Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I used to work in a slaughter house... but never again!.

• 06-06-2011 6:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've also been a lounge boy (remember them?).

A barman.

A bouncer... in a pub called 'The Slaughtered Lamb' too :p

A taxi man.

A Soldier.

What past jobs have After Hours people worked in.. (I know, yea porn)?.

What type was your job? (either current, or previous) 107 votes

General operative / Laborer
    0% 0 votes
    Retail (shop work)
    18% 20 votes
    Tradesmen (Plumber etc)
    30% 33 votes
    Office
    15% 17 votes
    Skilled / college education
    34% 37 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Tool-maker

Toy Shop

Nursing Home

Residential Care

Special Needs Assistant

Book shop

Barman

Taxi Driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Worked in a brick factory stacking bricks
    8 hours of the same repetitive mind-numbing labour for a full year and 2 summers after that
    Good money but soul crushing
    Also

Tech support for eircom
    Shuttering and concrete finishing
    worked on family farm
    pipe layer and service discovery in oz (easy!)
    Hardware deployment in dublin
    system support analyst in canada

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Batman (It was a weekend job)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I worked as a XXXXXXX and as a XXXXXX while over in XXXXXXX and other places like XXXXX for example.

REDACTED. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Labourer

Apprentice plumber

Security (shop)

Bookshop

Office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I thought this was another slaughter/death thread.

How disappointing....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Kitchen porter
    Barman
    Night porter
    Factory worker on the floor, skincare & makeup factory
    Farm labourer, well silage crew so a driving job

Fund accountant, yawn!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

- Chipper (take away)
    - Leaflet distributor
    - Supermarket
    - Concert steward
    - Take away driver
    - Chugger
    - online poker player (quit due tonot being very good)

- now Customer service - telephone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

With the exception of a 3 month stint in a radio station, my entire career has been behind a bar which is about all I'm good for apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

In Ireland,

(all in the engineering market)
    Welder
    Fitter
    Sales rep
    Business development manager (present day)

In Australia.

Bar man
    Warehouse operative
    Brickies labourer
    Plasterer labourer
    Golf course maintenance
    Tree surgeon
    Even worked as a giant hot dog in melbourne for a while!
    Cleaner in a hostel (free rent and beer)

How I miss Oz.......:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

What is a "lounge boy"?

I'm only a youngfella so my only real proper job has been driving forklifts.

Worked for a charity too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Kojak wrote: »
    I thought this was another slaughter/death thread.

How disappointing....

The thread title!.

I worked for Larry Goodman in Dublin Meat Packers..

I used to slaughter sheep in the morning and cattle in the afternoon.

Around 700 sheep would be slaughtered in the morning, and about 500 cattle in the afternoon. It was slaughter on a truely industrial scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭marnie d

Till Operator

Merchandising assistant

Waitress

Dish washer

Receptionist

Babysitter

Supervising kids

Arts festival steward

Bridal shop

Newspaper

Radio Station

Video editor

Website

Production company

TV station

A long ridiculous list but only the last few are mentioned on my CV! And I've got the feeling I've left things out, I went from job to job as a teen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Slaughter - it's the in thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Barmaid
    waitress
    hostess
    work rider
    groom
    horse riding teacher
    accomodation manager
    letting agent
    pa/admin/shop assistant
    telesales
    dog walker/house cleaner
    carer
    Grape picker :pac::pac::pac:

The thread title!.

Around 700 sheep would be slaughtered in the morning, and about 500 cattle in the afternoon. It was slaughter on a truely industrial scale.

You should have got into the boning hall.
    Decent money in there, skilled job though and they want experience :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »
    I worked as a XXXXXXX and as a XXXXXX while over in XXXXXXX and other places like XXXXX for example.

REDACTED. :cool:

So you're still on the checkouts in Tesco then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

The thread title!.

I used to work with a guy who worked in the boning halls(oo er missus).
    He would head down on his lunch breaks to watch the animals being slaughtered, odd guy.

mikemac wrote: »

I tried, oh the nob's I sucked to get in there!.

You had to be well in to be a boner :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

The boning hall........?

Someone please explain.....:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Dangerous Man

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    What is a "lounge boy"?

I'm only a youngfella so my only real proper job has been driving forklifts.

Worked for a charity too.

Basically an underpaid waiter. I used to it myself many years ago. You could have a bit of craic but in all honesty they were terrible jobs.

Ghandee wrote: »
    The boning hall........?

Read post #20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Worked in various bars while at school and college. Baker, waiter, furniture removal lackey, landscaper, nurses assistant in a St. John of Gods facility, subeditor for an advertising newspaper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

Barman

various technician jobs

Cinema attendant

van driver

landscaper

kitchens on Irish Rail

Slave in Mongolia where I pushed a giant wheel around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Henree

Mortician

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Golf Ball retriever (my first and only business at 12)

Fuel injection engineer (Petrol pump attendant)

Barperson (for a good few years in different places, pubs, clubs in Mayo and Limerick) Worked in one bar that had a really dodgy reputation but found it to be sound.

Landscaper (a short but very worthwhile learning curve)
    Also worked in a slaughterhouse for one day - gruesome but required.

Shelf Stacker (Dunnes)

Production Operative (dell)

Generic IT stuff for the past 10 years or so including some tutoring.

