Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Taxi's a rip off?

• 31-05-2011 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

Was just reading the stingest thread and taxi's were mentioned.

I personally find them to be a rip off.
    I live in Blanchardstown. And if I wanted to get a taxi back from city centre after a night out its costs around 22 euros. For a 15 min drive? ....

As soon as you get in the car, no matter where you are going its automatically 4 euro. Could only be going up the road.

Thoughts?

(oh and i wasnt going to post this in the taxi forums :pac: all you'd get is justifying posts)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭Daegerty

They are, havn't been in one for years. They're transport for lazy posh people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Just do what i do and steal the car mats from the back before you get out....

...take that taxi people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I think the initial charge has to be substantial to avoid wasters taking a taxi off the rank where he may have been queueing just to go to the other end of the street.

As for the fares, I think they're high enough but at the same time I know how expensive it is to run a car and when you factor in having to make a living on top of that, and then maybe having to rent a radio etc on top of that, I can't see that there's much wiggle room for them.

I do think however that to get a taxi licence you should have to sit a mandatory extended driving test. Feck this how do I get to ABC street lark, that's what satnav's are for - more use to teach the gombeens how to drive without bullying everyone else off the road ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭seanie69r

LighterGuy wrote: »

I live in Blanchardstown. And if I wanted to get a taxi back from city centre after a night out its costs around 22 euros. For a 15 min drive? ....

As soon as you get in the car, no matter where you are going its automatically 4 euro. Could only be going up the road.

Thoughts?

(oh and i wasnt going to post this in the taxi forums :pac: all you'd get is justifying posts)

they are rape in mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭double GG

They're only a rip off if you use their service and pay them right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Do you think if I ran a night time horse carriage service would there be much interest in it? Set down fare of €10, which I can afford, because the horse isn't costing fuel or anything and I'm sure I can find a carriage on gumtree or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Thoughts?

I hate using taxis too - literally about 2-3euro in petrol will cost you 25-30 euro. also if you work it out as the op says 15mins = 22 euro so its 88 euro an hour taxi expect - not even doctors are on this!

Another thing is you pay good money and you have to listen to them moan about no business and black people - Well what do you expect Mr taxi man when just about anybody is capable of doing your job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I usually only get a taxi when im pissed drunk. Gets me home safe so i dont mind paying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

22 euros. For a 15 min drive? ....

Is that €45 €88 per hour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Absolutely.

My last 4 trips, I've only experienced mild sexual assault twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

There's no doubt that they are a rip off - but at the same time, they have big costs. First of all to buy the car and licence (which isn't so much anymore, but probably still is a few thousand?) Tax and especially insurance are killers as is maintenance. I know a driver and he has to service it every 2 or 3 months. Fuel is also a killer of course. They also have to work late nights with often unruly customers so i'm sure they have phychiatrist bills:P and try and make a few bob for themselves, but seriously, there are alot of costs involved with just driving a car around the place.

On the other hand, i do find it ridiculous when i have to pay close to €30 to go ten miles out the road - i know the arguement that the driver must drive to where you are to collect you and then drive back to the rank after he drops you off, but oftentimes drivers - especially companies - are able to subside this by having multiple jobs in the same area etc. All in all, i definately think there is room to reduce prices by 10-20%

squod wrote: »
    Is that €4588 per hour?

Trick to this is to find out how many minutes are in an hour - 60 minutes

Now find out what percentage 15 minutes is of 60 minutes

15/60 * 100 = 25%

now if €22 is 25% find out what 100% is

so 100/25 * 22 = €88

Edit" darn your sneaky edit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Absolutely.

Stop badgering them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

That would never stand up in court

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Late 2008, the country enters a downturn and taxi fares go up :confused:

mikemac wrote: »
    Late 2008, the country enters a downturn and taxi fares go up :confused:

I loved their reasoning for it at the time.

