Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'let's talk perks and weapons' thread. Make war, not love!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭dunworth1

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Last stand is a PITA but I still don't think it should be banned. Once again, it adds dimension to the game and ensures that you should be sure of your kill before turning your back or moving on.

If I could practice what I preach there I'd be fine but I have been caught out by LS more than once :(

i think it should be made harder too shoot people as its far to easy to kill someone in LS after they brought you into last stand

maybe a bloody screen and a shaky hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

dunworth1 wrote: »
    i think it should be made harder too shoot people as its far to easy to kill someone in LS after they brought you into last stand

maybe a bloody screen and a shaky hand

Actually that's a good point, that would be pretty cool, bloody screen, shaking hand and fading vision! It still offers a chance to make a kill but less accurate.

I think that would completely cripple the perk and many wouldn't use it but if it wasn't too severe some people would still use it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

It can have some benefits like in HCHQ which I am playing more often now simply cause it gives you more XP than other games. When in last stand you can still capture the HQ.

Other benefits is one of the guys I play with uses it and sometimes he is on a big killstreak and one kill off dogs or something, so we all rush to revive him so our team gets dogs.

It can have some benefits like in HCHQ which I am playing more often now simply cause it gives you more XP than other games. When in last stand you can still capture the HQ.

Other benefits is one of the guys I play with uses it and sometimes he is on a big killstreak and one kill off dogs or something, so we all rush to revive him so our team gets dogs.

Strategic thinking...that's what a good loadout is all about. :) That's why I like perks in team games, when they are used correctly a team can be very formidable, even with a couple of weak players.

One Man Army in MW2 almost ruined that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

thats what ive been saying about last stand with ages. you shouldnt be able to aim properly. you are meant to be near death after all, so you're not going to be able to snipe someone from the length of the map with a handgun.
    bloody screen shakey hand or bloody screen and "hip fire only" would work too.

one man army didnt bother me on mw2 and i rarely used it myself. what i hated been used againt me was lightweight pro, marathon pro, commandy pro and then that handgun that had the ability for you to knife faster.

so you were now having unlimited sprint. faster sprint. longer knife range and because you have a pistol out you're even faster at running and then you have the knife already out with the handgun so your now even faster at knifing.
    I'l admit i tried this and got bored of it pretty fast and knifing people across the room when they are shooting at you is sad.
    what made all these perks worse was when people got a care package and just had the marker yoke for it out so they could run across the map in seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

with regards the rule set tom was talking about and the irl lads take on the game i think both sides go a bit far . tom the lads have a point and the rule set takes a lot out of the game, there is a point where perks and attachments can get abused but the majority of guns and perks add a nice element of change in the game(that would otherwise eventually get boring). they can also be very useful depending on the game type . i know what you said earlier about nading a flag to defend it and thats a fair point. but what happens when you have a bunch of jokers with nube tubes out ready to blast you away. flak jacket can give you the edge you need to take them in a one on one.

on the other hand irl lads from my experience playing with you guys you took a lot of the perks and attachments too far. from my point of view you camped with nube tubes out. now fair enough you guys played to win and it was a means to and end but i honestly feel like thats just as bad as no perks at all. its boring and pointless and would be frustrating if everyone everywhere played like that every game.

with the exception of last stand id say most of the perks and guns should stay. but use them in moderation

Yeah I am all about the win. I always use the AUG with grenade launcher when playing Dom and spam the hell out of B when the other team is trying to cap it. As far as I am concerned its up to the enemy team to combat what am doing.

My usually load out for Dom would be....

AUG with Grenade Launcher - Crossbow - Frag - Flashbang - Tac Insertion

Flak Jacket - SoH - Marathon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

^^^^^

I swapped tac inserts for C4 in Dom. Its the fo shizzel. Just throw a load of it down on B and go on your merry way

"wer losing B"

Double tap B

double kill

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

sierra117x wrote: »
    with regards the rule set tom was talking about and the irl lads take on the game i think both sides go a bit far . tom the lads have a point and the rule set takes a lot out of the game, there is a point where perks and attachments can get abused but the majority of guns and perks add a nice element of change in the game(that would otherwise eventually get boring). they can also be very useful depending on the game
    type . i know what you said earlier about nading a flag to defend it and thats a fair point. but what happens when you have a bunch of jokers with nube tubes out ready to blast you away. flak jacket can give you the edge you need to take them in a one on one.

on the other hand irl lads from my experience playing with you guys you took a lot of the perks and attachments too far. from my point of view you camped with nube tubes out. now fair enough you guys played to win and it was a means to and end but i honestly feel like thats just as bad as no perks at all. its boring and pointless and would be frustrating if everyone everywhere played like that every game.

with the exception of last stand id say most of the perks and guns should stay. but use them in moderation

Pretty sure noobtubes are banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

bubbleking wrote: »
    ^^^^^

I swapped tac inserts for C4 in Dom. Its the fo shizzel. Just throw a load of it down on B and go on your merry way

"wer losing B"

Double tap B

double kill

:cool:

C4s are beast on a rushing class, i use it on my mp5k/lightweight/steadyaim/marathon class

Yeah I am all about the win. I always use the AUG with grenade launcher when playing Dom and spam the hell out of B when the other team is trying to cap it. As far as I am concerned its up to the enemy team to combat what am doing.

