Do you know what men find sexy?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

msthe80s wrote: »
    Too close to the mark for comfort.
    Are you, in fact, me ?

Seriously- if someone, man or woman,tries too hard it's so obvious it's sad.
    The more relaxed a person is in their own skin, the sexier they'll be imo.

Not sure why I said in that post that I was wondering "what other women think" given I am in fact a man :pac:

I think I picked up on what women like from having so many female friends over the years. If you talk to the opposite sex, you'll find out what they think is sexy pretty quickly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

There have been several off-topic posts deleted and Snappy the Moose in now the proud owner of a months holiday for trolling.

Could posters please ensure they are familiar with the forum charter here before posting - including the bit about reporting posts...

And just to re-iterate:

Oh right so do I as a man know what women find sexy- I wish I did, I believe its definitely more complex for a woman but 'confidence' seems to be a recurring theme While I think 'confidence' is a kind of a safe answer in that it can be construed in any manner of positive ways I think sometimes it has more to do with the fact that the girl lacks confidence and she is trying to compensate by going out with a 'confident' man

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    Agreed. I've heard many men state it's the over all image they go for and wouldn't notice details so much but I've heard the same kinds of comments bandied around a fair bit too.
    I would agree. We can compartmentalise a fair bit. To an almost cliched degree sometimes. While the ladies will be bum/shoulder/arms/eyes women[delete as applicable], IME they're less focused than men and more open to other aspects of attraction. Consciously anyway, subconsciously they're every bit as sexually triggered I'd say. But if a man is making her "weak at the knees" she's less good at breaking down why. A guy will generally be more likely to tell you the whys as a list.
    I think it is. NO offence to the lovely ladies of Spain but some women certainly fit that bill and get a huge amount of attention.
    Having had two spanish exes, I've some exposure to that dating culture. It can be a bit macho on the surface. Certainly Spanish men are much fussier and more vocal about that fussiness than Irish men would be. They also seem to prefer the more obvious attraction triggers in a woman. I recall one of my exes brothers over here for a weekend. I brought the lad out on the lash, Dublin stylee. FYI Spanish lads(and this guy was unusually huge) can chug spirits all night, but 4 pints and it's "TIMBER!" and over they go... I digress... annnyhoo we were in various nightspots and dens of inequity and he was regularly commenting on the local ladies. Mostly favourably contrary to common opinion... but quite a few times he would mention "oh look at him, what is he doing with that woman, she's very fat/ugly/unattractive". I've known Spanish women who weren't getting a sniff in Spain, mostly because they weren't obvious, that would have a queue in front of them here.
    I think we've over intellectualised the word, "sexy" and I think women are the ones responsible for that. Men are much more primal than some of us think or want to admit. THIS is my point.
    I'd kinda agree yea. Maybe more romanticised it? Or separated "fashion beauty" from "sexy beauty" so much that reality falls more in the middle?
    Men, do you know what women find sexy.
    Yea. Well... mostly. Well... what they find attractive anyway. It varies(cop out ahoy:P). *EDIT* as is my wont I had my usual three chapters typed out, avec bullet points and visual aids. At one point there were villagers. Angry ones. With torches. But then thought better of it. If I had to pin it down to one, just one thing? Tall order with all the variability in women TBH, but I'll give it a whirl. Fools rush in...

A man with romantic choice is sexy. A man that you know could ask out/be with other women if he chose that, but he's asking you, he's giving attention to you, he likes you, he desires you. The more romantic choice a man has the sexier he is, the less he has the less sexy he is IMHO.

You will often hear of men joking(or lamenting :D) that when they're in a relationship they get much more come ons from women and yet when they're single, nada. Why? Other than confirmation bias, it's usually down to two things; 1) he's already been vetted by another woman so he's safe. Women have more to lose in encounters with the opposite sex(especially in the past) so it makes good sense*. 2) and more importantly IMHO, because he has someone, he's not looking, so he's not bothered, ergo he appears to have more choice.

*there have been quite a few studies that have shown Women(tm) are more attracted to attached men than single ones.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭seenitall

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yea. Well... mostly. Well... what they find attractive anyway. It varies(cop out ahoy:P). *EDIT* as is my wont I had my usual three chapters typed out, avec bullet points and visual aids. At one point there were villagers. Angry ones. With torches. But then thought better of it. If I had to pin it down to one, just one thing? Tall order with all the variability in women TBH, but I'll give it a whirl. Fools rush in...

A man with romantic choice is sexy. A man that you know could ask out/be with other women if he chose that, but he's asking you, he's giving attention to you, he likes you, he desires you. The more romantic choice a man has the sexier he is, the less he has the less sexy he is IMHO.

