Garda Jailed over cork assault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

harsh sentence considering many others walk away and the victim in this case asked that the garda did not go to jail.

Also the garda has raised a substantial amount of money for the victim which goes to show remorse which is lacking in most other cases of this nature.

I agree that it's harsh compared to other sentences for assault, but as a Garda he is held to a higher standard than some random scrote, and answerable as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

ejmaztec wrote: »
    It doesn't say a lot for the Templemore vetting procedure that the guy became a Guard in the first place. How many more Guards are there who aren't cut out for the job, I wonder?

No it doesn't. :confused:. Would you say the same if the culprit was a doctor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭znv6i3h7kqf9ys

Soap on a rope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I wonder who started the fight?

That's what I was thinking. Strange how people can voluntarily get themselves drunk and then as result feel they can insult people without impunity because they now feel themselves to be a comedian and a bit brave. But that's acceptable behaviour because it's a "social" drug.

I wonder has the victim been so quick to take a drink since the incident?

(not condoning violence, just find it ironic that yer man instigated his own beating and now people are looking for the perpetrator to be assaulted in prison on top of his sentence.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

It's the lack of consistency in Irish courts that annoys me.

Garda of previously impeccable character violently assaults someone while drunk and gets 12 months in jail.

Below is a case from March where an amateur boxer of previously impeccable character violently assaulted someone while drunk and got zero jail time.

http://www.herald.ie/national-news/courts/boxers-brutal-attack-in-nightclubs-toilet-2577094.html

Far more serious injuries in the others case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You would feel that when a person starts a fight, the account they give (merely saying his shirt was gay) is usually toned down a fair bit so it's possible he was more aggressive on the night.

He won't be mouthing off again, I'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Thread title needs a change:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0527/foleyd.html

Garda has entire assault sentence suspended

These kind of injuries don't come from just "one moment of madness", its not like the garda threw one punch and then immediately regretted his decision, this garda consciously beat a man till he was very close to dying all because of a remark about a t-shirt. He is not fit to be a garda if he can't control his temper. He also says "it wasn't his intention to do it", how far into the beating did he realise it wasn't his intention to cause harm to this man, was it after he broke his nose or after he broke his teeth and from what Mr Murphy says is that he was unconcious so this idiot garda continued the beating while the man was knocked out.
    I hope the prisoners break his nose and his teeth while he's there.

Hmmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

stovelid wrote: »
    You would feel that when a person starts a fight, the account they give (merely saying his shirt was gay) is usually toned down a fair bit so it's possible he was more aggressive on the night.

He won't be mouthing off again, I'm sure.

So you think it was a lesson well learned, with "broken nose, facial fractures, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain"
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-weeps-as-he-is-jailed-for-beating-man-unconscious-2659529.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭giant_midget

At last his career is ruined now, I'm happy for him. He's obviously not cut out to be a member of the Garda.

He'll think twice now about wearing a gay shirt now :pac: :pac:

Nodin wrote: »
    So you think it was a lesson well learned, with "broken nose, facial fractures, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain"
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/garda-weeps-as-he-is-jailed-for-beating-man-unconscious-2659529.html

Not the severity of it, obviously but then again, when you go out looking for it, somebody will take you up on it.

The beating isn't something I am capable/willing to give but similarly I don't go out starting fights either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Thread title needs a change:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0527/foleyd.html

Garda has entire assault sentence suspended

No surprise there then...Irish Justice:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Apanachi

jonsnow wrote: »
    Mr Murphy suffered a broken nose, fractures to his cheekbones, broken teeth and bleeding to the brain in the late night assault which happened after an exchange of words.
    jonsnow wrote: »
    Have to say I feel sorry for the guy.A moment of madness and he ends up destroying his career and his reputation.

Sorry, but my sympathy for him is very limited (actually tending to non-existent).

