Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are Triathlons in Ireland so expensive to enter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

ecoli wrote: »
    Have been quoted 3k+ for road closures and additional Garda fee on top of that and that was just a road race so I could well believe it for a Tri
    Garda costs must vary from county to county. For our race with about 8-10 gardai and a couple of motorbikes it cost nothing. As a thank you we gave them presents
    I know one club who got a bill from the garda for 17k:eek:

That figure is hard to believe.Was it tri athy or athlone?
    nerraw1111 wrote: »
    I know goodie bags vary in quality but the idea that some of them cost between E10 - E15 is very surprising. Seems like a no-brainer to bin the goodie bag and slash the entry price. Else, give people the option of paying extra for a top.

E30 per race or E45 and a goodie bag? I know which option is more appealing to me.

I'd rather pay E10-15 less per race and then use the E60 or so saved over the summer to enter another race or two, else buy decent gear.

A decent neo technical running t shirt if sourced correctly can cost around ten euro.Bin the goody bag i say and hopefully the sponsors can cover the cost of the shirt.

Some of the goodie bags out there are decent and some are brutal. ....like the t shirts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭FatSh!te

This is in the Athy race briefing recieved today:

"Prize Giving Ceremony will be made to the podium finishers of each race on stage in the Recovery Zone.
    TriAthy has a whopping prize fund of 6,000. All cash prizes will be delivered by post after race day."

I'd assume this is not normal, and is due to the size/level of sponsershop of the event.

I'll be doing the Olympic on saturday morning, should be a bit of craic all the same.

FatSh!te wrote: »
    This is in the Athy race briefing recieved today:

"Prize Giving Ceremony will be made to the podium finishers of each race on stage in the Recovery Zone.

TriAthy has a whopping prize fund of 6,000. All cash prizes will be delivered by post after race day."

I'd assume this is not normal, and is due to the size/level of sponsershop of the event.

I'll be doing the Olympic on saturday morning, should be a bit of craic all the same.

Tri Athy 2000 entrants at 55 average a pop = 110,000 Euro Basic income..Mucho de nero :)

The triathlon juggernaut ... IRONMAN 2000 athletes 200 euro a pop = 400,000 basic income Mucho mucho de nero :)

Best of luck at the weekend!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

It's dinero, unless you do really mean 'a lot of Nero' !

Cheers. Looking forward to it now... spent last night preping the bike.

Back on topic.

I'm relativly new to Tri (2 years). and I've found the cost of event is definately prohibative amoungst my peer group who are all reasonably employed, very active/fit, across a number of multi sports.

Other thing I have noticed is the distinct lack of lower ages in the entry lists (say college age or just out of college 20 - 24yrs old) - I think price is one of the barriers to people this age (there are probably alot of other barriers too).

It is a pitty as you want someone who does one tri at age 21yrs and is really fast it to go on the next year and maybe do the National Series, but I think due to the cost of events (and overall gear cost) they don't do this - it takes another year of doing 2/3 events before they are willing to commit to 6/7 events costing €50 apiece. TI & Clubs need to make it attactive to these elements of the market otherwise it will always be case of athletic well paid people in their 30's competing!

Is there student discounts on any events? I know one university club who manage to refund an element of the cost to their members which is great, but purly funded by the university sports authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Is there student discounts on any events? I know one university club who manage to refund an element of the cost to their members which is great, but purly funded by the university sports authority.

By offering discounts to students then the rest (non-students) would have to make up the shortfall making it more expensive.

Is it a sport made up of rich dentists? I don't think so although I haven't asked anyone what their occupation is.

no not really. post edited to be a bit fairer! Just I think entrants tend (but not always) to be reasonably well off economically. I'll ask everyone that passes me out on the run what they do for a living tomorrow as a survey...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

no not really. post edited to be a bit fairer! Just I think entrants tend (but not always) to be reasonably well off economically. I'll ask everyone that passes me out on the run what they do for a living tomorrow as a survey...;)

I suppose that in general because of the need for a bike and usually a wetsuit to enter a race then there is a barrier to entry to the sport. Perhaps tha's why most triathletes have done other sports before they move(?) I'm pretty new and have already spent a fair bit and I shopped around to get last years models and an entry level bike. I'd hate to think what those who need the latest of everything are spending.