"Well you see all those times taxis have left off people in the past who were 10 or 20c short of a fare and rounded it down? We need all those 10 and 20c's back you see"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Trick to this is to find out how many minutes are in an hour - 60 minutes

Now find out what percentage 15 minutes is of 60 minutes

15/60 * 100 = 25%

now if €22 is 25% find out what 100% is

so 100/25 * 22 = €88

Edit" darn your sneaky edit!

Or you could stop trying to be a mathematical genius and just realise that "22 euros for a 15 min drive" equates to 88 euros per hour because 15 into 60 goes 4 times and then you multiply that 4 by the 22 euros.

To be fair, it's pretty ridiculous to think that taxi drivers earn €88 per hour. To do so, they would to constantly have a fare in their car.

Degag wrote: »
    To be fair, it's pretty ridiculous to think that taxi drivers earn €88 per hour. To do so, they would to constantly have a fare in their car.

Nah its the fella that runs the taxi company who makes all the money and pays the drivers minimum wage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

yes because of the minimum charge thing, unlike the uk where you can hop in a taxi for a short spin home for just a few quid instead of taking the risk walking home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I will personally give 10,000 euros to the first one of you knowalls who can run a taxi for a year and make more than the minimum wage per hour after costs

*revised minimum wage of €8.65 per hour

Knock yourselves out:)

I will personally give 10,000 euros to the first one of you knowalls who can run a taxi for a year and make more than the minimum wage per hour after costs

Ah, the first taxi driver to enter the thread....

Well, you must earn considerably more than minimum wage if you can afford to pay someone €10000 for a bet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭cork_buoy

Taxi drivers have some significant overheads. Their profession is hazardous to their physical health (especially lower back), mental wellbeing (driving for 12 hour shifts is very stressful) and detrimental to a social life of any description - if one wants to make a decent living out of it.

I believe they earn their fares. It's up to you whether or not you want to use them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

seanie69r wrote: »
    they are rape in mayo

Ah, the first taxi driver to enter the thread....

Well, you must earn considerably more than minimum wage if you can afford to pay someone €10000 for a bet!
    Na, but i'm 100% sure of winning said bet:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

I'll never forget gattiong a cab from Goerge Best Airport to Belfast City centre (half an hour ish??) It was about £12...CRAZY! It costs me €10 to get from UL to town (5/10 mins)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

They're cheaper for the odd time I need them than having a car depreciating away in the driveway. However, you take quite a hit if you live in an outer Dublin suburb and cabbing home on your own.

cork_buoy wrote: »
    Taxi drivers have some significant overheads. Their profession is hazardous to their physical health (especially lower back), mental wellbeing (driving for 12 hour shifts is very stressful) and detrimental to a social life of any description - if one wants to make a decent living out of it.

I believe they earn their fares. It's up to you whether or not you want to use them.

Boo-f*cking-hoo

What do you expect doing a job that almost anyone can do?

Also a hard job my arse! literally they sit on their asses all day! I'm glad the deregulater came in and showed these driving idiots that driving a car all day doesnt equal a villa in spain and a brand new Toyota every year!

Boo-f*cking-hoo

Also a hard job my arse! literally they sit on their asses all day! I'm glad the deregulater came in and showed these driving idiots that driving a car all day doesnt equal a villa in spain and a brand new Toyota every year!
    Well, if anyone can do it i'll up the ante and offer you 20,000 if YOU can do it

I'll provide the taxi and pay for your insurance too i'm that confident

All you gotta do is make a wage

Boo-f*cking-hoo

Harsh. I think most people can realise that it's a tough job.

Well, if anyone can do it i'll up the ante and offer you 20,000 if YOU can do it

DO what exactly? drive around picking up fares?

easy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭SarahBeep!

Harsh. I think most people can realise that it's a tough job.

I won't be whipping out my violin just yet! They could have it much worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

taxis in the uk are dirt cheap compared to here

a fair that would cost 15 euro here would be around 4 5 pounds over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭ap1986

of course taxis are a rip off.....can anyone explain to me what the €4 25 is when we first get into a taxi in dublin???

SarahBeep! wrote: »
    I won't be whipping out my violin just yet! They could have it much worse!
    No doubt, they could have it far easier too though.