Amongst the other injuries, he caused bleeding to the brain - things could have turned out a lot worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

bonerm wrote: »
    That's what I was thinking. Strange how people can voluntarily get themselves drunk and then as result feel they can insult people without impunity because they now feel themselves to be a comedian and a bit brave. But that's acceptable behaviour because it's a "social" drug.

I wonder has the victim been so quick to take a drink since the incident?

(not condoning violence, just find it ironic that yer man instigated his own beating and now people are looking for the perpetrator to be assaulted in prison on top of his sentence.)

Instigated his own beating? What a load of sh;t!

I'd expect a serving member of the Gardai to have a bit more restraint than to batter someone to such an extent over a bit of verbal on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Thank god our legal system saw sense, do we really want to live in a country where police are treated before the courts like an ordinary citizen? :eek:

next: All paedos released as they are likely to "suffer more in jail"
    Also the garda has raised a substantial amount of money for the victim which goes to show remorse which is lacking in most other cases of this nature.

Nothing to do with remorse, its par for the course in an assault case where someone is trying to avoid a jail sentence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

I fail to see where the mitigation in this case lies. A child fiddler could use this argument. Would it reverse a prison sentance? I don't think so. Law is a big game imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Regardless of 'slagging' or any other provication, it is illegal to assault another person - or an animal, for that matter - in this state unless in clear self defence, and even then only in a measured capacity.

Beating a man outside a pub is the act of a drunken thug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭0O7

IMO i think the actual sentence was a bit harsh and it was fair to suspend it. taking into acount the victim didnt want him jailed.

I am not taking sides and im NOT saying he should get away with it...

Losing job >>deserved
    Selling property for compo >>deserved
    getting a loan for compo >> deserved
    the shame involved >> deserved
    suspended sentence for 18 months deserved

fair enough, if it was serious harm then jail him. but i believe he has learned his lesson, he will no longer be a garda, he is left with nothing and the victim is happy with the result, case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Foley`s been released.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

You are a bit late, boss ^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

prinz wrote: »
    No it doesn't. :confused:. Would you say the same if the culprit was a doctor?

I would if the doctor was someone like Harold Shipman.

This particular Guard must have had issues involving drink and lack of self-control. I think that he would have been unpredictable in a crisis situation on the job.

People complain about some Guards acting OTT in crowd control situations, and their use of unreasonable force. There sometimes seems to be a very thin line separating "upholding the law" and acting illegally in order to do so.

I don't know whether they use psychological profiling of Templemore candidates, but they should, and it should be effective, because no-one wants loose cannons in the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

This particular Guard must have had issues involving drink and lack of self-control. I think that he would have been unpredictable in a crisis situation on the job.

Don't think it was anything to do with drink - the judge mentioned in his verdict that while the victim was drunk the Gaurd wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

Anybody else think Gardai should have more punitive sentences put on them than ordinary citizens?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

What a sick little country we live in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I would if the doctor was someone like Harold Shipman..

So with doctors it's ok up to multiple murders.... what the hell kind of logic is that.:confused: What if a surgeon went out and battered someone so badly the had a broken nose, teeth, bleeding in the brain etc. Why shoudln't the RCS have psychologically profiled him?
    I don't know whether they use psychological profiling of Templemore candidates, but they should, and it should be effective, because no-one wants loose cannons in the job.

Goes for all jobs tbh. Unless you simultaneously praise the Templemore selection techniques when a single garda does something amazing you can't really judge it on the actions of another single man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

He must be a friend of RoboCop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

bleg wrote: »
    Anybody else think Gardai should have more punitive sentences put on them than ordinary citizens?

They should,nothing stopping them being corrupt now because if caught they know they are too good for jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Don't think it was anything to do with drink - the judge mentioned in his verdict that while the victim was drunk the Gaurd wasn't.

...even worse then if he couldn't control himself while he was sober.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

What a sick little country we live in

Very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Garda gets away with almost killing someone.

Would I? Doubt it.

This country is a joke.