Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are Triathlons in Ireland so expensive to enter?

• 26-05-2011 8:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭

The average triathlon in Ireland costs around 50 to enter. For an athlete to compete in the National Series comprising of 6 races plus triathlon ireland registration fee cost's over €355. I don't know any other sport in Ireland that costs so much to compete in. Certain Triathlon clubs are raking in massive profits at the expense of athlete's. It's time this issue was brought to the fore. I understand there are commercial triathlons out there however i dont think club triathlons or memorial triathlons should be raking in the profits at the expense of the triathletes. Fair play to Nenagh tri club for trying to tackle this head on and reducing their triathlon entry fee to 26 euro for 2011. It's time other clubs should follow suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

The clubs do make a profit, but from what I understand this is ploughed back into the clubs to subsidise training, kit etc. I have no problem with this.

Have you compared the cost with the UK?

£83 for the Windsor Sprint (Sprint)
    £39 Rother Valley (Sprint)
    £59 Yorkshire triathlon (Oly)
    £40 Strathclyde (Oly)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Izoard

The market would suggest that pricing is not an issue.

The calendar is stacked with events and even still, many are selling out.

If IM70.3 in Galway can sell out at €200 - €240 each...

Some interesting stats from our friends at US triathlon as to how loaded triathletes are...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

The clubs do make a profit, but from what I understand this is ploughed back into the clubs to subsidise training, kit etc. I have no problem with this.

Have you compared the cost with the UK?

£83 for the Windsor Sprint (Sprint)
    £39 Rother Valley (Sprint)
    £59 Yorkshire triathlon (Oly)
    £40 Strathclyde (Oly)

Windsor,Rother valley & Yorkshire are all commerical triathlons.

Stratclyde at 40 pounds (44 euro ) is a club run olympic tri. I dont know any olympic tris in ireland you can do for 44 euro :)

If you have 400 entrants in a triathlon at 50 a head..thats 20 grand less expenses of say 5k max that leaves 15k to subsidise traning and kits.....is that training in lanzarote?

BTF race one day race licence fee 5 pounds €6

TI one day licence fee €15

150% Price difference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

Windsor,Rother valley & Yorkshire are all commerical triathlons.

Stratclyde at 40 pounds (44 euro ) is a club run olympic tri. I dont know any olympic tris in ireland you can do for 44 euro :)

It's a national series event in the UK too, so the equivalent event would probably be the Blacksod at €52.50.
    The exchange rate is good at the moment but the prices don't fluctuate as we don't have a currency fixed to sterling. Insurance is also a lot more expensive over here than in the UK which is (I would imagine in the case of public liability insurance) a large part of the cost of putting on an event.

I aren't sure what type of profit a club makes from an event but I would hope someone who is involved in the organising an event would be able to justify it better than just a particioant like me :D

Still, the high costs keep the riff-raff out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

The average triathlon in Ireland costs around 50 to enter. For an athlete to compete in the National Series comprising of 6 races plus triathlon ireland registration fee cost's over €355. I don't know any other sport in Ireland that costs so much to compete in. Certain Triathlon clubs are raking in massive profits at the expense of athlete's. It's time this issue was brought to the fore. I understand there are commercial triathlons out there however i dont think club triathlons or memorial triathlons should be raking in the profits at the expense of the triathletes. Fair play to Nenagh tri club for trying to tackle this head on and reducing their triathlon entry fee to 26 euro for 2011. It's time other clubs should follow suit.

There's loads of expensive sports to race the NPS in, mountain biking and Adventure racing springs to mind immediately.
    I think the cost of races will gradually come down from the heady madness of the boom years but organisers have to turn a profit unless they receive significant sponsorship or funding and that is increasingly rare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Short answer.... because people will pay it

It's a national series event in the UK too, so the equivalent event would probably be the Blacksod at €52.50.
    The exchange rate is good at the moment but the prices don't fluctuate as we don't have a currency fixed to sterling. Insurance is also a lot more expensive over here than in the UK which is (I would imagine in the case of public liability insurance) a large part of the cost of putting on an event.

I aren't sure what type of profit a club makes from an event but I would hope someone who is involved in the organising an event would be able to justify it better than just a particioant like me :D

Ha!! I knew Triathlon was an Elitist sport !!!

mloc123 wrote: »
    Short answer.... because people will pay it

Form what i cant gather thy have hot their peak and are on the decline with lots of races only being half full, other races not selling out and the cheaper ones selling out quickly. Try Athy i believe is only half full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Simply because people are willing to pay the sums involved.

