Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does Ireland need to Lighten Up?

• 24-05-2011 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I am starting this in response to the threads on the visit of Barack Obama but I could actually site any number of threads.

The amount of begrudgery in this country recently is tbh a little bit shocking.

Whether it is Jedward or President Obama it seems that there are some people who just cannot abide anything that brings a smile to people's face. They are simply too fond of this 'oh woe is us' attitude.

I know we are struggling financially at the moment, I am one of the many trying to look for work. But honestly wallowing in self pity and bemoaning each and every good thing that happens is not going to get us anywhere.

Being in a recession does mean we have be perpetually unhappy, cynical or constantly moaning.

Ireland really needs to lighten up a little imho.

What do you think.

Does Ireland need to Lighten Up? 124 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 124 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We're not in a recession :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Ireland needs to light up a big fat doob. Ta fuck.

That's what got us into this mess in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

People should be severely punished for throwing the word "begrudgery" around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

We're not in a recession :)

Oh ok, my bad:o

Well we are still struggling though, so my point stands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭Messi2

If you ignored the negativity on Boards and certain newspapers everything would be grand.

Dont forget MOST (but not all) people just get on with their lives happily and normally, while others complain, moan and make noise. It is only them who you hear.

Also think about it like this - most come here to moan and probably know that no one would listen to them in the "real world." The moaners make the most noise because the majority are busy getting on with their lives as best and as happily they can.

Take Boards with a pinch of salt.

There is a lot of it going around unfortunatly.
    Messi2 wrote: »
    If you ignored the negativity on Boards and certain newspapers everything would be grand.

Dont forget MOST (but not all) people just get on with their lives happily and normally, while others complain, moan and make noise. It is only them who you hear.

Well I suppose that's true :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

We're heading for boom, a boom even boomier then the last and a soft landing when it ends

Some on you on boards, realy you need to stop cribbing and moaning on the sidelines, you've been told what to do with yourselves :eek:

Oh ok, my bad:o

Well we are still struggling though, so my point stands.

No, your point doesn't stand.

Just because not everybody swoons like sheep at the thought of a leader coming over and giving what was effectively a pep talk, doesn't mean we are negative or "needing to lighten up", it means some people have a ****ing mind of their own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Not really.

Ireland just needs to not be as stuffed to the brim with gullible mongos as it currently is.

No, your point doesn't stand.

Just because not everybody swoons like sheep at the thought of a leader coming over and giving what was effectively a pep talk, doesn't mean we are negative or "needing to lighten up", it means some people have a ****ing mind of their own!

First of relax a bit.

Second I am not saying everyone has to 'swoon' as you put. What I am saying is there is no call to lable those who celebrated his visit pathetic, embarresing or any of the other insults I've seen.

It has nothing to with 'thinking for yourself', that is just plain arrogance.

stovelid wrote: »
    Not really.

Ireland just needs to not be as stuffed to the brim with gullible mongos as it currently is.

Charming.

Exactly why do think we are 'gullible mongos' ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

There is something in the Irish psyche that always reverts some to the negative in everything ( and sometimes everybody regardless of their status in society ) but as other poster said ,most people just get on with their lives and do the best they can ,appropriate and enjoy life as much as they can without taking to much notice of the moaners .Take Boards with a pinch of salt indeed .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Its just Boards.ie and Joe duffy callers that needed to.For the most part you don't come cross much moaners or conservatives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

So you're begrudging the begrudgers their bit of begrudgery OP?

I've heard it all now....

TheZohan wrote: »
    So you're begrudging the begrudgers their bit of begrudgery OP?

I've heard it all now....

I love how you twist everything :rolleyes:

I'm begrudging anyone anything, just wondering why people can't allow eachother a little joy and entertainment now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Does Ireland need to lighten up or is it people on boards that need to lighten up?

First of relax a bit.

Second I am not saying everyone has to 'swoon' as you put. What I am saying is there is no call to lable those who celebrated his visit pathetic, embarresing or any of the other insults I've seen.

It has nothing to with 'thinking for yourself', that is just plain arrogance.

Spellcheck is your friend.

Secondly, it is embarrassing to have someone who effectively looked after his own interests than that of his countries giving Ireland some speech in believing that some good will come out of a pep talk.

On second thoughts that's probably why he was well received, after all we seem to enjoy politicians that look after themselves before their country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I am starting this in response to the threads on the visit of Barack Obama but I could actually site any number of threads.

What do you think.

Cite not site.

Sites are one of the reasons people are so gloomy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭Batsy

The Celts are a gloomy and pessimistic race.

The Irish are almost as bad as the Scots at being gloomy, pessimistic and believing that we are all doomed.

I love how you twist everything :rolleyes:

I'm begrudging anyone anything, just wondering why people can't allow eachother a little joy and entertainment now and then.

I'm not twisting anything, ...and you know it.

