David Norris for President....would you vote for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Nodin wrote: »
    began to do the finale of riverdance

The more I hear about this guy the more I hate him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

The more I hear about this guy the more I hate him.

...you didn't see the way his man bosoms hypnotically jiggled, the nipples drawing your eyes, causing you to sway with his frantic movements....O it was horror in-your-face-bendering of the worst order.

And if thats what he does on the campaign, what kind of Greco-Romano naked wrestling orgy will he replace the Angelus with? Answer me that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Pro-David Norris people will want to give him the benefit of the doubt on this, but the fact remains that, for good or for bad, his comments were reported as being "supportive" of O'S.

I think that this one could be even more damaging than MagillGate.

Just to clarify, both David Norris and Eoghan Harris, did come out in support of Cathal O'Searcaighs WORK!!! They were talking about his works being taken out of the national syllabus. They were trying to divide his works from his actions. They were also arguing that that he could not be prosecuted in Ireland for crimes not committed in or against Ireland.

Now don't get me wrong, I have nothing good to say about O'Searcaigh, not one good thing, I think he should be strung up, nor would I endorse his work in any way! It doesn't make people who do endorse his work sexual predators, nor does it mean that they agree with or validate what he did!

And if thats what he does on the campaign, what kind of Greco-Romano naked wrestling orgy will he replace the Angelus with? Answer me that.

I'd vote for extracts from his outstanding Seanad speeches (available on his website, well worth a read to anyone who has doubts about the man) over extracts from his rather awful Newstalk shows.

But even the wrestling orgy would be better than the ghastly Ronan Collins theme music that currently follows the mid-day Angelus. I hear the Angelus as a kind of a warning tone to switch over.

RachaelVO wrote: »
    Just to clarify, both David Norris and Eoghan Harris, did come out in support of Cathal O'Searcaighs WORK!!! They were talking about his works being taken out of the national syllabus. They were trying to divide his works from his actions. They were also arguing that that he could not be prosecuted in Ireland for crimes not committed in or against Ireland.

Now don't get me wrong, I have nothing good to say about O'Searcaigh, not one good thing, I think he should be strung up, nor would I endorse his work in any way! It doesn't make people who do endorse his work sexual predators, nor does it mean that they agree with or validate what he did!

Rachael, that's a useful clarification, but I was drawing attention to how it was reported - and how the "no smoke without fire" brigade will react.

I sorta gathered that when I read your later posts :o:o:o:o

At least it's out there for other to read though, and possibly enlighten themselves :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,425 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

How exactly does one groom some-one to be gay?

I would have no issue at all with an older gay man encouraging a younger man who might be feeling confused about himself, to explore who he is, none at all.

You're making it sound as though gay men are paedophiles.

They groom them in exactly the same way paedophiles do. Do you not believe this can happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 56,425 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Absolutely. Last week he arrived and knocked at my door. Putting down a boom box he - wearing nothing more than a short leather skirt and rather dapper pair of thigh high boots - began to do the finale of riverdance, screaming "I'm Gay, Gay, Gay".

Imagine what might result from such flagrant in your face gaying. Already I've had to restrain myself from washing and putting on a nice shirt.

Very poor reply. Trying to make fun of someone's post is not really answering or questioning their view. A bit like the homophobic retorts when things are going badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

They groom them in exactly the same way paedophiles do. Do you not believe this can happen?

I believe you can encourage some-one to explore their sexuality. I believe you can introduce them to new and different lifestyles.

I don't believe for a second you can 'groom' some-one to be a certain sexuality.

And I know you cannot compare homosexuality to paedophilia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    Which court found him guilty?

Who said a court found him guilty? Calm down and stop jumping to conclusions. The weekend is almost here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Very poor reply. Trying to make fun of someone's post is not really answering or questioning their view. A bit like the homophobic retorts when things are going badly.

Given your posting history, you've two chances of playing that card.

I believe you can encourage some-one to explore their sexuality. I believe you can introduce them to new and different lifestyles.

I don't believe for a second you can 'groom' some-one to be a certain sexuality.

And I know you cannot compare homosexuality to paedophilia.

I didn't say that. A homosexual can groom a young lad just like a paedo can.
    I believe that a vulnerable young lad can be preyed on by a homosexual just as easily as a young girl can be by a straight man too.

Given your posting history, you've two chances of playing that card.

Another poor reply.

Addressed to everyone - do you think he'll get in?