The line between club and commerical races is alot more blurred that people realised. Some major races that are perceived as club races are in fact commerical races with a club name tagged on.

Some years ago I said "this year is the peak in triathlon". I was ignored and I was ridiculed. I also think that I was right.

Races are not filling as fast, and it will continue to get worse. Quality races will probably survive, alot will not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Ha ! David McWilliams called the top of the housing market in 2003, he eventually was right ....

Caroline Kearney triathlon is 50 euro to enter this year as opposed to 60 last year. However there is no race technical t shirt included for 50 euro..if you want one you have to pay 15 euro for..which makes the race 65 euro or more expensive than last year.
    I do think its time for Triathlon Ireland to get involved to try bring the costs down of these..particularly races they have a foothold in..because of the National Series.

Nenagh sprint was also a bargain this year at €28 I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

What club are you a member of, and how much does it cost to enter your club's triathlon?
    And if you're not a member of a club, what's stopping you joining one, organising a race, at a reasonable price [as you see it], and setting an example for others to follow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

The main reason I'm doing shag all tri's this year is the cost.

Its not as black and white as money alone...

I paid €200 for Austria 70.3 and felt it was good value. I paid €28 for a 10k a few months back and felt it was a rip off.

I don't mind paying once the event is well run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

thats 20 grand less expenses of say 5k max that leaves 15k to subsidise traning and kits.....is that training in lanzarote?

Really????? Have you any evidence of this?

How much does insurance cost?
    How much does a road closure application to the Council cost?
    How much do you pay to the Gardai?
    How much of a contribution to the Red Cross?
    How much for the rental of portaloos?
    How much for race referees expenses?
    Food?
    DJ?
    Chip timing expensees?
    A set of swim hats?

...and I've only just scratched the surface. I'm not saying things are not overpriced.... I'm saying your figures are ridiculous.

You mention memorial triathlons above also... I'm not sure which of the above expenses is reduced because a race is named after someone.... You also mention that CK is more expensive this year... I entered this year and last year and I think you'll find it has gone down by 10 euro.... ( the point being if money is an issue you dont need to go for the t-shirt option....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

TI events - TI insurance. Cost nothing, other races just don't bother
    Road closures - when was the last Irish race you did without road closures on public roads?
    Red cross - 200 euro
    Portaloos - 100 per unit
    Race refs - very very little
    Food - not many races do free food
    DJ - see food
    Timing chips - 4 euro per heaed
    Swim hats - very cheap

Some more - goodie bags? Donations, some races "run out" and don't have enough. T-shirts. Again those that give them its more and more commong to "run out" before half the competitors get them.
    Medals? Those that give them - they're cheap

I'm sure our favourite race organizer will be along soon to point out what a dick I am and how I know nothing and understand less.

Gardai cost nothing. Road closure if sought costs the ad of the closure in the local newspapers so about 150 euro. sandwhiches 2.50 a head.
    Your also forgetting about the money that club raise for sponsorship for the races which go into the thousands! and thats fact!
    Will stick to my original estimate which is more than generous at 5 k....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Out of interest, have you ever organised a triathlon or road race?

RayCun wrote: »

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Why is a VW Golf so expensive?
    Why are the Oakley shades so expensive?
    Why are the turbo trainers so expensive?
    Why are the wetsuits so expensive?

It's because they saw you coming.

Getting away from the point of my OP. The money to be made in hosting triathlons is big and i believe the lines have indeed become blurred between clubs and commerical entities. Everyone is at it. Would love the sport to become more affordable to the lesser well off.

Yes

Then name it, state the prices changed and show the accounts.

Pretty much everyone is looking for cheaper races, or at least better value races.
    You claim it can be done, you reckon every race should cost less, you're stated you've organised one, which I assume must be cheap and good value, otherwise you wouldn't be on there asking everyone else to do likewise.
    So share the knowledge.
    I for one, won't mind you blowing your own trumpet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭airscotty

And the majority of young people also.....

airscotty wrote: »
    And the majority of young people also.....