Other thing I have noticed is the distinct lack of lower ages in the entry lists (say college age or just out of college 20 - 24yrs old) - I think price is one of the barriers to people this age (there are probably alot of other barriers too).

It is a pitty as you want someone who does one tri at age 21yrs and is really fast it to go on the next year and maybe do the National Series, but I think due to the cost of events (and overall gear cost) they don't do this - it takes another year of doing 2/3 events before they are willing to commit to 6/7 events costing €50 apiece. TI & Clubs need to make it attactive to these elements of the market otherwise it will always be case of athletic well paid people in their 30's competing!

The main reason there is not many young people doing tri I believe is because they are involved in the other bigger sports. I did not start doing triathlon till I was 33 as I was playing football up until then.

However The young guys in tri at the moment have to be put off by the cost of the sport. In the past 4 years I have sunk at least 10k into to sport in the form of bikes,equipment,travel,racing.accomodation ,training,food etc. . The triathlon bug should come with a financial warning on the bottle. Ask my better half.

I love the sport.

PS I aint a dentist but I get your point that you need money to take part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pink n Gold Fund

Hi folks,

Just after noticing this thread,

For those of you who don't know, we host an annual triathlon in Cavan, Ireland - Attracta Doherty Memorial Pink 'n' Gold Triathlon (this year it is on 31st July 2011) , and entry fee is set at just €30 for individuals and €100 for teams. We are a charity organisation (Attracta Doherty Pink 'n' Gold Fund) and therefore All proceeds are donated straight to cancer specific organisations through our charity. Entries are capped at 300.

Entry forms can be downloaded via our website:
    www.tri-virginiapinkngoldfund.com

I hope this info helps some of you out there that struggle to find a fair-priced triathlon in Ireland, and all proceeds go directly towards helping cancer patients and their families by funding much-needed cancer treatment equipment and in general, making access to care and treatment more readily available to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭butrasgali

Can any of ye tell me where or when the national series points go up the tri Ireland site/ pointed out earlier that it's is expensive to do six events(it would be nice to see a current list or position I'm in at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

Within this thread could we list all Tri's which cost below €50 per individual?

I ask as I'm trying to squeeze in as many races prior to 70.3 Galway and am really struggling with costs.

For what its worth, I'm not particularly interested in goodie bags etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I'm only at this lark a while and have started taking the option of no t shirt when i'm signing up for a race.

At this stage i have a number of tech t shirts and i only use a few of them and they are just sitting there gathering dust.

I'd rather a cheaper price and no goodie bag at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭cantswim

I'm not convinced the high cost of races is what puts younger people off - in general alot of people take up running/triathlon when they finish up with other sports or when other committments mean that they need a sport where you can train on their todd to suit an individual schedule.
    For someone taking up and sport and assuming they want to own the gear (not borrow) the basic costs could be as follows:
    runners - €60
    tri shorts - €50
    running top - €30
    bike - €700
    wetsuit - €250
    helmut - €50
    Goggles - €15
    5 swim training sessions - €30
    Total: €1185

If someone has the cash to spend on these basics, I'm not sure the cost of doing 5 races at €50 is going to be the thing which makes them decide they aren't going to do it.

connundrum wrote: »
    Within this thread could we list all Tri's which cost below €50 per individual?

I ask as I'm trying to squeeze in as many races prior to 70.3 Galway and am really struggling with costs.

For what its worth, I'm not particularly interested in goodie bags etc.

I dont think i can name any olympics under 50 euro

butrasgali wrote: »
    Can any of ye tell me where or when the national series points go up the tri Ireland site/ pointed out earlier that it's is expensive to do six events(it would be nice to see a current list or position I'm in at the moment

Just drop TI a mail. someone will get back to you with answer.

http://www.triathlonireland.com/contact-us.html
    I'm only at this lark a while and have started taking the option of no t shirt when i'm signing up for a race.

At this stage i have a number of tech t shirts and i only use a few of them and they are just sitting there gathering dust.

I'd rather a cheaper price and no goodie bag at all.

After the Tri Athy babygrow i received last week I wish the no t shirt option was at more races :D

Just drop TI a mail. someone will get back to you with answer.

http://www.triathlonireland.com/contact-us.html

I did earlier in the week and they said should be earlier next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

cantswim wrote: »
    I did earlier in the week and they said should be earlier next week.

