Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Jailed over cork assault

• 27-05-2011 9:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...reaking47.html

A garda who got into a row in Cork city while off-duty and knocked a man unconscious has been jailed for six months for assault.

Dean Foley (25), who was stationed in Bantry at the time, pleaded guilty to assault causing harm to Stephen Murphy at Grand Parade in Cork on September 12th, 2009.

The case against Foley - who is currently suspended from An Garda Siochana - is the first to be investigated by the Garda Ombudsman Commission to result in a custodial sentence.

Mr Murphy suffered a broken nose, fractures to his cheekbones, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain in the late night assault which happened after an exchange of words.

Foley, with an address at Tradean, Knocknasuff, Blarney, Co Cork broke down in the witness box at Cork Circuit Criminal Court as he spoke of his remorse for the assault.

He said that one moment of madness had cost him his career and he deeply regretted his actions and the injuries he caused Mr Murphy, who was 29 at the time.

The court heard that Foley had sold his car and his motorbike and borrowed extensively to come up with a substantial sum of compensation to offer to Mr Murphy.

Foley had been with his brother, Travis when words were exchanged with Mr Murphy, who was intoxicated at the time. A row broke out and this escalated into an assault.

Foley was stopped by gardai that night and made a cautioned statement admitting throwing a punch but he had no idea that Mr Murphy was so seriously injured, the court heard.

Mr Murphy wrote to the court and said he had no wish to see Foley go to jail but he was happy to leave the penalty up to the court.

Foley's brother Travis has already pleaded guilty to a lesser charge of assault and is due for sentence in relation to the offence on June 27th.

Judge Seán Ó Donnabháin noted Foley's guilty plea and his offer of substantial compensation but he said that he could not ignore the injuries suffered by Mr Murphy.

Mr Murphy was very intoxicated at the time and it was not a contest of equals, he said as he sentenced Dean Foley to 18 months in jail. The final 12 months were suspended.

Have to say I feel sorry for the guy.A moment of madness and he ends up destroying his career and his reputation.I hope the prison authorities make sure to protect him.The guy he assaulted had no wish for him to be sent down but I suppose with the extreme injuries the judge felt he had no choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭kieran26

He deserved prison. There is no way he should have gotten away with just a suspended sentence or a fine. He's lucky he didn't kill yer man! He is going to get a very hard time in prison!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Is he still a guard ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Tigger wrote: »
    Is he still a guard ?

God no, if you're convicted of a crime you can't remain a garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

My sympathies for someone who would inflict these kind of injuries on someone else are somewhat limited - deserved jailtime no question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

He's going to get an awful time to prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

kieran26 wrote: »
    He is going to get a very hard time in prison!
    RMD wrote: »
    He's going to get an awful time to prison.

I'm open to correction here but won he be sent to a smaller, less 'aggressive' prision for his own safety? The one where child abusers and that go. Cant remember the name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I wonder who started the fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Smeefa

The fight broke out after Mr. Murphy referred to Mr. Foley's "Brightly coloured shirt" as a "gay shirt"

SeaFields wrote: »
    I'm open to correction here but won he be sent to a smaller, less 'aggressive' prision for his own safety? The one where child abusers and that go. Cant remember the name.

shelton abbey? i'm not too sure where they're sending him, either that or he'll be in solitary for six months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

kieran26 wrote: »
    He deserved prison. There is no way he should have gotten away with just a suspended sentence or a fine. He's lucky he didn't kill yer man! He is going to get a very hard time in prison!

While I agree he deserves prison, it does show up a huge wrong in the Irish justice system.

This man assaults another and rightly gets punished for it, yet on a weekly basis we get to read of assaults and worse by men with 50, 60, 70 etc prior convictions who get to walk away with suspended sentences.

Or cases like the Clare woman who was raped a few years back. She went to court against the guy. He was found by the court to have done it. Yet he was on the same train home as her that evening.

Proper punishments for crimes is badly needed in my eyes, but consistency in sentencing is a must and Judges should be accountable for letting proven violent repeat offenders back onto the streets with Mickey Mouse sentences if and when they reoffend in a violent manner.

It is shocking the amount of assaults and killings that are carried out by people who are out on a suspended sentence or awaiting trial for a previous similar offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Agreed, sentence is deserved. Himself and his brother thump the crap out of an intoxicated man who made a silly comment about his brothers "gay shirt".

18 months, 12 suspended, his solicitors are going back to day to see can they get the remaining 6 months suspended as well.

Regardlless of him saying he only hit him once once the guy hits the footpath it wouldn't take too much to see he was seriously hurt. If he called an ambulance for him instead of walking away I would feel more sympathy for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Wouldn't it be better to have him work 6 months without wages and cost nothing than sending him to prison where he costs alot to maintain. People should be charged money for being in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

You will probably find that neither could hold their drink. These assaults rarely occur in the daylight hours. A very expensive night out for both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Think the row was started when Mr. Murphy said Mr. Foley shirt

was "Gay". Guess he won't be passing fashion statements any more.

