Bringing beer to a pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭deasyd

Lol. That got me through college :)
    Skerries wrote: »
    Crouching Tiger, Hidden Naggin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

tan11ie wrote: »
    Agree cans are rotten!!! not sure why they taste so different to the bottles :confused:

Cos they are cheaper and you get more in it!
    Same principle as cans of coke/club orange compared to a 2L bottle, the cans are a lot nicer cos they are more expensive per ml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

I dont get out for a pint as much as i used to but the couple of times i've been out lately i've noticed a huge amount of people are now bringing their nagans even mixers with them in their bags. I know some people get a few drinks in before they leave home but i've never noticed as many people bringing beer with them when they are out. Has anyone else copped this on. It must be cost the pubs loads in lost busines

This has been going on for at least ten years. When I was working as a lounge boy, I'd see it happening. This was back in the Celtic Tiger days, by the way, so it's not because people can't afford to drink, just people being stingy b*stards.

Then again, it is cheaper to buy drink in a shop, then drink it in the pub, so it makes sense, especially in the "age of austerity". Maybe the pubs could lower their prices to try to stop people doing this, but I suspect the cost of doing business in Ireland is so extortionate that this would make the pubs go under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

New trick now is to serve a reduced measure or worse!

This has also been going on for years (allegedly).

Also, publicans watering down bottles of spirits (allegedly).

So, publicans aren't exactly saints, either (allegedly).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

A lovely barmaid in my local years ago used to let a certain few of us to bring in cans with us and she would even supply pint glasses.
    Oh the great cheap times we had. :D

Been bringing naggins or hip flasks into clubs and occasionally a late bar for years, started back in college and still do it from time to time. I would always end up buying more drinks and mixers too so it just makes the night that bit cheaper.

Would never do it in a smaller local type pub and even bigger late bars would usually only do it after having paid for a few pints.

I was (half) caught once in all the time Ive been at it. I had a naggin in one pocket belonging to another lad and my precious hip flask in the inside pocket of my jacket. They scanned me with a metal detector and of course the hip flask set it off. I handed her the naggin and was let in with my hip flask still sitting in my inside pocket. I have never seen a metal detector in the place before or since, they probably just had it for race week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I have seen the bottles of wine in the handbag trick.

Lie bottle sideways in bag, open bottle, do a side leaning dance and wine pours into glass on the table. It was rather impressive. I laughed a lot at the cheek of the girl doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

tan11ie wrote: »
    Agree cans are rotten!!! not sure why they taste so different to the bottles :confused:
    kfallon wrote: »
    Cos they are cheaper and you get more in it!
    Same principle as cans of coke/club orange compared to a 2L bottle, the cans are a lot nicer cos they are more expensive per ml

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Way offtopic but just to say I love the artwork in your sig there, very very nice indeed.

Back on topic, I can see a lot of pubs and clubs closing before too long, and good riddance to be honest. We need a healthier attitude to drink in this country and drunk factories whose entire design and environment is to pack as many people in and feed them as much drink as possible before spewing them out onto the streets in the wee hours should be consigned to the history books.

Don't get me wrong, I'm all in favour of having the craic, but we don't need to be jammed in like sardines and blasted out of our heads to have it.

I take it you are a fan of Globalisation? The local pub has always been an Irish institution. Through good and bad times.

We need to close restauraunts too, why would anybody cram their arses into a stuffy room full of strangers? You can't even cook your own food :'(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

I brought the wife to the brothel last week.

..do i declare this income to the revenue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭dabestman1

This has also been going on for years (allegedly).

Also, publicans watering down bottles of spirits (allegedly).

So, publicans aren't exactly saints, either (allegedly).
    Remember a story about 4 americans ordering 4 vodkas and getting 4 waters. What a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

If you can't afford to pay for the services of a business, don't bother going in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,144 ✭✭✭✭neris

few years ago my friends dad went to a night club had a few drinks in the club then went out to his car and snuck a bottle of rum back into the club. he left the bottle on the table and was drinking away until one of the security guys went over and asked him where he got the bottle. Told him he bought it at the bar. Was politly told to leave when the security guy told him they didnt sell full bottles of spirits in the club and they didnt sell that particular brand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

If you can't afford to pay for the services of a business, don't bother going in.

Can well afford it, actually wanting to part with my cash is another issue altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 783 ✭✭✭No1J

Larianne wrote: »
    I have seen the bottles of wine in the handbag trick.

Lie bottle sideways in bag, open bottle, do a side leaning dance and wine pours into glass on the table. It was rather impressive. I laughed a lot at the cheek of the girl doing it.

Girls I know buy a few 1/4 bottles in the local pub but always take the empty's home. Then fill them at home and go back to the pub, buy the first round and then swap empty for full, might buy another round but 2 or 3 come from the handbag. It's the same brand of wine bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

stovelid wrote: »
    Each to their own but I think there's just something juvenile and cheapskate about it.

I agree, but theres also something immoral and profiteering about the cost of drink. A quiet night out for a lightweight like me will see no change out of a 50 euro note.
    At one point in time, I would have been self righteous about this too, but the way this country is going now, I say fúck it. The common joe soap is getting hammered left right and centre, if he wants to go out of a night with friends and forget his troubles for a couple of hours, let him bring his hip flask.