Which sucks for you guys. The majority of 20 to 24 yr olds that i know that race triathlon cannot afford to do 6 National Series races which is a shame. To join a club for the year, buy TI membership and do 6 National Series Races costs 400 euro. Not many lads that age have 400 euro knocking about.
    aburke wrote: »
    Then name it, state the prices changed and show the accounts.

Pretty much everyone is looking for cheaper races, or at least better value races.
    You claim it can be done, you reckon every race should cost less, you're stated you've organised one, which I assume must be cheap and good value, otherwise you wouldn't be on there asking everyone else to do likewise.
    So share the knowledge.
    I for one, won't mind you blowing your own trumpet.

Do you believe it can be done?
    Surely if you are looking for cheaper races you would row in behind rather than attacking the op? Do you believe triathlons make money? Have you ever organised a race? Finally your not by any chance the director of Eireman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

@giggsy it's time to put up or shut up you've been called out so name your race or quit the lies...

20-24 yr olds don't have 400 per year? You serious??!!
    I know when I was that age I spent more than that in the pub in a matter of weeks...

I agree that Triathlon is not a cheap sport, but mainly due to the gear and equipment more than anything.

I find races reasonable, with some slightly high and some quite good.
    There is a lot of organising and planning to be done, and I have no problem contributing to races ran by Clubs especially who reinvest in the sport.

I've had races with nice t shirts, crap t shirts, decen goodie bags and no goodie bags. You pick and chose which you will return to if that's an issue for you.

I'm not saying it's not profitable, just that it's not a huge margin and is a pretty busy went to plan.

If it were as easy and profitable as you say, then After you did 1 race why didn't you continue and do many more and make loads???

Fazz wrote: »
    @giggsy it's time to put up or shut up you've been called out so name your race or quit the lies...

20-24 yr olds don't have 400 per year? You serious??!!
    I know when I was that age I spent more than that in the pub in a matter of weeks...

I agree that Triathlon is not a cheap sport, but mainly due to the gear and equipment more than anything.

I find races reasonable, with some slightly high and some quite good.
    There is a lot of organising and planning to be done, and I have no problem contributing to races ran by Clubs especially who reinvest in the sport.

I've had races with nice t shirts, crap t shirts, decen goodie bags and no goodie bags. You pick and chose which you will return to if that's an issue for you.

I'm not saying it's not profitable, just that it's not a huge margin and is a pretty busy went to plan.

If it were as easy and profitable as you say, then After you did 1 race why didn't you continue and do many more and make loads???

How would i benefit from telling lies? I have no other motive other than trying to make triathlons more affordable?Do you believe yourself that triathlons can be run cheaper than what they are being run for now? If so then whats wrong with getting behind that?

No, I've nothing to do with Eireman.
    I was race director of the Fields of Athenry 10km for the last 2 years.
    €18 entry - Check race reviews elsewhere on this site to decide whether it was good value.

If you want cheap, I've been a race director at Athenry AC legs of the Galway 5km series. €30 for 6 races, fully chip-timed.

bryangiggsy, you are trolling, and I [like the fool that I am] have responded.
    Name your race, and how how did it cheaply and at a high quality.
    Do you believe it can be done?
    Surely if you are looking for cheaper races you would row in behind rather than attacking the op? Do you believe triathlons make money? Have you ever organised a race? Finally your not by any chance the director of Eireman?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Fazz

I believe some can be run cheaper, others not necessarily.

The very fact you haven't named your race or done many more appears proof to me that it's not easy, isn't easy to make a good profit margin, has a lot of competition at present making it harder etc..

Ive enjoyed cheap races and had incredible value races also so do appreciate value, but I understand big races can take a lot of hard work to get right.
    We've all done races that were not organised well at all and as a result won't be re-entered simple as that.

I'm not against value, but do feel it's not as easy as you make it out to be.

Good organisation, value and management is key to success, repeat and profit of triathlons.

No, I've nothing to do with Eireman.
    I was race director of the Fields of Athenry 10km for the last 2 years.
    €18 entry - Check race reviews elsewhere on this site to decide whether it was good value.

If you want cheap, I've been a race director at Athenry AC legs of the Galway 5km series. €30 for 6 races, fully chip-timed.

bryangiggsy, you are trolling, and I [like the fool that I am] have responded.
    Name your race, and how how did it cheaply and at a high quality.

I never said my club did it cheaply.

