Garda Jailed over cork assault

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Strange decision that.

As said already as a guard and a "pillar of society" he should have shown more responsibility and restraint. A sideways comment about his shirt and to give a lad a bleed on the brain because of this should have the book thrown at him.

TOTALLY different but similar in a small way, but look at the case of Rooney, week in week out there is nothing but foul language at games, yet when Rooney did it he got a ban, because he should show example to others.

Personally I think this stinks of "Ireland", the new Russia, corrupt to the core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

This country is gas, we should release all the paedophiles and rapists as they too will suffer more than the ordinary prisoners.
    The bastard nearly killed the guy, his brain was bleeding FFS, he should have got 3 years and none of it suspended. He is a proper example of a scumbag thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

How on earth has he not served any jail time for this? It simply beggars belief that one man breaks anothers nose, teeth, fractures his jaw and leaves him with bleeding of the brain yet he walks free from court.

I'm not a bleeding heart liberal, I'm not overly conservative, most times I simply sit on the fence but this has honestly left me speechless. Someone please tell me how he has managed to get away with this and how the justice system see's this as justice having been served.

Regardless of anything else you can be absolutely certain had someone done this to a Garda they would be facing a very long time inside.

For the first time in my life I have bought a house. I no longer rent and move every f*cking year. I will finally have politicians calling to my door and the one thing I will press them on is the justice system in this country. It simply isn't f*cking good enough. It really honestly isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Naikon wrote: »
    You are a bit late, boss ^

Story of my life, I would say most decent guards would be disgusted with the outcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

DoneDL wrote: »
    Story of my life, I would say most decent guards would be disgusted with the outcome

Yeah, all 5 of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Yeah, all 5 of them.

I think they are all retired now.

YFlyer wrote: »
    I think they are all retired now.

Probably long dead too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Garda gets 18 month suspended sentence for beating a fella to an inch of his life.

On the same day a guy who accepted money to say hes the father of a Chinese kid to help the mother stay in the country, he gets 2 years in prison. Story below. Where's the justice.

"Roulan Lin and Graham Hopkins at Galway Circuit Criminal Court yesterday. Andrew Downes

A MAN has been jailed for two years after accepting money from a Chinese woman so that she could register him as the father on her child's birth certificate and get an Irish passport for the boy.

Separated father of three, Graham Hopkins (44), from Castlepark, Headford Road, Galway, and hotel maid, Roulan Lin (26), with a former address at The Stables, College Road, Galway, both pleaded guilty at the Circuit Criminal Court to giving false information to a registrar at the Civil Registration Service, Galway, on April 20, 2009.

The pair also pleaded guilty to giving false information in connection with a passport application.

Lin came to Ireland in 2004 on a student visa to study English and worked in various hotels and fast-food outlets. She became pregnant by a Chinese man and gave birth to a baby boy on April 19, 2009.

She feared the child would not be allowed to remain in the country and she paid Hopkins, whom she had met through a mutual friend and who was in financial difficulty, €3,500 to name himself as the child's father on the birth certificate and on the passport application form.

Hopkins and Lin had been stopped by immigration officials at Dublin airport on February 2 last year on their return from a trip to China with the child.

Officials were suspicious the child, who had an Irish passport, was not his.

"He was trying too hard to be a parent and it made officials suspicious," said Sgt Paudie O'Shea.

He arrested the pair in May and they readily admitted giving false information to authorities.

He said Lin was in the country illegally at the time of the offence.

Sgt O'Shea said that following a case before the European Courts, Lin had had an opportunity to apply for an Irish passport for the child but that these offences and convictions would scupper that now.

Defence lawyer Aisling Wall said Hopkins got involved because he needed the money and she handed a demand letter for €30,000 into court from a mortgage lender.

Judge Raymond Groarke hoped the two-year sentence he imposed on Hopkins would act as a deterrent to others.

He imposed the same sentence on Lin but put a stay on the warrant until July 13 to allow her time to apply for the child's passport. The warrant would be issued at a fixed date if Lin had not been deported in the interim."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/man-jailed-for-pretending-to-be-father-of-chinese-baby-2659622.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

bleg wrote: »
    Anybody else think Gardai should have more punitive sentences put on them than ordinary citizens?
    Thats the way it is in every normal country, the police are held to a higher standard because of their job except of course in Ireland where they are allowed to assault, steal, commit even armed robbery and just about every other crime you can think of and walk out the door of the court free men.And the citizens are expected to have respect for the police haha....Ireland is a sick joke of a country.

DonJose wrote: »
    Garda gets 18 month suspended sentence for beating a fella to an inch of his life.

On the same day a guy who accepted money to say hes the father of a Chinese kid to help the mother stay in the country, he gets 2 years in prison. Story below. Where's the justice.

"Roulan Lin and Graham Hopkins at Galway Circuit Criminal Court yesterday. Andrew Downes

A MAN has been jailed for two years after accepting money from a Chinese woman so that she could register him as the father on her child's birth certificate and get an Irish passport for the boy.

