Psycho in the car!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Try not to kill anybody today please. Yourself is ok but dont take anyone with you.
    Well I haven't killed anyone to date, but if I decide to change my mind, I'll aim for a high horse. :rolleyes:
    What car do you drive?
    A really fast one with wheels and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

BengaLover wrote: »
    So I lean over him and honk it as hard as I can..He really gets mad when i do that...:(
    I would seriously kick you out of the car for doing that. No matter how bad the other drivers are that is one thing that would get on my tits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Zulu wrote: »
    Well I haven't killed anyone to date, but if I decide to change my mind, I'll aim for a high horse. :rolleyes:
    A really fast one with wheels and everything.

Indeed. I tend to get on a high horse when arrogant dangerous drivers kill people or similarly arrogant drivers think that it will never happen to them.
    BTW a family member was killed by someone just like you. Im grand on my horse thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

That’s your second pop at the OP, get off your moral high horse & get over yourself. :rolleyes:

Nah I’m nice and comfy up here knowing I’m not harassing the elderly.

Have your :rolleyes: back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Generally i am a calm, quiet and rational person...that is until i get in my car. I frequently lose the head and have been known to get out of the car and scream, rant and rave about peoples stupidity on the road.
    This backfired on me a few years ago when i started freaking out because someone was driving up the ass of my car, when i got to the lights i threw open the door and walked back to the car behind me, smacked the drivers window and was just about to let out a string of abuse when i looked at the driver and saw a frail approx 80 y/o women who looked like she was gonna have a stroke on the spot. I quickly retreated back to the car and drove off feeling guilty. However i still continue to scream and swear at stupid drivers... ie people that cut me up, don't indicate, drive too slow in the fast lane etc.

So are you like this....
    Is this normal or do i need psychiatric assessment?

This story would have been so much better if it had been an unmarked Garda car.

I would regularly refuse to give way in the fast lane
    falling_down.jpg
    BTW a family member was killed by someone just like you.
    I'm sorry for your loss, however, you are painfully mistaken: you've no idea who I am.
    Kiera wrote: »
    Have your :rolleyes: back.
    I know you are, but what....

...what are you 12? :rolleyes: (have some more)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

falling_down.jpg

I'm sorry for your loss, however, you are painfully mistaken: you've no idea who I am.

Lol :D

falling_down.jpg

Re refusing to give way. If I am in the fast over taking lane doing the legal limit and going faster than the other lane why should i be bullied by self important drivers like you who by your own admission (and I paraphrase)'blow a gasket at folk doing the legal limit because you have important business and in rush'. Really. Why should i give way or speed up for you?

And yes i do know your type from statements like the above and yes you obviously do think that you can drive like an ass and intimidate others and you will never have an accident. I know your type very very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Generally i am a calm, quiet and rational person...that is until i get in my car. I frequently lose the head and have been known to get out of the car and scream, rant and rave about peoples stupidity on the road.
    This backfired on me a few years ago when i started freaking out because someone was driving up the ass of my car, when i got to the lights i threw open the door and walked back to the car behind me, smacked the drivers window and was just about to let out a string of abuse when i looked at the driver and saw a frail approx 80 y/o women who looked like she was gonna have a stroke on the spot. I quickly retreated back to the car and drove off feeling guilty. However i still continue to scream and swear at stupid drivers... ie people that cut me up, don't indicate, drive too slow in the fast lane etc.

So are you like this....
    You sound like a normal middle-aged white guy.

mariebeth wrote: »
    For example:I've been in the fast lane going at the speed limit & passing out slower cars and I've had people flying up to the rear of my car behind me, and driving behind me, flashing lights - this kind of behaviour makes me stay in the fast lane just to piss them off! I'm not going to let another driver push me around or intimidate me.

Ffs. It's not the fast lane it's the OVERTAKING lane. It's for overtaking. If you have finished overtaking then get out of the way. Roads are for everyone, not self-entitled "I have rights and you're being mean to me" drivers.

If you have not done overtaking, then yes, they're being gits. Still: don't stay in the OVERTAKING lane just to be contrary.

Re refusing to give way. If I am in the fast over taking lane doing the legal limit and going faster than the other lane why should i be bullied by self important drivers like you who by your own admission (and I paraphrase)'blow a gasket at folk doing the legal limit because you have important business and in rush'. Really. Why should i give way or speed up for you?
    Firstly, the overtaking lane is for overtaking, not "refusing to give way". The latter is simply ignorant and devoid of courtesy - sound familiar?
    And yes i do know your type from statements like the above and yes you obviously do think that you can drive like an ass and intimidate others and you will never have an accident. I know your type very very well.
    Well, again, I never said I "intimidated" others, merely that I lost my temper. So unless other drivers can hear what I'm uttering inside my own car, your point, again, is wholly incorrect.

But yea, sure with three posts, your bound to have an accurate read of me. Well accurate enough to be rude & uncourteous, but I guess you're saving all your manners for the road and have none to spare for the internet. Dude, you mightn’t suffer from road-rage, but you sure seem to have a bad dose of internet-rage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

If another driver does something stupid, he never toots the horn!
    So I lean over him and honk it as hard as I can..He really gets mad when i do that...:(

I would throw somebody out of the moving car for that.

Firstly, the overtaking lane is for overtaking, not "refusing to give way". The latter is simply ignorant and devoid of courtesy - sound familiar?

Well, again, I never said I "intimidated" others, merely that I lost my temper. So unless other drivers can hear what I'm uttering inside my own car, your point, again, is wholly incorrect.

