Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 'let's talk perks and weapons' thread. Make war, not love!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

beasted so hard last night the controller set alight in my hands. Bill gates called me up and was like "yo athboy stop pounding everyone you play against its causing them to trade in their xbox"
    and I was like "yo Bill stop cogging up my bandwidth or I wont get to enjoy my 8th Blackbird in the 2nd minute of this match"
    He was like "teach me"
    I was like "nah"

True story

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭mlindsay215

If the main gun you use is a Famas, it already signals that you are not a strong player because you have to rely on such an overpowered gun to do well.

Thats a little niave. Any epic player could make full use of the famas and therefore make himself better.

I commend such players, making full and proper use of everything available to him to make himself a better player.

@Ath,

Epic tale my friend, epic indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭OriginalTom

These are the posts I refered to in my PM :rolleyes:

Maybe we can play a clan match another time, but if you play the BRDS lads, make sure you's stick it up on youtube for us to see how you's get on.

Perhaps I phrased it wrong, didn't mean for it to come out the way that it did. And yeh, I record so will definitely upload.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

bubbleking wrote: »
    beasted so hard last night the controller set alight in my hands. Bill gates called me up and was like "yo athboy stop pounding everyone you play against its causing them to trade in their xbox"
    and I was like "yo Bill stop cogging up my bandwidth or I wont get to enjoy my 8th Blackbird in the 2nd minute of this match"
    He was like "teach me"
    I was like "nah"

True story

I call bullsh!t, I've seen ya play :D:D:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭mlindsay215

IPAM wrote: »
    I call bullsh!t, I've seen ya play :D:D:D

If we where comparing to him against you I would believe that tale np :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

Wow, I'm gone for 4 days and this is what happens?!

Quit clogging up the thread with shíte. I wanna read about games played last night that I'm missing out on, not what gun is better than another.

BTW, all yee IRL lads need to lose the attitude. Not everyone on this forum is a bad guy out to get you.

u are not a mod so why do u think we give a dame if u where gone for 4 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭dunworth1

Wow, I'm gone for 4 days and this is what happens?!

Quit clogging up the thread with shíte. I wanna read about games played last night that I'm missing out on, not what gun is better than another.

BTW, all yee IRL lads need to lose the attitude. Not everyone on this forum is a bad guy out to get you.

hey hold on just a minute while you were gone everyone got on fine here and now that you back your trying to start up a war between everyone again.

Your sir are the one who needs to loose the attitude and grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,139 ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

naughto wrote: »
    u are not a mod so why do u think we give a damen if u where gone for 4 years

Very observant so you are. You're right, I'm not a mod. If I was I, would dish out hefty bans to most posters of the last few pages.

Anywho's this thread is for games about last night so I'll stop here.

dunworth1 wrote: »
    hey hold on just a minute while you were gone everyone got on fine here and now that you back your trying to start up a war between everyone again.

Your sir are the one who needs to loose the attitude and grow up.

I have no attitude what so ever.

Yea, clearly you guys got on. The last couple of pages of garbage must just be my imagination.

in fairness nothing really being said to merit a ban. People (everyone) just need to stop being so petty and realise Tom started it :p

kidding obv but ye know the drill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭OriginalTom

bubbleking wrote: »
    in fairness nothing really being said to merit a ban. People (everyone) just need to stop being so petty and realise Tom started it :p

kidding obv but ye know the drill

:( sad face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

Perhaps I phrased it wrong, didn't mean for it to come out the way that it did. And yeh, I record so will definitely upload.

Want me to edit a montage out of it for ya ? You guys are bound to get some beast clips against IRL !

Why is it once a month some IRL members come in here like women on the rag, bitchin an stirring ****, everyone gets on grand till the usual suspects come along

Good games tonight lads! Starting to like nuketown again :)

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Clearly both sides cannot coincide and I'll need to think about what to do.

For a few certain individuals, this is most definitely a final warning. There won't be ANY hesitation in handing out 3, or 6 or even permanent bans from the forum. This fly under the radar type trolling I won't stand for too and the hypocrisy of some here is damn astounding considering what has happened in the past.