I'm just wondering why people can't allow each other their own little bit of begrudgery every now and than....and you know it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭zephyrz

I think if people are genuinely depressed about a specific subject, then they need to express their views and not get harassed by name calling! If you are regarding to the incidences in the last week, you need to look at why people are angry with Obama and monarchy, and not just accuse them as haters! Some of these 'haters' people refer to are genuinely positive people!

On this thread what percentage of posters were negative ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Batsy wrote: »
    The Celts are a gloomy and pessimistic race.

The Irish are almost as bad as the Scots at being gloomy, pessimistic and believing that we are all doomed.
    Rab C Nessbit knew how to clear that gloom .

Charming.

Exactly why do think we are 'gullible mongos' ?

Let's just say it will take more than a few nationalist platitudes roared on a platform with Jedward by a culchie MC to make me feel that "we're turning a corner".

If making the heinous error of saying something vageuly critical about this country (or not always displaying the requisite level of forelock tugging for celbrities and wealthy Irish citizens) in a time of national fervour leaves me open to the creepy passive-aggressive accusations of begrudgery then so be it.

I'm saying this as somebody that never did (and never will do) the same old trick of running down Ireland as being crap and parochial and as somebody that will solider on here, pay my taxes and bring up my kids to good citizens but Jesus above, please spare me the mawkish enforced esprit de corps and indeed the communal blame for a situation I never once voted for in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i for one am with the OP. half the reason this country is in such a s'hit state is down to the pessimistic, gloomy outlook so many people in the country have at the moment. half the battle in a recession is getting people to start believing again that 'everything will be ok'. we got the balance wrong a few years ago, but it's swung the opposite direction now and we keep digging ourselves into a bigger hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

If people want to jump up and down and scream and wave flags, and they're not hurting anyone else (hence the confiscation of flag poles) then let them have their bit of fun.

I can't stand Jedward, but I was away with friends for the Eurovision weekend, we put the scoring on and yes, we were slightly tipsy, but I can't believe how delighted we all were when they got points from other countries, lots of whooping and hollering:rolleyes: Just a bit of fun and entertainment.

I know people will say the two visits have cost us millions, but the government would have found a way to spend that money anyway, without it being of benefit to us I'm sure:mad: If it brings a bit of happiness, then wheres the harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Whether it is Jedward or President Obama it seems that there are some people who just cannot abide anything that brings a smile to people's face. They are simply too fond of this 'oh woe is us' attitude.

I know we are struggling financially at the moment, I am one of the many trying to look for work. But honestly wallowing in self pity and bemoaning each and every good thing that happens is not going to get us anywhere.

Being in a recession does mean we have be perpetually unhappy, cynical or constantly moaning.

Ireland really needs to lighten up a little imho.

What do you think.

I think that you should lighten up and stop moaning.

:p

ISDW wrote: »
    If people want to jump up and down and scream and wave flags, and they're not hurting anyone else (hence the confiscation of flag poles) then let them have their bit of fun.

I can't stand Jedward, but I was away with friends for the Eurovision weekend, we put the scoring on and yes, we were slightly tipsy, but I can't believe how delighted we all were when they got points from other countries, lots of whooping and hollering:rolleyes: Just a bit of fun and entertainment.

I know people will say the two visits have cost us millions, but the government would have found a way to spend that money anyway, without it being of benefit to us I'm sure:mad: If it brings a bit of happiness, then wheres the harm?

This is all I am really saying. What is wrong with cracking a smile once in a while?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Lads, it's easy to be optimistic when you are having breakfast at Tiffany's every morning.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I think that you should lighten up and stop moaning.

:p

Ah I'm not really moaning, just wondering where the harm in enjoying ourselves now and again is :)

This is all I am really saying. What is wrong with cracking a smile once in a while?

Absolutely nothing. You only get one life, whats the point in being miserable all the time?

half the reason this country is in such a s'hit state is down to the pessimistic, gloomy outlook so many people in the country have at the moment. .

Sweet lantern divine mother of Jaysus.

While I wouldn't say it is the reason we are in a mess, I do think it makes getting out of it harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

We do need to lighten up but we also have to remember that Jedward are our latest cultural development, we have such a national deficit that we may never be able to pay the bailout and the only thing going to stop our young and highly skilled graduates emigrating is an Icelandic Ash cloud which will also negate any possible increase in tourism thanks to Obama.

Look how far we've moved on, now when countries are fcked, governments arrange Presidential and royal visits. In the past, they would have started wars to cut down on the population and get nationalistic pride going.

While I wouldn't say it is the reason we are in a mess, I do think it makes getting out of it harder.

What's your life situation by the way?

Working? Unemployed? Own place? Kids? Health?

Worried about any of the above?

Perhaps you could share your top tips on mentally projecting yourself beyond the clutches of unemployment, USC, and emigration?

If either of the aggressive optimists on this thread have voted FF in the last 10 years, the joke will be even better.

