Climbing Mt. Everest

It was a crazy decision to attempt Everest considering his wife was due.

It says on the RTE website that he didn't even know she gave birth.

It then follows up with a quote that he was a loving family man and that his family always came first. Madness.

Couldn't have put it better myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,074 ✭✭✭Sparks43

alex73 wrote: »
    Yes, But a Firemen has life insurance.. Has anyone see the quote for life insurance when trying to climb everest?

Id say the quote would be sky high alright

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

If my wife was 7 months pregnant nothing would drag me away.

He went two months ago, yes he was doing something he loved but I am sure he loved his 2 kids and wife more.

Its sad but he made the choice and his family have to live with his selfishness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

OP where did you get the 5% statistic from? It is way wide of the mark. More than 11,000 attempts on Everest have been made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

But not everyone who dies has died in a sucessful ascent.

I would say that by definition, a death on the mountain is an unsuccessful attempt, going up or coming down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

I would say that by definition, a death on the mountain is an unsuccessful attempt, going up or coming down.

Exactly - therefore the 'chances' of death are much much less than the OP would have us believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Apart from the fact it would cost me 25K to do it.
    Yes Life has risks, I could be run over by a car. But the chances are not 5%.

I'd say it would cost a lot more than 25k for an attempt. And keep in mind you'd have to do lots of training and preparation, and of course, may need to make more than one attempt.

I don't know about the moral aspects tbh. I mean, if you've a family at home, that's going to affect how you assess risks. If you're told that conditions are a bit iffy you're going to turn back straight away. There's always the chance that something completely unexpected will go wrong, but for an experienced, well prepared climber with a competent experienced team, the odds of not coming back have to be less than 1%.

I'd weigh that up against the consequences of the kids having a dad without the balls and the drive to follow a dream.

I was thinking about climbing Everest myself. Even a preliminary costing killed the idea for me. Maybe if I win the lotto....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭alex73

Exactly - therefore the 'chances' of death are much much less than the OP would have us believe
    http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2006/08/060824222248.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

The death rate on Mount Everest has not changed over the years, with about one death for every 10 successful ascents. For anyone who reaches the summit, they have about a 1 in 20 chance of not making it down again.
    So why are there so many people dying on Mount Everest?

There seems to be either an over statement over what constitutes an attempt or different ways of recording deaths/attempts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I love adventure and admire anybody who has the experience and training neccesary that attempts climbing Everest. If successful it would be the experience of a lifetime, and even if unsuccessful (and not resulting in death) then it would be almost as memorable. Life is for living as they say, and I would rather that risk than playing it safe and wrapping yourself up in bubble wrap. I also think it would be worth the financial cost if you reckon you could do it and have dedicated the time over years to prepare

However, if you attempt something like that without the training and experience then your an eejit. If you attempt something like that, experienced or otherwise, with a family who is dependent on you (financially/emotionally-it doesnt matter) then you are very inconsiderate. I dont want to get into specifics about the case being referred to here but a family man to not be there for your childs birth isnt the best planning in the world.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Considering that about 5% who attempt Mt. Everest Die in the process (over 200 have died) Should a guy with small kids attempt the journey?

Couldn't get a Sherpa no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Azureus wrote: »
    I love adventure and admire anybody who has the experience and training neccesary that attempts climbing Everest. If successful it would be the experience of a lifetime, and even if unsuccessful (and not resulting in death) then it would be almost as memorable. Life is for living as they say, and I would rather that risk than playing it safe and wrapping yourself up in bubble wrap. I also think it would be worth the financial cost if you reckon you could do it and have dedicated the time over years to prepare

However, if you attempt something like that without the training and experience then your an eejit. If you attempt something like that, experienced or otherwise, with a family who is dependent on you (financially/emotionally-it doesnt matter) then you are very inconsiderate. I dont want to get into specifics about the case being referred to here but a family man to not be there for your childs birth isnt the best planning in the world.

would you like a hand off that fence ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

I think he (or you the OP) would be right to do it if it means that much to you (It wouldn't to me). Also, personally, I think the timing of the climb was inappropiate given the situation on his family life.

We shouldn't really judge though... we don't have all the details.

RIP Mr. Delaney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Azureus wrote: »

He had been mountaineering for several years and was attempting to conquer Everest after a failed attempt five years ago.

Not all men are present when their children are born, this does not mean they are inconsiderate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭harry21

hondasam wrote: »
    [/B]

Not all men are present when their children are born, this does not mean they are inconsiderate.

I agree. My future wife says I wont be allowed near the place when the kids are born. Fine with me.... her choice as I see it.