You will often hear of men joking(or lamenting :D) that when they're in a relationship they get much more come ons from women and yet when they're single, nada. Why? Other than confirmation bias, it's usually down to two things; 1) he's already been vetted by another woman so he's safe. Women have more to lose in encounters with the opposite sex(especially in the past) so it makes good sense*. 2) and more importantly IMHO, because he has someone, he's not looking, so he's not bothered, ergo he appears to have more choice.

*there have been quite a few studies that have shown Women(tm) are more attracted to attached men than single ones.

Hopefully I won't be too off-topic (i.e. talking about my own preferences etc.) so I'll keep this a short comment on the above: I have read some variation of the above quite a few times and I'm sure it's based on sound science, but I really, really disagree personally. Once all the other qualities that I find sexy/attractive are in place, the guy's stock in attractivness in my eyes will keep on rising with my perceived lack of options open to him! I mean someone who is a bit edgy or obviously doing his best to impress me will be more attractive to me (this is not to be mixed up with lack of self-esteem though, that's unattractive) than someone who is attached, but is flirty cos he's secure and what-not. I'm pragmatic. :pac:

(Attached guys, if they are not cheaters/players, usually do have this flirty-but-not-trying feel about them, and that feel, thankfully, does nothing for me [well ok, it did in 1 case, one among very many in all my years so I still stand by this].)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I wonder if the the attached attrraction has more to do with the forbidden rather than pre-validated by another woman.

The attached man is immediately off my list of any possibilities whatsoever. It would be the same for me as a trip to Africa. No way. No thanks. NO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

In all honesty, the attached guy has never done anything for me either and I'm going to be honest here (these are my honest thoughts and I don't mean to offend anyone...I'm sort of in a relationship myself right now). I see many single guys as the wise ones who've kept their options and not just hooked up with the first girl that came along like I see soo sooo many people do and that's attractive. I'm more attracted and intrigued by the guy who is attractive and attractive to other women but is taking his time finding someone. The idea that a guy would sacrifice his singledom just so they won't be alone is very off-putting for me. I'm cynical about relationships anyway and think a lot of them are a farce and won't last. I see a hell of a lot of people in those kinds of relationships and I think, has that person no strength of character just to end it and get on with their lives?

There's very few guys in relationships that I'd fancy, to be honest because there's very few relationships I'm totally convinced by. But that's just me and my cynicism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I didn't read the whole thread, but I wonder if what gay women find as sexy could add anything to this discussion? Afterellen.com is a site that talks about culture etc. for lesbians & bi women, and every year (as a response to the Maxim & FHM style lists that just don't sit right for a lot of lesbians) the womenwho use thatsite vote for their fave sexy/hot/whatever celebs. It can vary wildly from the mens picked lists, so maybe there is something there in how men & women (regardless of sexuality) envisage sexiness.

Any, the full list for 2011 with pics & commentary is here but here's the top 20:

1. Naya Rivera (Glee)
    2. Heather Morris (Glee)
    3. Jessica Capshaw (Grey’s)
    4. Sara Ramirez (Grey’s)
    5. Olivia Wilde (House)
    6. Amber Heard (Top Gear, Playboy)
    7. Shay Mitchell (Pretty Little Liars)
    8. Dianna Agron (Glee)
    9. Lily Loveless (Skins)
    10. Lea Michele (Glee)
    11. Sara Quin (singers)
    12. Tegan Quin (singers)
    13. Jennifer Beals (The L Word; Flashdance)
    14. Kathryn Prescott (Skins)
    15. Ellen Page (movies)
    16. Sacha Parkinson (Coronation Street)
    17. Lena Headey (Imagine Me & You; 300)
    18. Heather Peace (Lip Service)
    19. Mila Kunis (Black Swan)
    20. Portia de Rossi (Arrested Development; Ally McBeal)

Any opinions? Any surprises on there for you guys? A lot of the top 20 are straight women who play lesbians in some way, so maybe that has something to do with it, I don't know...

For me, I find most women sexy- the mere fact of being female is sexy to me. (except I don't think I'm sexy at all- stupid self-confidence! :rolleyes:) But like a lot of other posters, a lot of it is to with the way a person moves, how they speak. To me, I find intelligence incredibly sexy, and you see that in peoples eyes and in their passion for talking about a subject, whatever they love doing or thinking about.

