Bringing beer to a pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Thievery should be punishable by death!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

lads i know bring there favourite cheap cans into the pub the whole time. Cant drink without there Karpacki,Dutchy and Tuborg. Bouncer couldnt give a fcuk at this stage since the pub has gone to $hit altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,037 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Ev84 wrote: »
    Mad isn't it? Sure we'll all be sneakin' sandwiches into the restaurants next! :pac:

I brought the wife to the brothel last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭sherdydan

Clubs are catching on to it and doing searches on people coming in the doors, I've solved this one though with a little inspiration from John Mclane......

http://www.everydaynodaysoff.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/DieHardTattoo.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

No, not been caught yet. And you can call me stingy, been called worse and don't care :)

:pStingy Stingy........really i'm on about bringing bottles of beer in i've seen girls with them big enormous handbags full of them...then out comes the bottle opener.....the vodka sneaking has been going on years!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Don't all clubs search bags. Hasn't his been going on for years?

Why do people think clubs have only cottoned on this now?

I remember people having to open their bags when going into nightclubs in the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Funglegunk

Nobody brings beer to the pub, except maybe the delivery guy.
    Cocaine wrote: »
    Anyway, nobody is bringing beer, just spirits.
    mikemac wrote: »
    Nobody brings beer only the rep and the delivery man.

I had a mate who brought a sports bag full of Dutch Gold to the pub on more than one occasion. Also the same fella who roams around nightclubs drinking half finished drinks.

Bit of a stingey **** actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭tan11ie

AnonoBoy wrote: »

I remember people having to open their bags when going into nightclubs in the 90's.

Na that was only the raves you went to...looking for your E's:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Mary28 wrote: »
    I remember my friends telling me her mum did this and I thought it was weird. They wouldnt' be stuck for cash. Yeah I think don't bother going to the pub if you can't afford to drink. Drink before you get there etc. They're having a hard enough time making ends meet as it is.

I'm not so upset about doing it in clubs though as they do completely take the piss and I always find staff horrible in clubs so I feel less sorry for them.

Does anyone remember being in pubs in Dublin and after a certain time at night the price of drink went up? Say they had a late bar and once it hit 11:30 or whatever time it was they'd up the price by 10 c for everything.

New trick now is to serve a reduced measure or worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭Redlion

Sure all you have to do is get a bloke to put it in his pocket and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

Funglegunk wrote: »
    I had a mate who brought a sports bag full of Dutch Gold to the pub on more than one occasion. Also the same fella who roams around nightclubs drinking half finished drinks.

Bit of a stingey **** actually.
    I had a full pint stolen from me one night.
    Later on I took an empty glass and filled it up in the toilet (not with beer).
    I left it on a table and it was gone within 10 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Bringing beer to a pub = poor broke fookers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Club I go to doesnt most nights.

On nights when they might, hide the hipflask on your person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

Nobody brings beer to the pub, except maybe the delivery guy.

Small bottles of spirits, on the other hand...

>_>

<_<

A fella at the table beside me in the pub two weeks ago had cans of beer on the seat and his jacket over them and poured his own all night. He was buying drinks at the bar for his wife , they obviously couldnt afford for them both to drink out. The shorts is a regular thing but this was the first time I'd seen it being done with beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,354 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

People sneaking spirits into pubs is like downloading films and tv shows from the net. If they couldn't go the free route they most likely wouldn't go for the paying option. And if they did it wouldn't be a regular occurrence. So I doubt it's really affecting business too much. I'd rather be in a busy bar wit people drinking smuggled in scoops than be in an empty one with people paying over the odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Karen23 wrote: »
    A fella at the table beside me in the pub two weeks ago had cans of beer on the seat and his jacket over them and poured his own all night. He was buying drinks at the bar for his wife , they obviously couldnt afford for them both to drink out. The shorts is a regular thing but this was the first time I'd seen it being done with beer.

Oh the indignity of it, I really feel for him, he must have felt so humiliated and embarrassed in the pub that night, you wouldn't wish it on your worst enemy......having to go to the pub with the wife :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Karen23

kfallon wrote: »
    Oh the indignity of it, I really feel for him, he must have felt so humiliated and embarrassed in the pub that night, you wouldn't wish it on your worst enemy......having to go to the pub with the wife :pac:

And pay for her drink when you cant afford your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Hmmmmmm what I've learnt tonight
    if you can't afford it, on 100 a week ish so yeah you're poor

then you should be going to pubs you should sit at home and be poor and depressed who needs friends

on the other hand those who have enough money to spend 20+ on drink a night should to keep these pubs in business, the people who don't have money wouldnt be spending it anyway because they dont have it so the pub owners arent loosing much those who can spare the cash is a bit bad isnt it.

Karen23 wrote: »
    And pay for her drink when you cant afford your own

Well he probably thought "If I have to bring that bint out tonight I'm defo gonna make sure I get the ride later"......then ply her with drink, "Here have another pernod love......*whispers undr his breath* that should get your legs open and get you foaming at the gee for me" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I bring my own food to the cinema too :pac:

I'm some cheapskate!

I bring my dvd player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

If you want to bring your drink in with you, go to a fúcking field.

But it'll ruin me shoes! :o

Larianne wrote: »
    No one said ya even had to wear shoes...think outside the box! :p

Wear your wellies, I'd imagine they are so much more comfortable

Redlion wrote: »
    No one said ya even had to wear shoes...think outside the box! :p

Ah, it'll mess up me tights!
    Wear your wellies, I'd imagine they are so much more comfortable

Ah but they won't go with me dress! :cool:

You must have been a disaster to bring Knacker Drinking :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Skerries wrote: »
    Crouching Tiger, Hidden Naggin

shouldn't it have been
    Up her growler, hidden naggin! :P

Fine, we'll be boring and go drinking in a sitting room :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

I've often brought a sneaky naggin on a night out with me. Dont really see the harm, im still paying to get into the place, still paying for mixers (and shots, if the occassion calls). Im not made of money!

You must have been a disaster to bring Knacker Drinking :P

No, I was fat when I was a teenager so I didn't give a shít what I looked like. :o

Pubs need to reduce the cost of the drinks. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

No, I was fat when I was a teenager so I didn't give a shít what I looked like. :o

Pubs need to reduce the cost of the drinks. Simple as.

Glass of Sauv Blanc at a pub near me 5.80e. No wonder everyone is drinking 7up on a night out;)