If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

David Norris for President....would you vote for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I certainly would not be voting for gay Mitchell or a pat cox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

mikom wrote: »
    Lads, the author of that piece is not THE "Derek Mooney".............. Derek Mooney of the famous camp "Byeeeeeee".

ha, i was wondering why Mooners was referring to himself as a political professional :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The last thing this country needs is Gay Mitchell in Phoenix Park trying to push through the Catholic Church's agenda.

Some of the posters on this thread are creaming in their Sunday best just thinking about it.

What about when they run the final counts

Cox out. Norris out (tell us something we didnt know), Gay's out. Mickeys in.

Tabloids must be creaming themselves at this line up of participants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭7Sins

OMG! I'M SOOOOOOO VOTING FOR NORRIS! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

The closest thing I can think to Ireland having David Norris for president was when we sent Dustin the Turkey to the eurovision..

Sher what harm would it be, wouldn't it be a shake up, a colourful character representing the country, just what we need :rolleyes:

Seriously we're not held that highly in Europe but we'll be laughed at if that twat is our president :eek:

bbam wrote: »
    The closest thing I can think to Ireland having David Norris for president was when we sent Dustin the Turkey to the eurovision..

Sher what harm would it be, wouldn't it be a shake up, a colourful character representing the country, just what we need :rolleyes:

Seriously we're not held that highly in Europe but we'll be laughed at if that twat is our president :eek:

ridiculous. Care to explain why???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I know........ sometimes I can't sleep at night worrying about what Europe thinks of us.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

mikom wrote: »
    I know........ sometimes I can't sleep at night worrying about what Europe thinks of us.
    You too? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Hey folks! Get a grip. Things could be worse. Cliche I know but ............ as yet not a peep from Twink. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Headline on the front page of today's Irish Daily Mail - "Norris: Campaign in tatters after Mail revelations."

What a horrible rag.

Rubik. wrote: »
    Headline on the front page of today's Irish Daily Mail - "Norris: Campaign in tatters after Mail revelations."

What a horrible rag.
    Give it two days.
    They will be back to turn on someone else.

Rubik. wrote: »

What a horrible rag.

Ha hahaaha. They really are scum.

Look up the mistake they made on the cancer vaccine for girls, over here they were lambasting the government for not getting it, in UK they were lambasting the government for getting it.

Spread wrote: »
    Hey folks! Get a grip. Things could be worse. Cliche I know but ............ as yet not a peep from Twink. :)
    ...Or Dana!

O' FUUUUUCCCCKKKK!

ha, add twink to gay and mickey, and you'll be terrified to run a google search closer to the campaign!

Oh dear! According to this extract from the this morning's IT it looks as if he is suffering from some sort of delusion also.

“From March 14th I have behaved like a president and I am behaving more like a president all the time. And I feel I am being drawn towards and growing into the job. What I am asking now is that the councillors and my fellow members of the Oireachtas give me the opportunity to let the people decide.” Mr Norris said that from this weekend on he was not going to be derailed into dealing with every issue raised on the media, as there was now one a day in some newspapers.

What next .......... the people in white coats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

Could you please explain why he's apparently deluded?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

zuroph wrote: »
    ridiculous. Care to explain why???

OK so.. already we're known and not liked for running the country until it became bankrupt while maintaining a low tax state, then going with the begging bowl out.

If we go on to elect a President who has had interviews published in which he made questionable comments on the age of consent and other sexual activities.. I can see the headlines, is this really the best we can do??

This man's reputation is tainted, as a president he would then taint ours also.

Could you please explain why he's apparently deluded?
    It should be axiomatic if you read the first line and a quarter of his quote. If you want to make some easy bucks Paddy Power is laying 5/4 against Norris securing nomination. That is 125%. How many years in a high interest account to get that?

OK so.. already we're known and not liked for running the country until it became bankrupt while maintaining a low tax state, then going with the begging bowl out.

If we go on to elect a President who has had interviews published in which he made questionable comments on the age of consent and other sexual activities.. I can see the headlines, is this really the best we can do??

This man's reputation is tainted, as a president he would then taint ours also.

The only reason france and Germany dont like us is it was their investments failed. the only reason we got a bail out is because it was them that stood to lose, not us. They've pushed their gambling debts on you and me, personally I couldnt give a ****e what they think of our country. We should do as Iceland did and just let the bonds fail, and tell them to sit and swivel.

Norris comments are forward thinking and more in tune with Euro policy than Irish, I think he would do well from them rather than suffer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

“From March 14th I have behaved like a president
    Considering recent events, what we really need is a queen....oh, hello!

In all seriousness, an Irish tabloid laid a 'honey-trap' in the mid-90's and wrote to several prominent politicians pretending to be a single mother in dire straits coming up to Xmas.

The only one who replied was Norris...and he also included a £20 note.

He gets my vote.

obviously trying to groom her child :pac: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

In all seriousness, an Irish tabloid laid a 'honey-trap' in the mid-90's and wrote to several prominent politicians pretending to be a single mother in dire straits coming up to Xmas.

He gets my vote.

:D In all fairness its single fathers he is interested in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

obviously trying to groom her child :pac: :rolleyes:

...and he would have gotten away with it too, if it wasn't for you pesky kids....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

He gets my vote.

WOW, I did not know that! I do know (cos I worked with them years ago), he worked very closely with disability groups, and one of the women who is severely disabled is an artist and she actually now supports herself, has her own apartment, personal assistants that she pays for etc; She got started because David Norris helped her get there, he got what she needed to get herself started, and as a result of it she is successful and living a life she couldn't necessarily have had without his help.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 245 ✭✭montane

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/norris-in-lastditch-attempt-to-save-presidential-bid-2671079.html

this article says he has no chance of gettin in with the councils. I think he will get a nomination with the senate and dail tho. Also media attention will be elsewhere for the next few days, a welcome respite for norris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

He has my vote. Met him in Limerick a few weeks back. Thought him to be very genuine. If there was more people like him in this country we might not be in the sorry state of affairs we are currently experiencing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,151 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ha, i was wondering why Mooners was referring to himself as a political professional :o

You did jump in though to get a blow at me. he he

only in jest :) I was more shocked at mooney making political statements!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,151 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

RachaelVO wrote: »
    WOW, I did not know that! I do know (cos I worked with them years ago), he worked very closely with disability groups, and one of the women who is severely disabled is an artist and she actually now supports herself, has her own apartment, personal assistants that she pays for etc; She got started because David Norris helped her get there, he got what she needed to get herself started, and as a result of it she is successful and living a life she couldn't necessarily have had without his help.

Yeah we all believe it. I sent 50e myself.