But in general, will you all the cop the **** on and grow up. The charter was amended because of you kidsadults

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Right, I've moved 44 posts from the XBox About last night thread, if anyone starts posting in there again about perks and weapon loadouts they will be banned, unless it's directly related to games that were played 'last night'.

I'm going to go through this new thread now and issue some infractions.

Also, I can see a concerted effort by one group of posters to antagonise another. I'm still modding this forum until we sort out some new mods. My last mod action may be some permbans from the forum. I'm sick of the few individuals causing the same problems over and over again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Epic thread title is epic

Is it just for IRL or can everyone use it to talk about perks etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭dunworth1

i assume its anyone

Im assuming its for everyone. Without sounding pedantic can the thread title be changed to "lets talk about perks and weapons thread"? there isnt really a need to have IRL in the title imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

To the IRL clan , ye play mainly hardcore and more so hcctf and thats your preferred gamemode , fair enough theres a wide range of playlists to suit everyone.
    But to say its more of a challenge with all equipment/guns/perks than the decerto rules is beyond me.
    Decerto rules are all about teamwork (4v4) communication, tactics, individual as well as team skill.
    Playing 6 v 6 pub rules imo isnt as skillful when you have 2 lads staring at the flag with motion sensors or the like.
    I did play competitively for a few years and would love to go back to it but unfortunately with old age comes slower reflexes :p.

Maybe if the IRL clan tryed it out ye might actually enjoy it as its far more exciting and satisfying then your regular pub stomping which i'm sure ye might be a little bored with.

CTF is a bad example to use because if you dont have at least 2 people watching the flag at all times a good team will have you wiped out in less than 2 mins

Take SnD for example - why shouldnt everything be allowed in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

fjsanchez wrote: »
    Epic thread title is epic

I think its a terrible thread title because it solely puts the blame on players from the IRL clan for what happened on the about last night, but its what I have come to expect from mods in this forum.

Aslong as your not a member of the IRL clan you can post wherever you like on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Aslong as your not a member of the IRL clan you can post wherever you like on this forum.

FFS, make like a traveller and move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

CORaven wrote: »

So what I am not allowed post in any forums now because I am a settled traveller? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

I think its a terrible thread title because it solely puts the blame on players from the IRL clan for what happened on the about last night, but its what I have come to expect from mods in this forum.

You're honestly asking yourself for trouble

CORaven wrote: »
    when the title of the page is changed not untill then

i want to know why its called The IRL 'let's talk perks and weapons thread'

So you guys think I'm having a pop at you huh? Not so. I really couldn't give a toss who posts in this thread but you guys made it your business to use the other thread to talk (off-topic) about weapons and loadouts. I'm making it very clear that this new thread, created especially for you is where that should happen. However I will change the thread title to make it clear that it's not just for IRL members :)

Now, as I said, I'm sick of this. You guys could easily have sent me a PM to discuss this but instead took this thread off topic too.

Last warning. Any more off-topic comments or discussion of moderation on this forum will result in bans.

As for perks and loadouts I happen to agree with the IRL lads and indeed myself and Stefanno2002 used to have this argument all the time. I firmly believe that any and all perks, weapons and loadouts in the game are 'fair-game'. I don't believe in restricting gameplay by inflicting rules. I didn't think much of Promod back in the day.

Everything can be counteracted and the different perks etc make the game much more interesting imo. That said, there are of course perks that I can't stand and weapons that I think are overpowered, that was really obvious in COD4 in particular. I also don't like people taking advantage of glitches either.

last stand should be banned

last stand is a pain in the hole but its better since they fixed the glitch where you could be shot by a last standers primary weapon - that used to wreck my head. It can be useful if used right though such as capping points in HQ or DOM

I cant really think of any other perk/weapon that I really have a problem with. Its annoying getting done by Claymores but pretty predictable where most people put them at this stage

Last stand is a PITA but I still don't think it should be banned. Once again, it adds dimension to the game and ensures that you should be sure of your kill before turning your back or moving on.

If I could practice what I preach there I'd be fine but I have been caught out by LS more than once :(

Also, I agree about the claymores, 90% of the time they are predictably placed and the other 10% of the time they are either really poorly placed and completely visible a mile away or on occasion there's a brilliantly placed one that makes you ask 'How come I've never thought of doing that?' :)