Does Ireland need to Lighten Up?

• 24-05-2011 03:52PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I am starting this in response to the threads on the visit of Barack Obama but I could actually site any number of threads.

The amount of begrudgery in this country recently is tbh a little bit shocking.

Whether it is Jedward or President Obama it seems that there are some people who just cannot abide anything that brings a smile to people's face. They are simply too fond of this 'oh woe is us' attitude.

I know we are struggling financially at the moment, I am one of the many trying to look for work. But honestly wallowing in self pity and bemoaning each and every good thing that happens is not going to get us anywhere.

Being in a recession does mean we have be perpetually unhappy, cynical or constantly moaning.

Ireland really needs to lighten up a little imho.

What do you think.

Does Ireland need to Lighten Up? 124 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 124 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We're not in a recession :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Ireland needs to light up a big fat doob. Ta fuck.

That's what got us into this mess in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

People should be severely punished for throwing the word "begrudgery" around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

We're not in a recession :)

Oh ok, my bad:o

Well we are still struggling though, so my point stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messi2

If you ignored the negativity on Boards and certain newspapers everything would be grand.

Dont forget MOST (but not all) people just get on with their lives happily and normally, while others complain, moan and make noise. It is only them who you hear.

Also think about it like this - most come here to moan and probably know that no one would listen to them in the "real world." The moaners make the most noise because the majority are busy getting on with their lives as best and as happily they can.

Take Boards with a pinch of salt.

People should be severely punished for throwing the word "begrudgery" around.

There is a lot of it going around unfortunatly.
    Messi2 wrote: »
    If you ignored the negativity on Boards and certain newspapers everything would be grand.

Dont forget MOST (but not all) people just get on with their lives happily and normally, while others complain, moan and make noise. It is only them who you hear.

Well I suppose that's true :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We're heading for boom, a boom even boomier then the last and a soft landing when it ends

Some on you on boards, realy you need to stop cribbing and moaning on the sidelines, you've been told what to do with yourselves :eek:

Oh ok, my bad:o

Well we are still struggling though, so my point stands.

No, your point doesn't stand.

Just because not everybody swoons like sheep at the thought of a leader coming over and giving what was effectively a pep talk, doesn't mean we are negative or "needing to lighten up", it means some people have a ****ing mind of their own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not really.

Ireland just needs to not be as stuffed to the brim with gullible mongos as it currently is.

No, your point doesn't stand.

Just because not everybody swoons like sheep at the thought of a leader coming over and giving what was effectively a pep talk, doesn't mean we are negative or "needing to lighten up", it means some people have a ****ing mind of their own!

First of relax a bit.

Second I am not saying everyone has to 'swoon' as you put. What I am saying is there is no call to lable those who celebrated his visit pathetic, embarresing or any of the other insults I've seen.

It has nothing to with 'thinking for yourself', that is just plain arrogance.

stovelid wrote: »
    Not really.

Ireland just needs to not be as stuffed to the brim with gullible mongos as it currently is.

Charming.

Exactly why do think we are 'gullible mongos' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There is something in the Irish psyche that always reverts some to the negative in everything ( and sometimes everybody regardless of their status in society ) but as other poster said ,most people just get on with their lives and do the best they can ,appropriate and enjoy life as much as they can without taking to much notice of the moaners .Take Boards with a pinch of salt indeed .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Its just Boards.ie and Joe duffy callers that needed to.For the most part you don't come cross much moaners or conservatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

So you're begrudging the begrudgers their bit of begrudgery OP?

I've heard it all now....

TheZohan wrote: »
    So you're begrudging the begrudgers their bit of begrudgery OP?

I've heard it all now....

I love how you twist everything :rolleyes:

I'm begrudging anyone anything, just wondering why people can't allow eachother a little joy and entertainment now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Does Ireland need to lighten up or is it people on boards that need to lighten up?

First of relax a bit.

Second I am not saying everyone has to 'swoon' as you put. What I am saying is there is no call to lable those who celebrated his visit pathetic, embarresing or any of the other insults I've seen.

It has nothing to with 'thinking for yourself', that is just plain arrogance.

Spellcheck is your friend.

Secondly, it is embarrassing to have someone who effectively looked after his own interests than that of his countries giving Ireland some speech in believing that some good will come out of a pep talk.