He was lucky not to have died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Jesus, I'd hate to see what he would have don to yer man if he actually insulted him rather than his brother's taste in shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Smeefa wrote: »
    The fight broke out after Mr. Murphy referred to Mr. Foley's "Brightly coloured shirt" as a "gay shirt"

Jesus, could the guard not have been a bit thicker skinned than that - if he can't take that kind of insult/slagging, what will happen to him in prison when all the inmates know he was a copper.

Will he try and knock the sh1t out of them as well - somehow I don't think he will be able to beat up every lad in prison...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

It's the lack of consistency in Irish courts that annoys me.

Garda of previously impeccable character violently assaults someone while drunk and gets 12 months in jail.

Below is a case from March where an amateur boxer of previously impeccable character violently assaulted someone while drunk and got zero jail time.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/courts/boxers-brutal-attack-in-nightclubs-toilet-2577094.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Garda of previously impeccable character violently assaults someone while drunk and gets 12 months in jail.

Below is a case from March where an amateur boxer of previously impeccable character violently assaulted someone while drunk and got zero jail time.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/courts/boxers-brutal-attack-in-nightclubs-toilet-2577094.html

It does seem ridiculous when you compare the two. They need to get the law tightened up on this kind of thing.

He [the judge] said "with grave reluctance on my part I am going to give him a chance".

What the hell..? If the judge was reluctant, then who exactly is deciding on what sentence should be handed down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Jailed? But I thought the gardaí 'took care' of their own and were in cahoots with the judges up and down the country to do whatever the hell they liked both on and off duty and get away with ot scot-free?

Jaysus Indymedia led me up the wrong path altogether.

Bullseye1 wrote: »
    Wouldn't it be better to have him work 6 months without wages and cost nothing than sending him to prison where he costs alot to maintain. People should be charged money for being in prison.

I certainly wouldn't want this guy working as a cop again. he's giving good cops a bad name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

That moment of madness nonsense doesn't wash as far as i'm concerned. He should have got the full 18 months and more imo.

Plenty of us get angry but do we beat a man into the ground because of it - NO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

So much for "rehabilitation".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Mr Murphy suffered a broken nose, facial fractures, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain as a result of the attack.
    In an emotional statement to the court yesterday, Foley said: "One moment of madness has cost me my whole life. I am very sorry for it, for what happened. I never had any intention of hurting anyone. It wasn't my intention to do it."

These kind of injuries don't come from just "one moment of madness", its not like the garda threw one punch and then immediately regretted his decision, this garda consciously beat a man till he was very close to dying all because of a remark about a t-shirt. He is not fit to be a garda if he can't control his temper. He also says "it wasn't his intention to do it", how far into the beating did he realise it wasn't his intention to cause harm to this man, was it after he broke his nose or after he broke his teeth and from what Mr Murphy says is that he was unconcious so this idiot garda continued the beating while the man was knocked out. Complete scumbag I think and he deserves a longer sentence and I hate to say it but I hope the prisoners break his nose and his teeth while he's there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

I hate to say it but I hope the prisoners break his nose and his teeth while he's there.

+1 - Live by the sword and all that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Sounds to me that he is deeply "remorseful" this time, cause he was caught.

If he hadn't been caught, imagine him out patrolling the streets.

Bleeding to the brain? He should have got longer. There are so many examples of young gardai behaving like they're untouchable. Another case in Galway couple of years ago where he assaulted someone, another last year also in Galway.

Templemore need to crack down on the recruits and tell them to treat people with respect when they're on duty, and also those they meet when they're off duty.

So much for being upstanding members of the community. I've many issues with the gardai. They've been usess the last 2 times I needed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

The whole incident could so easily have been avoided if people from Cork would just learn to dress properly. I blame the brother for wearing the gay shirt in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

harsh sentence considering many others walk away and the victim in this case asked that the garda did not go to jail.

Also the garda has raised a substantial amount of money for the victim which goes to show remorse which is lacking in most other cases of this nature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Good riddance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It doesn't say a lot for the Templemore vetting procedure that the guy became a Guard in the first place. How many more Guards are there who aren't cut out for the job, I wonder?

harsh sentence considering many others walk away and the victim in this case asked that the garda did not go to jail.

Also the garda has raised a substantial amount of money for the victim which goes to show remorse which is lacking in most other cases of this nature.

I agree that it's harsh compared to other sentences for assault, but as a Garda he is held to a higher standard than some random scrote, and answerable as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It doesn't say a lot for the Templemore vetting procedure that the guy became a Guard in the first place. How many more Guards are there who aren't cut out for the job, I wonder?

