Daily Mail calls for new Call of Duty to be banned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭frisbeeface

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

This game sells way to many copies for a couple if cranks to have it banned. Video game violence is here to stay. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,496 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

How does Holywood get away with it, I wonder?

Also, didn't a lot more people die in World War 2?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Seen Daily Fail in the title, so I'm not gonna bother reading the article, and just dismiss it right away as a one-sided story used to boost their public profile.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Good publicity for the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I like how the image caption was "SAS running amok in streets of london" as if they were running amok, and not trying to defend against some kind of terrorist attack.

Can't wait for the whiney mothers brigade to step in. I hope we get some outraged MILFs this time.

How does Holywood get away with it, I wonder?

Also, didn't a lot more people die in World War 2?

How does Hollywood get away with it? Well, by giving in to the rabble rousers. Wasn't there a scene that was supposed to be in the Spiderman movie cut because he landed on the World Trade Centre? I thought generally the English were a lot more lenient with this kind of thing - I mean the film V for Vendetta did feature an explosion in the Subway, the Old Bailey and Big Ben?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

Looks like a marketing ploy tbh - print articles with calls for a ban = $$$$

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,060 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Hopefully they won't remove the offending level from the game as has happened before to on of the Hitman games iirc. Sure this is the same as the hubub about the airport level in the last game which was a way more disturbing level, all this is doing is showing soldiers and explosions in london, if people took a stance like this in the states nearly every big bugdet action blockbuster would have to be banned.

All they have to do is give these protesters an hour playing Harcore Team Death Match online and they'd soon change their tune ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,496 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

How does Hollywood get away with it? Well, by giving in to the rabble rousers. Wasn't there a scene that was supposed to be in the Spiderman movie cut because he landed on the World Trade Centre? I thought generally the English were a lot more lenient with this kind of thing - I mean the film V for Vendetta did feature an explosion in the Subway, the Old Bailey and Big Ben?

I didn't know that about Spiderman. It seems unfair that Oliver Stone can use 9/11 to sell cinema tickets but a game has a subway explode in London and a generic rag throws a fit.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

This media hype is stupid and is going to have the opposite effect. For example, when I read the OP and saw 'trailer' I immediately jumped to Youtube to check it out. And you know what? I'll be buying it.

So well done Daily Mail, nice bit of free advertising you gave to the games company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

The hype surrounding Carmageddon back in 97 was something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yakult wrote: »
    Good publicity for the game.
    Video link at the bottom of the article and all, I'd be very surprised if the games company wasn't asked for money to print that article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

The Daily Mail can ask the back of my sack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Karamoja

Feckin eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The Daily Mail getting cursed in the Daily Mail style forum of boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Thread title should read "slow news day".

Then the thread should be deleted and OP banned for reading the Daily Mail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Cocaine

The Daily Mail is clearly trolling, why do people keep feeding it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The Daily Mail: Because there is an immigrant black Muslim paedopphile under your bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Don't you ****ing curse at me for **** sake :mad:
    lol, I'm sorry Pete, I wasn't really cursing at you, rather the people wanting the game banned :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Wowzer, looks good. I think I'll buy it.

In fairness though, they do have a valid point.
    Research shows that the phenomenon of killing of prostitutes to get back the money you paid them skyrocketed soon after the release of GTA, as did random carjackings and killing sprees.

To be fair that could also be linked to Dell closing in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭F.U.B.A.R

I thought nividia only won the rights to Modern warfare three as the term modern warfare is open domain and used long before the game was created where call of duty is trade marked by trey-arch and seeing as they didnt want a third one they have no envolvement in this new release so it is infact, Daily Maill, Called "Modern Warfare 3" no cod :) Also anyone remember "No Russian"???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

In one particularly vivid shot, an armed soldier on a truck cuts in front of a Tube carriage, derailing and causing it to explode.

...Other scenes show aerial attacks on New York and grenades exploding on the streets of Paris and Berlin.

...‘I have concerns as these games are hyper-real and take place in a landscape we are familiar with. In light of the fact we have just had the 7/7 inquests, it is in incredibly poor taste.'

The Mail think it's acceptable to kill Iraqis on their own turf in these games though. Shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

To be fair, I don't see the Mail leading any campaign to have the game banned. In fact I don't see the views of the Mail represented at all. I see them reporting the views of another group.

Still, brilliant manipulation of what has actually been said by some here. Many would make excellent tabloid journalists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

"Call Of Duty 3 has not yet received an age certification and shows soldiers running through the streets of London with machine guns while bombs explode and buildings tumble to the ground."

Call of Duty 3 came out 5 years ago and is set in World War 2.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Call_of_Duty_3

But yeah, let's ban that, it's shíte

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Shiroki

They'll never cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

well dont bye it for your children if its deamed unsuitable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

From the comments on Tabloid Watch:
    Anonymous wrote: »
    Interestingly, the developers clearly are not basing the event 100% on the July 7th bombings, as the screenshots clearly are not based on any real section of the Tube. Also, reading how the event is meant to take place, we are only meant to draw similarities with the real world event, since last time I checked, you couldn't fit a pick-up truck in a Tube tunnel...
    bjh21 wrote: »
    Hmm. The standard Yerkes tube tunnel is 3.56m in diameter[1]. A current Toyota Hilux pickup is 1.76m wide and 1.795m high[2], for a diagonal of about 2.52m. I reckon it'd fit.

[1] http://www.davros.org/rail/culg/intro.html
    [2] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Hilux
    Lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

This coming from a newspaper that shows half naked women , sorry i wanted a newspaper not playboy magazine ;)