But what if something went wrong during child-birth. Thats the kind of thing you want to be close for.. just incase??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

harry21 wrote: »
    I agree. My future wife says I wont be allowed near the place when the kids are born. Fine with me.... her choice as I see it.
    ?

sorry to drag off topic - but you should have a choice here too. it is a moment in life not to be missed.

I should add - RIP to the climber today. I dont agree he should have been there at this time in his family life, but i wont criticise someone to follow a dream either. Just tragic timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i had the pleasure of meeting Sean McGowan last year, more info here.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/kfkfididkfsn/rss2/

he sailed solo across the atlantic and was close to death on many an occasion. now this guy was one of the bravest, smartest and most articulate fellows i've ever had the pleasure to meet and i immediately liked him...the problem is that he had 3 (i think) young kids and a wife at home. at one stage, he even called her from his satellite phone to say goodbye.

now i've got a huge amount of respect for pioneers, adventurers etc especially down through history. the problem is there's no longer a huge need to push the boundaries like this - these days it's a very personal, selfish, ego driven decision to go through something like this just to 'prove' something to yourself.

as far as i'm concerned, when you've got dependents, putting yourself deliberately in a situation like this is ego driven self absorbtion at it's worst and is unforgiveable.

but that's just me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

harry21 wrote: »
    But what if something went wrong during child-birth. Thats the kind of thing you want to be close for.. just incase??

If anything goes wrong you can't do anything anyway, that's what doctors are for. men who work away from home cannot always be there for different reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭kc83

Oh my God, I seriously got a heart failure, my heart actually stopped when you said man died today as my friend Mark just reached the top on Sat.
    Obviously still very sad news.
    You can see marks training on line if you google mark Quinn Limerick. He trained for two years.
    He has no kids though so diff circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

kc83 wrote: »
    Oh my God, I seriously got a heart failure, my heart actually stopped when you said man died today as my friend Mark just reached the top on Sat.
    Obviously still very sad news.
    You can see marks training on line if you google mark Quinn Limerick. He trained for two years.
    He has no kids though so diff circumstances.

fair play to him , but he was hoping to raise €30k ???? surely it fooking cost him that or more to climb everest

so it doesnt make sense

im blown away by everest , note im not a climber in anyway shape or form , just fascinated by how any man can climb 29,000 ft and always watch everest above and beyond the limits :) and also the death zone program , excellent stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I know someone who is related to the guy who got to the top of Everest last week, they said they were in awe of him.

I thought that it was a complete waste of time except for his ego.

Push some boundaries worth pushing, ffs, forget about stuff from the Boy's Own magazines.

As for those who propose the alternative is sitting on the sofa, that's just a big pile of bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Couldn't get a Sherpa no?

I get the joke, but it's a good excuse to add to the debate - Sherpas involved in high-altitude mountaineering/portering/tourism will very commonly say that the reason they do it is to put their kids through school and that's the most lucrative work available to them. Quite a different perspective on the reasons to put yourself in harm's way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

"Managing director of an online market prediction company..."

Bet he didn't predict that outcome..

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

ebixa82 wrote: »
    "Managing director of an online market prediction company..."

Bet he didn't predict that outcome..

RIP

LOL YE BAD EGG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭kc83

I know someone who is related to the guy who got to the top of Everest last week, they said they were in awe of him.

I thought that it was a complete waste of time except for his ego.

Well if you love climbing and prob going to do it anyway why not do it for a good cause???
    Ireland is all negative news at the min with reccession, at least this is something positive, Mark is a great guy and has also organised great events for ppl in Lim and the country. He raised money for Shane Geoghegan Trust, in memory of the murdered Garryowen player who was shot in a case of mistaken identity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

In my opinion he was a total gimp

Climbing the world's highest mountain is a unique event

Best left to those experienced.

Not for amateurs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

kc83 wrote: »

Well if you love climbing and prob going to do it anyway why not do it for a good cause???
    Ireland is all negative news at the min with reccession, at least this is something positive, Mark is a great guy and has also organised great events for ppl in Lim and the country. He raised money for Shane Geoghegan Trust, in memory of the murdered Garryowen player who was shot in a case of mistaken identity.

My point was that conquering Everest is not as impressive, imo, as, say, setting up a community group that offers help to people who need it or doing a lot to help some such group that exists.

I've no doubt that such-&-such is a great guy if you say so, I just think that such acts are fairly unimaginative while often paraded as being a major achievement.

As for positive news stories being in short supply, Liverpool winning the League so many times in the 80s was great... but life in Liverpool was still fairly crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

In my opinion he was a total gimp

Climbing the world's highest mountain is a unique event

Best left to those experienced.

Not for amateurs

He was an experienced climber, and was with a whole team of other experienced climbers when he died. He most likely had a heart-attack, not something which exclusively happens on top of mountains, and no amount of experience can prevent it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

its called the 'death zone' for a reason