David Norris for President....would you vote for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

obviously you havent read the quotes addressed to him then or his defence of o'searcaighs raping of young boys

Was it this one?
    David Norris: "I approve of the raping of young boys and will defend anyone who does so."

I think I read it somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Yes it is and you know it is.

People don't choose their sexuality, they are born with it.
    i think bodybuilder is only winding us up, having a laugh at us,

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Do you know (cos I can't actually remember) are the votes just tallied up within the entire country in one count as it were, or are they done in constituencies?

It's alternative vote system without a collegiate system - but the votes are counted locally in constituencies and there isn't a central count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

goat2 wrote: »
    i think bodybuilder is only winding us up, having a laugh at us,

Agreed, I wouldn't even bother, trolls under bridges n all that!

It's alternative vote system without a collegiate system - but the votes are counted locally in constituencies and there isn't a central count.

Ah, how did I not know that :confused:
    Been so long since the last presidential election I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Anybody have a link to the offending article in Hot Press? I've searched but to no avail and all I can get are people talking about it, rather than saying what's in it. I'd just like to make up my own mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,425 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

There you go again, comparing two things that are not remotely alike.

You can't 'groom' some-one to be gay, you either are or you are not. Although I can think of far worse things to 'groomed' to.

Anyone can be a predator, being gay does not make you more likely to be so.

Can you prove that as i still believe they can ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Was it this one?

I think I read it somewhere.

...that was the famous "Coke and Hookers" interview, I believe.

He also said
    I, Senator Norris, am mad for the bumming and will turn the country protestant.

It was recorded on a betamax videotape, that nobody can find, or has a player to and would probably be banjaxed anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Paedophiles like kids; simple as that. They are not hetero or gay (although they may pose as).

Anybody have a link to the offending article in Hot Press? I've searched but to no avail and all I can get are people talking about it, rather than saying what's in it. I'd just like to make up my own mind.

Do you mean Magill? Easily available on Google.

If not, what was the Hot Press one about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

You can believe any oul shite ye want. Won't make it any more true.

Wasnt in hotpress it was in Magill, here's the link

http://sites.google.com/site/norrisarticle/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Do you mean Magill? Easily available on Google.

If not, what was the Hot Press one about?

Whoops. No wonder I couldn't find it. I thought that woman was a bit uncool for Hot Press.

Edit: thanks Rachael.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

No but I strongly believe that they can't.

Can you prove that you can be groomed to by gay?

Nodin wrote: »

Aw Nodin, you are slowly but surely becoming my hero!!! Funniest posts in a serious discussion ever!

So, and Im not asking this in an attacking way, does gay=predator to you?
    How do you equate homosexuality with paedophilia? (wrongly spelled)

I just can't see a link at all!

It was recorded on a betamax videotape, that nobody can find, or has a player to and would probably be banjaxed anyway.

You've got it wrong, but that'd be down to the poor quality of the recording. It was the journalist that you quoted.
    Interviewer: I, Senator Norris, am mad for the bumming and will turn the country protestant.

Norris: Err...agh...gosh...er....I think I will go now.

Interviewer's report:
    Senator Norris, when confronted with the idea that being mad for the bumming and turning the country Protestant was an amiable suggestion, did not dismiss the idea out of hand and refused to condemn it. He paused, thoughtfully, and refused to be drawn further.

Second draft:
    "I am willing to entertain the idea of being mad for the bumming and turning the country Protestant," says Norris, after careful consideration.

Third draft:
    "He wants to execute all non-Proddy non-Paedophiles" says a legal spokesperson for David Norris, reading from a prepared statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

He's completely right though, gay people are all paedophiles. I'm gay and I like 16 year olds. Then again though, I'm 17.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,063 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I just checked out his profile, wouldn't dream of adding him as a "friend" though. From what I've read his entire family are like that. I wonder do they have any direct links to Westboro Baptist Church, they seem to spread the same "anti gay" rhetoric.
    Well the WBC do claim that we're all going to hell because of Norris.

The reason I added him is so that I can call him out in public when he starts his hate campaign.
    I'm not going to be abusive or anything. I'll just point out facts.
    There's no doubt that he'll delete me after a couple of posts, but I'll take a screen shot of them all as soon as I post them.

prinz wrote: »
    Did you pubish a profile of the man at the time of the interview outlining his claims of reincarnation? If you did your claim of 100% truth would be on steadier ground.
    I published it here on boards.ie.
    Welcome to the 21st century. On-line and print is the same thing these days.
    My claim of 100% truth is on very steady ground. The same steady ground as Magill.

