Spanking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I have great memories or being chased by my mum with a wooden spoon around the house, the fun we used to have:rolleyes: She always ended up breaking the spoon off the kitchen counter in frustration when she couldn't catch me. My sister also has a imprint on a brush on her arm from childhood when my mum belted her with the brush. Didn't do us any harm, I think people are too PC nowadays. I don't hold it against my mum either, we were brats.

How is being against spanking PC. That phrase gets used way to much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

The wooden spoon - the greatest invention ever in the fight against brazen children.

Me and my sister got it when we were younger, my parents got worse (belt/stick etc) and turned out ok.

A lot of kids these days (even teenagers should have gotten smacked) should be smacked, the naughty step/corner is a load of tosh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

Noodleworm wrote: »
    The best way is apparently to praise a child when their really good and refuse to acknowledge them when their bad as they crave attention, but you really need patience of a saint to do that.

Yes you need a lot of patience, but it does actually work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Mc Love wrote: »
    The wooden spoon - the greatest invention ever in the fight against brazen children.

Me and my sister got it when we were younger, my parents got worse (belt/stick etc) and turned out ok.

A lot of kids these days (even teenagers should have gotten smacked) should be smacked, the naughty step/corner is a load of tosh!

Any kind of thinking behind that other than 'Sure 'tis what my parents did with us! Derp!' ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

krudler wrote: »

I remember being in Dunnes one day a few years ago and a kid, who couldnt have been more than 4 or 5 was standing next to his mother and staring at the sweet counter, he reached over to pick up a bar or something and accidentally knocked a small stack of chewing gum or something like that, he even went "uh oh" and the cashier laughed, but his bitch of a mother grabbed him and punched him, not slapped, punched him square in the back of the head and screamed at him to not do stuff like that. Everyone around was shocked as she dragged the poor little guy away while he was roaring crying and the cashier looked close to tears herself. people like that make me fcuking sick, you do not punch kids. Couldnt help but think if that "uh oh" was more of a "I'm going to get a battering for this" expression from him.

**** like this gets to me.

Kids are gonna be kids. Now if he was screaming all over the place and refusing to shut the **** up like some kids so, a firm telling off and maybe a slap on the arse (not by my book though) would have been in order.

But kids knock **** over. These things happen.

I've also witnessed kids, the minute when they do something wrong in their parents presence automatically recoil to avoid the slap they just KNOW is coming. Sickening when you really think about the psychology behind it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭dizzywizlw

I was slapped, bleedin' deserved it too and I'm glad my parents did because I believe it helped me develop a better moral compass than a skaghead, which in this day and age is a good thing IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Get the very odd slap on the arse from a wooden spoon from my mother alright, could probably count them all on two hands. Contrary to the above, did it stop me doing the same thing again? Yes, you're damn right it did. That doesn't mean I didn't do other stuff that got me a smack but I definitely did not do the same things again after a wooden spoon.

The biggest weapon in her arsenal tough was threatening us with my father (although he was the gentle giant and never lifted as much as a little finger). The wooden spoon was bad but the thought of him coming after me with it was much worse :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

There can be a scenario where the child is being impossible, every non physical disciplinary method is attempted, the parent is at their wits' end, and they give the child a light slap on the bum/leg/hand/arm - and they hate doing it and feel like sh1t about it, but there is no other way to get through to the child who is being extremely badly behaved and would get "Little ****ing bastard" comments from many here.

It's disingenuous - actually ridiculous - to liken the above to cruelty, which involves beatings, torture, humiliation and a general domestic culture of fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,795 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Dudess wrote: »
    There can be a scenario where the child is being impossible, every non physical disciplinary method is attempted, the parent is at their wits' end, and they give the child a light slap on the bum/leg/hand/arm - and they hate doing it and feel like sh1t about it, but there is no other way to get through to the child who is being extremely badly behaved and would get "Little ****ing bastard" comments from many here.

It's disingenuous - actually ridiculous - to liken the above to cruelty, which involves beatings, torture, humiliation and a general domestic culture of fear.

Don't think anyone was, it was the example of a child dropping something and wincing waiting to be hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The best movie spanking scenes ever have to be the ones in "The Killer Inside Me" where Casey Affleck gets to spank the arses off both Kate Hudson and Jessica Alba.

The lucky, fucking jammy bastard.

Well worth downloading watching if you haven't seen it. Just keep the tissues handy as it's a very "sad" film. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus, I hated the wooden spoon.

As for spanking:
    "Some girls do, some girls don't".

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

once, and i deserved it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No ones talking about parents that occassionally give their kids a little smack when all other options have been exhausted. Its parents that use smaking regularly and are excessive.

That teaches kids that its ok to be violent to get what you want, even if the person you're hitting is much smaller than you. Also, you should respect authority figures who hit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Yep I was and I deserved every one of the many I got too. Looking back it did me no harm and kept me on the straight and narrow.

My kids will getting the same treatment if and when it's necessary, if/when I have kids.