Separated father of three, Graham Hopkins (44), from Castlepark, Headford Road, Galway, and hotel maid, Roulan Lin (26), with a former address at The Stables, College Road, Galway, both pleaded guilty at the Circuit Criminal Court to giving false information to a registrar at the Civil Registration Service, Galway, on April 20, 2009.

The pair also pleaded guilty to giving false information in connection with a passport application.

Lin came to Ireland in 2004 on a student visa to study English and worked in various hotels and fast-food outlets. She became pregnant by a Chinese man and gave birth to a baby boy on April 19, 2009.

She feared the child would not be allowed to remain in the country and she paid Hopkins, whom she had met through a mutual friend and who was in financial difficulty, €3,500 to name himself as the child's father on the birth certificate and on the passport application form.

Hopkins and Lin had been stopped by immigration officials at Dublin airport on February 2 last year on their return from a trip to China with the child.

"He was trying too hard to be a parent and it made officials suspicious," said Sgt Paudie O'Shea.

He arrested the pair in May and they readily admitted giving false information to authorities.

Sgt O'Shea said that following a case before the European Courts, Lin had had an opportunity to apply for an Irish passport for the child but that these offences and convictions would scupper that now.

Defence lawyer Aisling Wall said Hopkins got involved because he needed the money and she handed a demand letter for €30,000 into court from a mortgage lender.

Judge Raymond Groarke hoped the two-year sentence he imposed on Hopkins would act as a deterrent to others.

He imposed the same sentence on Lin but put a stay on the warrant until July 13 to allow her time to apply for the child's passport. The warrant would be issued at a fixed date if Lin had not been deported in the interim."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/man-jailed-for-pretending-to-be-father-of-chinese-baby-2659622.html

Ah I get it, guy tries to help out a mother and her kid, gets two years in prison. More than likely in there with the violent, murdering scum.

Garda breaks a guys face and makes his brain bleed, goes home for dinner.

Justice has been done.

I ****ing love Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Personally if it were me or a relative involved I would feel that the Garda should have served jail time.

Saying that if the victim does not want him to go to jail then perhaps there's more to it than we're being told.
    bleg wrote: »
    Anybody else think Gardai should have more punitive sentences put on them than ordinary citizens?

I can see where you are coming frim but tbh I think it should be one rule for all.

This business of 'different strokes for different folks' is the reason why so many bankers are still walking free despite bringing the country to financial ruin.

You do the crime, you do the time, your personal circumstances should not be a deciding factor in what sort of sentence you get.

The Garda's career was in my opinion completely irrelevant to the crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭onlyrocknroll

I think the way it works is that it's illegal to viciously assault somebody if you're from certain areas of Cork, Dublin and Limerick, have an inner city accent, and wear tracksuits instead of jeans.

Everybody else is entitled to beat people half to death with virtual impunity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Mother of two get 6 months jail time for stealing ambulance.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2011/0527/1224297854063.html

Guard walks free after nearly killing someone in late night assault.

Welcome to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

this is shocking that this garda only got a suspended sentence. ffs they are locking people up for non payment of fines and when a garda almost kills an innocent man they let them walk. this countries law system is in very serious trouble when this kind of thing is allowed. the judge that suspended his sentence should be sacked.

there should be outrage over this.

But as usual, we'll complain amongst ourselves but keep our heads down in case we anger our betters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Welcome to Ireland.

Mother of two had about thirty previous convictions no doubt!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,030 ✭✭✭Amalgam

Welcome to Ireland.

I would jail someone for stealing an ambulance. The madness is.. people are being fined (then jailed) for leaving cardboard boxes full of bottles, beside bottle banks.

If someone 'hardened' by the system, knicked something off of me, quite probably, they would not get jailed, but if I did something stupid related to the henious crimes of bottle bank cardboard boxes, I might..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

By the way can we stopped acting as though this man is the first person in the country to get a suspended.

There is all manner of criminal walking the street daily and we all know it. For instance there is a suspected drug dealer down the road from me and convicted child molester around the corner!

it say's...A garda, who was convicted of assault yesterday, walked free today after a Circuit Court Judge in Cork revised his 18-month prison sentence.

emm assault, it was attempted murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭busman

By the way can we stopped acting as though this man is the first person in the country to get a suspended.

Fair enough but how many got suspended sentices because they might be ruffed up a bit in Prision?

The reason he got off is that he was a Guard. Judge said so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

prinz wrote: »
    So with doctors it's ok up to multiple murders.... what the hell kind of logic is that.:confused: What if a surgeon went out and battered someone so badly the had a broken nose, teeth, bleeding in the brain etc. Why shoudln't the RCS have psychologically profiled him?

I didn't actually say that., and I also wouldn't compare a doctor's job with that of a Guard.

prinz wrote: »
    Goes for all jobs tbh. Unless you simultaneously praise the Templemore selection techniques when a single garda does something amazing you can't really judge it on the actions of another single man.

This guy slipped through the net, and I would have expected psychological profiling at Templemore to have prevented this. How many more are there like him serving the public? It's surely the nature of a Guard's job to think before acting, and when this particular guard found himself in a tricky situation, he did the opposite, and now his career's shot to pieces as a result.