Again you have to take into account that this article was published, what 9 years ago? This is not something we are hearing about for the very first time as if HLB is making it up off the top of her head about some remembered interview she did a decade odd ago. if it was I'd be saying the very same thing, without the tapes, then no go love.

You can argue all you want that maybe the quotes were taken out of context and a spin put on them. I can admit that, maybe they were. I can even accept the fact that maybe Norris did say those things, but didn't mean them the way they look when put down in black and white print, I am sure we've all said things that if read back to us in the cold light of day would make us cringe and wonder wtf was I doing.

However what you can't argue is that this whole thing has been pulled out of the ether of HLB's imagination as we have a contemporary source to go back to, the published interview, which, for whatever reason, was not dealt with legally at the time, the most common being Senator Norris has a heart of gold and wouldn't dream of being litigious.

Not everyone is litigious.
    I pointed out earlier in the thread how I could have sued many people over the years, but refrained because I didn't think it was right.

Many years ago I was knocked down while crossing the road on my bicycle. It was done by a gay dude on a moped.
    I lay on the ground in pain and freaked him out by saying that I was going to sue him. Then told him I was joking and hobbled home. I was fine after a couple of days.
    My right knee is still a bit ****ed, but that's from multiple cycling accidents over the years.

Remember the spire pic?
    Well the uncut version is out there.
    Hours after I uploaded the one to boards, a former friend got his hands on the SD card with the original pic and e-mailed it to everyone he knew. It made its way around the world through e-mail and MMS. There was some very embarrassing shrinkage on that cold January night.

Anyone I spoke to about it (including some friends who are solicitors) told me to sue, but I decided to take another path.

That's just the tip of the iceberg. There were so many other times over the years that I could have sued people, but it's no something I like doing.
    What I find hilarious is this desperate rush of posters tripping over themselves to say how Norris has been set up because of "an extreme right wing agenda" in one instance, (ignoring the fact that the author of the piece was working side by side with Norris at the height of his social campaigning days, including IIRC on decriminalising homosexual acts). Are they not big enough and bold enough to admit that maybe Norris screwed up, but knows better now? Even the man himself can admit that ffs.

I didn't see that. Can you link to those posts, please?

Batsy wrote: »
    People are not genetically gay. If that was the case, nearly all the ancestors and nearly all the descendants of gay people would also be gay.

The evidence for this is overwhelming. Not only is there no gay gene, but why is it that homosexuality has survived natural selection when gay couples can't produce children? And if homosexuality was genetic, then everytime a set of twins is born if one is gay then the other would be, too, and that it not always the case.
    How do you explain Jedward?

definitely wont be voting for him.
    im not homophobic in the slightest, but when i see comments like that it makes me wonder tbh. this blatant coercion of young boys is fuc*king disgusting and makes me sick to my stomach, and this guy has absolutely no problem with this going on.
    norris is no better than larry murphy.
    to condone such behaviour is repulsive and he is a very disgusting public representation of a gay man.
    can you blame the citizens of this country for being homophobic when a gay potential presidential candidate is advocating paedophilia.

lol.
    That's some really fine trolling.

Is it true that David Norris wore a donkey jacket in the Garden of Remembrance?

If you don't get this jocular reference, google Michael Foot and be amazed at the power of the media.

Terry wrote: »
    Well the WBC do claim that we're all going to hell because of Norris.

The reason I added him is so that I can call him out in public when he starts his hate campaign.
    I'm not going to be abusive or anything. I'll just point out facts.
    There's no doubt that he'll delete me after a couple of posts, but I'll take a screen shot of them all as soon as I post them.

The truly tragic thing is, is that I know quiet a few Christians, and they are all Norris supporters! They said that no the don't believe in homosexuality, but the reality is, is that they live in the world, and that he is their candidate of choice.

I'd say he'll delete ya alright, people like him don't like being called on their unfounded rhetoric.

Terry wrote: »
    I didn't see that. Can you link to those posts, please?