No it doesn't. :confused:. Would you say the same if the culprit was a doctor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Soap on a rope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I wonder who started the fight?

That's what I was thinking. Strange how people can voluntarily get themselves drunk and then as result feel they can insult people without impunity because they now feel themselves to be a comedian and a bit brave. But that's acceptable behaviour because it's a "social" drug.

I wonder has the victim been so quick to take a drink since the incident?

(not condoning violence, just find it ironic that yer man instigated his own beating and now people are looking for the perpetrator to be assaulted in prison on top of his sentence.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Far more serious injuries in the others case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You would feel that when a person starts a fight, the account they give (merely saying his shirt was gay) is usually toned down a fair bit so it's possible he was more aggressive on the night.

He won't be mouthing off again, I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Thread title needs a change:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0527/foleyd.html

Garda has entire assault sentence suspended

These kind of injuries don't come from just "one moment of madness", its not like the garda threw one punch and then immediately regretted his decision, this garda consciously beat a man till he was very close to dying all because of a remark about a t-shirt. He is not fit to be a garda if he can't control his temper. He also says "it wasn't his intention to do it", how far into the beating did he realise it wasn't his intention to cause harm to this man, was it after he broke his nose or after he broke his teeth and from what Mr Murphy says is that he was unconcious so this idiot garda continued the beating while the man was knocked out.
    I hope the prisoners break his nose and his teeth while he's there.

Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

stovelid wrote: »
    You would feel that when a person starts a fight, the account they give (merely saying his shirt was gay) is usually toned down a fair bit so it's possible he was more aggressive on the night.

He won't be mouthing off again, I'm sure.

So you think it was a lesson well learned, with "broken nose, facial fractures, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain"
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-weeps-as-he-is-jailed-for-beating-man-unconscious-2659529.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

At last his career is ruined now, I'm happy for him. He's obviously not cut out to be a member of the Garda.

He'll think twice now about wearing a gay shirt now :pac: :pac:

Nodin wrote: »
    So you think it was a lesson well learned, with "broken nose, facial fractures, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain"
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-weeps-as-he-is-jailed-for-beating-man-unconscious-2659529.html

Not the severity of it, obviously but then again, when you go out looking for it, somebody will take you up on it.

The beating isn't something I am capable/willing to give but similarly I don't go out starting fights either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Thread title needs a change:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0527/foleyd.html

Garda has entire assault sentence suspended

No surprise there then...Irish Justice:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

jonsnow wrote: »
    Mr Murphy suffered a broken nose, fractures to his cheekbones, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain in the late night assault which happened after an exchange of words.
    jonsnow wrote: »
    Have to say I feel sorry for the guy.A moment of madness and he ends up destroying his career and his reputation.

Sorry, but my sympathy for him is very limited (actually tending to non-existent).

Amongst the other injuries, he caused bleeding to the brain - things could have turned out a lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

bonerm wrote: »
    That's what I was thinking. Strange how people can voluntarily get themselves drunk and then as result feel they can insult people without impunity because they now feel themselves to be a comedian and a bit brave. But that's acceptable behaviour because it's a "social" drug.

I wonder has the victim been so quick to take a drink since the incident?

(not condoning violence, just find it ironic that yer man instigated his own beating and now people are looking for the perpetrator to be assaulted in prison on top of his sentence.)

Instigated his own beating? What a load of sh;t!

I'd expect a serving member of the Gardai to have a bit more restraint than to batter someone to such an extent over a bit of verbal on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Thank god our legal system saw sense, do we really want to live in a country where police are treated before the courts like an ordinary citizen? :eek:

next: All paedos released as they are likely to "suffer more in jail"

Nothing to do with remorse, its par for the course in an assault case where someone is trying to avoid a jail sentence.

I fail to see where the mitigation in this case lies. A child fiddler could use this argument. Would it reverse a prison sentance? I don't think so. Law is a big game imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Regardless of 'slagging' or any other provication, it is illegal to assault another person - or an animal, for that matter - in this state unless in clear self defence, and even then only in a measured capacity.

Beating a man outside a pub is the act of a drunken thug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

IMO i think the actual sentence was a bit harsh and it was fair to suspend it. taking into acount the victim didnt want him jailed.

I am not taking sides and im NOT saying he should get away with it...

Losing job >>deserved
    Selling property for compo >>deserved
    getting a loan for compo >> deserved
    the shame involved >> deserved
    suspended sentence for 18 months deserved

fair enough, if it was serious harm then jail him. but i believe he has learned his lesson, he will no longer be a garda, he is left with nothing and the victim is happy with the result, case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Foley`s been released.

You are a bit late, boss ^