Are Taxi's a rip off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Well, if anyone can do it i'll up the ante and offer you 20,000 if YOU can do it

I'll provide the taxi and pay for your insurance too i'm that confident

All you gotta do is make a wage

DO what exactly? drive around picking up fares?

easy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Degag wrote: »
    Harsh. I think most people can realise that it's a tough job.

I won't be whipping out my violin just yet! They could have it much worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

taxis in the uk are dirt cheap compared to here

a fair that would cost 15 euro here would be around 4 5 pounds over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭ap1986

of course taxis are a rip off.....can anyone explain to me what the €4 25 is when we first get into a taxi in dublin???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I won't be whipping out my violin just yet! They could have it much worse!
    No doubt, they could have it far easier too though.

Like how? the taxi man gets driving around by a driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

Not really, you just need to haggle. If i way to pay full fair from town to my house it would be around €20, but i wont get into a taxi unless they do it for 13-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,372 ✭✭✭kirving

I totally appreciate that running a car is expensive, and that has to be paid for before anything else. However, cars should be of a high minimum specification. All at least Skoda Ocavia size and be 5 Star Euro NCAP rated, nothing less.

If taxi drivers want to increase their business, many of them are going to have to cop on and offer something that we want - at a lower price. It's fine when the price is split, but if getting a taxi on my own wasn't ridiculously overpirced, I'd do it a hell of a lot more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Oranage2 wrote: »
    DO what exactly? drive around picking up fares?

easy!!!
    OK then, as soon as you have your SPSV give me a shout and we'll see how easy it is

see ya in 6-8 months

Like how? the taxi man gets driving around by a driver?

Oh ffs, i hope you're trolling because this is pretty ridiculous.

They have to do longs days and nights. They may only get home at 5 or 6 in the morning and have to be up in an hour or two to take the kids to school or look after them. They have to work weekends, bank holidays, Christmas, Easter etc. When everyone else is out enjoying themselves they have to work.

When they are working they have to put up with unruly people who won't want to pay them, give them abuse, threaten physical violence etc and other people who will leave every kind of bodily fluid all over their cars. If someone pukes all over their car at 10pm, they probably can't work the rest of the night. They also have to clean this mess up, unless they manage to get the extra fee - whatever it is, and get someone to do it for them.

My point is, it's not an easy job, i can't understand how anyone could think that it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

They have to do longs days and nights. They may only get home at 5 or 6 in the morning and have to be up in an hour or two to take the kids to school or look after them. They have to work weekends, bank holidays, Christmas, Easter etc. When everyone else is out enjoying themselves they have to work.

Yeah, one of these fukkers fell asleep at the wheel with my uncle in the back. The taxi went off the road and flipped over a hedge and landed upside down in a field.

Oh and I also had a taxi man point to the temperature on the air conditioner panel and pretend that was the fare (22deg = 22euro???).

When they are working they have to put up with unruly people who won't want to pay them, give them abuse, threaten physical violence etc and other people who will leave every kind of bodily fluid all over their cars. If someone pukes all over their car at 10pm, they probably can't work the rest of the night. They also have to clean this mess up, unless they manage to get the extra fee - whatever it is, and get someone to do it for them.

My point is, it's not an easy job, i can't understand how anyone could think that it is.

Well thats what having a low skilled job is all about - I'm sure waiters, retail staff, fast food workers all have tough jobs with long hours, unruely customers and still have to put the kids to bed but for some reason Taxi drivers think they're above this and entitled to a cushy job with great pay! And the truth of the matter is - if you're low skilled then you work hard for crap money!

For what reason do you think this? Also, you're admitting they have a tough enough job now?

Well i'm offering you 20 grand plus what you earn if ya take my offer

So what kinda job do you have that you could turn this down

I bet i could do it with me eyes closed:D

I was wondering the same.... my bet is that he's a painter.;)

For what reason do you think this? Also, you're admitting they have a tough enough job now?

Eaasy job that anyone can do - Though to make a lot of money in

Well i'm between jobs at the moment but i chugged for 6 months beofre going back to college, not easy but I got what i expected!