Pretty boring really.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

LOL at people's fancy names for shitty jobs. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Cashier.

Freelance Writer.

Now unemployed and desperately searching for work.

Sucky sucky five dolla ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

The boning hall........?

Its a factory floor basically where the animals carcase is sent after it is killed,and the boners strip the meat from the bones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Milkman's Helper
    Loungeboy
    Shop Assistant
    Barman
    Nightporter
    Waiter
    Cleaner
    Docker
    Forklift Driver
    Labourer
    Scaffolder
    Double Glazing Salesman
    Deckhand and Purser
    Doorman
    Railway Trackman
    Railway Engineering Supervisor
    Stablehand
    Personal Trainer
    Model
    Climbing Instructor
    Painter and Decorator
    Stocktaking Supervisor
    And now my current, very good, job until retirement.

More than one stint at some of them and I've forgotten a few too I think. God Bless the days when you took what came and answered every ad by swearing blind you could do whetever they were looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ejmaztec wrote: »
    So you're still on the checkouts in Tesco then?

Yep. My name is really Mary Byrne.
    Cher Lloyd - meh! - the biitch! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Dish washer
    Storeman
    Barman
    Forklift driver
    Factory machinist
    Telesales/customer care (worst job)
    Shop assistant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Fuel injection technician (petrol pump attendant)

barman

phone sales man

telesales

gardener

planting trees

attic insulation

tractor driver (grain in australia)

sheep herder

general labourer

risk analyst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Supermarket warehouse hand (summer job)
    Door to door salesman (6 months)
    Printing house dogsbody (6 months)
    District Sales Manager (1 year)
    Shop Assistant (3 years)
    QA Manager (2 years)
    Consultant/Trainer (13 years)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Karona

Shop assistant
    Barmaid
    till operator
    smoothie maker
    brillo pad packer
    suit hire sales assistant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭nick 56

Cleaner in a bakery
    Factory work in a toy factory (paint boxes )
    Apprentice tool maker (engineering)
    Production inspector (engineering)
    Office worker in a newspaper
    Darkroom tec in a newspaper
    Pipe fitters mate in a Light bulb factory
    Newspaper – Layout and cuttings library
    Photographer in newspaper
    Train guard London Underground
    Cook in a restaurant
    Shop assistant
    Warehouse worker
    Plumber (City and Guilds at night school)
    Builder – Self employed
    Gas fitter
    House husband and father

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Lounge Boy
    Waiter
    Bar Man
    Restaurant Manager
    Pub Asst Manager
    Pub Manager
    Hotel Duty Manager
    General Manager

Decided I wanted to get out of hospitality and working 60hrs / week nights and weekends

B2BTelesales
    Field Sales
    Sales Manager
    Commercial Sales Manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Book shop assistant (Great summer job for 3 years)
    Hotel porter (3-4 months,grand job)
    Dunnes Store's guy (Crap job 2 and a half years)
    Ad sales guy (8 horrific months)
    Admin guy (Now.It's a struggle but okay)

Was in the RDF for four years too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Biggins wrote: »

Yep. My name is really Mary Byrne.
    Cher Lloyd - meh! - the biitch! :pac:

Every little helps.:P

The boning hall........?

It's a skilled job and you work with your set of knifes. Wear a kind of chainmail apron to protect yourself.

You need to know all the different cuts and how to do it.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Every little helps.:P
    My little bit gave me four kids. Every bit does indeed help! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

The thread title!.

Worked in a chicken killing factory myself for a few weeks. 9 hours a day grabbing live chickens from wooden crates and hanging them upside down into clamp things by their feet. Don't let their size fool you, a chicken that knows you plan to kill it can be a strong crazy little bastard, more akin to a wolverine or a mongoose. Used to come home from the place covered from head to toe in chicken blood, sh1t, p1ss and spit everyday, stinging all over from the pecks and scratches they managed to aim through the gaps in the overalls.

Sometimes when I wake up in the middle of the night I can still hear the chickens screaming... the horror...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

mikemac wrote: »

Random But there is a Butchery Academy out in Galway doing courses in Boning.

Me.
    Fitter
    Sparks
    Then into IT Consulting in Pharma and Banking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭OMG Its EoinD

Student :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Solnskaya

my auld lad used to train boners, worked his way up through the slaughterhouse ranks. Boners are tough feckers, it's seriously hard work.
    Never had a job myself, unemployable, so I always made my own. Still at it. Very understanding boss:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

"You can shout out as many jobs as you like, Ross. You’re never going to bloody get one, you worthless dole scum!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Bob Geldof worked in a slaughter house

little tit bit of usless information for ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭LenaClaire

Nanny
    Catering Server
    Baker/Cook
    Costume Designer/Maker
    Arts Camp Counselor
    Teaching Assistant for Dance and Philosophy
    Build Radon Monitors
    Security at a concert
    Shipping/Receiving
    Nurses Aide
    Admin Assistant
    Database Admin
    Sys Admin
    Business Analyst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

Hotel Porter
    Barman
    Chef
    Merchandiser
    Sold car accessories
    Worked in a music shop
    Sold crisps
    Sold cheese
    Sold food ingredients
    Sold ready made meals
    Managed a pizzeria (only worked a week, boss was/is a pri(k)
    Supply manager for a catering company
    Barman
    Now work as a public servant..