My usually load out for Dom would be....

AUG with Grenade Launcher - Crossbow - Frag - Flashbang - Tac Insertion

Flak Jacket - SoH - Marathon

Pretty much the reason why the only first perk I use (With the occasional exception) is flak jacket... So fun catching newbs with their ****ty tubes out.. most of them are so stupid that they actually reload and go for another shot (I usually do a wee 360 spin just to lol at their lack of skill).

Yeah flak jacket is a must have on domination for capping flags.

fjsanchez wrote: »
    C4s are beast on a rushing class, i use it on my mp5k/lightweight/steadyaim/marathon class

I tried doing that on hardcore but kept blowing myself up. :o

dont forget smoke grenades

flashbangs

dunworth1 wrote: »
    flashbangs

not when capping flags - I'd use flashbangs for SnD or HQ

they can be great for stopping the other team from capping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

I'd say I play DOM about 70%

Usual loadout:
    Famas w/ dual mags
    strela

hardline, slight of hand, hacker

frag, concussion, claymore

spy, counter, blackbird

Have never really felt the need for flak jacket

I've just prestiged so this will be used for while but last week I used galil with supp and it was beast :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭mlindsay215

As failsafe as demonstrated flashbangs in HCTF is very useful and often a lifesaver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

Magill wrote: »
    Pretty sure noobtubes are banned.

i was talking about in pub games. i kinda thought with the same rules all the time it'd get a little boring and was just trying to point out the benefits of some of the perks

sierra117x wrote: »
    i was talking about in pub games. i kinda thought with the same rules all the time it'd get a little boring and was just trying to point out the benefits of some of the perks

ahh yeah, thought you talking about the competitive rules he was on about.

Its kind of funny seeing the amount of people who don't understand competitive gaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

AdamD wrote: »
    Its kind of funny seeing the amount of people who don't understand competitive gaming.
    Would you mind starting a thread then, describing what competitive gaming is?

Personal note:
    Equally, it's kinda funny seeing people who just don't get that not everyone is into competitive gaming or values competitive gaming as anything other than boring.

Mod note:

Now unless you've something positive to contribute to this thread don't post in it again. Thanks.

This thread is here to talk about perks, weapons and loadouts not to slag off those who use them.

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Personal note:
    Equally, it's kinda funny seeing people who just don't get that not everyone is into competitive gaming or values competitive gaming as anything other than boring.
    There's quite a difference between not finding it fun, and posting on a forum saying the ruleset takes no skill.

I think you will need to start your own thread for this but imho there is more skill in earning how to utilize/combat all the weapons and perks in the game as opposed to earning how to Halo jump and drop shot

Played a bit on the competitive playlist the other day and tbh I got absolutely pwned in the first couple of games. Then I looked back in Theater mode at the guys who were doing well....

For the next couple of games I just jumped around every corner and went prone every time I got in a gun fight - think I had 2 flawless games and finished top of the leaderboard on the other 2. To me the game was "figured out" far too quickly so I just got bored and left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭OriginalTom

I think you will need to start your own thread for this but imho there is more skill in earning how to utilize/combat all the weapons and perks in the game as opposed to earning how to Halo jump and drop shot

Played a bit on the competitive playlist the other day and tbh I got absolutely pwned in the first couple of games. Then I looked back in Theater mode at the guys who were doing well....

For the next couple of games I just jumped around every corner and went prone every time I got in a gun fight - think I had 2 flawless games and finished top of the leaderboard on the other 2. To me the game was "figured out" far too quickly so I just got bored and left
    The competitive playlist isn't exactly the be all and end all of competitive players and the way to play. If anything, it's only 50% of what actually is 'competitive'. I don't even use it to warm up for Decerto games, we have a set FFA Custom game that is 10x better than that playlist. That playlist is there to up the attention to the competitive side of CoD, and in that case it has been a success.

If you want to play actual competitive, get a 4 man team, sign up on Decerto and play a friendly scrim against any other team that is on there. I can guarantee you that you halo jumping won't help you much against a team of players that actually know what they're doing.

The competitive playlist isn't exactly the be all and end all of competitive players and the way to play. If anything, it's only 50% of what actually is 'competitive'. I don't even use it to warm up for Decerto games, we have a set FFA Custom game that is 10x better than that playlist. That playlist is there to up the attention to the competitive side of CoD, and in that case it has been a success.

If you want to play actual competitive, get a 4 man team, sign up on Decerto and play a friendly scrim against any other team that is on there. I can guarantee you that you halo jumping won't help you much against a team of players that actually know what they're doing.

ah I might give it an aul spin so for the laugh - add my GT and I'll hop into a game with ye over the weekend if you're around (I'll be on from Friday but it might be saturday before I get into a game with you - Im just after hitting the 15th prestige so I need to xp whore for awhile to get all my pro perks/guns etc :))

I'm not talking about the "competitive" playlist, that thing allows famas :D awful awful ruleset. And you're playing against public players anyways. Decerto/Eu varient matches >

Though on black ops competitive can be reaaaaaaaally annoying because people use their special grenades a lot more than in public games, very frustrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 conor.b

fave gun is AK47 lvl 38, it really good if u get the hang of it, not many people use it because of the recoil