What are any of you doing that beyond platitudes and flag-waving? What strategy are you advancing except a kind of blind, spastic optimism?

At least I - and others - can say that we never countenanced voting for the policies of the last 15 years even if it meant putting a few quid in our pockets.

And we're supposed to be the negative ones?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Yeah, it's just like the way "Random" has become a lot more frequent.

With regards to lightening up overall, I see no need of it. End of the day the tension that would of shown lately as far as I can see has all been superficial. Taken everything thats been said too literally in an over-zealous agressive manner. And has been consistantly like that since the re-vote on lisbon and with the recession kicking in.

It's not representative of what I want, or what anyone I know wants.

I recognise Obama's speech for what it was intended as, a morale booster. To be honest, it was a welcome relief to hear something that was spun with positivity, as opposed to pointing out negativity in someone/thing else. Which tends to be all I hear or read from Irish politicians lately.

Which is why I don't think we need to lighten up, just lighten the load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

it's true. 7% of all income was saved in 2006, now it's closer 22%. if you can't see the obvious 'problem' (context) in that then your not in much of a position to condesend.

ISDW wrote: »
    Look how far we've moved on, now when countries are fcked, governments arrange Presidential and royal visits. In the past, they would have started wars to cut down on the population and get nationalistic pride going.

They don't need to start a war the population is going overseas. Some of my friends are going today, I'll only be here another 6 or 7 weeks myself. I tried to be upbeat but I just have to say fúck it I'm gone.

Perhaps you could share your top tips on mentally projecting yourself beyond the clutches of unemployment, USC, and emigration?

If either of the aggressive optimists on this thread have voted FF in the last 10 years, the joke will be even better.

Unemployed at present, looking for work all the time. But I refuse to get down about it, I don't want to drive myself into a depression. I alway say if a job is for me it won't pass me by.

Constantly feeling sorry for myself won't get me work any quicker.

I hate FF by the way, but thats irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

No. We should become even more sullen and down-cast so to attract more investors/the ladies.

Unemployed at present, looking for work all the time. But I refuse to get down about it, I don't want to drive myself into a depression. I alway say if a job is for me it won't pass me by.

Constantly feeling sorry for myself won't get me work any quicker.

I hate FF by the way, but thats irrelevant.

So you're living at home? No mortgage? No bills etc etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

I was out the night of the Eurovision at a gig.
    Anyways, myself and the girlfriend got a lift home with my mum who had been watching the Eurovision.
    Me: "...I'm glad Jedward didn't win, I'd never hear the end of the bastards if they did!"
    Mum: "So would you rather people talk about the recession then?"

..My point is, that people who are make any sort of negative comment on what alot of people see as happiness, and rainbows, and Obama, and all things lovely, are shot down as 'moaners' and 'begrudgers'.

it's true. 7% of all income was saved in 2006, now it's closer 22%. if you can't see the obvious 'problem' (context) in that then your not in much of a position to condesend.

I don't understand what you mean by this?

Have to say I didn't agree with Stovelid about our reaction to Obama and all that as I thought it was a morale boost we needed. However, I am going to stand by allot of what was said here as the country is screwed for the moment no matter if were depressed or in blissful ignorance about it. All this talk of begrudging has to stop, it is aside from some extreme views a realistic assessment of our situation.

TheZohan wrote: »
    So you're living at home? No mortgage? No bills etc etc?

Yes, but I would love to have my own place. It is not ideal to have to depend my folks at 24.

But I try to stay positive, getting down won't making changing my situation any easier.

But that's just me.

Ah I'm not really moaning, just wondering where the harm in enjoying ourselves now and again is :)

you can't please all the people all the time.

We do not see things as they are. We see them as we are. :)

What are any of you doing that beyond platitudes and flag-waving? What strategy are you advancing except a kind of blind, spastic optimism?

At least I - and others - can say that we never countenanced voting for the policies of the last 15 years even if it meant putting a few quid in our pockets.

And we're supposed to be the negative ones?

Don't know if I'm one of the 'aggressive optimists' but no, have never voted FF and never will. I live in an old cottage that I was lucky enough to buy outright, but thats because I didn't spend all my money on a brand new, big house and all mod cons. Am unemployed, but luckily don't have a mortgage. However, also don't have the money needed to do this house up, and repair things when they break but the roof doesn't leak (yet) and we have enough food. I don't have a nice car, but we can get around in the van. So I'm not somebody who went overboard in the good times, I was very, very lucky with buying and selling houses, bought a flat in London at the right time, sold it on, bought a house, etc. But then bought this place when most people wouldn't give it a second look.

I'm not saying, and I don't think the OP is either, that we should all rejoice in the current situation, but whats wrong with people being happy with events when they happen, and having a bit of escapism from their lives if only for a few days or a week?

Thanks OP for the positive injection we so sorely needed.

Nothing like being chastised to chase the negative begrudgery away.