I also like a bit of implied danger/ craziness. For me, one of the sexiest women on the planet is Eva Green. She always looks slightly unhinged, and for some reason I really like that. Like you'd never know where you'd end up on a night out with her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

^^ Gone a bit OT on a relationship rant there Eve?? :p

I see where your coming from though, nothing unsexier than desperation, and attached men can have an equal amount of that by hooking up with someone for the sake of not being alone. Sexy is someone who is independent and not afraid of being single/not settling.

From what I know of guys, and I have a lot of male friends/two older brothers, sexiness tends to coincide with confidence an awful lot. Not cockiness, just a girl being comfortable in herself. I know from experience, a very unattractive quality in women to guys is insecurity particularly over looks. Ive noticed an attitude of 'get over it and just enjoy yourself'. My friends would find a plain looking girl up for a laugh sexier than a model constantly looking in the mirror.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

In all honesty, the attached guy has never done anything for me either and I'm going to be honest here (these are my honest thoughts and I don't mean to offend anyone...I'm sort of in a relationship myself right now). I see many single guys as the wise ones who've kept their options and not just hooked up with the first girl that came along like I see soo sooo many people do and that's attractive. I'm more attracted and intrigued by the guy who is attractive and attractive to other women but is taking his time finding someone. The idea that a guy would sacrifice his singledom just so they won't be alone is very off-putting for me. I'm cynical about relationships anyway and think a lot of them are a farce and won't last. I see a hell of a lot of people in those kinds of relationships and I think, has that person no strength of character just to end it and get on with their lives?

There's very few guys in relationships that I'd fancy, to be honest because there's very few relationships I'm totally convinced by. But that's just me and my cynicism.

lol I completely agree with your views on relationships. Hell I know lots of people who are now married I'm not totally convinced by :eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

irishh_bob please read the multiple warnings in this thread. Post deleted.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 needbeer

zoegh wrote: »
    I didn't read the whole thread, but I wonder if what gay women find as sexy could add anything to this discussion? It can vary wildly from the mens picked lists, so maybe there is something there in how men & women (regardless of sexuality) envisage sexiness.

I (straight male) go out drinking sometimes with a lesbian mate, we've had this discussion a few times. We've got pretty different taste in women, the only one we can both agree on being ridiculously attractive is Amy-wossname, the singer from Evanescence.

I had a look at some of the pics from the list there, they aren't terri-bad but wouldn't be in any of my top-100 lists of women.

So yea, I've got a sample size of 1, but so far I don't think even gay women are great judges of what a man would find attractive in another woman.

Except for Amy, that woman is just stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

well everyone has their own taste, I think I know what men I know find sexy coz you get to know what taste they have, I dont think it's something that can be generalised.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    well everyone has their own taste, I think I know what men I know find sexy coz you get to know what taste they have, I dont think it's something that can be generalised.

Yeah. I think it simply comes down to that but why does it seem so much more complicated in the real world? Women wondering would men fancy them because they've small breasts or men wondering would a woman like them because they're not a Jack the Lad. I didn't mean to over-complicate something that can't be simplified so easily...just wanted to throw it out there because I hear all kind of discussions among women and men with a lack of understanding (or a lack of desire to understand) what makes each other tick in the real world.

I think that what you say is true, but there are norms in beauty as well. I know thats a hobby horse of mine on here, but there are certain types of people who just are attractive, even if a certain percentage of people don't personally like them. But on your small boobs/jack-the-lad point, I think a certain type of person will think like that. The media can really play on insecurities people have. I know it happens me every so often anyway. I can see why girls would think likewise.
    zoegh wrote: »
    Any opinions? Any surprises on there for you guys? A lot of the top 20 are straight women who play lesbians in some way, so maybe that has something to do with it, I don't know...

I definitely think that the list is slightly skewed by the lesbian factor as you say. Glee is way over represented for example. But by and large, I think it mirrors what I'd think is attractive. Any list like that is bound to have absentees, but I think most men would find those girls attractive. I do anyway.

I think most men and most women would be able to compile a list of people the opposite sex would find attractive. I think I could have a good shot at one anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Completely agree with this. You can spot if someone is "attractive" from a photo i reckon, "sexy" requires a degree of motion or something.

It's hard to explain. Sexy is about movement, vitality, grace etc.

I see where you're coming from, but I disagree. I think pictures of people laughing or acting the fool are incredibly attractive because it shows that they don't take themselves too seriously. Sense of humour and lack of extreme vanity (a lot of my friends would hate to see pictures where their teeth are showing or they have a "fat arm" sitaution or whatever :rolleyes:) shows through in those kind of pictures and I think that's very sexy.

Confidence is a huge part of being sexy, I feel more confident in certain clothes, mini skirts for example because I know I have good legs. So when I dress like that, I feel sexier and probably come across as somewhat sexier.