Just check my posts. We had a bit of back and forth and I'm guessing that's what he's referring to

Is it true that David Norris wore a donkey jacket in the Garden of Remembrance?

If you don't get this jocular reference, google Michael Foot and be amazed at the power of the media.

I don't get it, but when I googled Michael Foot, there was loads of them, a scientist, a golfer, a doctor, there was a few facebook profiles. Are you talking about the conservative MP from (I think the 80's).

Oh, and could you explain the reference, cos I really don't get it :confused:

The truly tragic thing is, is that I know quiet a few Christians, and they are all Norris supporters! They said that no the don't believe in homosexuality, but the reality is, is that they live in the world, and that he is their candidate of choice.

According to newspaper interviews, David Norris is a "deeply religious" Christian (his words).

To his eternal credit, you wouldn't know it.

I don't get it, but when I googled Michael Foot, there was loads of them, a scientist, a golfer, a doctor, there was a few facebook profiles. Are you talking about the conservative MP from (I think the 80's).

Oh, and could you explain the reference, cos I really don't get it :confused:

UK Labour party leader in the 1980s, who was absolutely villified by the pro-Thatcher press.

As leader of the opposition, at a remembrance service in London, he wore a dark, expensive, tailored suit and a duffle-style overcoat.

The Sun said it was a donkey jacket (council labourer's workwear) and therefore very disrespectful to the war dead.

He lost the following election and never lived down the "donkey jacket" accusation.

The point is that once the press has its teeth in something, they will not let go.

Maybe I shouldn't have brought it up - you kind of had to be there.

UK Labour party leader in the 1980s, who was absolutely villified by the pro-Thatcher press.

As leader of the opposition, at a remembrance service in London, he wore a dark, expensive, tailored suit and a duffle-style overcoat.

The Sun said it was a donkey jacket (council labourer's workwear) and therefore very disrespectful to the war dead.

He lost the following election and never lived down the "donkey jacket" accusation.

The point is that once the press has its teeth in something, they will not let go.

Maybe I shouldn't have brought it up - you kind of had to be there.

I have a very vague recollection of who he is! I think I did hear something about that alright, but in far vaguer terms. Now I know, what it is, I get what I heard before! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭The Left Hand Of God

On reflection I am going to have to Say No.

Comes across now as a bloke who would surround himself with slim, lithe and somewhat sexy young asian guys.

Bit like that poet bloke who was in the news a while back.
    Nothing wrong with it if that is your thing but not really the baggage you would want attached to the Presidency.

I have a very vague recollection of who he is! I think I did hear something about that alright, but in far vaguer terms. Now I know, what it is, I get what I heard before! :o

Over twenty years later, a journalist went to interview him for a profile piece in a major UK national newspaper.

He was well over 80 at that stage, and the interview was going to be about his dealings with Tony Blair, Tony Benn, CND, life over the previous decades, etc, etc.

His first words to the interviewer, before any questions were asked, were these: "It wasn't a donkey jacket, you know..."

I hope David Norris does not have a similar future.

Comes across now as a bloke who would surround himself with slim, lithe and somewhat sexy young asian guys.

Indeed - during this campaign, or even in the Seanad, he has spoken of little else.

Meanwhile, outside the confines of your imagination, there is an alternative discussion going on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,063 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Donkey Jacket.
    Apparently the chick named after a boat liked it.

Aside from that, I just wanted to address the campness of David Norris, or lack thereof. I just keep forgetting.

Here's a camp gay Irish man:

Here's David Norris:

He's not really that camp.

Over twenty years later, a journalist went to interview him for a profile piece in a major UK national newspaper.

He was well over 80 at that stage, and the interview was going to be about his dealings with Tony Blair, Tony Benn, CND, life over the previous decades, etc, etc.

His first words to the interviewer, before any questions were asked, were these: "It wasn't a donkey jacket, you know..."

I hope David Norris does not have a similar future.

I really hope he doesn't either. I actually emailed him a while back, and told him I hope he becomes president. Took him a while to reply as he was travelling, and he thanked me. I emailed him again last night to tell him I still hoped he'd be president, and he emailed me back, said it was nice to hear from me again, and that it was good to know he had supporters.

I am delighted with meself. I would imagine someone typed it up, but a friend of mine knows him quiet well as she works with a disabilities rights groups and he's involved with them, and she he always replies to stuff himself.