Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bringing beer to a pub

• 07-06-2011 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

I dont get out for a pint as much as i used to but the couple of times i've been out lately i've noticed a huge amount of people are now bringing their nagans even mixers with them in their bags. I know some people get a few drinks in before they leave home but i've never noticed as many people bringing beer with them when they are out. Has anyone else copped this on. It must be cost the pubs loads in lost busines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Only noticed now? Its going on years.!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

bringing water home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

I know its been going on alright but i didn't know its as common as it is now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭DanTheMan91

I never do this, I never will either, I go to a pub to buy and enjoy my drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

In all fairness, this issue is being made to sound worse than it is.

It's difficult to successfully fit a keg in your pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I have a small hip flask I bring with me to clubs an awful lot, buy my mixers.

I don't feel bad cause I pay the door fee and they're robbing me anyway.

Plus my hip flask is purdy.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

If you want to bring your drink in with you, go to a fúcking field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Mr X11

Brought a bottle of captain morgans rum to a 30th birthday party last weekend. I noticed i was one of many with the same idea there the publicans must know it's happening surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,848 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Naggin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭Ev84

Mad isn't it? Sure we'll all be sneakin' sandwiches into the restaurants next! :pac:

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Nobody brings beer to the pub, except maybe the delivery guy.

Small bottles of spirits, on the other hand...

>_>

<_<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I seen people taking their own drink to a wedding, which is pretty scummy. I only noticed when the manager came over and told them to either get rid of it or leave. They then spent the rest of the night sitting outside drinking it.

I can half understand bring drink to a disco or concert (your paying a cover charge anyway) but if you can't afford to buy your own drink in an establishment, you should stay at home. Sneaking in drink would be very slightly above stealing drinks on the scumbag scale.

Mr X11 wrote: »
    Brought a bottle of captain morgans rum to a 30th birthday party last weekend. I noticed i was one of many with the same idea there the publicans must know it's happening surely.

I am sure the club I go to knows what we're up to! We buy an orange juice, go straight to the bathroom and come back 20 mins later drunker :pac:

Its their own fault for not checking our bags. I got in with half a Lidl water bottle filled with vodka the other week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Mary28

I remember my friends telling me her mum did this and I thought it was weird. They wouldnt' be stuck for cash. Yeah I think don't bother going to the pub if you can't afford to drink. Drink before you get there etc. They're having a hard enough time making ends meet as it is.

I'm not so upset about doing it in clubs though as they do completely take the piss and I always find staff horrible in clubs so I feel less sorry for them.

Does anyone remember being in pubs in Dublin and after a certain time at night the price of drink went up? Say they had a late bar and once it hit 11:30 or whatever time it was they'd up the price by 10 c for everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Don't forget to bring your own food when you visit a restauraunt next time. No wonder places are closing down when you have three people sharing a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Cocaine

It's hardly criminal now is it.:rolleyes:
    Anyway, nobody is bringing beer, just spirits.
    If people are happy to spend 50quid in the pub every night, fair play to them. But don't begrudge people who can only spend 20quid. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I am sure the club I go to knows what we're up to! We buy an orange juice, go straight to the bathroom and come back 20 mins later drunker :pac:

Its their own fault for not checking our bags. I got in with half a Lidl water bottle filled with vodka the other week.

Hahaha.

I do the same. A little Evian bottle does the trick. I sit it on the table as I order my 7Up. Desperate times. They are getting money out of me (just not as much as they'd like).

I paid ridiculous amounts for my vodka when I could afford it, but I can't now.

Truth be told, I think they know but would hate me to leave.

They're only human :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Scummy behaviour tbh. Its hard enough to keep a pub running without that craic. Stay at home if you cant afford it.

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Scummy behaviour tbh. Its hard enough to keep a pub running without that craic. Stay at home if you cant afford it.

Not at all. The place is empty anyways. No-one fighting for the stool. They are getting money for the 7Up. Better than nothing. :)

Truth be told, I think they know but would hate me to leave.

They're only human :D

I feel although I don't bring much money to the club, I bring a great atmosphere and they are very grateful for that :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Fix that thread title OP :)

Nobody brings beer only the rep and the delivery man.
    But bringing spirits in handbags and jeans pockets has been going on for years.

Oh the barmen know exactly what's going on when a girl orders one diet coke and three glasses of ice. We're not stupid.

But management leave bar staff so understaffed we'd never make it to the floor so in the quiet corner seats yeah you could pour in your naggins and get away with it.

I feel although I don't bring much money to the club, I bring a great atmosphere and they are very grateful for that :pac:

Oh, totally, TOTALLY ;)

I bring my own food to the cinema too :pac:

I'm some cheapskate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

Pubs should offer incentives for people to drink. Some do this. Others don't. Besides, I think some boardsies need to repeat overheads 101 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Skerries wrote: »
    Crouching Knacker, Hidden Naggin

FYP:D

I'm some cheapskate!

Yeah I know, me too. Kind of annoys everyone when the popcorn starts popping, but if you do it before the actual film starts, most people don't mind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Everyone is doing that!!!! but they have cottoned on and bouncers are checking handbags on the way in.....so much effort and looks quite stingy tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Alison O'Riordan does it (or at least pretended to for a sh*te 'article' she was writing).