The other side of clothes adding to sexiness isn't so much about them being revealing as them being flattering. Wearing a dress that show no cleavage but flatters your shape is far sexier than something that shows a lot of boob, but clings at love handles or tummy fat. I know that my dude would find something really flattering ten million times sexier than something that just shows a lot more flesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Its not over complicated. People make it over complicated by analysing it to death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I think that what you say is true, but there are norms in beauty as well. I know thats a hobby horse of mine on here, but there are certain types of people who just are attractive, even if a certain percentage of people don't personally like them.

Agreed. There are certain things we are evolutionarily programmed to like - symmetry of features and stuff like that.

Its not over complicated. People make it over complicated by analysing it to death.

Exactly my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Christina Aguilera, to me is sexiness personified. Just a minx really, and can dance amazingly - knows how to work her figure perfectly (if anyone has seen her in Dirrty, original Pussycat Dolls or Burlesque). She knows how to turn it on and oozes raunch, confidence, experience and power.

The other blonde sexy teen at the time was Britney Spears. She, on the other hand seemed awkward and uncomfortable, a little naive and not in control. Plus I always thought she was too athletically built compared to Christina.

I guess maybe it's the difference between feeling/ acting/ being sexy for YOU versus for someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭goingpostal

The thread on popstars as female role models and a thread in AH about FHM's sexiest females got me thinking. What do women define as sexy in other women or in themselves? On the FHM thread, a poster commented that she was surprised a particular (very beautiful) famous female didn't make it into the top 10 and a poster responded that she was beautiful but not sexy. I hear that bandied around a lot. We all know what most men find sexy (I think). I think I could point out a woman that many men would find sexy...but I seem to get it very wrong sometimes. Women who I think are stunning other men just wouldn't find sexy. Other times I think a woman is so obviously sexy that she's too much but men fancy her. Sometimes I see a woman and think she's too beautiful to be sexy but men love her etc.

As well as this, I think men can get it very wrong a lot of the time. Many men believe women go weak at the knees Mr. Universe types. They'd believe they'd be what women would consider as the perfect man, so I'm interested in hearing from male posters as well as to what they believe a woman finds sexy.

It seems there's some discrepancy as to what both sexes find sexy in women. I know it varies from person to person, so I'm interested in hearing what you ladies think. I have to think about this myself.

In my opinion, this question is impossible to answer due to the vague terms. "Men" is undefined. Is it all males between the age of 18-65? Irish men? Men who live in Ireland? It could vary from man to man or it could depend on the mood a man is in on any given day. "Sexiness" is also a highly subjective, vague concept too. A bit like the concept of "cool". Might as well try to bite fog as answer this question, folks.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

I wonder if the the attached attrraction has more to do with the forbidden rather than pre-validated by another woman.

The attached man is immediately off my list of any possibilities whatsoever. It would be the same for me as a trip to Africa. No way. No thanks. NO.

Ditto. If I'm attracted to someone, but find out they have a partner, they just become immediately less attractive. Doubly so if they have kids. It just feels like they're already been 'marked' or something.

As for the OP, I've no idea what men find sexy. Sometimes I think I believe male friends/ boyfriends when they tell me that they're not attracted to girls in skimpy clothes or obvious sexiness such as girls in magazines like Nuts. The same lads will then ogle the very girls they said they're not attracted to. Often it's a case of "I'd do them, but I wouldn't go out with them."

Speaking from my own experience, lads have told me I'm sexy in a ''nerdy librarian" way. Cheers :o:p I must be doing something right but I wouldn't classify myself as 'sexy'. Within my social circle, the girls that I think are found to be the most sexy by dudes are the obviously gorgeous ones and ones that are fairly pretty but very out-going and confident too.

Acacia wrote: »
    Speaking from my own experience, lads have told me I'm sexy in a ''nerdy librarian" way. Cheers :o:p

I think girls would be amazed at how widespread that is with men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,767 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

I would like to think most females are completely wrong in their opinion on what men find sexy.
    Seriously, how could any man find orange ankles/elbows attractive? Or a pair of size 12 jeans on a size 16 figure?( I could go on ......)
    I probably haven't a clue what men find sexy,but reckon I'm pretty sure what they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

Speaking as a nerdy librarian (well, a lowly library assistant for now :p) this is some good news:D

Acacia wrote: »
    Speaking as a nerdy librarian (well, a lowly library assistant for now :p) this is some good news:D

I'm speaking as a nerdy librarian too. I just became one to get greater access to lady librarians :pac: