Bringing beer to a pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I smuggle stuff in all the time. Then again I'm poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭doolox

.......pint in local pub = €4.30...madness. Its 3 times dearer than take home beer.

There is probably a similar mark up on other drinks.

A bottle of wine in tescos €3.95 to €20 odd for the dearest.

A miserable 1/4 bottle in the pub....€5.

Pubs are dying because of three main things:-

Cheaper drink at offies.
    Drink driving laws and outdated distribution of pubs in the population areas.
    Smoking ban in pubs.

It looks as if the on-the-premises trade will not survive unless they go for cheaper drink, more smoking areas and better located pubs instead of the present superpubs with large car parks we have now. Instead we should have more but smaller pubs in each estate within a mile or so of each house or have decent cheap public transport ( minibusses ) to and from each pub like they do in Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I have a hip flask with whiskey in it I bring out sometimes, the club we go to sells cans of beer from a multipack so its not only customers that are working around drink charges. you're paying 15 quid or more to get into a club then buying overpriced mixers and shots anyway. One night I was driving and spent almost as much as if I was drinking on glasses of Coke and Lucozade (sugar hangovers are fcuking horrible as well) If clubs dropped their cover charges to a fiver or something then less people would be smuggling in vodka and the like. We usually have more drink at home before heading out now anyway, years ago we'd be in town by 9pm, now its rarely before 11 or 12 we'd head in, few in the pub then to a club, or just stay in a late bar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shiroki

I wouldn't go to the pub unless I had a bit of cash, simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

I wouldn't do it to a local pub because there is no cover charge. Big clubs, however, with cover charges of €10+ and don't give you anything in return (e.g. a free drink or a discount on even just one drink) I would do it to. These same places will also often refuse you a stamp on the way out so you can't get back in :-/

I'm too much of a light weight anyway so usually just get one or two pints after pre-drinking when I go to a club. If I could tolerate more drink I'd definitely bring a naggan of Captain Morgans or similar into those clubs. Wouldn't do it to a small establishment who are probably struggling to break even though. I know it's not right to pick and choose but hey, that's my choice ;D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Karamoja

I never do this, I never will either, I go to a pub to buy and enjoy my drinks.

Somebody give this guy a standing ovation.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Funglegunk wrote: »
    I had a mate who brought a sports bag full of Dutch Gold to the pub on more than one occasion. Also the same fella who roams around nightclubs drinking half finished drinks.

Bit of a stingey **** actually.
    Karen23 wrote: »
    A fella at the table beside me in the pub two weeks ago had cans of beer on the seat and his jacket over them and poured his own all night. He was buying drinks at the bar for his wife , they obviously couldnt afford for them both to drink out. The shorts is a regular thing but this was the first time I'd seen it being done with beer.

I stand corrected! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭greenybaby

**** yeah bring a hip flask, me and the brother brought out absinthe with us one night were bananas an hour into our session - ok yes me, my borther and session sound soooooooooo wrong but you know what i mean :pac:

bringing home the nice glasses is my weakness :D:D

p.s a 70cl of captain morgan up here €25 and up in asda for a 1 litre is £12 no wonder we shop up there and bring drinks to pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

if your going to a 21st/40th whatever, wrap a box of beer and stick a bow on it. bring it to the party, under the table-youre beer for the night! :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

df1985 wrote: »
    if your going to a 21st/40th whatever, wrap a box of beer and stick a bow on it. bring it to the party, under the table-youre beer for the night! :)

A guy I went to school with invited himself along to my 18th a few years ago.
    He brought a box of beer and sat it down under the table.

Then he helped himself to the cans in my fridge. When he left, he took his full box of cans with him again.

Thundering arsehole...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I've often brought a sneaky naggin on a night out with me. Dont really see the harm, im still paying to get into the place, still paying for mixers (and shots, if the occassion calls). Im not made of money!

Most of the patrons who pay for their drink arent minted either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

A guy I went to school with invited himself along to my 18th a few years ago.
    He brought a box of beer and sat it down under the table.

Then he helped himself to the cans in my fridge. When he left, he took his full box of cans with him again.

Thundering arsehole...

Thats bad but i meant bring beer wrapped as presents to the venues of the parties, hotels/pubs and the likes not to your mates place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Thundering arsehole...

If I was in a punk band, I'd name it this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Each to their own but I think there's just something juvenile and cheapskate about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Mr X11

tan11ie wrote: »
    Everyone is doing that!!!! but they have cottoned on and bouncers are checking handbags on the way in.....so much effort and looks quite stingy tbh
    Nothing stingy about it tbh just plain smarts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Senna wrote: »

I can half understand bring drink to a disco or concert (your paying a cover charge anyway) but if you can't afford to buy your own drink in an establishment, you should stay at home. Sneaking in drink would be very slightly above stealing drinks on the scumbag scale.

But charging 6 quid for 250 mls of coke is beyond reproach!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Bartyman

At a wedding recently, some parties had freezer boxes in their car boots full of beer and cider, and spent the afternoon in the hotels beer garden topping up their drinks from the boots of their cars, after the dinner etc, they did tend to buy at the bar though

Not sure if I was impressed or not, weddings are normally an expensive day, in these times not everybody is in a postion to be able to fund a full days drinking, some weddings start very early and hotel prices can be a little more expensive than your normal bar.

stovelid wrote: »
    Each to their own but I think there's just something juvenile and cheapskate about it.

I agree. I don't see anything wrong with bringing food and drinks into the cinema, because you've paid for a ticket and the food is secondary, but the whole point of the pub is to sell you drinks. I think bringing your own booze in is like going to a restaurant with your own food. Why would you bother? Stay at home to drink if you can't afford the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I don't do it personally, but in fairness in certain nightclubs in Limerick it's:
    10-12 euro cover charge(you get a complimentary captain morgan about once a year :mad:)
    2 euro for cloakroom

that's 12-14 euro before i get a drop of alcohol.
    I used to get the offers (3 mixed fruit kopparberg for 10€, dont really drink it but hey it gets you pissed!) but they stopped doing it and now all you can get is miller(which doesn't get me pissed:mad:)

Why can't they play the market and charge €5 euro in and have deals like the 3 bottles for €10(not f*cking miller or bud or that american ****e!) and €3 shots/pints or something? I imagine they'd get far more business that way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I agree. I don't see anything wrong with bringing food and drinks into the cinema, because you've paid for a ticket and the food is secondary, but the whole point of the pub is to sell you drinks. I think bringing your own booze in is like going to a restaurant with your own food. Why would you bother? Stay at home to drink if you can't afford the pub.

Yeah, if you bring your own drink to a place with no cover charge, you're basically using a premises that somebody has paid rent, electricity and paid wages for. And then complaining because the prices are high. The mind boggles.

Boycott pubs and the price are more likely to come down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

Mr X11 wrote: »
    Nothing stingy about it tbh just plain smarts.

Well each to their own! I would never bring my bottles to the pub with me, even though they are €20 for a box of 20 in Tesco :D i save them for bbq weather..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

Do it all the time with my trusty hip flask, but only in Clubs and at Gigs really. When I was in a band we would fill an guitar case with cans and that would be the whole band sorted for the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

People will do it and have been doing it no matter what the price so you can't say it's just due to high prices in pubs. The pub I work in was €5 in last night but all drinks were €2.50. We had a band downstairs and a club/DJ upstairs and people still felt the need to sneak in their own drink.

I have to admit, it is very satisfying getting scum like that thrown out.

Adyx wrote: »
    €2.50. We had a band downstairs and a club/DJ upstairs and people still felt the need to sneak in their own drink.

Only €2.50! where is this pub????:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

It's just cheapo, plain and simple. I see women mostly doing it and i have to say if it was my missus doing it i'd be embarrased to be seen out with her. It's very, very knackery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Leaving the money/cost debate aside for a minute but cans are manky compared to a nice pulled pint!

Bottles are lovely but cans, no thanks, only in an emergency!

kfallon wrote: »
    Leaving the money/cost debate aside for a minute but cans are manky compared to a nice pulled pint!

Bottles are lovely but cans, no thanks, only in an emergency!

Agree cans are rotten!!! not sure why they taste so different to the bottles :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,978 ✭✭✭meglome

I dont get out for a pint as much as i used to but the couple of times i've been out lately i've noticed a huge amount of people are now bringing their nagans even mixers with them in their bags. I know some people get a few drinks in before they leave home but i've never noticed as many people bringing beer with them when they are out. Has anyone else copped this on. It must be cost the pubs loads in lost busines

Last time I bought a vodka and orange in Dublin city centre it was €8.25.

Though I suppose good value for being flipped over and penetrated without asking. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭ronan45

HIP FLASKS !!! SO YESTERDAY........

WHAT YOU NEED IS THE BEER BELLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://barblog.co.uk/%E2%80%A2-articles-about-alcohol/sneaking-alcohol-into-bars-belly-device/

People are getting cleverer all the time and so are gadgets and with the price of alcohol rising as much as it is in the UK the old punter is fighting back and fighting back in style. This week we’ll look at:

The Beer Belly is the ultimate cool gift to get any heavy drinker- essentially one of those “feel what its like to be pregnant” uniforms strapped over the shoulders and under the clothes and it looked HILARIOUS! This is simply a mammoth belly which the punter fills with booze and can drink from using a supplied plastic pipe as the fluids are transferred from one Belly to another. Okay its a bit expensive but I’m sure if you slipped a bottle of vodka inside every-time you’d get away with sneaking alcohol into a club without issue. I just want to see the look on the bouncers face when he frisks you for knives at the club entrance and feels up the worlds most jiggly belly and a pipe which is seemingly coming out of your backside “I had a colonic this morning!” or “Dang my colostomies out again!”. Who gets kicked out for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Funglegunk wrote: »
    If I was in a punk band, I'd name it this!
    Way offtopic but just to say I love the artwork in your sig there, very very nice indeed.

Back on topic, I can see a lot of pubs and clubs closing before too long, and good riddance to be honest. We need a healthier attitude to drink in this country and drunk factories whose entire design and environment is to pack as many people in and feed them as much drink as possible before spewing them out onto the streets in the wee hours should be consigned to the history books.

Don't get me wrong, I'm all in favour of having the craic, but we don't need to be jammed in like sardines and blasted out of our heads to have it.