I have started this argument myself and have raised it with my club before whilst on a race committee. Why would i involve a club or race as these are my opinions? I commend you for running races at 18 euro a pop. I wish my club and others would follow suit but until there is some direction coming down from the top at Triathlon Ireland then these mad prices will continue to be charged unless athletes revolt ...but judging by opinions on this that ain't never going to happen.

These 'mad prices' will continue until you do something about - within your own club for starters.
    If you couldn't make it happen within your own club, they why do you demand that other clubs do it?
    This is the essence of hypocrisy.
    Piss or get off the pot.

These 'mad prices' will continue until you do something about - within your own club for starters.
    If you couldn't make it happen within your own club, they why do you demand that other clubs do it?
    This is the essence of hypocrisy.
    Piss or get off the pot.

I never demanded anything. But Thanks for your opinion. Exactly in relation to the op what is your opinion? Do you agree triathlons are over priced or do you think they are good value for money in your opinion whatever that opinion on over priced triathlons is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭cantswim

I wish my club and others would follow suit but until there is some direction coming down from the top at Triathlon Ireland then these mad prices will continue to be charged unless athletes revolt ...but judging by opinions on this that ain't never going to happen.

I don't see why TI would be able to dictate anything to the clubs in this area - in fact I would think if TI did try anything they would be told where to go.

Anyway - it would be like Athletics Ireland trying to tell Connemara or races like that they can't charge 70 for the race. The fact it sells out each years proves there is a market for people willing to pay it.

Maybe if they introduced a pilot scheme for the national Series
    Olympic races set the price at 40 euro
    Sprint Races 35 Euro.

The races would fill fast at those prices and clubs would have to fall in line
    Just an idea

Am sure other races out there would love to get into the National Series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

That estimate was and is rubbish. All that estimate does is demonstrate a complete and utter lack of knowledge on the subject.

I know of a recent triathlon (both club and race will remain unnamed) where the costs of the race exceeded the income from entries. There was some income from a few race sponsors which made up the remainder of the costs and the balance went to the club but who could begrudge them that as many club members gave up their day to make the race a success for the athletes. Add the months of work that the race committee did to organise the race and it becomes very easy to see that, if they simply wanted to raise money, it would be easier for each member to simply make a small donation to the club instead of going to the trouble of organising a race.

I believe the above example is probably typical of a lot of club races. I really don't believe that profit is the prime motivation for a club hosting a race; rather it is the privilege of hosting a race for their fellow athletes. As long as they don't lose money then they can continue to host races each year. If they make a few bob along the way it's a very, very small reward for their time and effort.

Finally, if you think a race is overpriced you have a few options:
    1. Just put up with it and enter.
    2. Don't enter that race; find a cheaper one.
    3. Put your claimed experience of race organisation to use and organise your own, cheaper race.
    4. Go to boards.ie and complain about prices and make outlandish, trollish and completely un-supportable claims.

I never demanded anything.
    For all intents and purposes, you did - in your opening post
    It's time this issue was brought to the fore....
    But Thanks for your opinion. Exactly in relation to the op what is your opinion? Do you agree triathlons are over priced or do you think they are good value for money in your opinion whatever that opinion on over priced triathlons is?
    'Overpriced' isn't absolute - it's relative to the individual.
    I might feel one race is overpriced but another person may feel its good value - as with any product or service.
    Maybe if they introduced a pilot scheme for the national Series
    Olympic races set the price at 40 euro
    Sprint Races 35 Euro.

The races would fill fast at those prices and clubs would have to fall in line
    Just an idea

Am sure other races out there would love to get into the National Series

So we're back to this - All other clubs should do races cheaply, because bryangiggsy is not willing or able to.

liamo wrote: »
    That estimate was and is rubbish. All that estimate does is demonstrate a complete and utter lack of knowledge on the subject.

I know of a recent triathlon (both club and race will remain unnamed) where the costs of the race exceeded the income from entries. There was some income from a few race sponsors which made up the remainder of the costs and the balance went to the club but who could begrudge them that as many club members gave up their day to make the race a success for the athletes. Add the months of work that the race committee did to organise the race and it becomes very easy to see that, if they simply wanted to raise money, it would be easier for each member to simply make a small donation to the club instead of going to the trouble of organising a race.

