How good is formula 1 these days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I never really got the appeal of F1.. too much corporatism for my liking. And the cars are more highly strung than an on-the-rag Mariah Carey.

WRC is so much better to watch, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

for the ordinary joe its a LOT better, it picked up a few years ago, but this year with the DRS its a bit of a joke, fish. in. barrel. but for joe schmo its "o look he's passing!"
    its an engineered pass though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The lads over in motorsport forum had their beers yesterday
    With all the delays I'd say they were locked by the time it was over :pac:

Superb ending yesterday, I shouted at the TV when Vettel spun though I think Button might have got him away
    And that arrogant little waster Hamilton driving like a fool again. Great talent but a lousy attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

F1 cars are now so boring, my dogs could drive one and probably win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Bring back Turbos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 354 ✭✭BehindTheScenes

Formula 1 has gone very boring this year. Watched twenty minutes of the Canadian grand prix before turning it off.

Whatever happened to having the skill to be able to drive in the rain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭settings

I think they tried to revamp F1 around mario kart to make it more exciting. On mario kart 64 the further back the field you were the better powerups you get - in F1 now if you are behind someone you get a mushroom boost to over take them. That curves system sounds suspiciously like powersliding too.
    IMO if they went one step further and gave them a banana bunch (3 bananas min) per pit stop then it would be much better.
    Also no safety car - ever, especially if its raining!!

F1 cars are now so boring, my dogs could drive one and probably win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

walshb wrote: »
    BTW, IMO, no driver touches Senna at his peak in the same car.

Senna was great of course. But he wasn't racing against idiots. Senna had bloody good competitors. Don't forget in the same car Prost and Senna performed fairly similarly over a two year period. Throw in Mansell and a fired up young Schumacher.

(Watched the Senna movie just last night. Well worth a watch)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Its only good when the track is wet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Now I know Senna is doing the rounds online but I'd hold off

This is realy a film you need to see in the cinema

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

settings wrote: »
    That curves system sounds suspiciously like powersliding too.

Curves system?

Are you talking about Kers? A system for regaining energy from braking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,099 ✭✭✭✭walshb

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Senna was great of course. But he wasn't racing against idiots. Senna had bloody good competitors. Don't forget in the same car Prost and Senna performed fairly similarly over a two year period. Throw in Mansell and a fired up young Schumacher.

(Watched the Senna movie just last night. Well worth a watch)

Yes, I was a big fan of Prost and always rooted for him vs. Senna. But, I could not say that on form that Prost was Senna's equal. Sure, Prost held his own at times and won many races, but in a one off, the fastest driver ever over a lap is Senna. His poles back this up too. He was an animal. Lost a lot of races because he was so so hungry to drive so so fast. Prost was the more clever and tactical.

As for Schumacher. When with Ferrari (ridiculously dominant team) during team orders he was King, but there were many times that Irvine was as good as him, and faster, but due to team orders he could not capitalise.

Hakkinen was a very good driver. And, as good as MS. He won two world titles, and deprived MS of those. Again, all equal, Senna would be my bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 201 ✭✭settings

Curves system?

Are you talking about Kers? A system for regaining energy from braking?

yeah, sorry I had curves in mind from powersliding around the corner in Mario Kart!
    Its a blatant rip off - braking and powersliding are very similar, brake pads go red - powersliding smoke goes red, it gives you a nice little boost on demand (although I admit powersliding boost needs to be used much sooner).

Also F1 is much better in the wet for the 2-3 laps they take the safety car in.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

settings wrote: »
    yeah, sorry I had curves in mind from powersliding around the corner in Mario Kart!
    Its a blatant rip off - braking and powersliding are very similar, brake pads go red - powersliding smoke goes red, it gives you a nice little boost on demand (although I admit powersliding boost needs to be used much sooner).

Also F1 is much better in the wet for the 2-3 laps they take the safety car in.:confused:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kinetic_Energy_Recovery_Systems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Best season in years. The amount of overtaking has been astounding.

All the rule changes have been fantastic, KERS and DRS where needed to help overtaking.

I don't know that there's a need to bring back refuelling, they have to go in to the pits for tires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

It used to be so boring because Michael Schumacher or his brother Ralph were always in the lead, always. You could predict with reasonable certainty who was going to win, which took all the fun out of it.

I don't think Ireland has any circuits that are suitable for F1.

Wtf - do you even know the results this year. Vettel is practically unbeatable - he has won every race easily bar two where he finished second. Paddy Power have paid out on him winning already and the season isnt even half over. This is one of the most one-sided F1 seasons of all-time.