On second thoughts that's probably why he was well received, after all we seem to enjoy politicians that look after themselves before their country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I am starting this in response to the threads on the visit of Barack Obama but I could actually site any number of threads.

What do you think.

Cite not site.

Sites are one of the reasons people are so gloomy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

The Celts are a gloomy and pessimistic race.

The Irish are almost as bad as the Scots at being gloomy, pessimistic and believing that we are all doomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I love how you twist everything :rolleyes:

I'm begrudging anyone anything, just wondering why people can't allow eachother a little joy and entertainment now and then.

I'm not twisting anything, ...and you know it.

I'm just wondering why people can't allow each other their own little bit of begrudgery every now and than....and you know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭zephyrz

I think if people are genuinely depressed about a specific subject, then they need to express their views and not get harassed by name calling! If you are regarding to the incidences in the last week, you need to look at why people are angry with Obama and monarchy, and not just accuse them as haters! Some of these 'haters' people refer to are genuinely positive people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

On this thread what percentage of posters were negative ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Batsy wrote: »
    The Celts are a gloomy and pessimistic race.

The Irish are almost as bad as the Scots at being gloomy, pessimistic and believing that we are all doomed.
    Rab C Nessbit knew how to clear that gloom .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Charming.

Exactly why do think we are 'gullible mongos' ?

Let's just say it will take more than a few nationalist platitudes roared on a platform with Jedward by a culchie MC to make me feel that "we're turning a corner".

If making the heinous error of saying something vageuly critical about this country (or not always displaying the requisite level of forelock tugging for celbrities and wealthy Irish citizens) in a time of national fervour leaves me open to the creepy passive-aggressive accusations of begrudgery then so be it.

I'm saying this as somebody that never did (and never will do) the same old trick of running down Ireland as being crap and parochial and as somebody that will solider on here, pay my taxes and bring up my kids to good citizens but Jesus above, please spare me the mawkish enforced esprit de corps and indeed the communal blame for a situation I never once voted for in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i for one am with the OP. half the reason this country is in such a s'hit state is down to the pessimistic, gloomy outlook so many people in the country have at the moment. half the battle in a recession is getting people to start believing again that 'everything will be ok'. we got the balance wrong a few years ago, but it's swung the opposite direction now and we keep digging ourselves into a bigger hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

If people want to jump up and down and scream and wave flags, and they're not hurting anyone else (hence the confiscation of flag poles) then let them have their bit of fun.

I can't stand Jedward, but I was away with friends for the Eurovision weekend, we put the scoring on and yes, we were slightly tipsy, but I can't believe how delighted we all were when they got points from other countries, lots of whooping and hollering:rolleyes: Just a bit of fun and entertainment.

I know people will say the two visits have cost us millions, but the government would have found a way to spend that money anyway, without it being of benefit to us I'm sure:mad: If it brings a bit of happiness, then wheres the harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Whether it is Jedward or President Obama it seems that there are some people who just cannot abide anything that brings a smile to people's face. They are simply too fond of this 'oh woe is us' attitude.

I know we are struggling financially at the moment, I am one of the many trying to look for work. But honestly wallowing in self pity and bemoaning each and every good thing that happens is not going to get us anywhere.

Being in a recession does mean we have be perpetually unhappy, cynical or constantly moaning.

Ireland really needs to lighten up a little imho.

What do you think.

I think that you should lighten up and stop moaning.

:p

ISDW wrote: »
    If people want to jump up and down and scream and wave flags, and they're not hurting anyone else (hence the confiscation of flag poles) then let them have their bit of fun.

I can't stand Jedward, but I was away with friends for the Eurovision weekend, we put the scoring on and yes, we were slightly tipsy, but I can't believe how delighted we all were when they got points from other countries, lots of whooping and hollering:rolleyes: Just a bit of fun and entertainment.

I know people will say the two visits have cost us millions, but the government would have found a way to spend that money anyway, without it being of benefit to us I'm sure:mad: If it brings a bit of happiness, then wheres the harm?

This is all I am really saying. What is wrong with cracking a smile once in a while?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Lads, it's easy to be optimistic when you are having breakfast at Tiffany's every morning.