If he gets a nomination yes I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Johnnymcg wrote: »
    TheHomosexual
    Agenda

8:00 a.m. Wake up. Wonder where you are.
    8:01 a.m. Realize you are lying on 100 percent
    cotton sheets of at least a 300 count, so don't
    panic; you're not slumming.
    8:02 a.m. Realize you are actually in your own
    bed for a change. Wake stranger next to you
    and tell them you are late for work so won't be
    able to cook breakfast for them. Mutter "sorry"
    as you help him look for his far-flung
    underwear. You find out that you tore his
    boxers while ripping them off him last night, so
    you "loan" him a pair of boxer-briefs, but not
    the new ones because you never intend to see
    him again.
    8:05 a.m. Tell the stranger, whose name eludes
    you, "It was fun. I'll give you a call," as you
    usher him out the door, avoiding his egregious
    morning-breath.
    8:06 a.m. Crumple and dispose of the piece of
    paper with his telephone number on it when
    you get to the kitchen.
    8:07 a.m. Make a high protein breakfast while
    watching the Today show. Wonder if the stories
    you've heard about Matt Lauer are true. Decide
    they must be.
    8:30 a.m. Italian or domestic? Decide to go
    with three-button Italian and the only shirt that
    is clean.
    8:45 a.m. Climb into red Z4 and try not to look
    too much like Barbie driving one of her
    accessories as you pull out of your underground
    parking. Revos or Armanis? Go with Revos.
    9:35 a.m. Stroll into office.
    9:36 a.m. Close door to office and call best
    friend and laugh about the guy who spent the
    night at your condo. Point out something
    annoying about best friend's boyfriend but
    quickly add "It doesn't matter what everyone
    else thinks, just as long as you love him."
    10:15 a.m. Leave office, telling your secretary
    you are "meeting with a client." Pretend not to
    notice her insubordinate roll of her eyes (or the
    cloying "poem" she has tacked to her cubicle
    wall).
    10:30 a.m. Hair appointment for lowlights and
    cut. Purchase of Aveda anti-humectant
    pomade.
    11:30 a.m. Run into personal trainer at gym.
    Pester him about getting you Human Growth
    Hormone. Spend 30 minutes talking to friends
    on your cell phone while using Hammer
    Strength machines, preparing a mental-matrix
    of which circuit parties everyone is going to and
    which are now passe.
    12:00pm Tan. Schedule back-waxing in time for
    Saturday party where you know you will end up
    shirtless.
    12:30 p.m. Pay trainer for anabolic steroids and
    schedule a workout. Shower, taking ten minutes
    to knot your tie while you check-out your best
    friend's boyfriend undress with the calculation
    of someone used to wearing a t-back and
    having dollars stuffed in their crotch.
    1:00 p.m. Meet someone for whom you only
    know his waist, chest and penis size from AOL
    M4M chat for lunch at a hot, new restaurant.
    Because the maître d' recognizes you from a
    gay bar, you are whisked past the Christian
    heterosexual couples who have been waiting
    patiently for a table since 12:30.
    2:30 p.m. "Dessert at your place." Find out,
    once again, people lie on AOL.
    3:33 p.m. Assume complete control of the U.S.,
    state, and local governments (in addition to
    other nations' governments); destroy all healthy
    Christian marriages; recruit all children grades
    Kindergarten through 12 into your amoral, filthy
    lifestyle; secure complete control of the media,
    starting with sitcoms; molest innocent children;
    give AIDS to as many people as you can; host a
    pornographic "art" exhibit at your local art
    museum; and turn people away from Jesus,
    causing them to burn forever in Hell.
    4:10 p.m. Time permitting, bring about the
    general decline of Western Civilization and look
    like you are having way too much fun doing it.
    4:30 p.m. Take a disco-nap to prevent facial
    wrinkles from the stress of world conquest and
    being so terribly witty.
    6:00 p.m. Open a fabulous new bottle of
    Malbec.
    6:47 P.M. Bake Ketamine for weekend. Test
    recipe.
    7:00 P.M. Go to Abercrombie & Fitch and
    announce in a loud voice, "Over!"
    7:40 P.M. Stop looking at the photographic
    displays at Abercrombie & Fitch and go to a cool
    store to begin shopping.
    8:30 p.m. Light dinner with catty homosexual
    friends at a restaurant you will be "over" by the
    time it gets its first review in the local paper.
    10:30 p.m. Cocktails at a debauched gay bar,
    trying to avoid alcoholic queens who can't
    navigate a crowd with a lit cigarette in one hand
    and a Stoli in a cheap plastic cup in the other.
    Make audible remark about how "trashy" people
    who still think smoking is acceptable are.
    12:00 a.m. "Nightcap at your place." Find out
    that people lie in bars, too.
    good god, you have a very interesting, exciting life, mine is more mundane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

orourkeda wrote: »
    I believe he is a bit too eccentric to be an effective president

Looking at the previous holders of said office I was always under the impression that it was practically a qualification for the gig ?
    yupyup7up wrote: »
    By the way, he was born in the Congo, is he even qualified to run for the presidency? I'm not sure about the rules and regulations.