I believe the above example is probably typical of a lot of club races. I really don't believe that profit is the prime motivation for a club hosting a race; rather it is the privilege of hosting a race for their fellow athletes. As long as they don't lose money then they can continue to host races each year. If they make a few bob along the way it's a very, very small reward for their time and effort.

Finally, if you think a race is overpriced you have a few options:
    1. Just put up with it and enter.
    2. Don't enter that race; find a cheaper one.
    3. Put your claimed experience of race organisation to use and organise your own, cheaper race.
    4. Go to boards.ie and complain about prices and make outlandish, trollish and completely un-supportable claims.

"I know of a recent triathlon (both club and race will remain unnamed) where the costs of the race exceeded the income from entries. There was some income from a few race sponsors which made up the remainder of the costs and the balance went to the club but who could begrudge them that as many club members gave up their day to make the race a success for the athletes. Add the months of work that the race committee did to organise the race and it becomes very easy to see that, if they simply wanted to raise money, it would be easier for each member to simply make a small donation to the club instead of going to the trouble of organising a race"

I believe the above example is probably typical of a lot of club races.

What makes your claims any less outlandish or unsupported than mine if you like i are unwilling to back it up by naming the race which only made a few bob?

I don't care about your race or whether or not you were actually involved. Name it or don't name - that's completely up to you. The outlandish claims I referred to were your completely made-up figures of a "more than generous" 5k costs for the running of a race, using this to generate a profit of 15k for a club and then using this (still made up figure of) 15k upon which to base a snide comment about clubs using the profits from a race to train in Lanzarote.

Well the only person to try and put up an example of costs has been tunney. Poor old Giggsy(having a bad week) is getting hopped on here yet there's been no example of costs given to prove him wrong.

I don't care about your race or whether or not you were actually involved. Name it or don't name - that's completely up to you. The outlandish claims I referred to were your completely made-up figures of a "more than generous" 5k costs for the running of a race .

Can you prove to me it costs more than 5k to run a race for 300 entrants by looking at the costings above?

,.[/QUOTE] using this to generate a profit of 15k for a club and then using this (still made up figure of) 15k .[/QUOTE]

Income of 20k = 300 entrants by 50 euro a pop = 20k.... less 5k or to satisfy u!!!10k (a fugure which is riduculous and incompetent---the race commitee should be sacked...still generates a profit for the club of 10k.

[/QUOTE]
    upon which to base a snide comment about clubs using the profits from a race to train in Lanzarote.[/QUOTE]

This is the comment that really pisses u off.If thats the case ill retract Lanzarote and say using the profits to train.

nomadic wrote: »
    Poor old Giggsy(having a bad week) is getting hopped on here yet there's been no example of costs given to prove him wrong.
    For me, it's not about whether he is right or wrong.
    If he believes, and he does, that races are too expensive, and that they can and should be cheaper, then then onus is on him to set the example.

But in a complete about-turn, he says that he couldn't even manage to get his own club to reduce prices.
    And then turns to all other races and claims they should reduce prices.
    Sort your own one out first Giggsy, and then tell the rest of us how its done.

Can you prove to me it costs more than 5k to run a race for 300 entrants by looking at the costings above?

using this to generate a profit of 15k for a club and then using this (still made up figure of) 15k .[/QUOTE]

Income of 20k = 300 entrants by 50 euro a pop = 20k.... less 5k or to satisfy u!!!10k (a fugure which is riduculous and incompetent---the race commitee should be sacked...still generates a profit for the club of 10k.

[/QUOTE]
    upon which to base a snide comment about clubs using the profits from a race to train in Lanzarote.[/QUOTE]

This is the comment that really pisses u off.If thats the case ill retract Lanzarote and say using the profits to train.[/QUOTE]

Before anyone says it thats 400 entrants at 50 a pop
    For me, it's not about whether he is right or wrong.
    If he believes, and he does, that races are too expensive, and that they can and should be cheaper, then then onus is on him to set the example.

But in a complete about-turn, he says that he couldn't even manage to get his own club to reduce prices.
    And then turns to all other races and claims they should reduce prices.
    Sort your own one out first Giggsy, and then tell the rest of us how its done.

The point is there is big profits to be made in running a triathlon race and there are big profits being made. The way it is done is simple cut the entry costs while cutting profits. Easier said than done. Greed is good right!What am i doing about it? I dont enter races anymore that I believe are ripping people off with high entry costs and poor value. Thats my contribution. if everyone else followed suit then these races would have to drop their prices. Simple as.End of.

then then onus is on him to set the example.
    No its not. He's entitled to his opinion even if he has no clue about the costs involved or any intention of running a race.

