegungs Standard, basically a German accountancy term.

Or Drag Reduction System, but on the face of it I prefer your version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭bm365

I follow most sports and I honestly think at this moment in time F1 is by far the most exciting. What a performance from Jenson yesterday. Pity the Jordans still arent on the grid though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I'd rather watch golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Was it in Revenge Of The Nerds where contestant had to chug a beer at the end of every uneven-numbered lap? I like this idea.*

*suggested while thread was still in AH and before moved to Forumla 1 forum, so not trolling.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

dfx- wrote: »
    It was great until they changed the rules just because one guy was too good for everyone else.

F1 94-01 was epic...
    Agree with the poster who the said the 90's were great.. Lost interest after that. MotoGP is way better imo.

It was so much better back then when a shower of rain could stick a Jordan on the podium or watching Damon Hill come agonisingly close to finishing in pole in an Arrow!

Used to watch it religiously every Sunday. Haven't been bothered in years though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Watching fast cars race around and around a track with the hope one will crash? No thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

MrStuffins wrote: »
    His brother Ralph? Always?

His brother Ralph never won a bloody thing! he won a total of 6 races in his entire career! Piss poor!

F1 shold only really have 3-4 drivers each year! The rest are just decoration!

you could say that for 90% of sports :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

The-Rigger wrote: »
    What changes have they made that made it better? I haven't watched in 10 years+ since they slowed it down and made it dull as dishwater.

+1.

I go along with this.

I'm going to go and see the movie 'Senna' and see if that stirs something in me again, but until then - its dull as dishwater and I can barely get through a few laps before switching off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I miss Jordan and his team, always great to have them to support

However, now I'm sick of seeing him on BBC as a pundit, get rid of him

Was a huge fan in the 90's and went to Spa-Francorchamps. Torrential rain one minute and 30 minutes later roasting sunshine. Made for a great race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I've been watching and following F1 since 1987 (albeit on and off). It did go through a very boring period, made so by the team orders situation. A disgrace, and rip of to the fans. Ideal world: The ONE car for all....Otherwise it's not posible to detemine who really is the best driver.

BTW, IMO, no driver touches Senna at his peak in the same car.

Funny, the best part of it for me is the interesting facts and rules. Fascinating.
    Also, to me it must be the biggest "logistical" sport on earth. The effort and planning
    to make an F1 season, wow!

I also rate it above MotoGP. I follow this too, and would consider it more
    boring than F1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Watched it last night for the first time in a year. The weather made the race exciting but still would watch MotoGP or the TT before Formula One.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Yesterdays race (or rather the last hour) was the first time I'd watched F1 in some years and while it was a thriller the weather and the knock on effects of the safety car was why it was exciting. Wet races are usually the best to watch. As for Ireland, no chance of it ever happening a venue would cost about 300-400 million to build and the supporting transport infrastructure wouldn't be cheap either (I'd doubt they'd get permission to build just off a motorway near Dublin).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kraggy wrote: »
    What's DRS?

More than one doctor.

I agree with the OP. F1 is great. In fact it should have a forum on boards where it can be discussed. Maybe put it in with other sports involving motors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

walshb wrote: »
    I've been watching and following F1 since 1987 (albeit on and off). It did go through a very boring period, made so by the team orders situation. A disgrace, and rip of to the fans. Ideal world: The ONE car for all....Otherwise it's not posible to detemine who really is the best driver.

Funny, the best part of it for me is the interesting facts and rules. Fascinating.
    Also, to me it must be the biggest "logistical" sport on earth. The effort and planning
    to make an F1 season, wow!

A1 GP had all the same cars, but it was very short lived, despite Sky trying to hype it up. Great Irish performances in that that, but hardly caused a drop of interest.

Not a massive fan of F1 usually but it was a good race yesterday, crashes, overtaking, Hamilton failing again.

F1 is all about the team with the most money but its good for local economies, shed load of teams in my home town or surrounding areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Its gone from being one of the most boring sports to watch to being possibly the best. Those new rule changes have made it exciting from start to finish. They are looking to increase the number of grand prixs in a year, why doesn't Ireland throw its name in the hat? Considering wet weather grand prixs are usually the most exciting an Irish GP could be really good. Or would it not be financially viable to hold a GP here?

We cant afford a decent track that is up to the levels of new curcuits being built.

We are a country of 4 million. F1 only want to bring the sport to countries with large populations. Singapore breaks the exception but they had the ability to put on a night race. Having an Ireland GP would hardly spread the word of F1, increase tv viewership and bring in the money.

They want around 150,000 people at races, with a large number of them corperates. We wouldnt sell 150,000 general admission tickets let alone the high number of corperate tickets. The Ireland football team cant even fill a 1/3 of their stadium. Even the rugby team were having problems at 1st.

All in all it would be great but theres as much a chance of me giving Sharon Ni Bheolain a facial on the 6.1 news than an F1 Ireland GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,124 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I never really got the appeal of F1.. too much corporatism for my liking. And the cars are more highly strung than an on-the-rag Mariah Carey.