But yea, sure with three posts, your bound to have an accurate read of me. Well accurate enough to be rude & uncourteous, but I guess you're saving all your manners for the road and have none to spare for the internet. Dude, you mightn’t suffer from road-rage, but you sure seem to have a bad dose of internet-rage.
    Obviously if i am doing the legal limit and moving faster than the outside lane i am overtaking. By your logic we should have another lane for overtaking the over takers who refuse to break the speed limit. A lane just for you eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

geez sorry mom

It's bad enough when a man does the things you mention but when it's a woman, it's just worse. Cultivate some manners. If you can't drive without screaming your head off get on the bus.

That’s your second pop at the OP, get off your moral high horse & get over yourself. :rolleyes:

I'm sorry to say I suffer from driving insanity also, but I'd adhering to a strict regimen of chilled music, and self observance to attempt to over come it. It's partially successful. I tend to blow my gasket when I come across people in the city obeying the speed limit - I'm in a rush, and I'm on very important business, and I believe the next person to get to that red traffic light is going to win a prize.... :(

Thats all i need to know. Speed limits and rules dont apply to you if you feel important and are in a rush.

Obviously if i am doing the legal limit and moving faster than the outside lane i am overtaking. By your logic we should have another lane for overtaking the over takers who refuse to break the speed limit. A lane just for you eh?

It's not your job to police the roads and you shouldn't loiter in the fast lane.

If somebody is speeding the safest thing to do is let them pass instead of aggravating them more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

biko wrote: »
    You sound like a normal middle-aged white guy.

And you sound like a sexist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Richarz

A guy got out of his car with his mates because he thought I wronged him by not letting him out in front of me... He also had a young boy with him, about 7 or 8. He was quite annoyed, but his ignorance to the rules of the road lead to this uncomfortable situation. I wound down my window a little and he screamed at me to get out of the car. I took his reg and reported him to the Gardai. :)

Another time some eastern European twat driving a 00 BMW with completely blacked out windows was lane hopping between the Red Cow and Inchicore. I indicated to go into the middle lane after I passed a slow moving transit, the BMW driving asshat had the same idea, but made a very fast maneuver, we nearly crashed. I beeped at him and he had a caniption.

Driving in the bus lane, he undertook me and stopped in front of me on several occasions. As his windows were completely blacked out, I couldn't see who or how many were in the car. I called 999. Every time he stopped I had enough room to go around him. Cars behind me seen what happened, they put on the hazards.

As I am on the phone to the Gardai, he steps out of the car. I tell the Beangard on the phone that I think it's ok and told her I would ring back if there were any problems. This guy was a tiny runt that resembled a boy more so than a man. He was pretty angry getting out of the car, but as he approached he seemed to have calmed down. He didn't reach my car but got back into his own instead and drove off. Reported him to the Gardai afterwards. :)

There are plenty of incidents on our roads every single day. There have been deaths due to road rage. OP you need to cop on to yourself and get your anger management problems sorted out before you rage at the wrong person. From your OP, I don't think you can continue too long before this happens. If you have an anger management issue and cannot control your temper while on our roads, don't get in your car. You are endangering other road users with your outlandish antics and over-reactions.

You did the right thing. But reading through the post I can't help but get the feeling that you were the kid in school who used to tell on everyone and loved seeing people get in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I can indentify with you - it angers me when people pull out in front of you, dont indicate, randomly stop because they have seen a mate on the other side of the road, the list goes on!
    My WORST habit tho, is when my very mild tempered husband is driving..
    If another driver does something stupid, he never toots the horn!

hmm..

Seachmall wrote: »
    It's not your job to police the roads and you shouldn't loiter in the fast lane.

If somebody is speeding the safest thing to do is let them pass instead of aggravating them more.
    How am I loitering?
    If it is safe for me to get back into the outside lane i will but if Im overtaking...in the over taking lane.........well.....And another driver with an attitude will not force me to speed or manouver into another lane at risk to myself and other drivers...simples...

Richarz wrote: »
    You did the right thing. But reading through the post I can't help but get the feeling that you were the kid in school who used to tell on everyone and loved seeing people get in trouble.

Or doesnt like to see people endangering lives...

How am I loitering?
    If it is safe for me to get back into the outside lane i will but if Im overtaking...in the over taking lane.........well.....And another driver with an attitude will not force me to speed or manouver into another lane at risk to myself and other drivers...simples...

I confused your post with Mariebeth's, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

So are you like this....

Try a little patience. Count to ten if you feel your blood pressure rising.

And the next time you are about to lay into some-one have the decency to check whose driving the car or let them explain themselves before you lose the plot needlessly.

It could be anyone in the other car; an elderly person, a learner, a Garda.

Calm down a little.

we should have another lane for overtaking the over takers who refuse to break the speed limit.
    That'd be lane 3 on the motorway.

And what if the drivers in all three lanes had the impertenance to be in the way of your 'fast car with wheels' when you are feeling all important and in a rush?
    Obviously you need a private lane.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,389 ✭✭✭FTGFOP

So are you like this....

Look on driving as a game the object of which is to get to a destination without dying or getting arrested. It is not the goal of the game to change the driving habits of others by direct intervention.

There will always be idiots, you won't change them but you can minimise their effect on your life and rise above them.

Peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭mariebeth

Seachmall wrote: »
    I confused your post with Mariebeth's, sorry.

On that note, I don't make it a habit of 'loitering' in the fast lane, but if I'm overtaking another car, at the speed limit, and some ar$ehole speeds up behind me and starts flashing/beeping etc. which has happened on occasion, I'm not going to move back in to the slow lane in a hurry just because he/she wants to get past. I'm not going to leave other drivers get away with trying to intimidate me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭sentient_6

There is no goddam fast lane!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

Drive on the left peoples !!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Don't stop believing lets get this party started!

Now I have your attention I would like to point out that I have banned some people and that personal abuse is not permitted.