I used to work in a slaughter house... but never again!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So you're still on the checkouts in Tesco then?

Yep. My name is really Mary Byrne.
    Cher Lloyd - meh! - the biitch! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dish washer
    Storeman
    Barman
    Forklift driver
    Factory machinist
    Telesales/customer care (worst job)
    Shop assistant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Fuel injection technician (petrol pump attendant)

barman

phone sales man

telesales

gardener

planting trees

attic insulation

tractor driver (grain in australia)

sheep herder

general labourer

risk analyst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Supermarket warehouse hand (summer job)
    Door to door salesman (6 months)
    Printing house dogsbody (6 months)
    District Sales Manager (1 year)
    Shop Assistant (3 years)
    QA Manager (2 years)
    Consultant/Trainer (13 years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Shop assistant
    Barmaid
    till operator
    smoothie maker
    brillo pad packer
    suit hire sales assistant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭nick 56

Cleaner in a bakery
    Factory work in a toy factory (paint boxes )
    Apprentice tool maker (engineering)
    Production inspector (engineering)
    Office worker in a newspaper
    Darkroom tec in a newspaper
    Pipe fitters mate in a Light bulb factory
    Newspaper – Layout and cuttings library
    Photographer in newspaper
    Train guard London Underground
    Cook in a restaurant
    Shop assistant
    Warehouse worker
    Plumber (City and Guilds at night school)
    Builder – Self employed
    Gas fitter
    House husband and father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Lounge Boy
    Waiter
    Bar Man
    Restaurant Manager
    Pub Asst Manager
    Pub Manager
    Hotel Duty Manager
    General Manager

Decided I wanted to get out of hospitality and working 60hrs / week nights and weekends

B2BTelesales
    Field Sales
    Sales Manager
    Commercial Sales Manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Book shop assistant (Great summer job for 3 years)
    Hotel porter (3-4 months,grand job)
    Dunnes Store's guy (Crap job 2 and a half years)
    Ad sales guy (8 horrific months)
    Admin guy (Now.It's a struggle but okay)

Was in the RDF for four years too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »

Yep. My name is really Mary Byrne.
    Cher Lloyd - meh! - the biitch! :pac:

Every little helps.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Ghandee wrote: »
    The boning hall........?

Someone please explain.....:confused:

It's a skilled job and you work with your set of knifes. Wear a kind of chainmail apron to protect yourself.

You need to know all the different cuts and how to do it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Every little helps.:P
    My little bit gave me four kids. Every bit does indeed help! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

The thread title!.

I worked for Larry Goodman in Dublin Meat Packers..

I used to slaughter sheep in the morning and cattle in the afternoon.

Around 700 sheep would be slaughtered in the morning, and about 500 cattle in the afternoon. It was slaughter on a truely industrial scale.

Worked in a chicken killing factory myself for a few weeks. 9 hours a day grabbing live chickens from wooden crates and hanging them upside down into clamp things by their feet. Don't let their size fool you, a chicken that knows you plan to kill it can be a strong crazy little bastard, more akin to a wolverine or a mongoose. Used to come home from the place covered from head to toe in chicken blood, sh1t, p1ss and spit everyday, stinging all over from the pecks and scratches they managed to aim through the gaps in the overalls.

Sometimes when I wake up in the middle of the night I can still hear the chickens screaming... the horror...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

mikemac wrote: »
    You should have got into the boning hall.
    Decent money in there, skilled job though and they want experience :)

Random But there is a Butchery Academy out in Galway doing courses in Boning.

Me.
    Fitter
    Sparks
    Then into IT Consulting in Pharma and Banking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

Student :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

my auld lad used to train boners, worked his way up through the slaughterhouse ranks. Boners are tough feckers, it's seriously hard work.
    Never had a job myself, unemployable, so I always made my own. Still at it. Very understanding boss:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

"You can shout out as many jobs as you like, Ross. You’re never going to bloody get one, you worthless dole scum!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Bob Geldof worked in a slaughter house

little tit bit of usless information for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Nanny
    Catering Server
    Baker/Cook
    Costume Designer/Maker
    Arts Camp Counselor
    Teaching Assistant for Dance and Philosophy
    Build Radon Monitors
    Security at a concert
    Shipping/Receiving
    Nurses Aide
    Admin Assistant
    Database Admin
    Sys Admin
    Business Analyst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Hotel Porter
    Barman
    Chef
    Merchandiser
    Sold car accessories
    Worked in a music shop
    Sold crisps
    Sold cheese
    Sold food ingredients
    Sold ready made meals
    Managed a pizzeria (only worked a week, boss was/is a pri(k)
    Supply manager for a catering company
    Barman
    Now work as a public servant..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Im_EoinD wrote: »
    Student :cool:

the thread is about work, not drinking and drug taking

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Phone book delivery guy
    Leaflet distribution
    Lounge Boy
    Shelf Stacker
    Newsagents
    Petrol Station
    Stock Room Guy
    IT Call Centre agent / complaints dept / now some kinda management thing where I analyze performance of people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

ninja

pirate

cowboy

whiskey baron

stunt balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

A butcher and a baker. Currently a candle-stick maker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Sales assistant and unpaid nanny :mad:

I need a job! halp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Some deadly jobs in this thread.

Iv had feck all really,

Leaflet distributor - 2 summers
    Lounge boy - 6 months
    Carpet/Furniture shop slave - 6 months
    Bouncer - 6 months
    Soldier - so far 12 years

Wishlist - Booby massager
    - Atari jaguar tamer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭bassey

Used to do odd gardening/landscaping jobs when I was around 15

Then floor fitter/tiler/odd bits of carpentry

Now apprentice electrician/linesman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭AskMyChocolate

Jaysus we really are a nation of alkies. 75% of us seem to have worked in a pub at some stage.

Lounge Boy.

Barman.

Petrol Station.

Auctioneer.

Shelf stacker.

Shipping.

Warehouse Operative

Book-keeper.

Callcentre.

Customer Service.

Directory Enquiries. (Most soul-destroying job ever. And I've done a few.)

"Welcome to Orange, please kill me!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

`Full time gimp to the revenue people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

pre-ireland:
    roofer
    lounge boy
    kitchen porter
    brickies mate
    boring IT stuff
    barman