Therefore it's definitely not cool.

tan11ie wrote: »
    Everyone is doing that!!!! but they have cottoned on and bouncers are checking handbags on the way in.....so much effort and looks quite stingy tbh

No, not been caught yet. And you can call me stingy, been called worse and don't care :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

At forbidden fruit last weekend, someone successfully snook in a bottle of captain morgan hidden inside a hollowed out a loaf of bread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Thievery should be punishable by death!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

lads i know bring there favourite cheap cans into the pub the whole time. Cant drink without there Karpacki,Dutchy and Tuborg. Bouncer couldnt give a fcuk at this stage since the pub has gone to $hit altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,674 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Ev84 wrote: »
    Mad isn't it? Sure we'll all be sneakin' sandwiches into the restaurants next! :pac:

I brought the wife to the brothel last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

Clubs are catching on to it and doing searches on people coming in the doors, I've solved this one though with a little inspiration from John Mclane......

http://www.everydaynodaysoff.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/DieHardTattoo.jpg

No, not been caught yet. And you can call me stingy, been called worse and don't care :)

:pStingy Stingy........really i'm on about bringing bottles of beer in i've seen girls with them big enormous handbags full of them...then out comes the bottle opener.....the vodka sneaking has been going on years!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Don't all clubs search bags. Hasn't his been going on for years?

Why do people think clubs have only cottoned on this now?

I remember people having to open their bags when going into nightclubs in the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Cocaine wrote: »
    Anyway, nobody is bringing beer, just spirits.
    mikemac wrote: »
    Nobody brings beer only the rep and the delivery man.

I had a mate who brought a sports bag full of Dutch Gold to the pub on more than one occasion. Also the same fella who roams around nightclubs drinking half finished drinks.

Bit of a stingey **** actually.

AnonoBoy wrote: »

I remember people having to open their bags when going into nightclubs in the 90's.

Na that was only the raves you went to...looking for your E's:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Mary28 wrote: »
    I remember my friends telling me her mum did this and I thought it was weird. They wouldnt' be stuck for cash. Yeah I think don't bother going to the pub if you can't afford to drink. Drink before you get there etc. They're having a hard enough time making ends meet as it is.

I'm not so upset about doing it in clubs though as they do completely take the piss and I always find staff horrible in clubs so I feel less sorry for them.

Does anyone remember being in pubs in Dublin and after a certain time at night the price of drink went up? Say they had a late bar and once it hit 11:30 or whatever time it was they'd up the price by 10 c for everything.

New trick now is to serve a reduced measure or worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Sure all you have to do is get a bloke to put it in his pocket and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Funglegunk wrote: »
    I had a mate who brought a sports bag full of Dutch Gold to the pub on more than one occasion. Also the same fella who roams around nightclubs drinking half finished drinks.

Bit of a stingey **** actually.
    I had a full pint stolen from me one night.
    Later on I took an empty glass and filled it up in the toilet (not with beer).
    I left it on a table and it was gone within 10 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Bringing beer to a pub = poor broke fookers

Club I go to doesnt most nights.

On nights when they might, hide the hipflask on your person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

Small bottles of spirits, on the other hand...

>_>

<_<

A fella at the table beside me in the pub two weeks ago had cans of beer on the seat and his jacket over them and poured his own all night. He was buying drinks at the bar for his wife , they obviously couldnt afford for them both to drink out. The shorts is a regular thing but this was the first time I'd seen it being done with beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

People sneaking spirits into pubs is like downloading films and tv shows from the net. If they couldn't go the free route they most likely wouldn't go for the paying option. And if they did it wouldn't be a regular occurrence. So I doubt it's really affecting business too much. I'd rather be in a busy bar wit people drinking smuggled in scoops than be in an empty one with people paying over the odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Karen23 wrote: »
    A fella at the table beside me in the pub two weeks ago had cans of beer on the seat and his jacket over them and poured his own all night. He was buying drinks at the bar for his wife , they obviously couldnt afford for them both to drink out. The shorts is a regular thing but this was the first time I'd seen it being done with beer.

Oh the indignity of it, I really feel for him, he must have felt so humiliated and embarrassed in the pub that night, you wouldn't wish it on your worst enemy......having to go to the pub with the wife :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

kfallon wrote: »
    Oh the indignity of it, I really feel for him, he must have felt so humiliated and embarrassed in the pub that night, you wouldn't wish it on your worst enemy......having to go to the pub with the wife :pac:

And pay for her drink when you cant afford your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Hmmmmmm what I've learnt tonight
    if you can't afford it, on 100 a week ish so yeah you're poor

then you should be going to pubs you should sit at home and be poor and depressed who needs friends

on the other hand those who have enough money to spend 20+ on drink a night should to keep these pubs in business, the people who don't have money wouldnt be spending it anyway because they dont have it so the pub owners arent loosing much those who can spare the cash is a bit bad isnt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Karen23 wrote: »
    And pay for her drink when you cant afford your own

Well he probably thought "If I have to bring that bint out tonight I'm defo gonna make sure I get the ride later"......then ply her with drink, "Here have another pernod love......*whispers undr his breath* that should get your legs open and get you foaming at the gee for me" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I'm some cheapskate!

I bring my dvd player