/Joe Higgins impression

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

I am sure the club I go to knows what we're up to! We buy an orange juice, go straight to the bathroom and come back 20 mins later drunker :pac:

They probably just figure that the people you're lying down under have badly-functioning livers.
    Its their own fault for not checking our bags.

Bull. And shocking attitude. If people didn't have this mentality then there would be no need for anyone to be inconvenienced by searches.

It's YOUR bag so it's YOUR responsibility to ensure that what's in it is acceptable, not theirs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I never buy drinks in clubs anymore. I just bring a naggin in, and I like my spirits straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I heard a rumour that a pub in Galway is having such troubles with people bringing in their own beverages that they are just going to sell cost price cans. Can't beat em, join em

I rarely have enough money for a good piss-up.

So I drink beforehand with some mates, then when I get to the pub I get pints instead of my preferred short+mixer. Lasts longer and is about 2 euro cheaper per drink. If I can only afford 3 pints, I solve that problem by only drinking 3 pints. Seems logical to me.

I wouldn't really begrudge someone bringing in a naggin to top up their drinks, but the amount of people I know who get a guy to buy their first drink for them and then refill the glass completely out of their own bag for the whole night is ridiculous. To be honest I think that's pretty scumbaggy, especially since very often it's because they'd rather get a taxi home than a bus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Agricola wrote: »
    I agree, but theres also something immoral and profiteering about the cost of drink. A quiet night out for a lightweight like me will see no change out of a 50 euro note.
    At one point in time, I would have been self righteous about this too, but the way this country is going now, I say fúck it. The common joe soap is getting hammered left right and centre, if he wants to go out of a night with friends and forget his troubles for a couple of hours, let him bring his hip flask.

/Joe Higgins impression

Oh I agree on the price of drink.

But any moral high ground evaporates when you insist on using the person's premises and service without paying. As much as people claim that it's a principled stand, it's just trying to save yourself money at the expense of somebody's business.

I just wonder how people would feel if people were using your business and dodging paying their way.

Not taking a big stance against it: just saying I would find it utterly cringe worthy to see adults in my company doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭blueyedson

stovelid wrote: »
    Oh I agree on the price of drink.

But any moral high ground evaporates when you insist on using the person's premises and service without paying. As much as people claim that it's a principled stand, it's just trying to save yourself money at the expense of somebody's business.

That may be true in some cases, in others people are paying some money. Eg paing for mixers and when naggin is finished buying full price drinks.

You would find it cringeworthy to be in the company of someone sneaking a drinkn into a pub, but are you ok with some pub's raping your pocket by charging €5.80 a pint (like in temple bar) or giving you a cheaper version of a drink that your supposed to get?

I've been in enough places where i've been charged too much for a drink without proper entertainment.I've been in pubs where barmen have delibrately short changed me. For me because of these reasons I see it as ok to sneak a few shots in of whatever, although i dont agree with bringing in a 6 pack.

Another case that pissed me off was paying €15 in the new o2 for 2 shots and a splash of coke from a 2l coke bottle. The next time i brought my own naggin, drank it in the first hour with a €3 euro bottle of coke(from the o2), and then bought another 3/4 pints in the place. Overall fair play in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

i would never do this, it would take the fun out of going out. its for pretend drinkers, you just cant beat all day pints in a pub, fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Tehachapi

i would never do this, it would take the fun out of going out. its for pretend drinkers, you just cant beat all day pints in a pub, fact

It's for people not concerned about being labelled "pretend drinkers", while the pub owners laugh at you all the way to the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭blueyedson

Ah well maby you would like it. Dont knock it till you've tried it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Drinking cans in a pissy jax is not my idea of a good night out but each to their own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭smurfy89

ronan45 wrote: »
    HIP FLASKS !!! SO YESTERDAY........

WHAT YOU NEED IS THE BEER BELLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://barblog.co.uk/%E2%80%A2-articles-about-alcohol/sneaking-alcohol-into-bars-belly-device/

Or the female version ... http://www.sofakingdrunk.com/2008/04/04/the-wine-rack-alcohol-bra-beer-bra-forwomen/ :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

Pretend? I have a great night on a tenner of mixers :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭iangobl

In fairness i was charged €8.90 for a jd and coke last week which is criminal. Went straight down to the offo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Drinking in Ireland is an exercise in extracting the maximum amount of cash for (usually) the minimum amount of effort. The government take their big wedge, then the brewing company, then the publican. Who could blame them, it makes all the interested parties a packet. The vast majority of pubs Ive been in in the last 3/4 years since the downturn, havent done a fúcking thing to intice in customers or give them some value back for walking in the door. The price of drink has probably increased if anything! Its the ultimate rip-off in what is still a thriving rip-off culture in certain sectors.
    If a friend of mine wanted to join me on an night out and then arrived with a naggin in his pocket, more power to them. Obviously not buying as much as a packet of crisps is out of order, but if someone buys overpriced mixers and then buys their drink after the first hour or two, then fine imo.