You'll be waiting they are always months behind updating that ranking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭dited

After the Tri Athy babygrow i received last week I wish the no t shirt option was at more races :D

At least you got one, they'd run out when I was registering for the sprint on Sunday morning. Sent them a mail about it on Monday without high expectations of receiving a reply :rolleyes:

I dont think i can name any olympics under 50 euro

Even Sprints at this stage :o

I'm crap at creating tables, but something like this might be of help?

Event|Distance|Date|Cost (per individual)|Website

Bonmahon|Sprint|11.06.2011|€40|www.transitionsevents.com
    Loughrea|Sprint|11.09.2011|€35 (TBC)|www.predatortriclub.ie
    Dublin City Tri|Super Sprint|28.08.2011|€35|www.dublincitytriathlon.com

If I were even clevererer I'd set up a site collating all tri's around Ireland (be they TI sanctioned or not, and have the above information listed. It'd make planning for the year's race calendar much easier :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

mloc123 wrote: »
    On a similar note, I am going through the calander here picking out races for the rest of the year. There are 100s of races but I am finding it hard to pick out 3 or 4 races that I know are not **** and that do not cost €70 a pop. €70 for a ****ing sprint?

Come West in September and do the Loughrea Sprint. The Predator crew put on a great race. I think it was €40 last year and from what I have heard it will be cheaper this year but not sure of that.

pgibbo wrote: »
    Come West in September and do the Loughrea Sprint. The Predator crew put on a great race. I think it was €40 last year and from what I have heard it will be cheaper this year but not sure of that.

DCT sprint is €35 and if I remember correctly it had a decent goodie bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

Don't forget Tri795, sprint distance, €35 entry on 9th July www.racing795.com
    Seems to be a few from here coming down, I'll be marshalling on the day so keep smiling :)

Even Sprints at this stage :o

I'm crap at creating tables, but something like this might be of help?

Event|Distance|Date|Cost (per individual)|Website

Bonmahon|Sprint|11.06.2011|€40|www.transitionsevents.com
    Loughrea|Sprint|11.09.2011|€35 (TBC)|www.predatortriclub.ie
    Dublin City Tri|Super Sprint|28.08.2011|€35|www.dublincitytriathlon.com

If I were even clevererer I'd set up a site collating all tri's around Ireland (be they TI sanctioned or not, and have the above information listed. It'd make planning for the year's race calendar much easier :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

For those not in the know or aware of what connundrum is eluding to - here you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Wonder why that happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Ceepo

Carrick On Suir Triathlon is ONLY 35e,
    On July 10th
    Good range of Prizes as well, Including TEAM prize for Clubs, Outside the usual Prizes,

This is one of the oldest races on the go started in 1994.

Good Value races can still be organised

pgibbo wrote: »
    For those not in the know or aware of what connundrum is eluding to - here you go.

I genuinely did not know that this list existed :o

Thanks, as I was getting frustrated with TI's calendar :)
    tunney wrote: »
    Wonder why that happened.

catweazle wrote: »
    You'll be waiting they are always months behind updating that ranking

Looks like they are up...

https://www.triathlonireland-newserver.com/national-series-rankings.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Ste_D

This thread seems to have died a little, I just wanted to make one point. People have made the valid point that some triathlons are overpriced, and if the goody bag/t-shirt is a big expense then making it optional would be a good idea to help people save a few euros.

One expense that was only briefly mentioned in the thread though is the triathlon Ireland day license required to compete. They are charging 15 Euro per competitor and as far as I can see they are adding absolutely NO value. The terms and conditions attached to this license are a complete waiver of any right to compensation from an injury or accident. This strikes me as complete extortion. If someone can explain to me what TI are doing to justify this I would love to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Ste_D wrote: »
    This thread seems to have died a little, I just wanted to make one point. People have made the valid point that some triathlons are overpriced, and if the goody bag/t-shirt is a big expense then making it optional would be a good idea to help people save a few euros.

One expense that was only briefly mentioned in the thread though is the triathlon Ireland day license required to compete. They are charging 15 Euro per competitor and as far as I can see they are adding absolutely NO value. The terms and conditions attached to this license are a complete waiver of any right to compensation from an injury or accident. This strikes me as complete extortion. If someone can explain to me what TI are doing to justify this I would love to hear it.

I presume just about anyone that will race more than once or twice a year will have a full licence?