Predictable - YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I watch it from time to time. The blokey blokeness of EJ, DC and that tall presenter fella just dont hit the same high notes of Peter Collins and David Kennedy back in the day!
    The way they used to freak-out whenever a Jordan got within a sniff of a podium finish :D - and the there was the power struggle between Schumacher and Eddie Irvine, who we claimed as our own of course. The glory days for Irish F1 watchers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I prefer saloon car racing or rallying, and Formula 1's never appealed to me. For some strange reason, RTE presenters seem to call it Grand Pricks, and that pretty much sums it up for me.

Warper wrote: »
    Paddy Power have paid out on him winning already and the season isnt even half over.

theres a lie in there somewhere isnt there ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

The problem with F1 is that almost every year there a handful of teams that dominate the others. Usually one team that's so much faster. There isn't the potential for errors which would make it exciting. The changes have improved it, but I think they only go so far. Once the track dried out yesterday, Schuey hadn't a hope of keep them behind him. Great drive from him though. But with the speed difference was enormous when they overtook.

BostonB wrote: »
    The problem with F1 is that almost every year there a handful of teams that dominate the others. Usually one team that's so much faster. There isn't the potential for errors which would make it exciting. The changes have improved it, but I think they only go so far. Once the track dried out yesterday, Schuey hadn't a hope of keep them behind him. Great drive from him though. But with the speed difference was enormous when they overtook.

and that is why DRS has ruined it some, fake overtaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Warper wrote: »
    Wtf - do you even know the results this year. Vettel is practically unbeatable - he has won every race easily bar two where he finished second. Paddy Power have paid out on him winning already and the season isnt even half over. This is one of the most one-sided F1 seasons of all-time.

Predictable - YES.
    The thing about Vettle though is on top of being very, very good, he's also been incredibly lucky this year. Everything's just gone his way even when he was beginning to lose.
    There are a good ten drivers in F1 that are on the same level now, even the cars are beginning to even up.

I don't know why there's such a big gap between first and second points, seemed like a really stupid thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

Agricola wrote: »
    Eddie Irvine, who we claimed as our own of course. The glory days for Irish F1 watchers!

Funny that reminds me, when he came in the top ten he was classed as british, and the union jack appeared by his name. When he came lower than 10th he was Irish with an Irish Flag.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The thing about Vettle though is on top of being very, very good, he's also been incredibly lucky this year. Everything's just gone his way even when he was beginning to lose.
    There are a good ten drivers in F1 that are on the same level now, even the cars are beginning to even up.

I don't know why there's such a big gap between first and second points, seemed like a really stupid thing to do.

and yesterday would have been another one if he hadnt of lost it a few corners from the end. He is starting luck more clever than lucky with those pit stops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,497 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

walshb wrote: »
    Yes, I was a big fan of Prost and always rooted for him vs. Senna. But, I could not say that on form that Prost was Senna's equal. Sure, Prost held his own at times and won many races, but in a one off, the fastest driver ever over a lap is Senna. His poles back this up too. He was an animal. Lost a lot of races because he was so so hungry to drive so so fast. Prost was the more clever and tactical.

As for Schumacher. When with Ferrari (ridiculously dominant team) during team orders he was King, but there were many times that Irvine was as good as him, and faster, but due to team orders he could not capitalise.

Hakkinen was a very good driver. And, as good as MS. He won two world titles, and deprived MS of those. Again, all equal, Senna would be my bet.
    Schumacher won twice in a Benneton, and at least twice in a Ferrari that wasn't the best car on the grid. And when it was the best car on the grid, it was that way because of the work himself and Brawn put into the team to rebuild it.
    When people took off their rose tinted glasses, they saw that Irvine was actually mediocre at best, who couldn't even win when Schumacher was lying up with a broken leg, despite Schu coming back in an end race and helping Irvine out.
    The conspiracy theorists will insist that Irvine was in a specially made inferior Ferrari though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,053 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

ScumLord wrote: »

Drivers used to sit in position for the safe points in lower positions rather than risking overtaking and going for first. More points, the gamble becomes worth the risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

dooferoaks wrote: »
    A1 GP had all the same cars, but it was very short lived, despite Sky trying to hype it up.

It failed because nobody could see it except for those with a Sky Sports subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Used to be obsessed with F1 from the early '90s to mid 00s then went off it. Have really got back into over the last 2 years. I can't believe some people are saying it's boring now, if anything it has gotten much more exciting recently.

The race yesterday was wonderful, if you had the patience for it to get restarted.

And no way could they have driven when the rain was at its worst yesterday....the cars would have needed an outboard motor and a rudder to get around, and a crows nest to look out for obstacles.

LIGHTNING wrote: »
    Peter Collins is easily the worst motorsport presenter of all time. "Oh the looks like a wheel has fallen off the car" Eh well spotted there peter!

*Shudders at the Irish coverage*

setanta were pretty good though, especially with gary andersen back before the rules changed a few years ago