Too many kids get away with murder these days and soft parents who don't want to take any responsibility will look to blame it on something like ADHD. Amazingly ADHD didn't exist back in the day and similar behavior was easily solved with a smack of the wooden spoon or a similar item, what a surprise :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

got the occasional smack. was deserved most of the time, but occasionally wasnt. when i have kids ill seek to remove the "occasionally wasnt" ones, but they'll still get a smack on the arse if theyre continually acting the maggot and refusing to listen to reason

personally i think in this day and age the most effective method to deal with kids acting like brats is to take their favourite toys off them. growing up it wouldve had more impact on me to lose the snes for a week than to get a smack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭pockets3d

Why is it deemed more appropriate to hit young infants than teenagers? Surely it should be the inverse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Was never slapped or hit in any way by my parents. They thought it was wrong. Yeah my parents were quite progressive for Irish parents in many ways and I love them for that.
    And I was a good kid, didn't turn into a spoiled brat and I grew up to be a pretty well adjusted adult. Or at least I think so :D

Don't have kids myself-child free by choice so maybe my opinion doesn't count for much- but I don't believe in parental corporal punishment in any form.
    Lazy parenting and there's evidence that it does cause behavioral and cognitive problems in the child.

I would favour an outright ban as it is in other countries like Sweden, Denmark, Austria and a number of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,795 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

pockets3d wrote: »
    Why is it deemed more appropriate to hit young infants than teenagers? Surely it should be the inverse?

And why do they stop when we are adults?, afraid they'll get a slap back the cowards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

My Parents would hit me when I was acting up. If my dad was really pissed off though he'd use his belt or something. My mom used the damn wooded spoon which killed on the knuckles.
    But my Dad could often get carried away, he even boxed me in the face once and left me with a black eye(not a bad one though). But he'd always apologise later on when he'd calm down. Then anger in him would just take over though. He be caught up in it.
    I was quite the troublesome lad at times,
    but if I had kids I like to think I won't be hitting them - period.
    There's better ways to punish kid in my opinion.
    Hitting them just makes them angry and resent you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Paully D wrote: »
    Too many kids get away with murder these days and soft parents who don't want to take any responsibility will look to blame it on something like ADHD. Amazingly ADHD didn't exist back in the day and similar behavior was easily solved with a smack of the wooden spoon or a similar item, what a surprise :rolleyes:

Dragging off topic, but this **** pisses me off. ADHD is genuine. Bold kids are bold, kids with ADHD don't want to to be bold but they can't help it. How heartbreaking to hear a mother tell a child to behave, and all he can say back is "But Mammy, I don't WANT to be bold". I've lived in a home with ADHD and Tourette's, it's not always easy. My mother was heavily involved in the Tourette Syndrome Association of Ireland and I believe made a difference in so many lives. She would spend hours each day consoling mams and dads who were distraught with their kids. If the kids were just bold, they wouldn't need this help.

Anyway on topic, I only remember getting slapped on the hand once, and I deserved it!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

i used to get hit by a black shoe. Ow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

My mam never really smacked me that I can remember;used to threaten the wooden spoon to my brothers all the time but never actually went through with it.

My next door neighbours dad used to beat the crap outta them though-was awful. Remember one time my mam played some silly joke on the dad with one of the kids and the kid ended up getting a black eye for it :(
    Not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Darnit - was hoping this thread was about BDSM

Was hoping for the same. Spanking is a kink I happen to enjoy amongst other filth.

Never enjoyed getting the wooden spoon as a child though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

A child misbehaving to the point where they need physical disciplining is a good sign of poor parenting. And assaulting the child is inself another.

Attacking a child does not help resolve the root cause of their bad behaviour. It simply encourages them to keep the cause hidden.

And there are many alternatives to physical assault, which are equally if not more effective.

I cannot approve of any activity that promotes violence, so smacking (nice PC name for assault) is not acceptable in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I read the thread title, thought this is the thread for me! :D

Then I read the OP :(

/exits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

We get it: you're really sexy and horny and kinky and stuff. So you say on the net anyway...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

funny that this thread came up actually because only last week i slapped my 4 y/o for the first time - i felt like s'hit afterwards because, in fairness, I did kind of slap him in anger :o...however, i dont regret it and i think in the long run he wont reoffend.

basically, he was just being a little s'hit for ages, was fighting with his sister and every time that evening i tried to disipline him for his transgressions he made faces at me and laughed. i came in to the sitting room to find him jumping all over his sister with her crying and i told him that was it, he was being made stay in the other room. he started jumkping around going 'meh meh meh' at me and sticking his tongue out etc. i just saw red, grabbed his hand and gave him 2 sharp slaps across the back of it.

he went wild with crying (guess the shock of being slapped for the first time is fairly intense) - but in fairness when he calmed down we had a chat and he knew why he got it, he apologised and i told him i dont like slapping him but he was being exceptionally bold. i've reminded him since that a slap can be administered if he goes overboard and it's put him in his place quick enough.

the moral of the story...desperate times call for desperate measures. nothing was working any more, this got his attention fair quick and he hasn't forgotten it. if a kid's scared of nothing else (naughty step, up to his room, TV turned off or whatever) then it's time to step it up a notch...as badly as i'd like not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I got an oul spanking or two in my day and it never did me any harm. The Wife though got tired of putting on and taking off her latex. It was a bit troublesome I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

We get it: you're really sexy and horny and kinky and stuff. So you say on the net anyway...

I like it when Dudess is angry.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Kids who are bullies in school tend to be the ones who are hit most by their parents.

Physical abuse only leads to more physical abuse. As Crazyrabbit said, smacking your kids is a good indication of bad parenting in the first place.