possibly worst slane line up ever?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Rud

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Something tells me it will be Lady Gaga next year

Jaysus i hope you're wrong.What would be the advantage of having Lady Gaga at it,except to sell out the tickets and to boost up Lord Henry and MCDs funds.Bringing the like of her and Madonna to Slane just further wrecks the credibility and status of the event as a whole.Slane might have been good back in the day when outdoor gigs were rare enough and there was no such thing as annual festivals but nowadays it's only an annual gig for people that never go to gigs.

But at the same time it must be a nightmare to try and get decent rock acts to headline it when such a thing is rare as hell nowadays.They should have Muse,R.A.T.M. and ACDC at it next year,all on the one bill.That would be sweet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 burt_bondy

slane, where EVERY YEAR IS WORSE THAN THE LAST.

ah no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

bonerm wrote: »

HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHA
    HAHAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHA
    HAHAHAHA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHA
    HAHAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHA
    HAHAHAHA!!!!!!

Oh my ****ing god. That's what passes for talent these days?

Really?

I like KoL but their last 2 albums have been a bit.....over produced.
    In the beginning they had a nice simplistic raw sound to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

has the video above of KOL been tampered with??

surely thats not for real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭revz

fryup wrote: »
    has the video above of KOL been tampered with??

surely thats not for real

Yes it's been tampered with.
    Just like this stellar radiohead performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Problem is, most people think its real.

Should have parody in the title or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

****in fooled me if its fake! still gas though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

they should have had the Big 4 instead, **** all that radio-friendly ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

So these king of leon are the people responsible for dublin being infested by gimps with beards and skinny jeans over their pointy shoes?

c**ts :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Something tells me it will be Lady Gaga next year

Supported by Jedward, Crystal Swing, Chris de Burgh & Johnny Logan.

Must throw on the DVD I have of the last good Slane, 2003. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭Table Top Joe

Rud wrote: »
    Slane might have been good back in the day when outdoor gigs were rare enough and there was no such thing as annual festivals but nowadays it's only an annual gig for people that never go to gigs.

Exactly,nail on head,i was offered free tickets for this and turned them down straight away,honestly wouldnt go if you paid me,once was enough,awful venue,its an event first and foremost,the music is secondary,there are people who will go no matter who is playing......80 quid to stand in a field in the middle of nowhere?? Jesus

Oh and it wasnt the worst line up,Bryan Adams played there before so there you go,Mr music for people who arent really into music himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭Chairman Meow

kings of LOLeon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,802 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Absurdum wrote: »
    they should have had the Big 4 instead, **** all that radio-friendly ****e

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo ****ing chance of that happening here. Pity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 LisaLowlife

Ah I heard it was a good day out all the same

Wouldnt be my cup of tea at all though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭GampDub

Was at the gig...

Thin Lizzy are sadly merely a tribute act these days but they did get the crowd going!

Elbow were unfortunatly lost on the majority of the crowd - I'm a fan and even I couldnt enjoy as most around me barely acknowledged they were even on Stage - wrong time and place for them!

As for KoL, I'm a fan of their early stuff, have never even listened to their latest album in full, they put on a good show! But they literally just bounced from song to song... most of the crowd (me included) were suitablly intoxicated by the time they came on and I think they were just the soundtrack to people having a bit of fun (could have been anybody on stage to be honest) which is all I expected from the day and was exactly what I got... a good day out with friends having a laugh with some live music to go with it...

Organisers finally seem to have got things right too, logistics where so much better this year which helped. Only gripe would have been the bar situation (Carlsberg only and hour long queue's) but then again thats the same at pretty much any big concert you go too!

Like I said though it was a good day out with friends for me with a bit of entertainement thrown in - cant go wring there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

This is just a suggestion for a possible line-up next year for Slane 2012 which would definitely make me go:
    Arcade Fire
    The Black Keys
    Bon Iver

That would be unreal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

How was the gig? Any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Glad this year went off without many hitches. I, like many posting above, wouldn't cross the road to see KOL, and I saw Elbow in the O2 in March, so was happy not going despite all my friends going.

Slane is now an event more than just the bands that play. I'm fed up with Irish "get as locked as possible in a field" events. It's just... pointless. I can get locked in a field at home and not have to get on a bus for ages to go to a field to get in a queue to pay exorbitant prices for watery Heineken.

My friends all came back with ridiculous stories of not remembering a band or missing all of Elbow cause they were queuing at the bar or at the jacks. Screw that. I'm sure the bands must get pretty fed up of it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What suprises me is the amount of people bringing their kids to it...thats quite odd. I presume most people attend these events to drink and engage in slack jawed gawping tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,802 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Bambi wrote: »
    What suprises me is the amount of people bringing their kids to it...thats quite odd. I presume most people attend these events to drink and engage in slack jawed gawping tbh

Couldn't resist posting this image: http://www.simpsoncrazy.com/content/pictures/regulars/Cletus1.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Dick Burns

couldnt agree more seriously KOL the biggest band in the world at the moment and that line up was nothing but pathetic who the F**k are elbow and the white lies?

and to top it off i was walking to the crowd and some young fella flat on his back trousers around his ankles getting pulled off my sum mutuant of a young one in the middle of everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Dick Burns wrote: »
    couldnt agree more seriously KOL the biggest band in the world at the moment and that line up was nothing but pathetic who the F**k are elbow and the white lies?

and to top it off i was walking to the crowd and some young fella flat on his back trousers around his ankles getting pulled off my sum mutuant of a young one in the middle of everyone
    Srsly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Only band around now that could do Slane justice is Muse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Colm!

This is just a suggestion for a possible line-up next year for Slane 2012 which would definitely make me go:
    Arcade Fire
    The Black Keys
    Bon Iver

That would be unreal!

I would attend that concert instantly without any question or doubt