I don't think that you like people criticising the Guards for whatever reason.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

How on earth has he not served any jail time for this? It simply beggars belief that one man breaks anothers nose, teeth, fractures his jaw and leaves him with bleeding of the brain yet he walks free from court.

I'm not a bleeding heart liberal, I'm not overly conservative, most times I simply sit on the fence but this has honestly left me speechless. Someone please tell me how he has managed to get away with this and how the justice system see's this as justice having been served.

Regardless of anything else you can be absolutely certain had someone done this to a Garda they would be facing a very long time inside.

For the first time in my life I have bought a house. I no longer rent and move every f*cking year. I will finally have politicians calling to my door and the one thing I will press them on is the justice system in this country. It simply isn't f*cking good enough. It really honestly isn't.

I totally agree. I don't take this "sure he'll have a tougher time in prison because he's a guard lark". At the end of the day he is a citizen of this country like the rest of us and, therefore, should be treated like any one of us would be treated were we to beat someone to a pulp. I was cross enough yesterday when I heard a year of his sentence had been suspended, but to hear that the whole eighteen months has is unbelievable. I feel sorry for the guy who was subjected to this attack and his familiy, they must really feel let down by the justice system in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

I hope he has a nasty time in the 'showers' prick

cosmicfart wrote: »
    I hope he has a nasty time in the 'showers' prick

this will never happen as he was freed from any sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

jonsnow wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...reaking47.html

A garda who got into a row in Cork city while off-duty and knocked a man unconscious has been jailed for six months for assault.

Dean Foley (25), who was stationed in Bantry at the time, pleaded guilty to assault causing harm to Stephen Murphy at Grand Parade in Cork on September 12th, 2009.

The case against Foley - who is currently suspended from An Garda Siochana - is the first to be investigated by the Garda Ombudsman Commission to result in a custodial sentence.

Mr Murphy suffered a broken nose, fractures to his cheekbones, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain in the late night assault which happened after an exchange of words.

Foley, with an address at Tradean, Knocknasuff, Blarney, Co Cork broke down in the witness box at Cork Circuit Criminal Court as he spoke of his remorse for the assault.

He said that one moment of madness had cost him his career and he deeply regretted his actions and the injuries he caused Mr Murphy, who was 29 at the time.

The court heard that Foley had sold his car and his motorbike and borrowed extensively to come up with a substantial sum of compensation to offer to Mr Murphy.

Foley had been with his brother, Travis when words were exchanged with Mr Murphy, who was intoxicated at the time. A row broke out and this escalated into an assault.

Foley was stopped by gardai that night and made a cautioned statement admitting throwing a punch but he had no idea that Mr Murphy was so seriously injured, the court heard.

Mr Murphy wrote to the court and said he had no wish to see Foley go to jail but he was happy to leave the penalty up to the court.

Foley's brother Travis has already pleaded guilty to a lesser charge of assault and is due for sentence in relation to the offence on June 27th.

Judge Seán Ó Donnabháin noted Foley's guilty plea and his offer of substantial compensation but he said that he could not ignore the injuries suffered by Mr Murphy.

Mr Murphy was very intoxicated at the time and it was not a contest of equals, he said as he sentenced Dean Foley to 18 months in jail. The final 12 months were suspended.

Have to say I feel sorry for the guy.A moment of madness and he ends up destroying his career and his reputation.I hope the prison authorities make sure to protect him.The guy he assaulted had no wish for him to be sent down but I suppose with the extreme injuries the judge felt he had no choice.
    I could not feel one bit sorry for him and if justice had been done he would be up in Cork prison for the next six months getting the crap knocked out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭man.about.town

DonJose wrote: »

damn skippy he got what he deserved. by doing so, the child and mother would be entitled to a lifelong stay in ireland, illegally claiming child benefits, free health care, if she didnt work the dole etc...

busman wrote: »
    Fair enough but how many got suspended sentices because they might be ruffed up a bit in Prision?

The reason he got off is that he was a Guard. Judge said so!
    In that case they will have to build a new prison for members of An Garda Siochana..should be full in no time by the look of things!.I wonder how long before the GSOC conclude that their only purpose in this decayed nation is as window dressing and give up in despair.

damn skippy he got what he deserved. by doing so, the child and mother would be entitled to a lifelong stay in ireland, illegally claiming child benefits, free health care, if she didnt work the dole etc...
    I know this is off topic...but how many Chinese have you ever seen drawing the dole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

No wonder we will never advance when Garda convicted yesterday of assault gets a suspended sentence today .....fast tracked, did not even have to appeal but added to today's Court business. It would NEVER happen for an ordinary citizen. So the Garda can do as they like and even if convicted....they get off. Same old Ireland and will never change to make all people accountable.

He will probably get promotion in the Garda Siochana:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

SeaFields wrote: »
    I'm open to correction here but won he be sent to a smaller, less 'aggressive' prision for his own safety? The one where child abusers and that go. Cant remember the name.

Arbor hill I think. The reason it's considered safer is because the inmates are generally there for the same reason and as so, there's not as much hatred between them. A Garda though will be completely different, they'll want revenge.