Not this birther shyte again :rolleyes:

Given that weve had a previous office holder born in the United State and the present incumbent born in the United Kingdom I dont see how he would be disqualified.

If he gets a nomination yes I do!

I was surprised to see that Michael D was the favourite with Betfair when I checked yesterday, but if Norris gets the nomination and his PR team up their game a bit, I think you could be right.

Ah bookies will do whatever is in their own best interests, you'll see that going up and down as suits their desire for profit :)

Yeah, his PR lads need to cop on a bit, and be more on the ball, there is not point in trying to wash mud away, it's better if it doesn't hit!

I have to say, that if Norris wasn't running, I'd be supporting Michael D. I think he would make a superb president too, it's just that my preference is for David Norris.

Ah bookies will do whatever is in their own best interests, you'll see that going up and down as suits their desire for profit.

You're absolutely right there - but Betfair isn't your Paddy Power or Ivan Yates bookies. It's a public exchange, and therefore a genuine reflection of punter sentiment.

Mind you, the point about profit-searching applies to them as well.

Just checked, and DN and MDH are now not far off being joint favourites.

I didn't say that. A homosexual can groom a young lad just like a paedo can.
    I believe that a vulnerable young lad can be preyed on by a homosexual just as easily as a young girl can be by a straight man too.

There you go again, comparing two things that are not remotely alike.

You can't 'groom' some-one to be gay, you either are or you are not. Although I can think of far worse things to 'groomed' to.

Anyone can be a predator, being gay does not make you more likely to be so.

I have to say, that if Norris wasn't running, I'd be supporting Michael D. I think he would make a superb president too, it's just that my preference is for David Norris.

How about a civil partnership between David and Michael so they can both get to live in Phoenix Park and do the state occasions etc together?

I'd vote for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭alcomoholic

definitely wont be voting for him.
    im not homophobic in the slightest, but when i see comments like that it makes me wonder tbh. this blatant coercion of young boys is fuc*king disgusting and makes me sick to my stomach, and this guy has absolutely no problem with this going on.
    norris is no better than larry murphy.
    to condone such behaviour is repulsive and he is a very disgusting public representation of a gay man.
    can you blame the citizens of this country for being homophobic when a gay potential presidential candidate is advocating paedophilia.

Anyone can be a predator, being gay does make you more likely to be so.

Did you mean to put a "not" in there, Audrey?

You're absolutely right there - but Betfair isn't your Paddy Power or Ivan Yates bookies. It's a public exchange, and therefore a genuine reflection of punter sentiment.

Mind you, the point about profit-searching applies to them as well.

Just checked, and DN and MDH are now not far off being joint favourites.

Never knew that about bef fair. I just assumed they were a bookies same as Paddy Power etc; Ya learn something new everyday :)

I think if they both get a nomination it will go to the wire. I don't think any other candidate will get a look in.

Do you know (cos I can't actually remember) are the votes just tallied up within the entire country in one count as it were, or are they done in constituencies?

Did you mean to put a "not" in there, Audrey?

Yes Donkey I did, oops! :o

im not homophobic in the slightest, but when i see comments like that it makes me wonder tbh. this blatant coercion of young boys is fuc*king disgusting and makes me sick to my stomach, and this guy has absolutely no problem with this going on.
    to condone such behaviour is repulsive and he is a very disgusting public representation of a gay man.
    can you blame the citizens of this country for being homophobic when a gay potential presidential candidate is advocating paedophilia.

Since he is not and has not advocated anything of the sort, yes I can blame people for being homophobic.

Believe me, there are indeed people out there saying exactly this, despite the fact that David Norris is not advocating paedophilia and as far as I know seems to have spent his entire adult life campaigning against abuse in all its forms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭alcomoholic

obviously you havent read the quotes addressed to him then or his defence of o'searcaighs raping of young boys

Obviously you have read them incorrectly.