This "run your own race or you can't have an opinion" thing is bull****. Sure thats probably how all these "for profit" events got started, they saw how much money was to be made.

Giggsy is different to some degree.
    He claims to have been on the organising committee of a race, and couldn't do it himself, but expects other race organisers to do it.

The point is there is big profits to be made in running a triathlon race and there are big profits being made. The way it is done is simple cut the entry costs while cutting profits. Easier said than done. Greed is good right!What am i doing about it? I dont enter races anymore that I believe are ripping people off with high entry costs and poor value. Thats my contribution. if everyone else followed suit then these races would have to drop their prices. Simple as.End of.

I agree that there are profits being made by clubs hosting races. I don't have a problem with this. The alternative is that clubs run races badly, at a loss or don't run them at all.

I'm sure that some races generate more profit than others. I still don't have a problem with this. Clubs don't exist to provide cheap races for everyone else and deserve a return on the investment of their time and money.

High entry cost does not necessarily mean poor value. Similarly, a low entry cost does not necessarily mean good value. Frankly, I'd rather enter a safe, well run race for €60 than an unsafe, badly run race for €20.

If I thought that a race was too expensive I wouldn't enter it. If others think that it represents good value and enough athletes enter then the club will continue to charge that price. If enough athletes don't think it represents good value and don't enter then the club will have to lower its price. That's the market.

We're in the middle of a recession and people are watching their spending. If athletes are still prepared to spend €40-€50 on a race entry then it seems to me that they feel that it represents enough value for money that they will pay the cost of an entry. That's the true test and the best answer to any question about whether a race entry is priced too high.

Clubs don't exist to provide cheap races for everyone else and deserve a return on the investment of their time and money.

Really? A clubs main motivation to put a race on should be to provide a good race for people, not to make money. Break even or make a little money, grand. The return on investment for their time and effort should be seeing people enjoying the race. For the love of the sport and all that lark.

liamo wrote:
    Clubs don't exist to provide cheap races for everyone else and deserve a return on the investment of their time and money.
    Really? A clubs main motivation to put a race on should be to provide a good race for people, not to make money. Break even or make a little money, grand. The return on investment for their time and effort should be seeing people enjoying the race. For the love of the sport and all that lark.

From my earlier post:
    I really don't believe that profit is the prime motivation for a club hosting a race; rather it is the privilege of hosting a race for their fellow athletes. As long as they don't lose money then they can continue to host races each year. If they make a few bob along the way it's a very, very small reward for their time and effort.

On a similar note, I am going through the calander here picking out races for the rest of the year. There are 100s of races but I am finding it hard to pick out 3 or 4 races that I know are not **** and that do not cost €70 a pop. €70 for a ****ing sprint?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Why? Looking from a running perspective here but I think this can apply to both areas. We are in sports that are severely underfunded in terms of grants. Taking my own club as an example some of the expenses which spring to mind:
    • Electricity Bills
    • Equipment
    • facility maintenance
    • Travel costs
    • Coaching courses

While Membership makes up some of the difference the rest is struggled to be made through heavy fund raising throughout the year (being made harder in recessionary times). I would much rather see these expense off set by providing a high quality race. Sure might be higher price than the bare minimum needed to break even but the knock on effect is that membership subscriptions dont have to be extortionate, the club can provide equipment needed to develop athletes. If a race is run well there is no reason why a club should not benefit from it. If it is not run well people will do the talking with their feet.

In sports which are heavily underfunded I think people would be more generous regarding supporting the sport they love and prefer to see their money go towards helping the sport than going towards some company who see's races as a way to make a living though prob not involved in the sport and has little regard for its welfare as a whole.

Some races which I have found to be among the best club run which make a profit and I am glad that they do would include:

Sportsworld 5 mile
    Enniscorthy 10k
    Rathfarnam 5k
    Raheny 5 mile

These clubs probably rely on the profits made from these races to help keep the club afloat and even strive towards better facilities etc for the good of their club members

I think the main two reasons why clubs should host races are profit to offset the necessary expenditure in the club and also advertising the club. As long as the race is well run i see no problem at all with a club striving for both of these