I was wondering the same.... my bet is that he's a painter.;)
    An artist of some description methinks;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Well, if anyone can do it i'll up the ante and offer you 20,000 if YOU can do it

I'll provide the taxi and pay for your insurance too i'm that confident

All you gotta do is make a wage

Seems like you're doing fairly well off if you can just offer up 20,000 like that to someone...supplying car and insurance too?

They are overpriced if there are less than three people in the car to split the fare, thats for sure!

An artist of some description methinks;)

Nah, just as i thought. Someone "between jobs" giving out about those putting money into his pocket every week.:rolleyes:

The average gross earnings of cab drivers is
    independently estimated at €58,010 per annum;
    or €40,350 after costs but before tax
    http://www.nationaltransport.ie/downloads/taxi-reg/economic-review-spsv-industry.pdf

Quit with the poor mouth please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,301 ✭✭✭sdanseo

ap1986 wrote: »
    of course taxis are a rip off.....can anyone explain to me what the €4 25 is when we first get into a taxi in dublin???

I really, really hate ignorant people who refuse to read the rest of the thread before posting. See my post above.

mgmt wrote: »
    Quit with the poor mouth please.
    How many hours a week is that for?:cool:

Nah, just as i thought. Someone "between jobs" giving out about those putting money into his pocket every week.:rolleyes:

Not on welware of any kind son or never have!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

They complain about part-timers driving after their other jobs.
    And that's a good point, I don't realy want a driver who is working 60 plus hours a week with their taxiing and their PAYE job.

From working hotel night porter myself I know the dangers of almost falling asleep at the wheel when driving home

But then the full timers work these crazy hours anyway, again I don't want my driver on the point of collapse.

Are tachographs a solution? Unlikely as there is little to no enforcement of standards. But I suppose in a crash at least the tachograph would be preserved for the insurance company
    I don't know the solution realy, I'm just seeing part timers and full timers work dangerously long hours

Lorry drivers and train drivers don't do it.

How many hours a week is that for?:cool:
    The average gross earnings of cab drivers is
    independently estimated at €58,010 per annum;
    or €40,350 after costs but before tax
    http://www.nationaltransport.ie/down...v-industry.pdf

Eh average hours. Why don't you read the report and then give me 20,000euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

sdonn wrote: »
    I really, really hate ignorant people who refuse to read the rest of the thread before posting. See my post above.

Re the point, would that not be the same any other city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

I was the one who made this thread,
    and I feel this is a perfect example of "what side of the fence you fall on" in life.

Lets look at both sides:

(average joe)
    - feels taxi fares are well to over priced. At least 20+ euro to get to any central location (central being defined as dublin city centre)

(taxi man)
    - over heads. petrol, tax, insurance.

But dare I be the one to say it. Peoples "views" changes when money is involved. Importantly when money is coming there way. Why sure someone could bitch and moan about taxi's but... if fate have it they BECOME a taxi driver themselves. Well, suddenly things arent "over-priced" and are "fair" :rolleyes:

Now, the problem I find with the taxi argument is that your average taxi driver has always played the 'poor mouth' - while sure I am willing to take on board with things the way they are now (more taxis on the road, less people going out etc) that the trade has suffered. Problem is, ask a taxi man 12 years ago about the trade... he'd give the same "poor mouth"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Kaneda_

Getting a taxi is like eating in a restaurant,after you finish your meal and are 20 quid down you wonder why you didnt just get a roll and drink for a fiver.

mgmt wrote: »
    Eh average hours. Why don't you read the report and then give me 20,000euro.
    Yep the average hours for 2008 are in that report which doesnt factor in time spent cleaning, servicing, maintaining, keeping accounts etc.

Not to mention unsocial hours and overtime which a taxi driver is not entitled too

Still want the 20,000?

you know what to do

Kaneda_ wrote: »
    Getting a taxi is like eating in a restaurant,after you finish your meal and are 20 quid down you wonder why you didnt just get a roll and drink for a fiver.
    You're eating in the wrong restaurants.