Like how? the taxi man gets driving around by a driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭loike

Not really, you just need to haggle. If i way to pay full fair from town to my house it would be around €20, but i wont get into a taxi unless they do it for 13-15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭kirving

I totally appreciate that running a car is expensive, and that has to be paid for before anything else. However, cars should be of a high minimum specification. All at least Skoda Ocavia size and be 5 Star Euro NCAP rated, nothing less.

If taxi drivers want to increase their business, many of them are going to have to cop on and offer something that we want - at a lower price. It's fine when the price is split, but if getting a taxi on my own wasn't ridiculously overpirced, I'd do it a hell of a lot more.

DO what exactly? drive around picking up fares?

easy!!!
    OK then, as soon as you have your SPSV give me a shout and we'll see how easy it is

see ya in 6-8 months

Like how? the taxi man gets driving around by a driver?

Oh ffs, i hope you're trolling because this is pretty ridiculous.

They have to do longs days and nights. They may only get home at 5 or 6 in the morning and have to be up in an hour or two to take the kids to school or look after them. They have to work weekends, bank holidays, Christmas, Easter etc. When everyone else is out enjoying themselves they have to work.

When they are working they have to put up with unruly people who won't want to pay them, give them abuse, threaten physical violence etc and other people who will leave every kind of bodily fluid all over their cars. If someone pukes all over their car at 10pm, they probably can't work the rest of the night. They also have to clean this mess up, unless they manage to get the extra fee - whatever it is, and get someone to do it for them.

My point is, it's not an easy job, i can't understand how anyone could think that it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

They have to do longs days and nights. They may only get home at 5 or 6 in the morning and have to be up in an hour or two to take the kids to school or look after them. They have to work weekends, bank holidays, Christmas, Easter etc. When everyone else is out enjoying themselves they have to work.

Yeah, one of these fukkers fell asleep at the wheel with my uncle in the back. The taxi went off the road and flipped over a hedge and landed upside down in a field.

Oh and I also had a taxi man point to the temperature on the air conditioner panel and pretend that was the fare (22deg = 22euro???).

When they are working they have to put up with unruly people who won't want to pay them, give them abuse, threaten physical violence etc and other people who will leave every kind of bodily fluid all over their cars. If someone pukes all over their car at 10pm, they probably can't work the rest of the night. They also have to clean this mess up, unless they manage to get the extra fee - whatever it is, and get someone to do it for them.

My point is, it's not an easy job, i can't understand how anyone could think that it is.

Well thats what having a low skilled job is all about - I'm sure waiters, retail staff, fast food workers all have tough jobs with long hours, unruely customers and still have to put the kids to bed but for some reason Taxi drivers think they're above this and entitled to a cushy job with great pay! And the truth of the matter is - if you're low skilled then you work hard for crap money!

For what reason do you think this? Also, you're admitting they have a tough enough job now?

Well i'm offering you 20 grand plus what you earn if ya take my offer

So what kinda job do you have that you could turn this down

I bet i could do it with me eyes closed:D

I was wondering the same.... my bet is that he's a painter.;)

For what reason do you think this? Also, you're admitting they have a tough enough job now?

Eaasy job that anyone can do - Though to make a lot of money in

Well i'm between jobs at the moment but i chugged for 6 months beofre going back to college, not easy but I got what i expected!

I was wondering the same.... my bet is that he's a painter.;)
    An artist of some description methinks;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Seems like you're doing fairly well off if you can just offer up 20,000 like that to someone...supplying car and insurance too?

They are overpriced if there are less than three people in the car to split the fare, thats for sure!

An artist of some description methinks;)

Nah, just as i thought. Someone "between jobs" giving out about those putting money into his pocket every week.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

The average gross earnings of cab drivers is
    independently estimated at €58,010 per annum;
    or €40,350 after costs but before tax
    http://www.nationaltransport.ie/downloads/taxi-reg/economic-review-spsv-industry.pdf

Quit with the poor mouth please.