WRC is so much better to watch, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

for the ordinary joe its a LOT better, it picked up a few years ago, but this year with the DRS its a bit of a joke, fish. in. barrel. but for joe schmo its "o look he's passing!"
    its an engineered pass though ;)

The lads over in motorsport forum had their beers yesterday
    With all the delays I'd say they were locked by the time it was over :pac:

Superb ending yesterday, I shouted at the TV when Vettel spun though I think Button might have got him away
    And that arrogant little waster Hamilton driving like a fool again. Great talent but a lousy attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

F1 cars are now so boring, my dogs could drive one and probably win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Bring back Turbos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭BehindTheScenes

Formula 1 has gone very boring this year. Watched twenty minutes of the Canadian grand prix before turning it off.

Whatever happened to having the skill to be able to drive in the rain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭settings

I think they tried to revamp F1 around mario kart to make it more exciting. On mario kart 64 the further back the field you were the better powerups you get - in F1 now if you are behind someone you get a mushroom boost to over take them. That curves system sounds suspiciously like powersliding too.
    IMO if they went one step further and gave them a banana bunch (3 bananas min) per pit stop then it would be much better.
    Also no safety car - ever, especially if its raining!!

F1 cars are now so boring, my dogs could drive one and probably win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

walshb wrote: »

Senna was great of course. But he wasn't racing against idiots. Senna had bloody good competitors. Don't forget in the same car Prost and Senna performed fairly similarly over a two year period. Throw in Mansell and a fired up young Schumacher.

(Watched the Senna movie just last night. Well worth a watch)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its only good when the track is wet

Now I know Senna is doing the rounds online but I'd hold off

This is realy a film you need to see in the cinema

settings wrote: »
    That curves system sounds suspiciously like powersliding too.

Curves system?

Are you talking about Kers? A system for regaining energy from braking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Senna was great of course. But he wasn't racing against idiots. Senna had bloody good competitors. Don't forget in the same car Prost and Senna performed fairly similarly over a two year period. Throw in Mansell and a fired up young Schumacher.

(Watched the Senna movie just last night. Well worth a watch)

Yes, I was a big fan of Prost and always rooted for him vs. Senna. But, I could not say that on form that Prost was Senna's equal. Sure, Prost held his own at times and won many races, but in a one off, the fastest driver ever over a lap is Senna. His poles back this up too. He was an animal. Lost a lot of races because he was so so hungry to drive so so fast. Prost was the more clever and tactical.

As for Schumacher. When with Ferrari (ridiculously dominant team) during team orders he was King, but there were many times that Irvine was as good as him, and faster, but due to team orders he could not capitalise.

Hakkinen was a very good driver. And, as good as MS. He won two world titles, and deprived MS of those. Again, all equal, Senna would be my bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭settings

Curves system?

Are you talking about Kers? A system for regaining energy from braking?

yeah, sorry I had curves in mind from powersliding around the corner in Mario Kart!
    Its a blatant rip off - braking and powersliding are very similar, brake pads go red - powersliding smoke goes red, it gives you a nice little boost on demand (although I admit powersliding boost needs to be used much sooner).

Also F1 is much better in the wet for the 2-3 laps they take the safety car in.:confused:

settings wrote: »
    yeah, sorry I had curves in mind from powersliding around the corner in Mario Kart!
    Its a blatant rip off - braking and powersliding are very similar, brake pads go red - powersliding smoke goes red, it gives you a nice little boost on demand (although I admit powersliding boost needs to be used much sooner).

Also F1 is much better in the wet for the 2-3 laps they take the safety car in.:confused:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinetic_Energy_Recovery_Systems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Best season in years. The amount of overtaking has been astounding.

All the rule changes have been fantastic, KERS and DRS where needed to help overtaking.

I don't know that there's a need to bring back refuelling, they have to go in to the pits for tires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

It used to be so boring because Michael Schumacher or his brother Ralph were always in the lead, always. You could predict with reasonable certainty who was going to win, which took all the fun out of it.

I don't think Ireland has any circuits that are suitable for F1.

Wtf - do you even know the results this year. Vettel is practically unbeatable - he has won every race easily bar two where he finished second. Paddy Power have paid out on him winning already and the season isnt even half over. This is one of the most one-sided F1 seasons of all-time.

Predictable - YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I watch it from time to time. The blokey blokeness of EJ, DC and that tall presenter fella just dont hit the same high notes of Peter Collins and David Kennedy back in the day!
    The way they used to freak-out whenever a Jordan got within a sniff of a podium finish :D - and the there was the power struggle between Schumacher and Eddie Irvine, who we claimed as our own of course. The glory days for Irish F1 watchers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I prefer saloon car racing or rallying, and Formula 1's never appealed to me. For some strange reason, RTE presenters seem to call it Grand Pricks, and that pretty much sums it up for me.

Warper wrote: »
    Paddy Power have paid out on him winning already and the season isnt even half over.

theres a lie in there somewhere isnt there ;)